Lucky Star OVA Summary And Thoughts

It’s time to take a trip all the way back to where it first began.  Some may say I made my bones with Gundam 00, still others would say I talked way too much about Code Geass, but before that, before I became “too serious”, there was….

Hmmmm….no I don’t believe that was it

That’s Better

This Picture Summary Has Been Brought To You By Kadokawa Shoten Publishing And Associates:

I don’t know what the most unsettling part about this opening sequence is, the fact that they’re playing it light an eroge opener, the fact that it’s the dog playing the lead, the fact that it’s Minami who get’s the first line (Voiced of course by the Extremely laid back and always half awake sounding Chihara Minori), or the fact that there’s no dancing.

There’s the would be Lucky Star herself Konata Izumi.  Wake up Konata, you’ve got jokes to tell….I think

That’s the spirite Kagami.  Ol’ right and ready, always up at the crack of dawn and learning herself her daily events.

Hmmmmm….you know, sometimes I worry about you Tsukasa, are you sure you weren’t adopted.  Better get cracking, you don’t want to be dead last yet again.

That’s the spirit Miyuki, your sombre voice and infinite wisdom inspires us all.  If you can make it through this OVA without walking into anything I think it’s safe to say you will have levelled up.

Lucky Star’s gift to hyperactivity makes it’s return in Yutaka, the girl who despite apparently being sickly is brimming with unlimited energy.  Could she possibly surpass the Konater?  We shall see.

….And third tier character who’s name I can’t remember….don’t worry, we’ll figure you out later

And last but certainly least there is Patricia Martin, who in olden language would be known as a Gaijin, but in today’s hip internet culture may just get called a Weaboo

………WHAT THE HELL IS THAT THING SUPPOSED TO BE ANYWAY?!!!  Oh wait no time, it’s starting….aaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnnd..

Whoaaaaaaa!  Slow down, I’m having trouble following the plot already….

Poor Miyuki….it looks like your stock is worth less then the damn dogs.  And Cherry’s really going at her there too if you can imagine.  I’m not sure what fetish this is, but I’m not complaining

Tsukasa lost her cell phone….this feels familiar somehow…

Yeah, well I wish life were more like Lucky Star there Kagami.  Nobody’s ever stressed out, everyone’s life is super laid back and even though nobody ever learns from their mistakes, it doesn’t matter….

In intriguing observation……now do it without the Manga reference

This dog centric skit has me rather confused.  Though I do feel like a tuna sandwich right now. :/

I believe I get it now.  The dog symbolizes the inner desire of the Lucky Star fan

That of course being to beat the stuffing out of Draw-tan

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…..Whazaaa?!  Oh….hey….dozed off there for a second, what’s all this…..that’s not Dragon Quest.  Not very Otakuish if you ask me.  Hmmm….looks like Kagami needs to level up.

Well it certainly does have Dragon Quest’s sense of generic enemies.  You know, I could think of a number of ways in which this battle ends, but none of them seem to involve the party taking down the slime.  I hope that doesn’t make me an evil person…..

Now now Tsukasa, healing items only work if you are actually injured.  Now you’re just a porker.  You really should take after your sister more.

I don’t know what kind of game ties the chat toggle to the enter button so I’m not blaming this one on Tsukasa

That’s like asking her the Pinky and The Brain question

Tsukasa: Gee Konata, what are you going to do in this game tomorrow night….Poit!

Konata: The same thing I do every night Tsukasa!  Try to hit the level cap!

…..YOUR PLAYING AN MMORPG FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!  WHAT ELSE IS THEIR TO DO BUT GRIND!

That’s okay Kagami.  This stuff isn’t going to be on the test tomorrow……OR IS IT?!

11 and a half minutes to the first pseudo Haruhi reference….that’s some serious restraint there……

Ah I love you Kagami.  Your getting some points after this is all done.

I think I know the reason why it’s so hard to understand Konata.  She speaks entirely in stunted Syllables.  Beep boop bop boop ba ba boop ba ba bee bop boop.  That’s what she might as well have said.  Good ol’ R2 Konata 2.

See that guy in the background to the right getting totally owned…..yeah that’s me on his left. :)  Score!

