Final Decision Regarding Animeblogger

In seeing all the drama popping up in animeblogger yet again, this time regarding something about an Anime Blogging Collective, I don’t even know what to believe anymore.  I do know however that I want to keep blogging.  I have come up with my answer, and it seems like the only good one that will lead to the least amount of stress for me and hopefully a good time for those who like to read what I have to write.

I am officially done with the animeblogger community.  I comment now on only three blogs.  Random Curiosity, Animanachronism and my own.  I am completely silent on anything anyone else tries to do.  I won’t try to change their minds about anything anymore.  They do not exist to me from this point on for the sake of my sanity in all these politics and drama.  I’ve been dragged around believing in several people only to be slapped in the face to learn that they aren’t who I thought they were and only these two have remained true to their creed in how they go about things. 

There is no personal ego that I can see in IKnight and Omni and I don’t care to learn if their are others like them on animeblogger as that would require me actually dealing with it in any capacity.  It’s is just not worth it to me.  My business is my business from here on out, and their business is their business and the rest of animeblogger can slug it out all they want, stroke their own egos, or choose to do what they see fit, but they will not drag me down any longer in doing it.

That said, onward with Code Geass and Macross Frontier, Sayonara animeblogger community.

20 Responses to “Final Decision Regarding Animeblogger”


  1. 1 CJ Blackwing March 30, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Writing us all off as melodramatic, egotistical idiots isn’t really fair. It’s your choice, though.

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama March 30, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I don’t write you all off, I’d just rather not take part in it anymore. I don’t know who to believe or what to think and really, I’m just better off on my own I think. I didn’t mean to offend you. This whole Owen S thing is just the latest in a long string of things going on in the animeblogger community that make me frown at the way people in the community treat one another. I really just don’t want to be a part of a community where things like that happen to people and I would be compelled to pick sides.

    Like I said, I’m sure there are good people out there and I have met some, I just no longer have the will to find any more of them because that would mean me getting involved in the politics and I don’t need anymore smearing or defamation then I have already received if I pick the wrong people to associate with. Guilt by association should anything else like this happen again is something I want to avoid.

    Nevertheless, animebloggers are always welcome here so long as they are here with good intentions and bring their manners.

  3. 3 Haesslich March 30, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    I’d have to kinda say this post itself is a tad melodramatic, but whatever. I ignore the politics and focus on the anime they blog… but that’s just me. I don’t give a damn about what they do on their own time.

  4. 4 Myssa Rei March 31, 2008 at 1:03 am

    I treat blogs the way I treat anime — no preconceptions. Which is why I can enjoy Jason’s snark or Aroduc’s grumpiness (note that none of these two are under ABC’s aegis), as well as your posts. So I’m with Haess here, and wonder if this is decision is really warranted. Anyone is free to read blog posts for entertainment sake, just as it is true that anyone and everyone has a choice to reply or not to reply on a blog.

    I am aware about the history you seem to have with some members of the ABC, but from what I’ve read these past few months, the only real beef you have is with Ascaloth and Crusader, while Jason and DarkMirage aren’t even part of the ABC. Ascaloth is actually easily dismissable, since the guy’s well-known for actively flame-baiting people even before, while the problem with rest seem to be just a matter of their personal biases regarding anime watching colliding with your own.

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama March 31, 2008 at 1:03 am

    @Haesslich: Are you sure you aren’t mistaking it for melodramatic because I actually don’t include any internet memespeak (I should mention that my self-coined definition of “memespeak” is like Newspeak in that it’s a phenomonen unique to the internet whereby a single popularized meme is used in place any given number of words we could be using to express ourself in a meangingful way. It’s the systematic dumbing down of online conversation and even features the same kind of shortening and mashing together of words and concepts that was popularized in 1984’s Newspeak Dictionary) in my articles. I could just have easily posted an article such as:

    “I lol at animeblogger. They are made of epic fail and I need more melonpan in my blogging. This communities doroma has me in despair and everytime I read their posts god kills a catgirl. As such I am done with their lulz and seek to create lulz on my own from here on out. There are those who I know are not in fact weabos too, but I don’t need to look through the epic fail to find the epic win. I will continue with my own serious business while others conduct their SRRS BUSINESS while they stroke their E PNS”

    (I feel dirty just having written that even if it is parody. Anyway that’s my article translated into how I would imagine it being if I used memespeak. Notice how it’s not only shorter, but also borderline meaningless now and could have literally just been any old rant you could find anywhere.)

