Summer 2008 ~ It’s summer! More anime!

For those wondering the image is from Koihime†Musou which is in this summer block

And with the spring block of series dropping like flies and faster than you can say “Bob’s-your-uncle”, Kaio and me are here again to tell you guys what we will be watching up on this coming summer (plus reasons why we won’t be watching some). And because there is no real point is summerising what there is to come, you can get the info from THAT blog easily. Now let me just go and leech their images ^^v.

_______________________________________________________________________
Ikkitousen Great Guardians

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: I can’t say that I am sane for being one of those who has lasted the first two season but…hurray! Another season of mindless, braincell killing female kick ass action. You can be sure that I will be cheering for Kanu whenever she shows up, in fact the first episode should have been a delight for Kanu fans all around. But of course…I am just following this show for the story.

Kaio:  For whatever reason as far as I can tell the art looks less and less appealing in Ikkitousen each season.  Whatever the case the first season was like a take on Dong Zhuo’s time, the second season was the Rise of Cao Cao and I’m guessing this season will be the actual romance period maybe?  Either way there’s sure to be lots of panties, lots of dialogue delivered ultra seriously while the characters are standing half naked and perhaps more Ryoumou submission holds.  Seriously her style is the only one that does anything for me.

_______________________________________________________________________
Chocolate Underground

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: No NO NO NO! Unless someone has seen some of this and recommends it to me I am going no where near it…I love my chocolate D:

Kaio:  I don’t like chocolate at all in real life (and yes I’m serious) and that isn’t going to change with my anime either.

_______________________________________________________________________
Telepathy Shoujo Ran

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: I have nothing agaisnt this one but it somehow doesn’t stand out. Though the seiyuu cast looks interesting enough (Kana Ueda is wins!) and the studio is currently producing Itazura na kiss so it would be pleasant on the eyes at least.

Kaio: The title in and of itself makes it sound like the kind of series that might have aired in the 90′s, but as Deathasaurus says it doesn’t really stand out all that much for me. 

_______________________________________________________________________
UltraViolet: Code 044

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: No idea what this is and I don’t think I want to find out which movie it is adapted from as to not defer me from trying one ep at least.

Kaio: This is about as cryptic as that Cloverfield movie to me when just seeing the trailer.  For whatever reason they don’t want to reveal the appearance of the main character so we just get dude silhoutted against the background of a bay and that’s it.  Apparently it’s science fiction which piques my interest, but then it’s also only 12 episodes which diminishes it.

_______________________________________________________________________
Sekirei

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Now I’m not much of a manga reader and I much prefer to watch anime instead but recently I have been getting into it a bit more and after hearing about this adaption I did try read the manga. Now I am on around chapter 30+. This is a definite watch for me as I just can’t get enough of Tsukiumi or ku or Musubi…I pretty much love the whole cast ^^
And this is possible blogging material too.

Kaio:  *Looks right to left* breasts, breasts, breasts, gUWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!  Yeah there’s something strange her when the very first thing that leaps out here from this is the characters bust followed by the rest of their body and then there’s a loli over in the left corner looking very much out of place.  It’s also a harem so we’ll just look the other way now…..GAH THEY WON’T LEAVE MY LINE OF SIGHT!

_______________________________________________________________________
Slayers REVOLUTION

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Owww I really want to watch this but I don’t know anything about it. Maybe I should speed watch the previous series before this is released.

Kaio: Tachi mukau saki ni kawaita kaze, Hageshiku fuki aretemo, Jumon no hitotsu mo tonaetanara, Watashi no Pace ni naru!  Yes, I am old enough to have watched this series when it first came out in North America.  It was one of the first series I actually ever saw besides Sailor Moon.  Slayers is a definitively 90′s franchise in spirit in that it came out at a time when an anime didn’t have to be anything other then wacky and fun to watch in order to enjoy mainstream popularity with just about anybody.  Slayers predates the rise of the Seinen market and frankly I’m glad to see it back.  I was never a huge fan of Megumi Hayashibara back in her glory days, but I welcome her return to the scene in the role of Lina Inverse.  Also just the chance to see Zelgadiss Greywords and Amelia (JUSTICE!) Wil Tesla Seylun again will make my summer.  This is a definite watch.

_______________________________________________________________________
Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto ~Natsu no Sora~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: This does look interesting…but seeing that it is slice of life somewhat puts me off…I am no good with such genres at all…we will see after a few episodes.

Kaio:  Stop staring at me like that girl….no I’m sorry I have yet to embrace the Slice of Life genre as the supreme high mark in animation quality, but I’m sure this series is already god to most people if it is indeed a part of that genre.  Me….no thanks.

