Sometimes Something Has To Give

So when the spring season started I took it upon myself to try and follow two series at once with full summaries and thoughts on each episode.  Lately I’ve found it very hard to stay caught up on both while balancing work, and also lately I’ve been getting back into RPG gaming somewhat and have taken up watching Stargate SG-1.  Also, lately I just feel that Macross Frontier has been slipping out of my target demographic to the point where I think my writing style just can’t accomodate the viewers the series is attracting any longer.  What with the active battling over the blogosphere and some forums over the love triangle (It’s supposed to be a fun dynamic, not a raging competition), as well as the general Sheryl worship I’m starting to see (scary as all heck) that makes me fear everytime I would try to write an article now, some screaming fan of a certain coupling or character is going to come by and flame the crap out of me for failing to uphold some ideal.  Witnessing this change in fan behaviour doesn’t help to entice me to write anything, nor do I have any desire to cater to it really.

Add all this to the fact that Macross Frontier is fastly becoming a series I find increasingly less fun to blog rather than just to sit back and watch, and it is with deep regret (and somewhat relief) that I announce I am dropping Macross Frontier from my blogging schedule to introduce a less stressful schedule of activites into my week and to pursue other interests of mine.

8 Responses to “Sometimes Something Has To Give”


  1. 1 Ozymandias June 7, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    “have taken up watching Stargate SG-1. ”

    wow, stop at the season 5 and don’t bother watching the season 6,7,8 and 10.It’s a monumental waste of time.

  2. 2 Haesslich June 8, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Stargate SG-1 season 9-10… now that’s a waste. :D Anything with the word ‘Ori’ in it is pretty bad, even if it did bring back a few dead characters for one episode…

  3. 3 Anonymous June 8, 2008 at 2:58 am

    I think that’s the thing with Macross.

    Writing a summary for it is just retelling the episode. Personally, I agree with you that blogging it episodically is a bit of a waste of time since you don’t write them fast enough for people to spoil themselves before subs pop up. It’s generally not a show known for it’s pseudo-political intrigue and even the plot twists are generally predictable. In the end, it’s just a love story with pop music and that sexy transforming fighter jet.

  4. 4 Kaioshin Sama June 8, 2008 at 3:24 am

    @Ozymandias & Haesslich: Yeah something about what I’ve read from it just seems like it was tacked on to give the show more season. The Goa’uld stuff is pretty interesting, but I also have this fear that it might not actually be building to anything despite what my friend tells me. We’ll see.

    @Anon: That’s why I’ve decided over the course of the past few hours that rather then dropping it entirely, it’s best to just give my thoughts on it and forgo the full episode summaries from this point on. I think it works best because it allows me to do what I want to do with my time while still having a voice. Code Geass on the other hand I think I will still do episodically because I find I like to add specific comments to certain scenes for referencing purposes. Or as you put it, it has that pseudo-political intrigue and complex plotting that I feel warrants a more in-depth analysis.

    I hope this works out.

  5. 5 Haesslich June 8, 2008 at 5:28 am

    Let’s just put it this way – the good stuff ends with Season 7. Season 8… felt tacked on. Season 9? REALLY tacked on. Season 10? They realized they had to finish the Ori thing, before they started the movies…

    They could’ve taken a leaf from Cheers – get out while you’re at the top, rather than when you’re retreading jokes from 15 years ago, like the Simpsons is now.

  6. 6 Haesslich June 8, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Two other comments:

    1) there was no way to top the season 7 finale… and they failed miserably when they tried.

    2) The rampant shipping around Frontier has me actively supporting the “everyone dies” camp of relationships. That, or Sheeyl and Ranka fly off into space together while Alto goes back to the family tradition with a Klein pairing. Nothing would piss those shippers off more, not even an Ozma and Alto or Bobby and Alto pairing.

  7. 7 Westlo June 11, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Alto would make such a nice wife for Garby.

  8. 8 Keiichi July 21, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Hmm. Mind giving us your thoughts on the current episodes? I personally enjoyed the most recent episodes, bumpy road in between though.


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

