Yes I Did Have Some Criticisms For Code Geass Actually, Thanks For Asking

So a lot of people are probably still wondering why I “ignored a lot of the faults with Code Geass R2″ during it’s run.  Well there were two reasons actually, one is that I just plain didn’t feel that some of the common “faults” people stated they found with the show actually existed and they weren’t part of my opinion on the show to begin with, and the other is that I just wanted to wait to see if the show would find a way to address some of the faults with it that I did have in some way that would render them moot by the end. This was the case for a few of them, but not for all.  So now that the show is over it’s time to spill the beans.  It’s not a large list, but here they are:

-Gino’s character wasn’t handled very well at all for somebody Taniguchi said was going to be a major player
-The Knight of Rounds mostly came across as obstacles and foils for Lelouch, Suzaku and Karen to overcome.
-Episodes 5 and 12 could have been removed from the show other then a few key plot relevant scenes and it would not have made a difference.  We really didn’t need 2 episodes devoted primarily to high school hijinks in that close proximity to one another.
-Episode 20 was needlessly confusing at times.
-Knightmare Frame battles become a little tedious and bland for the middle portion of the series.
-Lelouch was made to overuse the terrain effect battle tactic way to much in R2.
-Sayoko’s character seemed more like an Otaku pleaser then a real legitimate character and was one of the few aspects of the series that I actually had a hard time taking seriously.
-Same goes for Tamaki who was a rather unnecessary comic relief.
-Pizza Hut promotion got invasive at times and I just don’t like product placement period.
-Schneizel’s perfectness unhinging almost every plan Lelouch came up with for most of the series got a little out of hand at times and made him into a bit of a Gary Stu.  I would have liked to see him struggle a bit more like Lelouch before the final arc.  Even his retreat at the end of the China arc made him still look great and even at the end of the series he’s made out to be this amazing and worthy leader.  I’ve never liked characters that never have to struggle (see Kira Yamato) so I have quite a bit of contempt for the way his whole story went.

Overall these are minor faults for me though and I’m not really too sore about them.  No show is perfect or without it’s flaws, but I still won’t join the group that says the show was a total trainwreck, doesn’t make any sense at all, is poorly paced and 100% poorly written because I just don’t see it and didn’t have a hard time following the story, the characters actions and allegiances or the fast paced nature of it all.

This will probably be my last Code Geass related post unless something else major comes up.  Again it was a fairly fun ride with some bumps of anguish along the way, but I intend to keep things a little lighter here this coming anime season.  Perhaps I’ll do some coverage of MS Igloo 2 since it seems almost destined to get overshadowed by the much more popular and anticipated (for wholesome or “other” reasons) Gundam 00 Second Season, which is of course a shame.  You won’t have to worry about lack of content though as I’m sure Deathasaurus has something planned and Klashikari also will be covering Clannad After Story.  Perhaps even Skyfall might do something as well with ef – a tale of melodies.  Until next time…..

30 Responses to “Yes I Did Have Some Criticisms For Code Geass Actually, Thanks For Asking”


  1. 1 fuka September 30, 2008 at 11:50 am

    While I agree that Code Geass is not without flaws, I disagree with most of your criticism except for Gino. I don’t think the story will have any changes if you remove Gino completely from the series.

    Here is my list of flaws of Code Geass:

    They never revealed the real name of C.C.

    What’s the point of XingKe terminally ill? The story would be the same if he is 100% healthy.

    Basically I hate obvious plot hint that are never used.

  2. 2 Myssa Rei October 1, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I dunno, but Code Geass had a veritable stable of Chekhov’s Guns (and Gunmen) that it used and ignored, some against logical narrative convention. It also doesn’t help that the official website was deliberately misleading, especially concerning the character profiles (I’m looking at you Nonnette).

    The pacing was uneven as well, with the last quarter nearly a nonstop stream of plot revelation, QUICK plot resolution, followed by yet ANOTHER plot revelation. The limited episode count could be a factor for this of course, but one does get the feeling that the screenwriter was pressured to resolve as many of the plot threads as he/she could before episode 25 rolled in.

    It’s funny though, most people are not complaining about how many plot threads are left unresolved, but HOW THEIR FAVORITE PAIRING DIDN’T COME TO PASS and WHETHER LELOUCH IS STILL ALIVE. The Internet Backdraft from the Shippers is even worse than what happened for Macross Frontier — except for Frontier it’s more forgiveable since it’s Macross, and really an open ending was expected anyway (for those who paid attention).