_______________________________________________________________________
Seiyou Kottou Yougaiten ~Antique~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Much like how I missed out Junjou Romantica from last season, this one is also pretty much a miss. I don’t mind yaoi unless there are pretty bishies involved ^^.

Kaio: Damn that guys really studying that strawberry intensely.  For whatever reason I am mildly interested in at least checking out an episode of this series.  Don’t ask me why.  For some reason even though it’s a slice of life series the idea of a few good men (Yeah, Hey, male characters in a slice of life series, are you listening there producers?) trying to make their daily bread in a unique business intrigues me.  This is actually what I imagine a true slice of life series being like, a look into peoples unique and personal lives as they go about them.  The fact that they all come together from different walks of life to take part in this business venture just sounds intriguing.  Plus I really like the elegant looking art style that gives it a classy sort of feel.  Also it’s composed of the cast of Gundam 00 including Mamoru Miyano (Setsuna), Shinichiro Miki (Lockon) and Keiji Fujiwara (Ali) which makes things even more intriguing on seeing how different the playoff between the actors is going to be in this case.  Either way I doubt Fujiwara’s character is going to try to kill Miki-san’s character this time around.

_______________________________________________________________________
Hidamari Sketch x365

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Whaaa! The sequel is finally here! I enjoyed the first season so this will easily land on my to watch list. The problem is that being slice of life themed it is important to watch it with subs or otherwise it would just become a drag…I am hoping that some group will be able to provide “fast-ish” releases for this series. Miyako is awesome, always so full of energy.

Kaio:  And here we reach one of the primary reasons I don’t really like the Slice of Life genre, most of them are exactly like Hidamari Sketch meaning very little variety.  I saw a few episodes of Hidamari Sketch and it’s other slice of life counterpart in Manabi Straight (even the titles have a similar ring to them) and both were pretty much about cute girls doing cute things with nary a male character in sight.  I am sorry, but that is not life when the male sex is made to seem like it does not exist and an indulgent fantasy of ultra cutesy female characters is put in it’s place, that’s just moe comedy.  And it doesn’t stop there when you have franchises like Minami-Ke (again similar ring to the name and all female cast) have been at the forefront of this genres popularity.  That’s why I’m interested in the above Antique Bakery and will give this one a pass, because it is different looking and embodies what I imagine slice of life providing to me as a very.  This does not.

_______________________________________________________________________
Strike Witches

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Sky girls reborn! Though I actually hope this series has more action that Sky girls (which was a kind of disappointment). Butr I see that Rie Tanaka is here so by defult this another MUST WATCH series. My fanboy side is strong ~

Kaio: It’s like Sky Girls all over again.  Loli, Mecha, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, right up my alley.  A definite watch and possible blogging trial run.

_______________________________________________________________________
Birdy the Mighty Decode

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Despite the “Lawlz” title, I think I will try a few episodes of this series to see whether or not it is worth continuing. It’s quite interesting though because this is another resurrection like what Kaio said and it seems to give off a 90′s feel to it.

Kaio:  It’s got the Bones art, but it’s not Bones.  Anyway this is another 90′s franchise resurrection (and you know what in this day of eroge adaptation after light novel adapation I won’t begrudge companies for looking back in time for ideas a little) and it looks to be pretty high on the action/animation quality front.  I think I might give it a few episodes.

_______________________________________________________________________
Yakushiji Ryouko no Kaiki Jikenbo

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: This is going on trial. The style looks retro so it could be a nice change in perspective once in a while.

Kaio: Looks kind of like City Hunter, but I still prefer that instead.  The possibility of loli characters as secret agents from the ANN series profile intrigues me a bit though and the website has some sweet jazz music on it.  We’ll see….

_______________________________________________________________________
Zero no Tsukaima ~Miyoshi Hime no Rondo~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Oh my not this again. I have to say how much I hate Louise’s character…she has absolutely no redeeming qualities what-so-ever I’ve found out in the second season. Kaio maybe all over her but I have to say that she just isn’t my type. Though this doesn’t mean I’m giving this a miss…err…I will just be putting my earplugs in whenever she opens her mouth to scream “baka inu!” or something predictable.

Kaio:  Is it just me or is the character design getting worse in this like Ikkitousen appears to be.  I don’t know *notices everyones in underwear*…..anyway I love Rie Kugimiya and all, but I haven’t even finished the first season and the second season I’ve heard was terrible as Skyfall might have mentioned.  Can’t see myself watching this any time soon.

_______________________________________________________________________
Natsume Yuujin-chou

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Amatsuki? But because it is from Brains Base I have to at least give this a try (well, their recent masterpiece Kurenai sure left an impression on me).

