Kaioshin’s Top 10 Anime Endings

Well I said I was going to do a top 10 ending list to complement my opening list so here it is.  First I must say that the anime ending is an entirely different beast compared to the anime opening.  To me a good opening gives you a feel of what might be in story for you when you watch the actual show, but a good ending is something that is supposed to summarize the themes of the show you just experienced.  That might sound similar, but I assure people it isn’t.  For that reason a lot of my top 10 endings will probably appear to have a different feel compared to my top 10 openings list, but I promise people I haven’t just developed an entirely new musical taste over the course of the last week.  Ready?  Okay……oh and Super Robot Wars Z is out today so if you don’t here from me again for a bit then that’s why. :D

#10:

It’s Just Love – New Mobile Report Gundam Wing

Okay I lied, this one has fuck all to do with anything, but it’ll get better I promise.  Never mind the video even though it’s pretty, I just like the song, but mostly for the full version.  Specifically the 40 second Saxaphone solo that plays about halfway through, which I like so much that I’ve even uploaded it here:

Saxamaphone! Saaaaaaxamaaaaaaaphone!

Okay so this one is a bit of an indulgence, but it get’s better I promise.

#9:

Samishikute Nemurenai – Megazone 23 Part 1

Wow this one was a lot of work to get up.  Anyway, sometimes you can say so much with absolutely no dialogue, like Megazone 23’s ending does here. Today you’d need a 30 minute monologue at the end so as not to overly confuse people, but back in the 80’s you could still get away with imagery and symbolism. After getting his ass kicked by B.D, Shogo manages to crawl his way back up to the city part of the Megazone and sees flashes of B.D taunting him and visions of all the people he’s met.  As he hobbles along slowly he realizes that he needs to be strong and has to do something to try and preserve the life they have.  Throwing away the crutch he regains his pride and you see images of him as a motorcycler again.  As the camera zooms out on the city they’ve perfectly set the tone for the end of the first chapter and set it up for the second one.  Too bad they kind of drop the ball a little on the sequel.  Anyway, the song features some powerful vocals by Eve Tokimatsuri (From a time when pop idols could have deep and powerful voices and stage presence that didn’t involve dressing up in a skirt and smiling while lip syncing to a voice augmented playback of what may or may not be their own singing voice) and some great guitar work in the background.  Lots of energy and just one of many excellent songs from the Megazone 23 Vocal OST.

#8

Little Goodbye – Zegapain

This is the newest addition to my top 10 list, but it has received a ton of time on my playlist in the last year or so. Yeah, the openings and ending have this thing with people turning into geese and it’s a neat effect, but also disturbing as it’s symbolic of something much more ominous that is happening in the show itself.  Considering the chorus of the song when translated reads something like “Kiss Everything You Know Goodbye”, that should give you a clue as to the more sinister feeling of this relaxing song. In the show itself sometimes it will just segue right into the ending with the story still going (something that happens with Sunrise shows quite frequently actually) and then it gets almost depressing.  Anyway, when taken out of the context of the show it’s actually quite a relaxing song to listen to, and in my opinon one of the best ending themes to come out in the last few or so years outright.  Also, the full version is like 6 minutes long.  6 minutes!  Oh and I love the violin part of the song. I should mention if people haven’t already noticed that as a general rule of thumb, once you get real instruments into an anime theme I’m all over them.  Okay, enough….next song.

 #7:

Human Touch – After War Gundam X

At first I never liked this ending, but now it’s on my top 10 list.  Funny how life can throw you those curve balls.  Anyway, this is a pretty unique ending sequence because there’s something like 13 different versions of it.  26 if you count the Japanese version done by Re-Kiss.  This particular one is the one from episode 08 and is the English version by Warren Wiebe.  Apparently this guy was like a legimitate celebrity and even got to do a duet with Celine Dion.  Anyway, the way Human Touch works is that each ending sequence for an episode features clips from the next one with the narrator doing the preview.  It’s basically an ending and preview rolled into one with Warren Wiebe providing the ballad that I assume is supposed to be about Garrod and Tifa.  Near the end of each sequence you’ll get a character saying a quote which will ultimately be the title of the next episode.  It’s really stylish and a damn great ending theme if you ask me.  Gotta love the shot of the Gundam X standing in the middle of the ocean looking all majestic.