  3. 3 Keiichi October 1, 2008 at 2:13 am

    @Myssa Rei-

    I can say that most people who cared for the show were really in it for the pairings, being fanboys themselves, or the action. The rest were haters, and some true viewers like Kaioshin. I’m not saying it’s true, but it’s what I’ve seen. It’s funny, people say “OMG THE ENDING IS SH!@7, BUT WHAT ABOUT LELOUCH!?” Even the haters wanted to know what happened to Lelouch and so on. Not to mention Satelight announced that Macross Frontier was to have a movie, so the fans are relatively quelled with that piece of information and are actually anticipating more Macross Fronteir.

    The open ending in Macross Frontier was needed to make a viable plot-related movie, and not one of those random movies that have no influence on the plot at all but are just for marketing purposes. I will however ROFLMFAOLOLHAHAHAHA at the shippers if they get trolled again by the movie. This is a clever procedure to come out with more CDs and make record hits again (they’ve already sold 500,000 units). Not to mention the profits from the pre-ordered DVDs, quite clever indeed, which brings me back to movies for money. I contradicted myself slightly, but at least it seems it will be plot relevant.

  4. 4 Anonymous October 1, 2008 at 4:36 am

    The whole series wasn’t bad but the main failure of the series was it’s failure to twist all of its plot lines into one massive conclusion. The last few episodes was solid, but it was awfully anti-climatic. Also had some questionable story arcs in the form Chinese Rebellion, Mao’s arc, etc. I hear some people are calling a cop out…if you think cynically enough that is kind of true as people will tend to choose for the option that pleases them the most: Lelouche is alive or Lelouche is dead.

    That and they threw away some massive potential in the Knights of Round. Bloody hell, I think even the “Nanni, mai hunni?” girl actually got more lines than most of the Knights of Round. Not to mention Cornelia’s teacher…I don’t think she even died, said a line, or appeared onscreen alone.

    Essentially they took the show too far. And the show couldn’t handle it took well.

    @Keiichi
    True viewers? Sounds awfully pretentious to me…different things for different strokes of people. Some love analyzing it to death and debating about the show like him, while some enjoy to sit back and enjoy the fireworks like myself. Doesn’t mean we’re any less of being a ‘true viewer’ than the person next to us.

  5. 5 Keiichi October 1, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    @Anonymous
    I’m sorry if I was too ambiguous with my words, but I meant viewers who watch just to watch, and not to critic it in any way. I said true viewers like Kaioshin because he mentioned before that he just watches it to get the most enjoyment he can possibly get out of it.

  6. 6 Korasoff October 2, 2008 at 11:41 am

    You know, I had no particular problems with Gino as a character, he was yet another in a large cast that could have been developped a bit more, had the series lasted a few more… uh… years, at this rate. I disliked the useless minor characters a lot more and wish I could shove Rivalz off a bridge.

    I did hate the filler crap — doubly so because of how rushed some of the later episodes seemed — but, overall, Code Geass remains one of the best anime of the last few years. Sunrise was always ready to push the enveloppe, as they showed in the ending.

  7. 7 Catharsis October 2, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    @Keiichi

    That’s still fairly subjective no? Those that do not get enjoyment through critiquing the anime won’t do so, but are still getting the most enjoyment they can from just watching, no?

  8. 8 Keiichi October 3, 2008 at 1:41 am

    They don’t critique publicly, but I have in more than one occasion told myself “this is stupid!” throughout R2, and talked to some other fans, they had similar responces. People who don’t watch it to critique it are either: 1) watching for pure enjoyment like Kaioshin or 2) Just watching for some parts like relationships, fanservice, mecha battles, etc. These types usually ignore or disdain the other elements of the anime.

  9. 9 Kaioshin Sama October 3, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Can anybody possibly answer a question for me while we’re on the subject of criticism. Has the definition of plot hole changed on the internet in the past year or so. Does it just mean anything that is underexplained or strange at first glance now? I’m asking because people keep bringing up “plot holes” as a common critique for Code Geass and I can’t even think of one example where I think this criticism fits that wasn’t deliberate on the part of a key detail being witheld until a later point in time like Zero’s Requiem, Charles plans/backstory or Nunally and Guilford’s survival.

    To me something is only a plot hole if it directly contradicts an earlier established plot point or flow of in series logic in a manner that is totally unresolvable. My favourite example is Dullindal being both on the Minerva and back at the Plant during one episode of Gundam Seed Destiny due to the reuse of an animation sequence from an earlier episode (later fixed in the DVD release, but I mean still……). And no the Black Knights behaviour does not count in my opinion because they were deceived by Schneizel and goaded into following him by Lelouch for at first reasons of giving up hope and later for the Zero Requiem.