Kaio:  Looks like Feudal Era fantasy, but can’t say I have any interest

_______________________________________________________________________
Mission-E

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: First season sucked…unless hell freezes over I’m not going to touch this.

Kaio:  Never saw the first season, can’t say I’m interested in this one

_______________________________________________________________________
World Destruction

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: There’s nothing wrong with angsty PRG! This looks interesting to me…someone trying to destroy the world rather than saving it isn’t something you see everyday. *adds to watch bin*

Kaio:  It’s an advertisement for a game by SEGA, and just knowing SEGA and how their last one turned out I can’t say I’m very interested.  Looks like angsty RPG stuff.

_______________________________________________________________________
Koihime†Musou

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: And here is another series I am really interested in (can’t you tell from the top image? ^^). The character designs is what caught my attention the most but after hearing about the “plot” it has going for it I am more than interested. Though the naff part is that this series does give out Prism Ark vibes which is one way I do not want another series to crash and burn. In all this could be another fun, fanservice type series…though my mind was scarred after seeing a certain character to come…heavens…

Kaio:  It’s Romance of the Three Kingdoms done with all female characters……so it’s basically Ikkitousen.  Only it’s an eroge adaptation and the emphasis seems on Moe fighting rather than busty babe panty shots.  Is there any real difference, you tell me.  This has got me interested if only for the fighting loli factor and if the animation and character design is anywhere near the quality of that promo in the actual series then I think we’re looking at something good.

_______________________________________________________________________
Blade of the Immortal

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Samurai series, cool. And a person who kills demons just so he can end his own life…I loled. Another trial series.

Kaio: Blade of The Immortal is an adaptation of a Manga series that has been running since the mid 90′s and is now finally getting the anime treatment.  It’s got a pretty solid cast including Shinichiro Miki, Daisuke Namikawa, Toshiyuki Morikawa, Maaya Sakamoto and Mamiko Noto, but since I’m unfortunately not in fact Hashihime that’s not enough to draw my interest.

_______________________________________________________________________
Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathie: Awww Kaio, you should give comedy romance series more credit. This looks as sweet as sugar and I’m inclined to think that it will be full out moe as well. Though I am getting bored of Mamiko Noto never changing style, this series has potential to melt hearts (just looking at the picture is already having that effect).

Kaio: Does this girl remind anyone of Mikuru?  I think she reminds me of Mikuru, don’t know why.  Anyway it’s a romantic comedy so heck no.

21 Responses to “Summer 2008 ~ It’s summer! More anime!”


  1. 1 Chaos2Frozen June 25, 2008 at 3:50 am

    From the top to the bottom…

    (Bottom to top I stop…)

    Ikkitousen Great Guardians – skipped
    Chocolate Underground – skipped
    Telepathy Shoujo Ran – skipped
    UltraViolet: Code 044 – Literally, the movie is “Ultraviolet”, you know that one with the main actresses from Resident Evil ^^; (Anyway, skipped)
    Slayers REVOLUTION – I was too young when the first few seasons came out @_@ (Skipped)
    Hidamari Sketch x365 – Didn’t watch the first season ^^; (skipped)
    Seiyou Kottou Yougaiten ~Antique~ – No… just… No… (I don’t care if I’m not being fair =p)
    Birdy the Mighty Decode – Could a title get anymore LOL @_@ ?
    Yakushiji Ryouko no Kaiki Jikenbo – Skipped
    Mission-E – Skipped
    Blade of the Immortal – Skipped

    Sekirei – Funny, I was thinking the same thing as Kaios ^^; (breasts breasts…)
    ~Natsu no Sora~ – Could someone PLEASE tell me what this story is about A_A ?!
    Strike Witches – The moment I even sniff a scent of yuri, I’m high tailing out-of-there >.>
    Zero no Tsukaima – Please don’t screw up… You used to be cool..
    Natsume Yuujin-chou – Well the art looks better than Kurenai’s… But I don’t think it’s Feudal
    World Destruction – I’ll watch it… Just because =D
    Koihime†Musou – Cross my fingers >.>
    Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu – GAH! Too… Cute… Can’t… Look away…

  2. 2 Myssa Rei June 26, 2008 at 8:55 am

    It seems like a stretch, given my hectic work schedule, but I might be able to squeeze in Someday’s Dreamers and Hidamari Sketch… If I’m not indulging in my backlog-watching binge. Macross Zero? Check. Dennou Coil? Check and on another rewatch. Seirei no Moribito? Sousei no Aquarion?!? Oh dear…

  3. 4 C.I. June 26, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    And in Chaos’s vein I go:

