I Ask For More Gaogaigar And They Give Me Mai-Hime In Space

Well, since it doesn’t look like there are going to be any Tytania subs for the next little while I might as well head right back into topics of personal interest….namely mine.  Perhaps though this interests more people then I think.  I’m sure after Code Geass ended many people including myself were asking, “what’s next from Sunrise?”, or at the very least they were looking for the next show with which they could do that thing they do.  Would it be more Gundam? more Mai-Hime (god forbid)?  Both in some bizarre hybrid series?!!!!  Well believe it or not (and I honestly still don’t myself) it’s the latter among those choices.  I guess I should be sort of thankful it’s a new franchise, but on the other hand it continues the recent trend of them trying to make their TV series (as opposed to their OVA’s which are usually specialty productions aimed at a very clear audience) into something for everybody…..with varying results.

The show is called Sora o Kakeru Shōjo which translates roughly as The Girl Who Leapt Through Space.  The plot according to ANN is something along the lines of a story that is set in the year 311 of the Orbital Calendar, when humanity has migrated to countless colony clusters in space. A space colony girl named Akiha Shishidō encounters a malevolent artificial intelligence named Leopard that has been installed on a colony. Akiha is joined by an Inter-Colony Police officer named Itsuki Kannagi, a taciturn young girl named Honoka Kawai, and a robot named Imoko “Imo-chan” Shishidō.

Okay, sounds innocent enough for before the massacring of the characters and their relationships begin.  Let’s look at said characters.  Sora o Kakeru Shōjo…..

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Pink haired girls doing Sailor Moon like poses.  Because everyone wants to be reminded of Chibi-Usa….

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Green haired girls with no fashion sense.  Because if your female character is meant to be a badass and has more clothing to skin ratio then she just isn’t going to cut it in today’s modern anime world.

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Girls that think they’re cats.  Because it’s important to recognize that cats are people too…..or something

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Girls that are probably busty scientists.  Because any female character that wears glasses must invariably have large breasts as well

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Girls in hot pants.  Because in anime there’s an inverted relationship between character age and the amount of clothing they wear

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Girls that are lolis.  Because if your anime show doesn’t have at least one loli character in it then it’s pretty much Dead on Arrival.

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Girls that are probably shrine maidens.  Because even in space you need someone to keep the faith

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

……Thing…….

Errrr….Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Mecha and…..thing.  Because like Frank Miller and prostitutes, Sunrise would probably be unable to function without some form of mecha-based action in one of their shows

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

Evil colonies.  Because they’re damn well fed up with just sitting around and waiting for somebody to drop them on a planet.

Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got

everything but a male character it seems.  Now if it sounds like I’m actually somewhat cold to the general idea of this show and what we have seen of it so far in the pre-production stage then maybe it’s because I am.  Maybe it’s because I’ve waited patiently through Mai-Hime, Mai-Otome, and iDOLM@STER Xenoglossia for any word of a new chapter to one of my favourite mecha franchises that isn’t Gundam.  Maybe I don’t like this continued direction away from the likes of psychological series like The Big O or Gar vehicles like Overman King Gainer in favour of the likes of the Mai franchise.  I really just can’t help but wonder exactly where along the line that Sunrise got so……girly.  All mecha franchises aside of course.

Well whatever, like any show I’ll be giving it a chance, and it’ll probably end up surprising me too.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned from this studio it’s don’t expect the expected from anything they are behind.

14 Responses to “I Ask For More Gaogaigar And They Give Me Mai-Hime In Space”


  1. 1 Enact October 12, 2008 at 3:30 am

    You know, I rather enjoyed Mai Hime, cause at the time it was a pretty fun series with a nice cast. Otome had some neat ideas but it has weak glue holding it together for the most part. This just…..for lack of a better word it looks hideous. The desgins look like a horrible mishmesh of every anime cliche ever, and the premise..well there isn’t much out there for it so I’ll hold out on that but this doesn’t look all that appealing or interesting. I guess we’ll see.

  2. 2 The Animanachronism October 12, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got you hot under the collar. I’m filing this under ‘will watch, with dampened expectations’ . . . I didn’t dislike Mai Hime.

  3. 3 ZeusIrae October 12, 2008 at 10:29 am

    “The desgins look like a horrible mishmesh of every anime cliche ever,”

    Yep, pretty sad..I really don’t understand what’s going on in the director’s head at times like this.I mean, he knows how cliché and boring the characters look like, no?

  4. 4 Duo Maxwell October 12, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    “Sora o Kakeru Shōjo, it’s got…”

    You spotted on everything XD. Well, keep your faith in Sunrise if possible, at least they’re trying in Gundam franchise.

    ….Mai-Hime is not that bad, though. And I thought you said iDOLM@STER Xenoglossia isn’t as bad as people claimed, isn’t it?

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama October 12, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    @Enact: Well to be honest, the only design I really have anything against is one for the character named Kazumi. That’s the only one that looks straight out of Mai-Hime.