Hmmmm….I think Pizza is just the food of choice in Otaku Japan, not a weapon there Nanako.  See, the old Lucky Star would have shown a Kadokawa related product that would have gone on sail within a week in real life, but this is the Lucky Star OVA….unless…..don’t tell me Kadokawa is getting into the Pizza business? :O

Gundam Wing ends…….

Now that’s the Lucky Star I know

No wait, THAT’S the Lucky Star I know

So Kagami didn’t want to go to the dance with her sisters and now Konata is her fairy godmother and is taking her there anyway with her house as the carriage…..whatever the scenario writer was taking when he came up with this one I want some!

Okay, now we’re definitely getting into the more Otakuish stuff.  What’s that?  Hatsune Miku is popular in Japan now? How about we dress Kagami up to look like her?  Not my favourite skit

Now that’s the good stuff…..wait, I thought this was supposed to be a dance….whatever, girl on girl wrestling, I can dig it.

Please fight….okay somebody needs to start making doujins of this skit now.  Man if this is how the Japanese view the Cinderalla story then I’m getting a bit keener on there version.  Forget what I said about this skit sucking earlier

Wait that’s it?  Don’t be a tease Lucky Star.  You just bought yourself a PENALTY GAME!  Anyone remember that one by the way?

YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!  Oh wait it was all a dream?  Phew….

24 Sucks!  There I said it.  The only good season was the first one, but apparently somebody working on Lucky Star still likes it somehow.  Search me…..by the way, the Tsukasa eyes are back again as you can see…..OKAY YOU CAN STOP THE GODDAMN 24 TIMER NOW!

Pshoooooooooooooooo Cat…..that’s better

Seeing as how they still seem determined to give my Miyuki less screentime then the average third tier character it looks like Tsukasa will have to play the foil yet again

Sentai’s still popular it seems….Subokon…..I don’t get it.  Subcon….are they talking like in Super Mario Bros. 2 USA?

Do the impossible
See the invisible
Raw! Raw! Fight the Kagami!

Freeza’s back…..and is it just me or is that Rolo Lamperouge with light brown hair?

First tier character Miyuki Takara’s cameo this skit.  It’s of the blink and you’ll miss it variety.

What The Fuck…

Okay, I’m sorry, but you’ve gotta hire some extras.  Cutesy high school girls do not sound like Freeza and the Kujira voices everyone joke (if it was one) has long since run it’s course.  Time to allocate that budget

I see the usual rules about saying Gundam in anime still away.  Sunrise must have really put the fear of god into other anime studios….but no, they really will sue you senseless if you infringe on the Gundam trademark in any significant way

Was this what you guys were going for?

So when did Miyuki become so godly strong and Tsukasa find time to become even more of a milquetoast.  What’s going on here?

The people on your side have more screen time and lines then Miyuki and Tsukasa is not a side character.  That will be enough out of you Misao

And the classic sports anime ending.  The I lost but I learned from my experience and next time I’ll win for sure.  Too bad Tsukasa never does learn otherwise she’d still have her cell phone right now

Some classic Aya Hirano style over-delivery.  Never gets old.  If I ever meet her in person I’m definitely going to ask her to say “Soylent Green is People!” and see if she can take the overacting crown from Charlton Heston.

Think about who your are talking to for a second there Kagami

Classic Miyuki.  Solves problems that for some reason the rest of the cast is incapable of comprehending

Hmmm….what….oh yeah, you can sort of tell they are running out of steam with this last skit…..

What’s going on with the audio here….what’s with the fisheye lens camera angle….oh wait, is this a horror skit?

…..You know this is a talkie right folks?

No you’re not.  Sit down and shut up!

….Hmmm, I’m going to chalk that misquote up to the subs, but still….Hey Code Geass is popular, why don’t we reference that?

….Macross Frontier is popular, why don’t we reference that?  Or is this Konata’s way of giving props to Aya Endo for being the only voice actor in Lucky Star to have starred in anything majorly relevant since the end of Lucky Star.  You know, I’ve gotta say, out of all of the people in this show I see Aya Endo with the brightest future and the greatest variety of roles.

Keroro Gunso is pop….ah fuck it.

YEEAAAAAAAAAAAAH! DROP THAT ACID!

