An Age Of Lolis For Better Or Worse

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

With this recent trend towards Loli characters in anime I’ve been constantly wondering about a number of things. First yes it is true, Loli is among the top market sub genres in Japan right now such that having one or more loli characters in an anime is a borderline neccessity and a huge selling point if the focal point is on the loli as a main character.

It’s true that I don’t particularly dislike loli characters that much, I actually quite like them, but I worry about how far the anime industry intends to take the trend. The recent replacement of the out of this world personality that was Kamina in Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann by the likeable and interesting, but nonetheless somewhat more typical Nia seems to attest to what I’m seeing in anime these days. For now the loli trend is amusing and somewhat enjoyable to me, but it has the chance to potentially become overwhelming and saturate the market.

Like anything that is popular it must come in moderate doses lest it go the road of Reality TV where it is something that people grudgingly accept, but really do not enjoy for its predictability. As I think will become one of my favourite slogans, the time is now, let us hope the anime studios of Japan make the right choices and work the current loli trend for our pleasure and joy via quality writing to go along with it, rather than our pain and discontent by milking it for all it is worth.

By Kaioshin Sama

2 Responses to “An Age Of Lolis For Better Or Worse”


  1. 1 tyciol May 9, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I gotta admit, I liked Kamina more

  2. 2 CCCP May 21, 2009 at 1:53 am

    I see the current loli fixation as just another form of fan-service, but this time, we’re reaching out to the pedos in addition to the pervs. And yes, I’m a guy. But I’m also immune to anime/video game fan-service.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Present