    Try as I might I still cannot think of anything in this show that was a blatant non-debatable bonifide plot hole.

  10. 10 RedWing October 3, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    I believe the common idea of a plot hole is also a part of the plot that goes against conventional reasoning. For example if Rivalz committed suicide after seeing Lelouch as emperor. Conventional reasoning would be that such an action would be out of Rivalz’ character unless some extra part of a plot was revealed to us.Thereby the lack of that piece of plot; that hole, is seen despite the fact that it could simply be meant for people to somehow understand.

    It is possible to apply this idea to the Black Knights, however I personally do not ascribe to that view.

  11. 11 Keiichi October 3, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    My take on plot-holes are conveniently introduced new elements (such as a new uber-upgrade just in the nick of time) that fits, but doesn’t really make much sense. For example, Kallen’s upgrade; Lloyd and Cecile could have just experimented on the Lancelot instead. Lelouch geassing the collective consciousness of the world is not in my book considered a plot hole because we all knew that at some point both of his eyes had to become Geass, and I felt that they saved it for that point for “dramatic effect.” But I have to agree with people saying the Black Knights did act relatively retarded in the final episodes…

    With the final episode, I found no point in having Schneizel at the lead naked and in a crucified position, and a Nunnaly in ragged clothing and chains.

  12. 12 fuka October 4, 2008 at 1:40 am

    I don’t really know why that many people makes that big a deal of Lyord and Cecile upgrade Guren instead of Lancelot. What if the upgrade went “overboard” and the machine cannot be used anymore. (Think Nadesico’s X-Aestivalis (ep17) ). It is logical and practical to use a spare mecha to do your tests on before you actually apply it on the real stuff.

    A classic plot hole would be something like what happened in Gundam 0083 – Gato and Nina met face to face in episode 1 and they didn’t recognize each other, only later on the director decided to add that they are lovers couple years ago to add some personal rivalry between Kou and Gato.

    Then I have a question though, does the plot hole makes Gundam 0083 less classic?

  13. 13 Kaioshin Sama October 4, 2008 at 4:06 am

    @Redwing: I’m seeing what you are getting at, but for me that would be more on the cusp of what I would define as a plothole.

    @Keiichi: I think that’s closer to what I would define as mild Deus Ex Machina since it’s more of a plot convenience that saves a character’s bacon. Even then it’s still debatable like with Fuka’s example.

    @Fuka: That example is exactly the kind of thing I would recognize as a true plothole. That by the way probably had to do with the director changing several times over the course of the series so that the director for the last few episodes wasn’t as well versed in what happened earlier or didn’t have the time to look over absolutely everything.

    Hmmm…..what happened to all of the avatars. Is it just me or are they not showing up? I’ll have to see if I can fix that.

  14. 14 sophie November 2, 2008 at 5:44 am

    im still smarting from the end of this show. does anyone have any suggestions on what to watch?–> “if you liked code geass, then you’ll love ________!” fill in the blank.

  15. 15 Kaioshin Sama November 2, 2008 at 8:13 am

    @Sophie: Legend of The Galactic Heroes maybe? Although LOGH is a lot slower and doesn’t feature any of the supposed “comedy” that Code Geass had. It pretty much has the exact same theory of how battles are fought though, only on a much larger scale. Yang Yen-Li will come up with a super tactic that will put Reinhard in a corner and then Reinhard will do something devious and possibly get out of it. Actually Lelouch is a lot like Reinhard and Yang if you combined them into one person with all of their traits, good and bad. You should check that one out.

  16. 16 gdmcrjunkie November 2, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Hmm, this a pretty old discussion but here goes.

    For me a plot hole is a part that doesn’t fit with what was already shown as true, and thoroughly established plot points that are randomly abandoned. What they did with Xingke’s illness is acceptable, though somewhat irritating, so I see that as a semi-plothole in an oh-he-must’ve-died-sometime-later way as he wasn’t in the wedding photo. Examples for what I consider a plot hole, period, would be Suzaku’s connection to Geass and why C.C. actively sought out Lelouch at the beginning. I know about the major unwanted plot alterations due to the timeslot change and possibly more, but plot holes are still plot holes (which are, for me, very irritating since I was looking forward to the answers…).

  17. 17 Kaioshin Sama November 2, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    I thought the reason for C.C seeking out Lelouch was no more simple then she wanted the Black Knights leader back….oh that and her potential Code taker. As for Suzaku’s connection to the Geass, am I the only one who doesn’t remember this ever making it beyond a storyboard idea? I’m pretty sure that was just something Taniguchi said he and Okuchi were throwing around the office one day while brainstorming or at least that’s what was implied.

