Shangri~la me all the way to heaven!

Every now and then i find songs that totally captivates me, and now it is one of those times again! While catching up on some older series i found this godly song hidden amongst inches of dust 🙂

The song comes from a series called Soukyuu no Fafner: Dead Aggressors which in itself is a pretty underrated mecha series. As some of you might notice yes this series does draw inspiration from Gundam Seed/Destiny (oh my god i see Shin! haxx!!! type of reaction is what i got first time round heh).

(Quoted from ANN)

Plot Summary: Tatsumiyajima is the central island in the middle of a small cluster of islands, in a sleepy backwater of the Japanese isles. Not much happens there, and the island’s young people go to school knowing that their lives are likely to remain peaceful and undisturbed. Or so they have been taught… but the truth is different. The fate of mankind is on the line, and Tatsumiyajima is the last line of defense against a hostile and incomprehensible enemy. At the center of it all, fighting for Humanity’s continued existence, is the giant robot Fafner, the dragon that guards this final treasure of mankind.

Now why does this song appeal to me so much? Besides the fact that it is sung by Angela (the one with an amazingly dramatic voice and an awesome set of lungs) I would have to say it is one of those types of song which builds up towards a dramatic point and is then released with huge amounts of energy. I have always been fond of these types of songs (even though i can pretty muck like anything given a few more listenings but it takes a real gem for a song to capture me first thing). You could say that the dramatic part in the song is all about the lead up but for me the execution is also very important, to me she is able to “yell” with the might of god but still remain sounding beautiful! an acquired taste some might say and while her voice isn’t for everyone it is definitely for me 🙂

2 Responses to “Shangri~la me all the way to heaven!”


  1. 1 Kaioshin Sama June 19, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    I just want to add a personal disclaimer that I happen to think that Angela adds to much nasal and Vabrado to the song on top of holding certain notes so that it almost sounds like she is singing it underwater, just below the surface. My opinion is that the song, as with most songs sung by female Idol-Pop artists these days, sounds better without vocals.

  2. 2 Cats June 22, 2007 at 6:55 am

    Dethie your so slow, I have been listening to that song, some time back I used to listen to that song over and over like crazy. And what was crazier was that I wasn’t getting fed up with it.

    Hmm.. but that’s the shortened anime version right ~ IMO the visuals aren’t good enough and the cut somewhat wrong at the end.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Present


