About The Kannagi Incident

In the interest of adding some commentary to this whole topic that doesn’t just serve to highlight the obvious hilarity of the situation, all I’m going to say is that in an age when a show can be labelled a “trainwreck” or total garbage by the Western anime community for something as minor as not delivering the popular shipping relationships or not having it’s character and plot development pan out exactly as one might expect or desire, I can’t help but feel sometimes that we are headed in this direction.  At least a little…..

I don’t know, I also can’t help but feel that while we’re all over here having a good laugh at 2ch (albeit justly) about all of this that it might do at least some good to have a reality check and see if we are really all that different when it comes to how we react to our daily dose of anime and manga.  I await everyone’s fury feedback on my once again pointing out that which we might not want to confront in our own potential shortcomings as anime fans and critics.

8 Responses to “About The Kannagi Incident”


  1. 1 relentlessflame November 16, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Anime fans eager to mock others for their preferences and idiosyncrasies, but unable to realize that their own preferences and tendencies are no less quirky or fickle? Surely you jest…

    Hypocrisy often seems like the single most common defining trait of the anime fan community.

  2. 2 deathkillz November 16, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    “Hypocrisy often seems like the single most common defining trait of the anime fan community.”

    Indeed…and it goes to outline that humans aren’t perfect *rolleyes*

    This whole case is just stupid in my eyes…what is all the fuss about? (Don’t answer).

  3. 3 TheBigN November 16, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    To put it another way from what relentlessflame said. While I facepalm/laugh and go “Oh Japan!”, at the same time, I can see where they’re coming from.

    And I won’t say if that’s a good thing or a bad thing, despite trying to reason why people would feel so strongly about Nagi’s status as a virgin. Granted, it seems bizzare to talk about it in the first place. Not because we should assume a state in the first place, but because I’m wondering why this should even really be a topic of discussion among fans in the first place.

  4. 4 Epi November 16, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Thought you were banning that term from your blog?

    I wouldn’t take internet revelations all that seriously. Sure people are mad, but they are ‘internet-mad’, which is very different from real life mad, few radical exceptions notwithstanding.

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama November 16, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    @Relentlessflame: I’m not going to say much of anything because I know I’ve been guilty of hypocrisy in the past and present and will probably be again. I will however try to improve and avoid it in the future as best I can.

    @Deathkillz & BigN: Big fuss? Truthfully I do not know. On the one hand I can’t understand the outrage of this sect of Japanese fans and yet on the other I am not sure it is really any of our business to poke fun at. I know claim that we are laughing at them justly, but I’m glad to find that I’m not the only person that thinks it’s only appropriate if we are willing to laugh at ourselves as well since I truthfully think we are no different at times.

    @Epi: I can’t really ever ban a word from my blog (that was a joke) so I use quotations to express my continued disdain for it instead. Some people can’t resist the temptation to use made up terms with flexible definitions to sum up a much more complex and difficult to explain situation. I myself for example prefer the term “faux-outrage” to describe when people are deliberately trying to appear angry with something online. I still find it no less immature though.

  6. 6 ghostlightning November 18, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Oh it’s all deculture to me! While I have no issues calling myself as an otaku, my friends do (even if some of them consume more anime than I do). I got older and achieved some success in life, so I guess I can afford to be shameless about my hobby. But I certainly don’t use it as an ice breaker when I’m across a negotiation table or meeting people for business.

  7. 7 ryuuu November 18, 2008 at 5:52 am

    This whole “Nagi virginity” thing for some reason, makes me remember the issue about “Obama being a muslim”. As weird as it sounds, there’s some similarity between those two. Even though Obama is christian, people keep on imagining he’s muslim because of his color, name, exoticness, etc. I’m not sure about this whole “Nagi” thing cause I didn’t follow the whole thing, but it sounds that the manga only implied that she had a boyfriend before. How This whole thing became whether she’s a virgin or not, I’ll probably never understand.

    I was actually reminded of Collin Powell’s endorsement of Obama, when I was reading about this issue. Powell argued that even though Obama is NOT a muslim, it shouldn’t be a problem Even if He IS a Muslim. Nagi MAY or MAY NOT be a virgin, but is it a problem is she’s NOT a virgin? The answer for me is it’s no problem at all.

  8. 8 chase your dreams February 13, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    Hi, yeah this piece of writing is truly nice and I have learned lot of things
    from it concerning blogging. thanks.


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