    No, but see that would just be a cop out and ultimately meaningless. so I added a little bit of personal flair to express my thoughts in a definitive way. Some may call it melodramatic I suppose. I prefer “form of expression” personally. What ever happened to that anyway?

    @Myssa: Wait, sorry, I missed that in my own reply to Haes. I noticed on my own come to think of it that there was something of a collective group of bloggers who seemed almost cowed into writing, thinking and acting in the same manner. When I started to notice a lot of people cropping up who seemed intolerant of those that didn’t adore everything by Kyoto Animation to the fullest possibility (I support all studios in their efforts and believe that say J.C Staff deserves equal consideration as Kyoani or my personal favourite in Sunrise, although Gonzo I will admit has been making it tough. I’m sure my 7.5/10 for Clannad wouldn’t fly well with Owen S if that’s truly what he’s like as CJ Blackwing says) for example or who don’t subscribe to the philosophy of Slice of Life and Romance as some sort of dominant genre to end all genres (I believe in the individual merits of all genres actually, even the oft mocked Harem given how well I think KimiAru turned out) I started to wonder if their wasn’t a master hand as it seemed so controlled and forced almost. Too find out there actually was one doesn’t surprise me in the least and now I know it’s name at last. So it is true then. If you don’t mind I would like to know who else is among this ABC (I’m guessing I could just check the Anime Blog Awards as I think that is the group of Superfriends that I noticed seem to be supporting and voting for each other in the rather laughable competition that just screams trouble ahead) and if possible just a touch more about it because this might change my perspective a little bit. By the way, your avatar…..Super Robot Wars, are you a fan?

    Thank you for saying you enjoy my posts too. For a while I thought you might not like me much after you said you felt I was being biased in favour of Gundam 00 and when I slammed Jason. I’ve taken that into consideration and will give some my personal misgivings regarding where the season could have improved or failed. This I promise.

    And Ascaloth…..sigh….I don’t think I really need to go there. It’s a pointless struggle with him at this point and I agree that he is easily dismissable. His problem is he always seems to try and attack a persons character rather then their opinion and in doing so really does nothing to further his own position in an argument. He also seems to have his own distorted version of reality, a fallacy of only what he is certain of to exist exists in his minds eye. That’s the only way I think he could have gotten that I’m the only fan of Gundam 00 and that I’m a biased troll that barges into peoples blogs and start to insult them in a rude manner. I was always as polite and respectful to other bloggers when I visited as I could possible manage, even when I vehemently disagreed with their stance or felt they were being condescending (DarkMirage). Mind boggling…..

  6. 6 Haesslich March 31, 2008 at 4:34 am

    I think the ‘melodrama’ impression mostly comes from the whole ‘I feel compelled to talk about X, after they did Y’ trend that seems to have started yesterday, since it seems most of the aggregators I’ve seen have variations on what was posted above, ranging from ‘Boycott the ABC and Animeblogger’ to ‘Boy, I never thought I’d read something like this’. It’s partly the timing, and the way that you announced “I am officially done with the Animeblogger community” that sounded like you were playing this up for drama.

    As for myself, I’m aware the Internet is full of assholes – that’s the nature of the Internet, and society in general. It’s just EASIER to be an asshole when there’s a perception that no consequences will come around due to the semi-anonymous nature of online communications and the lack of physical (for the most part) or other consequences.

