Bamboo Leaf Rhapsody And Haruhi “Season 2″ First Impressions

I’ve already said it elsewhere, but this still reminds of the Saki ending albeit less cracked out

Rather then go through all the motions of rejoicing and about how “thine goddess hath returned” and the fact that there’s a new episode of Haruhi, I’m just going right on in and straight up.  Here it is, my thoughts on the new episode of Suzumiya Haruhi sans hype and plus the humble expectations of a novel reader.  Besides those that know me know I don’t really do that stuff anyway…..okay except with Zeus. 

-  Even having read this chapter and it being 3 years since I last saw a Haruhi episode, I can’t help but feel this this new episode just gave me a sort of been there done that feel up until about the 3rd quarter, but then it was back again during the last bits.  The flashback bits were a lot more interesting than anything else in this episode, but the first half honestly had me pacing the room a little bit between the couch and the chair wondering if I should go and get a drink.

-  Young Mikuru….I don’t remember her sounding that squeaky in the original, but maybe actually has been a while.  Adult Mikuru sounds like a slightly more animated Anya Earlstraim.  Yuko Goto has some good range, but by god do I prefer Adult Mikuro.

-  I think Aya Hirano was still trying to find Haruhi’s voice again for much of this episode and gets it near the end of the computer room sequence only to struggle with it again later on.

-  Lantis makes the difference when it comes to music in Kyoani series.  I was honestly grooving to and enjoying a lot of the BGM and seriously think Kyoani should have them on board more often since when they have to do stuff in house like with K-ON and Lucky Star it’s just….kind of bland.

- Roger Smith Still > John Smith

-  Yikes, Tthey spend so much time on all of the ancillary parts of this story like playing up Mikuru’s moeness and then just blow through the key portion of the story in like 2 minutes with such fidgety animation to boot that I was honestly surprised and a bit underwhelmed during the flashback scene with younger Haruhi when by all rights that should have been the highlight of the episode.  I think they got the pacing a little wrong here from what I read in the novel and what seemed important in that context.  Though I guess you’ve gotta please the Otaku fanbase by getting into the good ol’ moe antics a bit.  Hope this doesn’t become a trend though.

-  Good lord Mikuru is such a sucky baby, have I mentioned this already.  Well even still out of all of Kyoani moe moe characters they’ve had in the past 3 years I still say she easily takes the cake.

- What’s with the randomly white and then normal background during the whole sequence in Nagato’s apartment.  Usually Kyoani is pretty detailed with their backgrounds so to see this is kind of surprising and weird.  At least they got the emphasis on this scene right and I even got a kick out of the awkward tension of Mikuru and Kyon sleeping in the same room and the fact that Yuki clearly doesn’t give a shit.

-  I liked the manner in which they ended the episode with the almost chess game.  It just felt….appropriate…..well other then the chess pieces changing colour out of the blue which just felt like a sloppy mistake uncharacteristic of the attention to detail Kyoani as an animation producer is supposed to be known for.

Well that certainly felt familiar.  This will be a way to add some flavour if not drama to what otherwise looked to be a very low key summer season.  Whether that will be a good kind of drama or the kind that makes doves cry remains to be scene.

25 Responses to “Bamboo Leaf Rhapsody And Haruhi “Season 2″ First Impressions”


  1. 1 Meery May 21, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Awesome episode is awesome. It’s been a while since I’ve read the source material, but wow, this episode went by fast. I couldn’t expect everyone’s voices to be spot on, but they all did well enough.
    I’m slightly put off by the ”K-On-ification” in the artistic department, this stuff is never set in stone; it’s nothing to Rage over. *waits for a ninja-moe-moe-kyun Mikuru meido pose in the coming weeks*

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama May 21, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Well I’ll be taking a second look at the art once I get the chance to judge it with a better quality file, but I think that Basquash! is definitely the animation King of this season so far.

  3. 3 sadakups May 22, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Yay. Haruhi-tards are rejoicing all over the world.

  4. 4 Q May 22, 2009 at 4:24 am

    It’s been a while, so my memory on that chapter on the light novel is kinda fading already. So, is it consistent with the light novel then in terms of content?

