Gundam 00 Second Season Opening 2 Quickie Impression

Namida no Mukou – by Stereopony

Yeah, sorry but I’ve gotta give the new opening the big ol’ thumbs down. Again I can’t help but feel this comes down to an issue of (and it pains me to have to make the comparison) the song not fitting with the flow of the video (moreso towards the last 1/3 of the sequence) much like with the case of Gundam Seed Destiny’s Wing of Words.  Although I will say that the mixture does work out to a better degree then WoW did with GSD’s fourth opening video.  Now I’ve personally got nothing against the nudity in the opening and I tend to think that anybody who professes to take offense to such a thing is just being silly, even if it is a little gratuitous, but really it’s a shame because this could have worked out better. 

The music itself isn’t terrible if not great IMO (admittedly I don’t care much  for this style of J-Pop at all so that’s saying a lot), and the video sequence is actually pretty solid, featuring the usual casual hints at developments to come within the series proper that we’ve come to expect from Gundam openings, it’s just that they don’t bloody fit well together, which is the whole damn point of an opening theme. I knew it the second I heard the song, there’s just no easy way to fit that type of beat to the frame rate of your average anime opening. If I could have suggested anything it would have been to pick a different song or to have used this Namida no Mukou as an ending since it sounds like it would work perfectly with a slow moving credit roll.  Nevertheless this is one of those openings with the potential to grow on me so we’ll see how it goes over the next couple of weeks.

9 Responses to “Gundam 00 Second Season Opening 2 Quickie Impression”


  1. 1 lelangir January 11, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    is it just me or is this sequence (that you could easily put on mute if you desire) really SPOILERIFIC?

  2. 2 Zack January 12, 2009 at 2:04 am

    I wasn’t a huge fan of it to begin with when I first heard it, but after replaying it a few times I’ve started to enjoy it. Maybe it’s just me? I’m just starting to enjoy it. I wonder though, is it possible the four openings are a kind of theme to it?

    The first opening song of season 1 shows ambition.
    The second opening song of season 1 had despair. (Destruction)

    The first opening of Season 2 was determination.
    The final opening for Season 2 illustrates rebirth.

    I’m not sure. Just something that was brought up to me and I wondered if anyone else thought that way.

    Well, either way I loved the episode.

    @lelangir: I was thinking the same thing.

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama January 12, 2009 at 4:01 am

    @lelangir: Spoilerific? That’s par for the course really. Sunrise really likes to work every single character in their shows into their opening sequences, usually in some sort of line up or doing something that symbolizes their current status in the given arc. Even if said status hasn’t yet come to pass.

    For me though it’s not quite at the level where I have to make a mad dash for the mouse because I can’t stand listening to it. I’m sure if I say, wanted to sit on the couch throughout the whole thing I could let the pre-episode teaser play, still sit through the opening and then proceed as usual.

    @Zack: Possible and probable. One thing I’ve learned to appreciate about Gundam 00’s openings is how they are used to evoke the tone of the arc. Same goes for the endings.

  4. 4 Solly Rushadale January 13, 2009 at 5:22 am

    Nena didn’t make it to the opening…D:

    They could have at least put at the begining, toying with her butterfly. I mean, they put Feldt in there and her love’s dead!

    In my humble opinion, the song doesn’t really sound that right for this series as an OP.

  5. 5 sadakups January 13, 2009 at 9:15 am

    I have the same sentiments with regards to the new OP. I can’t believe it faltered at the last one, considering that the other three OPs are all good.

    For starters, seeing the Gundams move so slow before the title card appears – it looks so wrong. I don’t mind the nudity it had at the beginning the reminded all of us of either the third or fourth GSD OP, but despite the visuals, the song is really disappointing.

  6. 6 Dark Messiah January 13, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    @ sadakups – I think the Same way….

    Three OPs gundam 00 were great. coz Gundam 00 have their own Style

  7. 7 Kaioshin Sama January 14, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Well let’s just say that right now I hope that the next episode of MS Igloo 2 makes up for this disappointment.

  8. 8 Aru March 3, 2009 at 1:29 am

    It wasn’t as great as say, Ash Like Snow, but I rather enjoyed it after replaying it some. But I’m beginning to wonder,
    who in the WORLD will Feldt end up with?

    Sunrise is hinting at something, but I’m not quite picking it up-
    Tiera perhaps? (Highly unlikely though I suppose :\)

    Although she’s my favorite character, I don’t want her to simply die off somehow D:

    Like the first Lockon did, who was the cool one.

  9. 9 bloubergstrand August 28, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon..


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