Anime Tenchou’s scene……what, Seki Tomokazu actually costs money I’ll have you know.  Oh well, way to get owned by Konata not being there Tenchou.  At least this means no Kadokawa ware hawking

Lucky Drugs…..Pshoooooooooooooooooooooo!

Oh we are most certainly not doing Lucky Channel.  If I have to sit through even a minute of this tired old sketch, Akira’s voice and Taniguchi’s dancing then I’m probably going to kill myself

Thoughts:

Hmmmmm……not great, but not bad either. The awesome thing is that unlike most of the series I cover now, I don’t have to do a huge end of episode breakdown for everything that happened in this OVA.  First lets get the negative out of the way.

Obviously there’s the issue with Kujira……look…..that one got old by about the Comiket sketch of the TV series and it’s really just kind unsettling to hear the exact same voice coming out of every character no matter what they look like.  I think there could be a little more allocation of budget to the sub-tertiary character voices or at the very least the casting department could hire somebody that will be willing to mix it up a little.  A minor nitpick, but still, I mean really.  Secondly the final skit there which belonged to Miyuki.  I’m glad they gave her some screen time, but her skit was easily the worst of the four.  It just didn’t do anything for me and was rife with the otaku reference jokes that are there for the sake of it and the whole thing never really went anywhere.  Plus having them reuse a joke for Konata in the same arc not once, but twice (once with the screaming and the other time with the branch) really made it feel like they were out of ideas for the skit.  In order to avoid that I suppose they could have stuck the Miyuki skit in the middle and put the Konata one at the end which I think was actually the strongest.  That way you get to finish strong and it ties in better with the Anime Tenchou stuff.  That’s all other then the fact that it’s still kind of more of the same in that I have to wonder how it would really be possible to get a whole other 24 episode season out of this in the future and have Lucky Star still feel at all fresh.

On the good side was the Konata skit, which managed to carry the shows Otaku friendly feel without having to resort to much to random references of what is currently popular.  You kind of have to know a little about MMO’s to enjoy it and/or be a hardcore gamer, but it was pretty good stuff.  It also starts off the exploitation of Tsukasa that doesn’t let up until the end of the series.  The Tsukasa volleyball skit was kind of fun too in a way and probably had the most action we saw all episode.  For a while Tsukasa got to do something slightly useful, but yet again it all blows up in her face in a rather humiliating way near the end.  One has to wonder why it’s now always Tsukasa that has to play the fool.  Somebody up there really must not like her. 

Then there was the just okay like Kagami’s skit and Yutaka/Minami’s skit.  The former being rather short for someone who is supposed to be the most popular character in the show and being a little too Otakuish for my tastes (Yuri, cosplaying and the like), but there was nothing about it that I would say was really objectionable either.  On the other hand I got a total cold read on Minami/Yutaka’s skit.  There were some amusing parts with the dog, but other then that it was pretty boring and not exactly a strong way to start the skit.  I really have to wonder why they always seem to put the strongest skits in the middle with the weak links at the end, but then maybe that’s just me and other people fine the first and last sections to be the strongest.  Still I can’t help but feel they were counterproductive there.

So in the end I liked the OVA better then the final quarter or so of the TV Series by far, but it’s still really just Lucky Star.  If the TV Series was your thing then you’ll probably like the OVA.  If it wasn’t then I doubt it will do much to change your mind.  If your like me though and you thought the TV Series was an interesting diversion then by all means give the OVA a watch as it’s not a bad way to pass the time.  Just be aware that your mileage may vary.

Rating: Seven Out Of Ten

13 Responses to “Lucky Star OVA Summary And Thoughts”


  1. 1 Myssa Rei September 29, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Hatsune Miku is VERY popular. Insanely popular, given the fact that many musically-inclined and talented but socially-awkward folk (not limited to otaku) use her as their ‘voice’ through their original compositions.

    Then… There’s Black Rock Shooter. Oh GOD, Black Rock Shooter.

    I actually watched this RAW, and even the was surprised by the amount of anime-reference one-liners they squeezed into the skits. The skit format used was a little surprising as well, harkening back to Azumanga and Ichigo Marshmallow, which is a good change, compared to the rather disjointed scenes (you know those, the ones whose punch-line either arrived too late or just… well, didn’t arrive at all because the setting changed) we had in the TV series.