    Was still a little surprised that KyoAni would let new stuff of Haruhi to go roughly at the same time as the hype-of-the-season K-On! But I suppose they have what it takes to do that and draw the fans in just like that.

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama May 22, 2009 at 5:18 am

    @sadakups: Well it’s the goddess and all that stuff and the return and…..uhhhh….I really don’t get it actually. I get any fanbase celebrating new content in a franchise, but the way this one celebrates it’s return….let’s just say I’m down with more Haruhi, but the way in which I prefer react to this episodes existence merits reservation and temperance. Though that’s probably just because I am immune to hype and community trends and prefer to just insert rather than lose myself in the crowd.

    @Q: By my memory it blows right through the flashback sequence at a rate that I would have preferred to be slower. Especially the parts to do with Kyon’s meeting with a younger Haruhi which came off as more of a critical and epochal moment in the timeline and lore of the novel then it did here. The novel chapter didn’t feel nearly as Mikuru centric either and it just felt more like everybody played more of an integral part in making everything happen.

    In the episode though the moment comes off as almost throw away. Maybe it had something to do with the downplaying of Kyon’s ever constant inner voice throughout this episode which helps the reader to get into the situation a lot more in the novel.

  6. 6 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Laus Haruhi! Nos alveus iterum in lux lucis suus venia! Polus operor infirmo in excito of suus reverto! Erigo vestri manuum quod vox vocis in laus! Pro deus imperatrix reverto!

  7. 7 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Patefacio porta! Emanio vox! Dea quondam iterum ingredior inter suus secuutus! Sono laus in suus nomen , alveus in suus palma!

  8. 8 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    Vomica nuto! Pallens fides! Ut subsannatio fidelis! Pro iam vadum exsisto subsannatio rursus! Pro verum ostendo sum , quod Dea iam iterum est inter nos! Vindico lemma per sanctus mucro quod purgatio incendia , pro iam fidelis quondam iterum take telum vulgo suus vox!

  9. 9 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Fides ego desparatus vos sadakups , quoniam vestri lacuna habitum ostendo iustus quam parum fides vos habitum. Inrideo non verus puto! Si vos have haud bonus vox loquor , tunc servo vestri labiae propinquus. Pro hodie , is est NOSTRUM vicis iterum in lux lucis!

  10. 10 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Rumex Kaiohshin , tamen talis irreverens non exsisto licitus. Nos sino three porro annus PORRO Annus. Sino nos is vicis tripudio parumper secundum vindico exspecto super nos per Kadokawa. PER DEUS IMPERATRIX, PERMISSUM NOS UTOR Parumper!

  11. 11 sadakups May 22, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Truth be told, I never got the impression that Haruhi is a good anime. It’s just your typical high school anime with some sci-fi twist.

    I’ve read all the available books and it was a borefest. If anything, Volume 4 (Disappearance) is the only one that I liked and everything else after that doesn’t compare to that. By the seventh book, I’ve gotten sick at reading the same thing over and over again about Kyon and his misadventures, whilst preventing an annoying bitch for a god to be bored or else it’s the end of the world.

    Yes, this is utmost “blasphemy” as Haruhi-tards would say, but if I found out that the God I believe in is a high school girl with attitude problems, I’d rather be an atheist.

    Just wanted to let that one out of my chest.

  12. 12 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Well, someone definitely is a mite bitter. ;)

    For all my WH40k Inquistor impressions though, I’m just happy that Haruhi is back, after Kadokawa stringing us along for 3 years. Sheesh, that was definitely a PR disaster, and it’s really no wonder that casual viewers would be turned off a franchise. No fanaticism this time, just plain relief from yours truly.

  13. 13 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Also, you’re misusing your fan terms. Really, for someone who I THINK is a Filipino anime viewer, I’d expected more. It’s Haruhiist, yo; the -Tard appelation is only for Naruto watchers.

  14. 14 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    (And yes, I’m not even a die-hard Haruhiist, but that doesn’t lessen the fact that I’m glad that the Franchise is back)

  15. 15 Myssa Rei May 22, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Also, the attitude of ‘God sucks, so I’ll decide to not believe in him’ doesn’t quite work. Ever read ‘Lords and Ladies’ by Terry Pratchett? The same thing that the Death of Rats mentioned to the deceased rat catcher applies in a way to Haruhi’s Universe.