  7. 7 John March 31, 2008 at 4:42 am

    I see blogs as ways to introduce new ideas or see new perspectives. Unless it’s an international troll blog (which are easily ignored), I enjoy reading all of them even if I don’t agree with them.

    Jason (of AoMM fame) might be the largest fanboy I’ve met, but I have to admit some of the stuff he writes can be funny (his older stuff was clearly of better quality if anything). Everyone, I think, has their merit in someway or another.

    I think, when blogging, keeping to yourself is probably the best. If you want to discuss ideas, do it on a forum. A blog is there to tell the world what you think of a certain topic and let people think about what has been said – this being Anime or the next interesting Scifi show, as well, in your case.

    And yes there is a collective mindset – reading one will often be enough to estimate what the others will say about the same topic. But I suppose they have the same taste in whatever. Safe to say, neither you or I have seem to be as effected by KEY’s next episodic heart-jerker as everyone else – an it’s an acquired taste I guess.

    Too long; didn’t read? You’re doing the thing you should have done ages ago.

  8. 8 Myssa Rei March 31, 2008 at 4:42 am

    Actually, ABC is just an abbreviation for the AnimeBlogger Commune, or the folks that user the Animeblogger server as their home. It’s not really a unified ‘hand that guides’ as much as it’s just the place they stay in — a server that is currently in dire straits, mind you, as the administrator is feeling the strain maintaing so many blogs on a single machine (hence the donation drive). Don’t read much into it. :)

    As for Slice of Life being a dominant genre, well, I think it’s one of those things that old hands seem to gravitate to. Tastes, hmm, broaden when an anime watcher ‘ages’ — I myself started with your typical shounen/shoujou fare in Yuyu Hakusho and Sailor Moon, before delving into Seinen, SF, Slice-of-life and Iyashikei. The thing I noticed about these ‘phases’ I went through in my fandom is that tastes seem to change with the circumstances surrounding that particular viewer.

    Take my own example. I work in a US brokerage firm, and it’s normally hard during non-recession times, but with the economy being in shambles, well, it’s not all fun and games, and tempers are running high not only among our customers, but the staff at the office as well. As such, I find it far more, shall we say, comforting to retreat into series that generally have little to no excitement going on. Thus, despite my first love of SR (for a girl, I, uh, have quite the collection), I find myself watching shows like CLANNAD, True Tears, Sketchbook Full Colors, or ARIA, as an escape from my frustrating office life. And I’m guessing that the bloggers that do subsribe more to Slice-of-Life/Romance (I can name Totali, Zyl, Stripey, Fisherman’s Horizon, Jeff Lawson and Jason when he’s not into Moe mode) are in the same boat as I am.

    It’s a selective escapism, and one could easily make a case for watching SF shows, though SF carries this stigma of being the passion of awkward adolescent geeks (not warranted in many cases). Also, SF while engaging in a different way, doesn’t make the jaded viewer say ‘Ah, I wish my life was as simple as that.’

    And yes, to answer your question, I’m an SRW fan too… But my tastes are ecclectic, to say the least, and I don’t limit myself to that series alone. As an English Lit graduate, I tend to spread my interests over a VARIED selection. I have a full library of classics by Melville, Twain, and Shakespeare sitting next to stuff like Dune, Dragonlance, Warhammer 40k, and the Forgotten Realms. My anime collection comprises titles ranging from Petite Princess Yuchie to Macross Seven, to Mushishi, to Suzumiya Haruhi (got the books too), to Grave of the Fireflies and 5cm per Second, to Space Battleship Yamato.

    So, no, I don’t think I’ve ever had a strong opinion on anything, some rough patches during my teen years aside.

  9. 9 Haesslich March 31, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Lack of physical or other punitive measures to put a block on such behavior, even.