    Ikkitousen Great Guardians – skipped
    Chocolate Underground – skipped
    Telepathy Shoujo Ran – It’s GOOD, one of clannad’s criptwriters is behind it. Expect something….better to come ^^
    UltraViolet: Code 044 – movie sucked ’nuff said.
    Slayers REVOLUTION – Too young, didn’t watch SlayerS
    Hidamari Sketch x365 – TheBigN said it wuz good, so I will catch it.
    Seiyou Kottou Yougaiten ~Antique~ – ????????????
    Birdy the Mighty Decode – LolWut.
    Yakushiji Ryouko no Kaiki Jikenbo – Skipped
    Mission-E – Skipped
    Blade of the Immortal – Skipped

    Sekirei – TITS ARE ALWAYS RELEVANT
    ~Natsu no Sora~ – ?????????????????????
    Strike Witches – YURI IS GOOOOOD.
    Zero no Tsukaima – I’m in it for SYLPHID and Louise! ^^
    Natsume Yuujin-chou – It’s by the guys behind Kure~nai? This deserves a look at at the very LEAST.
    World Destruction – Epic title = Watch!
    Koihime†Musou – OP was great. Hopefully the anime will be too.
    Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu – I do not really prefer romance.

    Also, hai deathie. fynal_fyre from ASuki here.

  4. 5 deathkillz June 26, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Hey fynal_fyre, I didn’t know you used another alias ^^

    I’ve checked out Telepathy Shoujo Ran by the way and it was surprisingly good for a start. Hopefully it will remain that way :)

  5. 6 Chaos2Frozen June 27, 2008 at 6:36 am

    @C.I

    “one of clannad’s criptwriters is behind it.”

    I don’t know… ^^: I’m very affected by artworks…

    Btw, when you said the OP for Koihime†Musou, do you mean the game’s? Or is the trailer out already?

  6. 7 Crecemerabula November 20, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Абакан Знакомства – Знакомства Орск – Знакомства Кыргызстан

  7. 8 LitLoothlet November 20, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Нотариус Одесса , Нотариальные услуги в Одессе, Частный Нотариус г.Одесса.

  8. 9 Phachefuh November 20, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Регистрация Договора Купли Продажи Квартиры – Снять Квартиру Дом – Продажа Коммунальных Квартир

  9. 10 Pousiaaduri November 20, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Студия Мебели City – Инструкция По Сборке Мебели – Интернет Магазин Офисной Мебели

  10. 11 cunteewecum November 20, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Игры Телефон Скачать Бесплатно Нокиа – Сдать Телефон – Телефоны Philips

  11. 12 imilifahannof November 20, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Пылесос Karcher Купить – Мешки Для Пылесоса Lg – Какой Пылесос Лучше Моющий

  12. 13 Utenokentloff November 20, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    32 Дюймовые Телевизоры – Портативные Жк Телевизоры – Размеры Плазменных Телевизоров

  13. 14 Infurftor November 20, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    Схема Стиральной Машины Hansa – Стиральная Машина 7 Кг – Стиральные Машины Ardo Отзывы

  14. 15 pypecauff November 20, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Производство Пластиковых Окон Москва – Пластиковые Окна Самостоятельно – Пластиковые Окна С Рольставнями

  15. 16 AssilMSlows December 22, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Christmas Gifts Buy Online

  16. 17 Valassero February 4, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    http://hiraldoshotokankarate.com/ – coming soon… Need to recollect when we launch? Subscribe before entering your e-mail

  17. 18 tainioclogale February 20, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Ufc 110 Weigh In Video | neurobit.com – news

  18. 19 Amoullyloot February 20, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Spartacus Blood And Sand Episode 5 | neurobit.com – news

  19. 20 LayyaOlya August 7, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Уважаемый пользователь интернет читающий этот коротенький очерк.
    Корпорация Мегаполиса Pi7.ru порадовала новым выходом очередного сборника нюансов.
    Обычному человеку подвластно не более 40 поз Камасутры
    Ну а впрочем лучшее лекарство от скуки это анекдотец.
    Вовочка говорит матери:
    - Мама, дай мороженое.
    - Не дам, скоро обедать будем. Иди во дворе поиграй.
    - Там нет никого. Дай мороженое.
    - Не дам. Дома, значит, играй.
    - Ладно, тогда со мной поиграй. В маму и папу.
    - Ну черт с тобой. Ты папа, я мама.
    - Вот я пришел с работы. Ну, хрена ли ты расселась? Подними наконец-то
    жопу и дай ребенку мороженое.

  20. 21 web page November 14, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance
    from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin.
    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