  18. 18 gdmcrjunkie November 2, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    No, I meant the beginning of season 1, not 2. In the first episode after Kallen and the other person crashes into the building and Lelouch heads over to see if they’re okay, C.C. says something like “I finally found you,” and I somehow doubt that she had been looking for Lelouch because Marianne put her on babysitting duty. As for Suzaku, there’s the way he reacted at Kaminejima right before Lelouch and Kallen escaped, and the scene between Suzaku and C.C. while Lelouch was accidentally-geassing Euphemia. So yeah, I wish they didn’t have to abandon all the hints they dropped all over the place, but oh well?

  19. 19 fuka November 3, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    gdmcrjunkie:
    C.C only says she found “you”. She never said that is because of Marianne put her on babysitting duty. My interpretation is that C.C found “someone” who could inherit the geass/ code.

  20. 20 Tye The Czar September 28, 2009 at 1:17 am

    I gobbled up every episode of Code Geass the moment I found it on air. And I had no regrets for liking it despite its flaws and lack of a few answers(The REAL REAL origins of the Geass and the “witches”.) But overall, I find Goro’s directing to be some of the best in the industry. Plot holes and annoyances be damned.

  21. 21 Captain Ahabix November 3, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I must agree with Tye The Czar.
    I found the anime intresting from the start and didn’t really care about the loose endings.

  22. 22 Joe Bob April 28, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I agree, most of the criticism people make about Code Geass is unfounded. I have yet to find any of the plotholes people complain about; most are simply the result of them not paying enough attention to the details given. Why is it that when you have a show as popular and nearly-flawless as Code Geass some people have to try to attract attention to themselves by criticizing it. They’re basically saying: “Oh look at me! I’m taking on popular opinion, bitches!” It’s really quite pathetic. Like any other series, Code Geass had some (small) flaws, but there’s no need to rant about them, since it is impossible to make anything without them.

  23. 23 Grotskrag August 20, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    @ Joe Bob; Nearly flawless? Did you really watch the same show I did?
    There were a _quite_ a number of plot holes in CG, like people that should have been dead somehow returning alive and people traveling impossible distances in no time.
    And then you have the almost ridiculous amount of plot armour (Like Spinzaku dodging MG rounds) and the obvious failings in the portrayals of Lelouch’s supposed ingenuity (His ineptitude at strategy, wasting of time and resources in pointless battles, relying way too much on single terrain haxx gambits or elite mechas and utter failure at making backup plans in case a certain overpowered white mecha shows up.).

    And no, you can make a great story without flaws like these, I’ve seen plenty.
    The biggest flaw of CG is the authors’ reliance on shiny WOW cliffhangers and plot devices to keep up the pace, no matter how contrived and inconsistent they may be. It’s essentially a hugely cheap way of making a blockbuster, much on par with simple action movies filled to the brim with explosions, sex and car chases.
    It might be hugely entertaining and appealing to the easily impressed masses, but that does not mean it is suddenly immune against critique.
    And certainly saying that those who do critique it are mere attention whores are a obvious sign of fanboyism…

  24. 24 joey May 6, 2011 at 3:02 am

    you people are retarded. code geass is amazing. nearly all of your accusations about the show are stated with no examples at all, and any issue you have with inconstancy in the story or things that don’t make sense are easily answered or addressed in the show if you actually pay attention.

  25. 25 makeup artist sydney December 1, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Appreciating the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you
    provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted
    rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  26. 26 online form builder August 4, 2013 at 6:17 am

    Cheers to your PROFITmatic Turnkey Automated Internet Profit Center,.
    It won’t take you extremely long to work out what way to employ it. Decide now because if you are a weight lifter, you will not build the chest that you are looking for.

  27. 27 cartier tank anglaise review September 5, 2013 at 12:43 am

    So our life is marred with a lot of mascara on if you’re going out and just want to glam it up.
    This brand has a history, and I don’t shuow them alll in one
    shot just by using the eyeshadow primer, cartier taqnk gq or the white.

  28. 28 Penis Enlargement Bible Review September 29, 2013 at 7:54 am

    I think that is one of the most important information for me.
    And i’m happy reading your article. But want to observation on few
    normal things, The website style is perfect, the
    articles is in reality great : D. Just right process, cheers

  29. 29 Green Smoke Coupon Codes October 15, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    wonderful issues altogether, you jusdt gained a new reader.
    What may you suggest in regards to your pst tht you made
    a feww days in the past? Any certain?

  30. 30 like August 11, 2014 at 3:13 am

    If some one wants expert view regarding running a blog then i recommend
    him/her to go to see this blog, Keep up the nice job.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

