What The Hell Happened With The Fall Season And How To Survive The Rest of 2009 (With A Curious Leadoff)

Ugh those tracks you just can’t stop repeating but you don’t care because they are so damn good you might as well let them stay playing for a week.  It’s that Senju Akira again and his dastardly slow building music that just keeps on building:

I could listen to that all day and perhaps maybe I’d rather listen to that all day then watch any one of the new anime series we have coming out this season.  And that’s what I’m really here to talk to you, but by all means let the song be a mood setter.  ghostlightning states “FFFFF We Hate the New Season” and calls it fail fall 09, but he doesn’t necessarily ask the question.  What is the question? Is there a question?  Well I certainly have one and it’s a certain “what the hell happened?!” as far as the last couple of seasons we dealt with actually.  Last season gave us a certain gem in Bakemonogatari and I’m sure people found something to suit their interests as well, but for mecha fans like the ghost and I it’s been pretty slimpickings.  There don’t seem to be any particular heavy hitters for the remainder of 2009, and in fact it’s arguable that the entirety of 2009 slipped by without any of the heavy hitters we’ve had almost every season from 2006-2008.  Have we been spoiled, or is the boom over so to speak?  Finally is it just me or have the bigshot companies just suddenly decided to collectively say, “2009 isn’t looking so good, let’s wait until 2010 before we spring the big stuff on them” and if so could the crash at the end of 2008 had something to do with the anime industry playing so conservatively this year?  I don’t pretend to have all the answers and hate to leave people hanging, but if indeed this is already it as far as the big 2009 titles go I wouldn’t mind sharing my survival strategy with everyone instead.  It’s a fairly simple one that should be adaptable to most people’s standards:

…..Told you this would have a curious leadoff.

dirty room

Tip 1: Think of something you have been neglecting to finish.  A video game, a book, an anime or whatever interests you.  Now is pretty much the perfect time to clean house rather than fretting to much about the lack of outstanding anime out there.  I’ve been spending the time catching up on LOGH and have so far finished 3 games in the past week and a half.  It can feel immensely satisfying to get that kind of thing off your chest and it’ll make it that much easier to dive right into the good stuff once it comes without worrying to much about increasing the backburner.  Balance my friends, it’s a man’s best friend.

c64d7565b3c3293b085aea8855c5cb0a

Tip 2: Consider starting a new hobby.  For example blogging can always help you to channel your thoughts away from what’s immediately bothering you and provide an outlet to turn it into creativity.  I’m currently working at getting my friend to start building his gunpla already and plan to step in to help with it as well and I’ll let people know how that goes if it ever actually does…..the lazy bastard.  I’ve also worked at taking a nightly walk to work on getting into shape and just to see what the night sky happens to look like on any given night, though depending on location this might not be a safe option for some.  The key is finding what works for you and how it can work to your benefit for passing the time.

elearningjh

Tip 3: Sit in a lecture at your local university that interests you and see what you can learn from it.  Many Universities won’t eject you from a larger lecture (100+) barring a disruption unless it’s specifically pay to enter because what you are actually paying for is the right to receive a grade from the professor.  I remember when I was at university actively I used to do this with my friends lectures and it was amazing what you could learn on the side and the ways it can benefit you.

Pop culture

Tip 4: Catch up on the local media culture.  There’s a tendency among some anime fans to turn a frown to the non-anime works of today, but really I see no reason too.  With the waning dominance of reality TV, the return of formats such as the sitcom with series like Two And A Half Men and plain old fashion acted drama with a series I happen to like called Southland, and an ever increasing avenue for independent films such as Slumdog Millionaire to penetrate the glass ceiling once held firmly in place by the Blockbuster, (run on sentence FTW) things are starting to look up  Sticking to one genre or one style only leads to so many horizons before the only way to broaden them is to try something else.  Recently I’ve been watching a many of the classic movies that I had never bothered to see before and really seeing how the artform known as the motion picture has evolved over time.  I try to mix it up though as far as culture goes.  For example while I might watch Roots or Taxi Driver, I’m also sure to mix in something from the present such as Stargate SG-1 and to mix in works from other countries such as Das Boot: The Mini Series or Dr. Who.  Another option might also be sport.  I’ve neglected to keep up with the hockey culture here in Canada for the past decade or so, but am slowing getting back in the loop and finding it makes for an easy conversation topic with just about anyone you could meet in public if you can know what the hell your talking about when it comes to the details and standings of the teams and players.  Take a look at your local popular culture, it may not be as embarassing as you might think it is.

An__ID_by_Diamond_In_The_Rough

Tip #5:  If all else fails try to find a hidden gem.  I think ghosty has banked on Letter Bee with his recent session of articles and that many also expect Trapeze to have that certain quality to stand out and looking at the promo art I can see why in how unorthodox it looks.  I make the least guarantee that this one will pay off to any extent mostly because it’s the option with the least power in ones own hands to make the most of.  If there is no hidden gem there is no hidden gem, but it doesn’t hurt to try.  After all how can you know what’s out there if you never bother to look for it.

Well I hope this helps.  Like I said the best solution one can have to a problem such as entertainment is the one that best suits them.  Feel free to suggest your own ideas and let people know what you do when the fresh entertainment well dries up on your front.  Also don’t by shy to let people know what you’re looking forward to and what your hopes for 2010 might be.  Obviously I’m looking forward to the Gundam works that will be coming out since the series is my lifeblood and primary inspiration the same way  Macross is for ghostlightning.  I’ll have much to say for those I’m sure once the time finally rols around.

3 Responses to “What The Hell Happened With The Fall Season And How To Survive The Rest of 2009 (With A Curious Leadoff)”


  1. 1 Myssa Rei October 19, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Slim pickings on the anime side of things, definitely. For those who don’t want to look to other sources for entertainment, it’s PERFECT for people who have a lot of backlog though (or just want to watch series they never gave the chance initially) — I myself just finished Turn A (again!) and am working my way through LoGH’s specials (never had the chance to watch Spiral Labyrinth the first time around).

    Of course, classes are keeping me busy… The fact that Poetry seems to be the focus for this term, and I’m practically handicapped at it (it’s the reason I chose PROSE to express myself after all) doesn’t help.

  2. 2 HoHo October 20, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Waiting for webcast episode of Bakemonogatari. If it’s monthly released then the last episode will air near the end of this year.

  3. 3 Ezda October 30, 2009 at 4:06 am

    And don’t forget to watch Kimi ni Todoke and Darker than Black: Ryuusei no Gemini. They’re the best we can get this season.


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

