My One Month Final Trial Period To See Whether It’s Actually Worth Reading Other Anime Blogs Has Passed

Judgement:  Not Happening

To be honest, all I frequently see anymore is what appears to me as pettiness, complaining and writing whatever it takes to get the most views and comments.   I feel like it’s something I’d rather not partake of anymore while I instead devote my time to reading other writings worthy of my time such as manga/novels/graphic novels which bring me joy instead of regret or perhaps more specifically The Watchmen which I’ve been putting off for way to long.  A friend of mine has also advised me that I talk far to much about the blogosphere and what it is trumpeting or denouncing at any given time and that it is affecting my ability to enjoy the shows I watch.  Plus he’s just plain sick of hearing me talk about it period. :p

The feeling of sameness across the board remains as well and I still don’t see anything being written that interests me.  To further compound the issues, nobody seems to be listening to anything other then what they agree with anymore and as such new ideas and ways of looking at things are not being generated.  So what’s the point?  What do I have to gain if I choose to read one blog or another when everyone pretty much has the exact same thing to say? The answer is nothing really.  Maybe in a few more years anime blogging will get some new blood.  People with new ideas, ways of presenting them and a more open mind.  Maybe then it’ll be worth it to read them again.  Until then like I said, not happening.

I’ve been cutting down on the number of anime blog related articles I’ve been reading over the past month with real life issues getting in the way and such and now it almost seems like my sudden feed problem with animeblogger was a sign.  Like it’s time to move on to focusing on improving my own blogging style as opposed to worrying about what others are writing and how they will view my own style of writing as a member of some sort of collective where certain things are expected of me.  I find myself only getting more frustrated and more snappy with my comments towards fellow bloggers when I vehemently disagree with them not only because of the frequency with which I do, but because of the increasing level with which I do.  I’ve gained a repuation as being something of a total dick to have stop by and leave a comment and they don’t want that and I don’t want that so it’s time to stop the very trigger for that happening, namely my reading what they have to right. 

Hmmm…maybe this sudden delisting has it’s upsides afterall.  You know I don’t really feel any regrets in all of this.  I’m not going to relate to other anime bloggers any time soon with my tendencies toward outright loathing memes, harsh rebukes and disapproval of snap judgements, and they aren’t going to relate to my tendencies toward serious analysis, long and wordy articles, wait and see mentality, old school fandom and looking for a silver lining in every package.  The way I see it’s a lose/lose situation whenever I stop by another blog.  I also see the boat that is the anime blogosphere taking a course that is no longer the one that I want to take as a blogger and as such I think it’s definitely time to get off and search for new forms of inspiration.  At this point I feel confident in my style compared to when I was a newbie and needed to research “how it’s done” and would prefer to continue to seperate and differentiate myself from the masses lest I fall into that commonly trumpeted pitfall of becoming a clone of Random Curiousity or some other popular blog.  So all I have to say now is a quote from one of my favourite James Bond movies, “To this moment, and the moment yet to come”.

6 Responses to “My One Month Final Trial Period To See Whether It’s Actually Worth Reading Other Anime Blogs Has Passed”


  1. 1 mellow_bunny August 30, 2008 at 10:50 am

    In regards to you experiencing issues with the AnimeBlogger Antenna, have you tried contacting Maestro? If you would like help troubleshooting this issue please email me or contact Maestro directly.

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama August 30, 2008 at 11:32 am

    I have tried contacting Maestro via e-mail yes, but haven’t been able to get in touch. I even posted the issue on the forums. All it is that my feed is no longer showing up on the antenna as of August 15th, 2008 and it seems like a lot of others blogs haven’t either. I tried resubmitting the feed but it said it already existed, yet no updating. I don’t get it.

  3. 3 mellow_bunny August 30, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    It may be related to a server issue that we encountered recently. We’ll take a further look into it :)! Sorry about the lack of er.. feed eating, i’ll keep you posted.

  4. 4 Myssa Rei September 1, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Ever heard of the term Instant History Kaio? It’s pretty much the mentality of people following series on a constant basis, the urge to give their thoughts on the matter NOW instead of later, as if there is a significant time lag in betwen the airing and the posting of their thoughts on it, their opinions will be less significant, as it will no longer be ‘fresh’.

    If you’ve got experience in journalism (I’ve worked with my university newspaper for more than a year, and worked two years with my school’s PR office after that), you’ll see how important it is to bring out the news quickly, otherwise it would no longer be relative and ‘stale’ as time, inevitably, moves on, and newer events keep occuring.

    THIS is main pitfall of episodic blogging, the need to be, well, as fresh as the newest release, thus you get the sense of ‘parity’ across the blogs that do so — they only have a limited window of opportunity, so they can’t really think things out (or even be bothered with it, as most of these folk are professionals in the real world). And I do assume that you actually visit blogs that DO episodic blogging, instead of, oh, Jeff Lawson’s wonderfully low-key Hop-Skip-Jump

  5. 5 mellow_bunny September 1, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Kaioshin, your blog posts are verified as being in the Antenna. Be aware there is a possible 6 hour delay when posting. :)! Sorry for any inconvenience.

  6. 6 Kaioshin Sama September 1, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Yes it’s fixed it would seem. Merci. 🙂


Leave a comment




August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present