    @The Animanachronism: Yeah, I’ll probably watch it, but for the first time I can’t help but think there is at least a little truth the claim some make about this not being the same studio as the one from the 90’s. Just a little truth though. I see it more along the line as they are now targetting a different demographic more often then they used to. Let’s just hope they don’t make the same mistake Nintendo is by appearing to abandon their core fanbase.

    @ZeusIrae: A part of me at least feels it’s deliberate though. How many times have they used cutesy and gimmicky looking designs and concepts to lure in viewers before going full blast on drama, tragedy, intrigue and just plain entertaining material. We’ll have to wait and see though.

    @Duo Maxwell: Well, it’s kind of hard not to in this case. :) I’ll be keeping the faith of course. I’m not about to turn into a hater over something like this, but I’m kind of feeling left out in the cold a little just the same. I really don’t understand the popularity of the Mai franchise and it’s apparent spinoffs, but like you mentioned, there’s Gundam and such. I just hope I don’t have to wait like 5 years through Mai-Hime spinoffs and sequels for their next new mecha franchise.

    As for Xenoglossia, no, it really isn’t as bad as most people claim it is, but it’s not exactly a masterpiece. It’s probably about a 6.5/10 for me.

  6. 6 Terrestrial Dream October 13, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Well after a while I kinda gave up the hope for new GaoGaiGar, really I just can’t see them making another one after the amount of time passed. This if it is anything like Mai-Otome it is going suck big time, though at least the writer isn’t the same so there won’t be any school crap in this one. Shows like this is going to be popular because of the amount of moe character in this show, so we should expect more Mai-something in the future. Still I don’t get why there is no GaoGaiGar, I mean the show was very popular so I really don’t see why they stop Project Z.

  7. 7 ghostlightning October 13, 2008 at 8:23 am

    I tried watching Mai-Hime a few years ago and I remember enjoying it (must’ve watched less than a dozen eps). But I think what I’ve read all over the net scared me off.

    No Tytania subs? sad.

    Finally got a blog up. We Remember Love. Check it out when you’ve the time.

  8. 8 Epi October 13, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    I thought Mai-HiME was an incredible show, last episode aside. It was definitely one of the funnest shows I had seen in years. Mai Otome meanwhile was a unmitigated trainwreck.

    Any idea when this show is going to come out?

    The last serious Sunrise non-mecha show that I can recall is Planetes, I hope they make more like that…

  9. 9 Kaioshin Sama October 13, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    @Terrestial Dream: Maybe they are following the theory that everything automatically becomes cooler in space. On the off chance that any potential combat migrates out into that deep dark vacuum they might be right. I suppose at least if it’s going to be another Mai-Hime type show that a change of venue could spice things up a little. Uh…..perhaps…no I really don’t know still.

    @ghostlightning: I get the sense that there’s a very low demand for Tytania subs. It’s not really one of the big series this season and is I will admit an acquired taste. One that I have, but an acquired taste nonetheless. I’m hoping that with luck somebody somewhere will give it a go. If not this season then next one. There have been shows that I’ve waited over a year to see the end of via fansubs so I can be patient.

    @Epi: Please don’t use that “word” here unless it’s mocking it in some fashion. The no meme policy is something I’d still like to enforce.

    Anyway, I think the reason that they haven’t had a lot of serious non-mecha shows is that they don’t make a lot of non-mecha shows.

    And no, sorry, no air date has been announced. This one is still in it’s planning stages. It might have entered the pre-production stage already, but I don’t expect any more details such as seiyuu announcements and promotional pages in Newtype for at least a while yet.

  10. 10 JOEL PEREZ November 8, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    USE GUNDAM LIGHT SIDE THEY PROMISE MAI HIME AND MAI OTOME TURN GUNDAM LIGHT SIDE OK THANKS YOU BACK TO JAPAN GUNDAM LIGHT SIDE FOREVER PUT NEW GUNDAM LIGHT SIDE BANDAI AND SUNRISE

  11. 11 jenn February 8, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks for the profiles, they helped clarify my ‘Eh?! They’re all sisters?!’ question. :) Wonder whether you’ve been watching this one so far…

  12. 12 Kaioshin Sama February 8, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Yeah, so it turned out this series isn’t as much of a write off as I thought it was going to be. I wouldn’t recommend it really, but it’s surprisingly self-aware and doesn’t let anything hold it back. I’m pretty sure it’s actually supposed to be a send up of the mecha genre. People are free to take that as they will, but it got chuckles out of me and rarely does an anime do that anymore. That sort of thing is normally the territory of The Daily Show.

  13. 13 Mitsuki March 8, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Sora o Kakeru Shoujo is a really great anime, Watch it first before saying that lol…
    Don’t like it, don’t watch it, do a better one yourself then

  14. 14 Kaioshin Sama March 10, 2009 at 6:04 am

    @Mitsuki; Hahahahahaha…..I’m watching episode 08 in about an hour after which there will probably be another update of my ongoing article about it.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