    Still, good stuff. It seems the yonkoma team in KyoAni is actually learning.

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama September 29, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Okay, I’ve gotta ask, who is Black Rock Shooter. I keep asking Deathkillz, but he won’t answer me. I’m starting to suspect he doesn’t actually know himself.

  3. 3 Myssa Rei September 30, 2008 at 12:32 am

    A brief view of Pixiv (or Danbooru if you don’t have a Pixiv account) will answer that question. It was kind of overwhelming to type in VOCALOID in your search, and find the OVERWHELMING (20 pages and rising, and only Miku herself has more pages allocated to her) amount of pictures of Black Rock Shooter (spelled with a star in the middle of Black and Rock, ala Lucky Star) there instead of Miku or her family.

    In Pixiv it isn’t as bad, but still, there’s a LOT of pictures of her there.

    It all began here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwtulLgg5Ws

    Based on the character done by Huku. Serious Shana vibes, actually.

  4. 4 Myssa Rei September 30, 2008 at 1:51 am

    And another note… The MMORPG they seem to be playing is Tower of Druaga (as if the clues Konata dropped weren’t a dead giveaway, given how Kagami adores Gotoh’s FMP! books).

  5. 5 Vexx October 7, 2008 at 4:31 am

    aye… Tower of Druuga is one of the many “free to play” + “cash shop” MMORPGs out there (others include DOMO, ROSE Online, ASDAstory, Mabinogi, etc).

    They’re not a bad deal really if you’re tired of the “$50 to start” + “$15/month” commercial grind games.

    You only spend money when you want to….

  6. 6 Kaioshin Sama October 7, 2008 at 6:29 am

    I never really understood why Tower of Druaga become so popular. The game is, and I’m not exagerrating here, borderline unplayable. I don’t know about the remake, but the classic arcade game had some seriously awkward combat, controlled like your character was walking through mollasses and just got boring really quickly. It wasn’t even that it was all that hard as most people say, it’s just plain awful. Given the choice between playing a round of Gauntlet or Tower of Druaga, I’d choose Gauntlet, even though it’s technically a more primitive and simplistic game.

  7. 7 Sarochan April 2, 2009 at 5:26 am

    And to think I got here looking for references for Hatsune Miku’s hair.

    Hatsune Miku: not just popular in Japan anymore.

  8. 8 rolofan^.^ June 6, 2009 at 4:54 am

    wow….this began a while ago…no idea what it’s about, i for one got here by looking for pictures of Rolo’s final moments…
    . . .

  9. 9 lily September 12, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    what episode is this?

  10. 10 Phillie D December 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I liked this OVA because it hardly featured Miyuki at all. About time they dedicated less time to the useless moe blob character.

  11. 11 Matt January 14, 2013 at 1:00 am

    ….Hey guize lets reference something no one will get!

    What do you expect them to do? If the creators like certain popular shows and want to reference them, why the hell shouldn’t they?

    What kind of standards to you have?
    “If I don’t get the reference then it’s a good one!”
    Oh yea! That’s makes a lot of sense!

    Trying to be a hipster doesn’t get a creator many places. Realizing what will actually be funny is the best way to make something funny.

    Also, watching Lucky Star and complaining that it has otaku influence! Do you even know what you are watching?

    I wouldn’t say this OVA was anything amazing either and I’m a fan of Lucky Star. But your reasoning is about as sound as a music critic saying he didn’t like an album because of the song titles.

  12. 12 keratin April 4, 2013 at 4:21 am

    Hi fantastic blog! Does running a blog like this take
    a great deal of work? I have absolutely no understanding of coding but
    I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, should you have any ideas or tips
    for new blog owners please share. I understand
    this is off subject nevertheless I simply needed to ask. Appreciate it!

  13. 13 Candy Crush July 26, 2013 at 4:26 am

    Liver cirrhosis or liver cancer is therefore known as ‘silent killers’.
    Crush particles in the equipment or perhaps
    the regular way – inside of a big, hefty-work
    resealable tote. a haunt query i get is what foods to squander when dieting.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