  10. 10 Kaioshin Sama March 31, 2008 at 6:38 am

    @Haesslich: Yes the timing of the announcement isn’t lost on me, but this is something I’ve been considering for a while and the whole ABC issue put a new spin on matters that helped me make up my mind about a lot of things. Also, to me the issue shouldn’t be whether their are reprecussions for ones actions in being an asshole to somebody on the internet, but whether you can look at yourself in the mirror the next day and be at all proud at what you see. There is no real magic wall to me and I try to talk to people online as I would if I wear sitting across the table with them having a drink and talking about anime face to face.

    @John: I won’t deny that Jason used to be funny, but he has hit a pitfall as far as I’m concerned by relying on the same old memes and biases he’s had from the get go. The whole Sunrise Trainwreck thing has gotten really old as has the obsession with Darry, especially considering Sunrise has improved tremendously in quality since Gundam Seed Destiny and Mai Otome and that well…..as much as I love Gurren Lagann, it’s over.

    @Myssa: Yes we all need a little comfort in these times of recession. For example, my father on top of dealing with record low sales in his office is working short staffed with a guy that is a complete asshole and is at pretty much the limits of stress. Not to mention that my family has a genetic heart defect that makes us especially prone to heart disease and shortness of breath, he is currently at an extremely elevated risk of suffering a heart attack. Along with him and my mother I’m in a very worried mood right now and that’s but one of the reasons I’ve been feeling I need to take my hands of the reigns of Animehistory a little bit and put my focus elsewhere. I personally like to escape into the realm of Science Fiction and Fantasy, but I can understand peoples desire to just take a look into somebody elses life and relax a bit with something like Aria.

    So you follow Dune eh? Question, 2000 mini-series or 1984 David Lynch film?

  11. 11 Impz March 31, 2008 at 6:51 am

    “If you don’t mind I would like to know who else is among this ABC (I’m guessing I could just check the Anime Blog Awards as I think that is the group of Superfriends that I noticed seem to be supporting and voting for each other in the rather laughable competition that just screams trouble ahead) and if possible just a touch more about it because this might change my perspective a little bit.”

    Correction. The ABA has nothing to do with the ABC. I have explained countless times about how these two things are absolutely different. FYI, I am an inactive member of the ABC (and Owen berates me for not joining in most of the time). If you are keen on thinking that it’s some conspiracy link theory, I am fine. I think you will understand how it feels to have something completely untrue smashed onto something you hope will expand the boundaries of the community. I want this to be exactly not what you mention, a circle wank of friends. I don’t need that, I know THAT Anime Blog is good enough without this award, whether we win anything or not.

    I created the Anime Blog Awards with the knowledge that we want to expand readership of worthy blogs to anime bloggers and readers. We do not think that everyone will agree with the system. There are flaws. We admit it. There’s always enough arguments against awards in general, but the main aim is to promote new bloggers, not a circle wank.

    If we want that, we will just ask people whom we know like me, or whoever, and just go on. The fact that I am asking you, who probably doesn’t even know who I am, to nominate worthy great blogs that you read, should tell you something. I have emailed people I have no clue they exist (sorry), but I am trying to make sure I get everyone’s opinion.

    I do apologize for my slightly harsh tone because I personally dislike it when I make a lot of effort to derail this whole concept by stating it’s about circle wank between friends. Then, someone just comes in saying that it is. I know you are opinionated, but saying that just makes me pretty much annoyed. I hope my short statement and my upcoming FAQ will convince you of my intention otherwise.

    If you still think that way, I have no objections. The Anime Blog Awards is by choice, not by anything else. It’s for all bloggers, anyone who wishes to nominate good and worthy blogs.

  12. 12 Impz March 31, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Correction again btw, the ABC has nothing with animeblogger.net. It’s just a group set up by Saturnine to write on similar issues with differing viewpoints. I am always too lazy to write though, rofl.

  13. 13 Kaioshin Sama March 31, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Yes I know who you are, I do keep up on things and have even seen you around Animesuki. Green Power! Hahaha!