#6:

Eternal Wind – Gundam F91

Written by Yoshiyuki Tomino and sung by Hiroko Moriguchi, Eternal Wind is one heck of a way to end off a movie.  I think it may have even won some awards, but don’t quote me on that.  Anyway, I like the way it’s all set up with Seabook floating in space until he find the Lily (basically it symbolizes Cecily) and then looks over to find her.  Then the music starts as he heads over to her followed by the two embracing and the ambiguous “This is just the beginning” text and then ending off with the Crossbone Vanguard sailing off into the unknown.  The song starts off strong and only gets better part way through when suddenly it goes through a tempo change.  Awesome stuff.  Anyway, just because here is an awesome all orchestral version of the song with a bit of a different sound to it:

Eternal Wind Live

#5:

Evergreen – Gundam 0083 Stardust Memory

Yeah, I like me my ballads, what can I say.  Anyway, it’s great when you can find the clips that have the best video rendition of the song.  Here we are after the climatic final battle of Gumdam 0083 and Kou Uraki has just been dishonorably discharged.  He’s thinking quitely to himself at Ground Zero when suddenly he hears a mobile suit walking near him and looks up to find his buddy Keith and Nina come to great him.  Bittersweet, but a great ending.  Plus you get to hear Evergreen.  The song has a really nice buildup and then suddenly your into the “Dreaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamer!”.   I don’t know, but I really like it’s whole calm after the battle feel and if you know about all the stuff that went on before this then you’ll know what I mean as it’s intense.

#4:

Tenshi No Enogu – Macross Do You Remember Love

The battles over and now it’s time to chill and go to a concert.  There’s something about this ending sequence that I think can never be duplicated.  The look of 80’s anime, the dance steps of Minmay, the whole choir bit, the sound, the feel of the whole concert, it’s all very nostalgic and irreplicable if you ask me.  They put on such a great show feel with this one that the Sheryl Nome concerts of Macross Frontier just seem sort of hollow and meaningless by comparison.  The part that just gets me every time though is the bit where Minmay floats up and twirls around into space followed by a fade to the Macross as if to imply that her music has transcended time, space and any forms of weaponary in touching the galaxy.  It’s as if at that moment she becomes the galaxy.  I also just love Mari Ijima’s vocals.  Sheryl who?  May N’?  Come again?

#3:

Beyond The Time – Char’s Counterattack

Again written by Yoshiyuki Tomino, but this time performed by T.M Network (not to be confused with T.M Revolution).  So Amuro has just pushed Axis away from Earth and the movie has come to it’s end and then here’s Beyond the Time which is basically meant to be a tribute to what Amuro just did, which is essentially impossible.  However, with his Newtype powers going to limit in his determination, he causes the Nu Gundam’s Psyco Frame to overload and every other Mobile Suit in the vicinity to join him in something of a mind meld/unified understanding to create enough force to push axis back from Earth’s gravity well.  He goes beyond the time and changes the Earth’s destiny, but at the cost of his very existence apparently.  The song like many of Gundam’s ending themes starts off slow only to gain power and explode into a full blown power ballad by the midway point.  It also features some awesome saxaphone work that keeps sneaking in to steal the show at certain intervals.  A spectacular end to the first Universal Century saga and #3 on my personal top 10 anime endings list.  Since the version used in the actual ending sequence is cut short, here’s the full version complete with good old Mullet Char circa U.C 0093:

#2:

Glaring Dream – Gravitation

First of all, yes this is a yaoi anime that features the majority of the Seiyuu group Weiss.  I wanted to fuck with people and use the version from the end of the first episode that shows Yuki planting a kiss on Shuuichi, but I decided to be nice for a change.  Anyway, this is the song that Shuuichi finally finishes writing at the end of the series (He started early, but Yuki telling him his lyrics sucked slowed him down a lot) when he’s inspired by Ryuichi Sakuma to “Shine”, which will ultimately become Bad Luck’s Magnum Opus.  It’s also if I’m not mistaken the only ending theme I have on here that isn’t from a mecha series.  So…..the deal hear is that I pretty much listened to this song nonstop during the summer of 2003.  It played as big a role in my life that season as Turn A Gundam did, yet I still like the song enough to give it my number 2.  Yes the lyrics make no sense, but I don’t care, I love the tune and the vocals are excellent as well.  I can even play the chorus (My favourite part) on piano, though that’s not saying that much as it’s not to complicated.  If you listen closely it also breaks the rules of music by having the Mid 90’s sound present in it’s composition.  You’re not supposed to do that, but I guess since it’s Japan they can get away with that.

#1:

Tsuki No Mayu – Turn A Gundam

And my all time favourite.  Again I’m glad I managed to find a clip of the best rendition.  The fightings over, peace has arrived at last and now Ameria and the Moonrace are exploring their new found friendship.  There’s a montage of some scenes showing what has happened to all of the characters and all looks well.  But then you look at Sochie’s scene and I swear I get teared up every time.  Seeing her wailing in the middle of the night and calling out Loran’s name is kind of depressing as she truly loved him.  However, Loran chose to be with Diana and at least their scene is very happy with them moving out into the country side to live in a cottage together.  The calm forest scenes featuring them during the last few minutes of the sequence are just beautiful in my opinion, and by the time Loran is done tucking Diana into bed, if you aren’t satisfied with the ending to this Gundam series then I don’t know what to say.  I was though, and I still love this song to this day.  The way the lyrics are song, the musical accompaniment, the fact that it just keeps going, never losing steam and fitting so perfectly with the visuals until the very end.  It’s a textbook Gundam ending theme, but it’s still my favourite anime ending theme of all time and an excellent way to cap of Tomino’s saga.

