Ali vs. Halcali (Duel of the Duos)

One of the hot topics in the past couple of days on the Animesuki Forums has been about the new Ali Project sung opening theme for Sora Kake Girl and whether the duo has shown that they are lacking in originality and the ability to refine and vary their (at this point) rather infamous style.  Both sides of the fence have given their views on the bands music from statements such as a critic’s, “Each song they do is like the same beat and off-key notes every. single. time.” and a supporters, “Quirkiness is as quirky does. And in that weird off-key manner, they do seem to have some otherworldly sense of rhythm to it”. 

The band will almost certainly continue to be a controversial one in the future when it comes to their contributions to anime music, but I figure why not present a few of their more recent contributions here and let people decide for themselves whether they are truly rehashing or if it’s all  just a part of our imagination.  Then I would like to invite comparison and contrast of Ali Project to another female duo that I have been following on and off in Halcali.  I’ve found that Halcali shares a comparative style with Ali Project in how they like to rap their lyrics (and not to mention a little in the type of wardrobe they like to wear), but that they also provide a stark contrast to Ali Project’s own style in terms of the duo performance.  I won’t offer up any more words or take any sides in this debate from here on out, but instead I will let people decide through a poll what they think of the two bands and their respective styles and whether one or the other, both, or neither are in need of an image overhaul.  Play them over each other, compare, contrast, do whatever you like….

Ali Project

Waga Routashi Aku no Hana – Ending 2 To Code Geass R2 

Kitei no Tsurugi – Opening To Kurogane No Linebarrels

Kotodama – Opening To Shigofumi

VS.

Halcali

Tip Taps Tip – Ending 3 To Psalm Of Planets Eureka Seven

Long Kiss Goodbye – Ending 7 To Naruto Shippuden

Lights, Camera, Action – Opening To Getsumen To Heiki Mina

it’s up to you now:

 

6 Responses to “Ali vs. Halcali (Duel of the Duos)”


  1. 1 The_Observer January 18, 2009 at 7:11 am

    “Quirkiness is as quirky does”

    Then leave their songs for the more quirky shows? Stay out of our mainstream backyard? I’d hate to think that one day they will butcher a good show with their ‘quirks’. The only smear on what would be a very good picture.

  2. 2 mangaka-chan January 18, 2009 at 7:54 am

    I liked some of Ali Project’s earlier songs, but after Rozen Maiden their music started to sound the same and the initial quirky quality to it, for me, started to loose its luster. I do think maybe it’d be good for the group t vary their style a bit.

  3. 3 Arabesque January 18, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Being somewhat of a fan of Ali Project (my username is from one of their songs) I agree that there are many similarities in their music when it comes to the openings and endings in animes, but each of their songs is distinctive enough for them to be a different one and not a total rehash of the older ones. But when I listen to some of their other works which are non-anime related, I can tell that they don’t lack variety in their music. On the contrary, they have quite a nice style and their songs are really beautiful. It is just that they really seem to have stayed on the same style for their anime openings that got many to dislike them.

    My main complaint with them is that they get to work on many shows that don’t fit their style recently. I mean, when I first heard the opening for Kurogane no Linebarrel, I thought it was extremely dull to listen to, but when I seen the PV for the song, I immediately loved it. It was then that I figured out that the problem was not from the song itself, but the visuals that accompanied it were mismatched. The PV ones were far better than those of the opening. Really, using an Ali Project opening for a mecha show…

    As for Halcali, I don’t know much about them so I can’t say much, but from what I heard, their songs don’t sound like rehashed.

    Here are some of the non anime related songs:

    From the Forbidden Literature album:

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=j6NJE-WECVo

    From Grand Finale:
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=_M1m9R363Gs (this one is instrumental)

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=8FOYDjwWz3U

    And from Poet Laureate:

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=jlC9aL0YTko

  4. 4 Loligoth Powered January 20, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Project Ali is a off-key Angela (Uchuu no Stellvia, Fafner, Heroic Age)

  5. 5 Sabara January 25, 2009 at 5:44 am

    I hope I am not sounding rude, but those three Halcali songs you put up there are somewhat misleading. They’ve got quite a few songs with different styles (the only theme pervading a lot of their songs is rap and perhaps a bit of that quirkiness you might be referring to). Try listening to Baby Blue, Tandem, Strawberry chips and Giri Giri Surfrider (particular this one: it’s got like THE MOST entertaining music video I have ever seen). If you still feel they sound rehashed….then maybe I am just too much of a Halcali fan to notice, lol?

    Perhaps it isn’t a coincidence that you feel all of Ali’s and Halcali’s anime songs sound too similar. You have to remember that an anime opening is only one song amongst the many they churn out across the year.

  6. 6 Kaioshin Sama January 25, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    @Sabara: Perhaps you misread, but I never said that either sound to similar, I was bringing up that other people have criticized Ali Project songs for sounding to similar and giving people the means to decide for themselves whether that’s the case with three of their latest songs. I introduced Halcali as a comparison point since I think their rapping style is similar to Ali Projects. I do have an opinion on both but fear that if I share it it might influence the poll since I’ve noticed that blogger preference has a huge outside influence on polls.


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