    You’re asking me to join in on the anime blog award nominations? I’d really have to think about it. If it’s truly for the goal of trying to make a good community prosper and to promote new bloggers amd their ideas then I will consider it as that is exactly what I am for. People seem to be trying to invite me back in and don’t want me to cut ties, which leads me to believe I may have misjudged the community.

    Let me think it over and I will see if I can come up with a list to add to it. Overall though I’d just prefer to stay out and would rather just withdraw my criticism of it and give you my blessing. Perhaps Deathkillz, Klashhikari or Skyfall would prefer to go in my stead as nominators. I will ask them.

    I just want to add again to the topic of Jason Miao that John brought up. I sometimes find myself wondering if he isn’t really just a tank full of manatees guiding balls with either a meme, excuse to bash Sunrise and Gonzo, reason to trump up Kyoto Animation and Gainax, a football event and a general topic written on them into a combiner to generate the form of an article. Sometimes you get something almost readable, most of the time it’s just a complete mess (Dare I say a Jason Miao Trainwreck?) and try to remove a ball by suggesting he drop a meme and he gets pissy and bans people. I actually find the notion of his grousing more hilarious than the content of his articles most of the time in that he constantly accuses Sunrise of being hack writers like every other post when he is the living embodiment of one. I swear everytime he gets into a rant about something their is always some ironic twist in his writing that makes him all the things he protests to dislike. It never fails and if that’s the humour he’s going for (I’ve never been able to tell) then he may be on to something. So that’s Jason as far as I’m concerned.

  14. 14 impz March 31, 2008 at 9:28 am

    “You’re asking me to join in on the anime blog award nominations? I’d really have to think about it. If it’s truly for the goal of trying to make a good community prosper and to promote new bloggers amd their ideas then I will consider it as that is exactly what I am for. People seem to be trying to invite me back in and don’t want me to cut ties, which leads me to believe I may have misjudged the community.

    Let me think it over and I will see if I can come up with a list to add to it. Overall though I’d just prefer to stay out and would rather just withdraw my criticism of it and give you my blessing. Perhaps Deathkillz, Klashhikari or Skyfall would prefer to go in my stead as nominators. I will ask them.”

    I cannot speak for the others, but I try my best not to put any bias on invitation. I invite all anime bloggers, no matter whether they are casual, serious, sarcastic, trollish, silly or just picture whoring. As long as they are anime bloggers, they are invited. We need people who are willing to bother recommending the good stuff, rather than the popular stuff (though everyone can at least admit that popular stuff are usually decent since they are made popular by the choosy masses).

    We are also intending on making a “Sundance” version (which I repeated in the umpteen blog that it becomes pre-recorded, heh) to celebrate the less popular blogs. Nonetheless, if you ignore all the personal bias (oh, Owen is the committee, he will blah blah), you will see that the committee is there just to do the admin. All 5 of us have been particularly strict never to give any bias to anyone, as much as we can. We try our best even not to bring any attention to the committee too.

    If you go on to see the website, you will find what I am talking about in terms of promoting new blogs. You will probably change your mind. By that, I am still not denying that there’s a popularity element to it (the inherent weakness of expert/public nominations) but I hope you explore and understand the effort we make to fulfill our idealistic and seemingly unrealistic goal.

    Thanks for inviting them too. We need everyone to participate. Yes, people told me not to keep whoring about the awards. However, if i don’t, i will not get everyone. I want everyone to participate, so it can be truly be a community-based effort.

  15. 15 Myssa Rei March 31, 2008 at 9:46 am

    On-Topic: I think that Impz has managed to clarify what the ABC is really about, so don’t let the idiocy of some of its members leave you with a nasty impression of everyone else.

