[C] The Money of Possibility And Soul Control – A Cult Classic In The Making

Wow….what can I say.  I just got finished watching the final episode a rather peculiar (to put it mildly) noitaminA show that styles itself by the rather bizarre name [C] The Money of Possibility and Soul Control.

What that means I’m not sure and I can say the same for just about any part of the show.  One would think the C might stand for “Control”, but I would argue it rightfully should stand for one thing and one thing only.  Chaos.  Chaos best describes the entirety of [C] and I can honestly be damned to name anything that I could point to and say the show did right.  This one has it all folks.   It has horrendous production values in the animation including regularly off model characters, bargain bin animation quality, lazy fight scenes and even honest to goodness jump cuts in the animation at seemingly random spots.  The show has no concept of how to tell a story either it would seem.  It begins rather abruptly with a young boy named Yoga Kimimaro being whisked away to a “Financial District” district where he is told by an insane clown man (that I swear looks like a concept for Johnny Depp in his next Tim Burton movie) that he can duel other people for money which the show refers to as Midas Money and we’re told can be used just like regular money in the real world.  Some rules are very quickly explained (though in the duels it seems almost anything goes) and so begins a series of duels between Yoga and various other people told very compactly and with not a lot of time to get emotionally attached to any of the characters.  This will become a problem later.

In any case we are treated to some rather mediocre fair told with very choppy editing (perhaps the shows biggest flaw among many) I might add wherein we are introduced to various people Yoga knows that are caught up in the Financial district as well.  One of them is a man said to be the king of the Financial District named Mikuni that forms a mentor relationship with Yoga and tries to pass on what he knows of things.  While choppily edited and a incredibly hard to follow at times (no idea why this needs to be the case other than some really sloppy storyboarding and direction) these episode are orderly compared to what comes in the second half.

It was here that I started to think that [C] has the potential to be a cult classic somewhere down the line.  After being treated to an incredibly cliche sick girl story to explain Mikuni’s motivations and to give him a background suddenly the show changes the rules.  The show must have been running out of time because now out of the blue the Financial District decides it’s collapsing (If the show ever explained why this happens other than it does I must have missed it) and the visuals get intense (still incredibly cheap looking though) and the show just goes berserk and launches into full on B movie territory.  We’re talking tentacle monsters printing money, implications of furry romances, lolita demons monsters growing huge mouths and devouring other lolita demon monsters (these things are called “assets” and they fight for the human characters in duels), rainbow bubbles, buildings disappearing and to top it all off an incredibly poorly animated excuse for a final battle with the camera spinning around everywhere and the rule of cool apparently being applied as to how to depict it all.

The rule of cool seems to apply to the dialogue as well.  Economic jargon is sprinkled throughout the shows terminology for Financial District objects and grows in intensity of use exponentially as the show hits it’s final stretch to the point where the entire script ceases to make any sense at all.  I might be exaggerating a little here, but I promise you if I am it’s not by much folks.   As the shows rumbles on through this financial crisis character motivations and even the resolutions of them cease to resemble anything that resembles common sense, brutal Engrish starts to become an episodic mainstay,  episodes pick up in media res with no real connection to anything that happened previously and god help me what is happening half the time.  Arghhh….it’s hard to even describe!  The final episode manages to reach new heights amazingly enough and while it brings up a few plot points that were previously established regarding the relationships between the assets and their human masters (don’t ask) and in the process makes me leap for joy at the prospect of a cohesive plot thread somehow surviving the chaos of the final act, the feeling is short lived.  For no sooner is this brought up then I am lost as to the argument that the two demon lolitas are having with each other and why I should care and the show decides to have an ambiguous, largely incomprehensible resolution to everything that honestly needs to be seen to be believed.

And honestly I fully recommend people check the whole out.  It may seem like I am ragging on it mercilessly (not that hard for me to do for a change), but honestly it was immensely entertaining on a level of marveling at an anime production gone horribly wrong and the laughs I had in doing so were genuine.  And hey it inspired me to blog about something again (something I never thought I’d do) so obviously it must be something monumental.  So if you’re like me and have a taste for B-Movies I suggest checking out what I would call the best B anime since possibly Musashi Gandou.  It’s only 11 episodes so you can’t really go too wrong can you folks.

8 Responses to “[C] The Money of Possibility And Soul Control – A Cult Classic In The Making”


  1. 1 Arabesque July 3, 2011 at 12:09 am

    *Brushes off dust bunnies*

    Already commented on GL’s blog, but I’m happy to see something new here. Been so long …

    Anyway something from the past since you once bloged about it (http://animehistory.wordpress.com/2009/03/19/well-i-must-say-toei-youve-been-getting-my-attention-again-recently/) here is the video

    From the wonders of twitter! Boy, do I need to stop clicking on weird stuff there …

  2. 2 how do lose belly fat fast December 30, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    My brother recommended I might like this website.
    He was entirely right. This post actually made my day.

    You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!

    Thanks!

  3. 3 buy a star January 4, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
    somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really
    make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    With thanks

  4. 4 Ripped XL July 16, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Very nice write-up. I definitely appreciate this website.
    Keep writing!

  5. 5 does apple cider vinegar burn fat July 17, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    We stumbled over here by a different page and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking at your web page again.

  6. 6 Minneapolis SEO Services July 24, 2013 at 1:47 am

    You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who are
    not afraid to mention how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  7. 7 how to lose belly fat September 11, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Heya terrific website! Does running a blog ike this require a lot of work?
    I’ve virtually no understanding of coding however I
    was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.

    Anyhow, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off topic nevertheless I simply had to
    ask. Cheers!

  8. 8 forex trading August 10, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    This is my first time pay a visit at here
    and i am truly pleassant to read all at single place.


Leave a Reply

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Present


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