Anyway, as always feel free to add you own list if you want, but I should warn that anything more then two links will result in the comment being caught by the spam filter so you might want to disable your hyperlinks if you want to post any.  It’s a necessary default to prevent spam, but if your comment does get caught then I’ll be happy to go through and restore your comment for you when I do my daily check of the spam archive.

10 Responses to “Kaioshin’s Top 10 Anime Endings”


  1. 1 Camario September 25, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    More as a reflection of my own limited experience than anything else…”Beyond The Time” is the only one that immediately jumps to mind, though I also heard “Evergreen”, “Eternal Wind”, and “Tenshi No Enogu” at some point.

  2. 2 Ransom September 25, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Well, apart from gravitation, why are all of them mecha related?

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama September 25, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    @Ransom: Yeah….about that, for whatever reason mecha series seem to have the vast majority of songs I like followed closely by anything to do with music as a theme. Of course on the latter you kind of have to be strong in the music category if you want the show to be taken seriously.

  4. 4 Zetatrain September 25, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Very nice list especially Eternal Wind and Beyond the Time, which is one of my favorite Gundam endings ever and nice little analysis on its title.

  5. 5 Keiichi September 28, 2008 at 6:31 am

    I’m a bit surpised Diamond Crevasse didn’t make it in here somewhere, guess it’s because I’m a macross fanboy and the “see you space cowboy” episode brought me to tears…

  6. 6 Kaioshin Sama September 28, 2008 at 8:07 am

    @Keiichi: Diamond Crevasse is a great ending, but not really the stuff I’m looking for in a top 10 qualifier. It definitely deserves to win an award before Triangler ever does.

  7. 7 Keiichi September 28, 2008 at 10:47 am

    What did you think of the Triangler snuck into the ending of MF 25? I’m sure it’s at least tolerable since it is a duet between Megumi and May’N

  8. 8 ghostlightning September 29, 2008 at 7:45 am

    I agree with a lot of the inclusions. I do think that Kaioshin’s being too hasty with his dismissal of Macross Frontier’s music.

    I listen to anime music A LOT, besides listening to a lot of music in general. I do believe that Macross Frontier’s music is some of the best ever. I evaluate anime music also in the way it makes me feel about the show I’m watching, and Diamond Crevasse (especially the special edition Sheryl sang in the bomb shelter) is top notch.

    I won’t ask him to revise his list, as taste is taste. I just feel that he’s off with his evaluation of May’N’s turn as Sheryl Nome. Northern Cross is even better than Diamond Crevasse IMO.

    Here are some of my faves, though I’m hesitant to be conclusive about the list (in no particular order):

    The Real Folk Blues
    Gotta’ Knock A Little Harder
    Blue (1st 3 are from Cowboy Bebop)
    Northern Cross (Macross Frontier)
    Gravity (Wolf’s Rain)
    Mystic Eyes (Escaflowne)
    Tenshi no Enogu (DYRL)
    Waltz (Hachimitsu to Clover)
    Hare Hare Tukai (Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu)
    Yes, Together (Vandread 2nd Stage)
    Niji to Taiyu no Oka (Ranma 1/2) Oh god I love this…

  9. 9 Keiichi October 1, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Hare Hare Yukai*

  10. 10 Cynthia July 19, 2009 at 12:33 am

    I probably won’t be checking back to this site, as I only found it while Googling something else, so email me if you’d like. As for myself, I find that I prefer mostly older series with a few exceptions. For instance:

    Yoroiden Samurai Troopers: By far my favorite anime because of great character interactions and relationships, and I also love the design of the armors. I think both OPs and both EDs are excellent, but if I had to pick one of each it would be the first ED and second OP. Faraway is an ending theme set to a cute scene of the boys playing baseball, which aside from being the last scene of the last episode is also indicative of the strong bonds of friendship they’ve built. Samurai Heart is, if you ask me, one of Moriguchi Hiroko’s best songs, and the clips used in the opening sequence are well-suited to the growth the troopers undergo in the second season. You might know this series better under its dub name “Ronin Warriors”, but the japanese version is just that much better.

    Soukyuu no Fafner: I think the OP and ED are both exceptionally beautiful and representative of the series. If you’ve never seen this series, I strongly recommend that you do, especially if you like mecha.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