    Off-topic: I have Dune, Dune Messiah, Children of Dune, God-Emperor, and Heretics of Dune, but haven’t found time to read Chapterhouse: Dune yet (the series is sitting comfortably in between my Robert Ludlum books and, oddly enough, Ayashi no Ceres). Still haven’t figured out where the heck my Seto no Hanayome compilation went to, though, so I’m trying to comfort myself with Sketchbook and ARIA collections (though ARIA itself is ending this week). Bleedin’ house gremlins…

  16. 16 Maestro March 31, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Err, I’m not going to comment on the whole ABC drama, but wanted to point out AnimeBlogger.net’s not involved. I tend to stay neutral (in fact I don’t think I’ve ever made a post about any of the anime blogging community dramas over the years). I just wanted to point that out as your using “animeblogger” instead of “anime blogger” makes me wonder if you meant AnimeBlogger.net there. The current mess is rather ugly, and I want to make certain no one thinks AnimeBlogger.net is involved in it.

    And on that same note regarding Myssa Rei’s comment where they said: “Actually, ABC is just an abbreviation for the AnimeBlogger Commune, or the folks that user the Animeblogger server as their home.”

    I don’t think this is the case, as CJ Blackwing isn’t hosted with AB, and in any case I didn’t even know about the whole ABC thing until today when I saw the posts on the Antenna. o_O There is certainly no official link with AnimeBlogger.net as I’m the only one who could authorize such a link and I have not done so.

    On a more personal note, I understand how you feel about things but I’d recommend just ignoring the annoying/rude/nasty stuff and continuing to participate with those that don’t act that way. Not sure if it’ll mean much, but I’d hate to see you avoid the community at large due to a few bad apples. The bad apples aren’t the majority thankfully. :)

  17. 17 Haesslich April 1, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Kaioshin: I have no illusions about how people are – most of us wear masks, and some of us are merely more honest about our insensitivity than others… and either take care to be at least polite and well-mannered, or else are equal-opportunity asshats. Others.. well, then you get the petty tyrants, the wagon-jumpers, the backstabbers, the behind-the-back gossipers, etc…

    Besides which, everyone has their own style… which, for better or worse, we become known for or fall into because it’s either easier or expected of us (see a rant by Itoshiki-sensei – Nozumu, that is -on the very issue in one of the episodes of Zoku) and if we don’t act that way, or write that way… well, people are expecting certain things in a blog. I don’t think anyone would really take Jason seriously if he didn’t go off into his (now infamous) style of writing and decided to write something scholarly without a hint of sarcasm, a reference to current memes, and so forth… just as people would wonder what’d happened to Omni if he started blogging only Naruto with glowing praise and ‘leetsp33k’.

  18. 18 Kaioshin Sama April 1, 2008 at 3:50 am

    @Haesslich: There’s something about Jason that still irks me even though he’s supposed to be comedy writer. He’s so set on pushing certain viewpoints that I get the sense that he actually thinks what he writes is the gospel truth and not parody or nonsense. I’ve seen lots of other bloggers try similar things but a lot of them you can see the parody, Jason I see a fanboy who when somebody challenges him on his stances he just ip blocks them.

    Incidentally I tested Owen S a little while earlier to get a sense of him and though I might as well compare the two as both are fairly disliked in the community and have made many enemies. In Owen I see the kind of over the top personality that comes across as joking parody that at times goes too far that is missing in Jason who is always going to far. It’s like he’s playing at such an egotistical personality (Wearing a mask as you call it), whereas I think that what Jason writes is what Jason is more or less. In Owen S’ case I laugh at the notion that he has this online persona that tells people whether they should like something or not, but Jason I just constantly find myself quoting John Mcenroe by saying at the end of one of his bi-daily rants against Sunrise, “You cannot be serious”.

  19. 19 Haesslich April 1, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Whatever works for you. Whether or not he’s an asshole, I don’t care – I follow the blog, because he blogs about the shows I watch, and brings a different view to them beyond just summarizing. Just as I used to read Memento because of a similar (different) view, and others.


  1. 1 THAT Animeblog - Why creating something called “The Anime Blog Awards” is mostly a thankless task Trackback on April 1, 2008 at 12:26 pm

Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