    The actual quote is “You might not believe in Reincarnation, but Reincarnation believes in YOU!”

  16. 16 ghostlightning May 22, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    This episode was great to look at, pleasant to listen to (old friends return), a loads of fun. Loved it.

  17. 17 Kaioshin Sama May 22, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Holy crap why are there like 15 new comments…..what…..? Oh it’s just Myssa……

    @Myssa Rei: Why am I being spoken to in Latin? :/ Am I being given the benediction or something?

    lol….it’s not that I don’t want others to celebrate after three years, it’s just that it’s not something I am interested in particating in. I’d much rather cut straight to my reaction to the episode….in English. Oh and of course I am an atheist and Haruhi is just a television program to me so I hope you’ll understand. Latin is normally reserved for announcing things like ghostlightning becoming a father, but what the hell I’ll give it a shot.

    Illic est haud deus tamen vir.

    @sadakups: Just the same, you probably might want to tone down on the whole “Haru-tards” thing just a smidgen. Yeah though, I tend to agree that the premise of the novels starts wearing thin by about the 5th or 6th novel before they pull a total jump the shark moment by introducing “those people”.

    @ghostlightning: I can agree on that hands down.

  18. 18 Westlo May 23, 2009 at 12:09 am

    “Lantis makes the difference when it comes to music in Kyoani series. I was honestly grooving to and enjoying a lot of the BGM and seriously think Kyoani should have them on board more often since when they have to do stuff in house like with K-ON and Lucky Star it’s just….kind of bland.”

    Uh… Satoru Kousaki is the one who composed the music for Haruhi, Munto (another Lantis production) and Lucky Star. He also did Kannagi and is working on SHAFT’s big project in Bakemonogatari. Lantis is the publisher (and hence why they have a sponsors slot) they had nothing to do with the actual composition of the background music.

  19. 19 Kaioshin Sama May 23, 2009 at 12:48 am

    @Westlo: Curious that both Lantis published BGM scores got a lot more out of him BGM wise then Lucky Star did in my point of view. I have a hard time believing it’s a coincidence.

  20. 20 Zack May 23, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    I’m not sure what it is about Haruhi, but it just manages to always get my attention. Sure, the episodes might have something I didn’t care for, bugged me, or didn’t agree with (I’m not saying it had any or all three, just giving an example) and yet it still manages to draw me in. I remember why I enjoyed Haruhi so much when I first watched it and I’m now eagerly awaiting the next new episode. Loved it.

  21. 21 Westlo May 23, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    “@Westlo: Curious that both Lantis published BGM scores got a lot more out of him BGM wise then Lucky Star did in my point of view. I have a hard time believing it’s a coincidence.”

    Okay clearly you don’t know how music publishers operate.. since what you’re saying is akin to saying a Dr Dre beat published on Interscope is always going to be better than a Dr Dre beat published by Def Jam.. which is lolz.. but wouldn’t the scope of the shows for the two Lantis published BGM scores show that’s not a coincidence? :p Haruhi and Munto compared to a 4 koma adaption in LS… it’s a no brainer.. besides Kannagi’s score isn’t from Lantis and it’s far superior to LS and probably his second best work. Or does Aniplex get the credit for that?

  22. 22 Kaioshin Sama May 24, 2009 at 2:23 am

    @Zack: An episode of something doesn’t have to be perfect to get one’s attention, it just needs something that reaches out and grabs you throughout.

    @Westlo: I gotta level with you, I don’t even really care about how music publishers operate because I’m not in that business. The credit goes to whoever composed the music in my book, but I’m just pleased that this series has music that I can enjoy and was noting the coincidence that a lot of the tracks I’ve liked in the past little while have been published by Lantis. Having not heard the music from Kannagi I am in no position to comment on it either way.

  23. 23 Miyourii May 26, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    actually had to watch it twice to get it. it was pretty good but a little confusing.. Just so happy i have something to watch this summer :D

  24. 24 CCCP June 22, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    If God is a bossy, selfish High School girl, it certainly explains some things in the world, don’t it? (Amazingly, I’m not trying to troll; just posted what I was thinkin’ at the time.)


  1. 1 Top Posts « WordPress.com Trackback on May 24, 2009 at 12:26 am

Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

