Speechless Saturday’s (Behold It’s Glory, For Gundam Does Stand Up)

Words escape me, but I shall try…..

…..okay so I really don’t know what to say after all that could possibly do justice to the feeling I got seeing this video of people walking up to…..THE FREAKING GUNDAM!  Awe, disbelief, revery, all of these descriptors seem to be competing for a place in this paragraph, but none seem to fully convey what I want to say right now.  To even think that something like this giant robot could hold such a significant cultural meaning….one that breaks many boundaries of anime fandom and one to warrant such an undertaking as this Real G project……there’s nothing else quite like it.  How do you compete with that, how do you even begin to describe it?  It doesn’t go well……this doesn’t go well for me.  The….the level of detail, the size, THE PRESENCE, THE SPLENDOUR, THE GLORY!

GUNDAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAM! *snaps fingers*

Burn
Burn
Burn Gundam!
You! Run!
You’re still burning will rage
If the fighting spirit is in your nature
The powerful enemy
Attacks, attacks, attacks
The rage of justice
Meets the Gundam
Mobile Suit Gundam! Gundam!

Stand up
Stand up
Stand up Gundam!
You! Shout!
You’re still sinking into despair
If you’re certainly sad
Dispell the fear
Go on, go on, go on
The swirling tide of blood
Fire up Gundam
Mobile Suit Gundam! Gundam!

Revive
Revive
Revive Gundam!
You! Catch!
If your love still trembles
In your heart and nature
That yearns for peace
Fly, fly, fly
Towards the Milky Way
Fly Gundam!
Mobile Suit Gundam! Gundam!

And yet after 30 years (and sadly only 10 of which I have been a part of), through the highest of highs, and the lowest of lows I can’t help but feel that…..

snapshot20090614001326

it says…..”my future as an anime fan will be written….together with Gundam.”

7 Responses to “Speechless Saturday’s (Behold It’s Glory, For Gundam Does Stand Up)”


  1. 1 Zack June 14, 2009 at 5:43 am

    When I saw the video the first time the only thing that I could think of at the time was the line from the first Gundam episode. “It’s standing!” I think I’m in the same boat as you. I almost can’t think of any words to describe my reaction to it. Amazing doesn’t begin to come close to what I think of it when I look at it.

    ”my future as an anime fan will be written….together with Gundam.” Well said. You speak the words so many people are thinking now.

  2. 2 ghostlightning June 14, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I JOIN YOUR FELICITY AND CELEBRATION!

    Here are model kits from the 20th anniversary (I recently had built and lined for me):

    http://twitpic.com/7a5x8

    http://twitpic.com/7a5jr

    TOBEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

  3. 3 deathkillz June 14, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Next target: making it walk :p

  4. 4 Kaioshin Sama June 14, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    @Zack: Of course I sort of paraphrasd that line from Gundam 00 too. :P

    @deathkillz: Well it is apparently moving and has steam coming out of the vents and joints now. :D

  5. 5 Myssa Rei June 15, 2009 at 1:10 am

    If this was fully-functional, I’d have expected the inevitable Gundam-jack. Haha.

  6. 6 Sister Princess June 17, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    In first Gundam, isn’t RX-78 sleep in the truck first? But that RX-78 is already standing.

    I still prefer Zaku first as they don’t need minophsky(sp) particles to use.

  7. 7 Kaioshin Sama June 17, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    @Myssa Rei: Maybe they’ll put on a show around it, who knows.

    @Sister Princess: It’s a play on the title of the first SD Gundam episode (Fierce Fighting! Will Gundam Stand Up), which for some reason has stuck with me over the years as a situational observation. Felt it was appropriate for this one. :P


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

