I Didn’t Mean To! (Fire Emblem Addiction)

 

fire-emblem.jpg

Apparently I’ve managed to get everybody here addicted to Fire Emblem almost overnight, so don’t be surprised if there’s a shortage of articles for a little while as people grind their stats and strategize away.  Personally I’m working on Fire Emblem 10 or Goddess of Dawn (I started all the way back when there was only up to 5 on the SNES no less) so I’m way ahead of the fellas.  People complain about GoD being difficult, but it’s only moderate compared to the likes of 4 and 5, the latter of which I would almost call broken in terms of what it throws at you.  Anyway next time I think to suggest a game to somebody I’ll be more careful, as apparently it will spread like wildfire until everybody I know is playing it.

6 Responses to “I Didn’t Mean To! (Fire Emblem Addiction)”


  1. 1 Sol Falling November 21, 2007 at 9:21 am

    Got this along with Super Mario Galaxy last week…

    It’s a bit strange. I have very little motivation to play it, despite Fire Emblem historically being one of my favourite series. I plan to finish Zack and Wiki and Super Mario Galaxy before I start it up.

    More recently I’ve gotten into the Super Robot Taisen games. I’m just about done OG1 and am excited to get started on OG2. Somehow I think I like the SRW series more. (I would even seriously consider getting a PS2 to play OGS if it got localized…Nintendo fanboy though I am.)

    I think what drew me into both series were the obsessive micromanagement aspects. Of course, in terms of the customizability of units, SRW is leagues ahead of FE. However, at least thus far and in my personal case, the leveling and the stats of the pilots has remained a “black box”. With Fire Emblem, I can’t help playing around with the RNGs (for the handhelds) and resetting with the bonus exp (for the consoles) to get good level ups. It is exceedingly tedious, to say the least (I’ve heard the RNs are fixed during the intermission phases in Radiant Dawn. This would probably let me enjoy the game more, but I still think I’ll be upset if I find that it’s true.).

    Man. Well, I’ll probably be wasting hours of my life on Goddess of Dawn in December. Yay.

  2. 2 FlameStrike November 22, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Hey that’s FE4 you have in the SS isn’t it. I agree with you on the fact it’s easy to get addicated to Fire Emblem, FE4 was tons of fun and the skills system was really lol. 10x hits in a row with a few skills combined and you could doge everything with prayer.

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama November 24, 2007 at 9:09 am

    Well I’m also the right guy to talk to about Mecha and SRW actually. I’ve played pretty much all of the SRW games to date (in fact I think I literally have). The next game to come out will be SRW OG Gaiden on the PS2, which seems to feature a TCG style mini-game, which is just plain awesome since I love that kind of thing. Hopefully it get’s it’s own spinoff game in real life.

    Unfortunately I don’t think OGS will be localized. Why? To many voice acting clips, too much jargon and the fact that it’s a hard sell. Atlus is a small company and SRW employs many big name Seiyuu in Japan to play the characters. There’s well over 50 of them involved, so even trying to match that would be an astronomical investment on Atlus part.

    Here’s a treat for the SRW Fan. I posted my picture collection on Animesuki a while. Most of these pictures can’t be found anymore after the site the artist used to run closed down:

    http://forums.animesuki.com/showpost.php?p=1137600&postcount=160

    http://forums.animesuki.com/showpost.php?p=1144194&postcount=180

    http://forums.animesuki.com/showpost.php?p=1146259&postcount=189

  4. 4 deathkillz November 27, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Actually poor me who has been caught up in this game. I’m not really a game player myself but next to pokemon and WoW, Fire Emblen is creeping up to be the next game I don’t mind wasting some hours on…

    *dam you sky!!!*

    ^^

  5. 5 Idetrorce December 15, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  6. 6 FE fanboy December 29, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    lol. i seemed to get all of my friends addicted to FE myself…


Leave a Reply

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Present


