I Am Not A Sunrise Fanboy

From Wikipedia: Fanboy (sometimes spelt fanboi) is a pejorative term used to describe an individual who is utterly devoted to a single fannish subject, or to a single point of view within that subject, often to the point where it is considered an obsession. Fanboys remain loyal to their particular obsession, disregarding any factors (often including logic) that differ from their point of view. 

Now apparently I said or did something during my talks about Gundam 00 Episode 15 the last couple of days that gave the impression that I am intolerant of criticism regarding Gundam 00 and Sunrise and am a fanboy of said concerns.  I don’t want this idea to spread, so I’ve decided to produce a list of Sunrise series I have seen and not liked that I can then point people too in the future should the myth rise again.

Brave Exkaiser

Brigadoon

Cho Denji Robo Combattler V

Choudenji Machine Voltes V

Dinozaurs: The Series

Escaflowne: The Movie

Garzey’s Wing

Heavy Metal L-Gaim (OAV)

Mirai Robo Daltanias

Mobile Suit Gundam Seed Destiny

Mobile Suit Gundam Seed Destiny Final Plus: The Chosen Future

Mobile Suit Gundam Seed C.E.73: Stargazer

Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: The Last Blitz of Zeon

Muteki Choujin Zanbot 3

My-HiME

My-Otome

Saikyo Robo Daiohja

Street Fighter (U.S. TV)

SD Gundam Force

The Wings of Rean

Yuusha Tokkyuu Might Gaine

That is all.

16 Responses to “I Am Not A Sunrise Fanboy”


  1. 1 Serenade January 21, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Hi Kaioshin,

    I am the Translation Checker for the Gundam 00 series of Menclave. I am here, not to flame you (at least not for now), but to understand your situation and accusations against me and ThePaper. Frankly, if there is anyone to blame for the significant translation mistakes on the Menclave scripts, it would be me, since I am the one who made the final translations to make sure that the script is fool-prove. Now, I don’t know a thing regarding anything post episode 4, since I only started translating it when I was asked to join the team to do it. But since you hold doubts regarding the translations of ep10, I would assume that it would be me whom you would have to question the creditability for. I am not going to bash you with whatever qualifications I got, what yes, what not. But please, do give me some feedback regarding the work we did, since fansubbing is done by a team, not a single person job. By disregarding what I and many others did voluntarily for every fan out there who like this anime, is not really helping the industry at all.

    I can tell you this… I haven’t seen any anime for the past 3 years, and Gundam 00 was the only thing that triggered my return (And also the only thing I watch now), and even attracted me enough to accept the request to join in translating. If you question my love for this show, I would have no doubt/choice but to argue against you.

    If you question my passion and professionality for translation… I would have to tell you that, I live in Japan, work a full time job that requires me to do translation related tasks, and I sacrifice my sleep time almost every Saturday checking out every single mistake in the middle of the night at 2-3AM.

    So please, I sincerely ask you, to reply this and tell me what mistake I had made in this translation, so I can do a better job at this.

    Thank you.

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama January 21, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Thank you for your politeness, it is very much appreciated. Let me try to explain the situation here, which is actually an unfortunate series of misunderstandings.

    Fortunately what I had thought was one of the Conclave-Mendoi episodes of Gundam 00 was in fact a Shinsen episode (I frequently skip the openings so I did not catch the translator credits). I had been following Mendoi up until then and must have not noticed the switch. Later I become aware that I was watching Shinsen now, but the translation oddities had been rectified. I had thought I had made the switch around a later episode though as when I went back through my torrents all the episode were Mendoi up too Episode 11, but the number 10 torrent was missing and I thought I had recalled downloadin from the Mendoi servers.

    Later I stumbled across DarkMirage’s blog where Episode 15 was getting some fairly harsh criticism and that he did not like the script for the episode. I then recalled the earlier 3 and 10 (which I later learned was not the Mendoi one) where the subtitles had appeared to be deliberately sexualized, and I thought that he might have been doing this on purpose to make scenes seem more ridiculous then they actually were. This brought me to write the blog article which I have now removed where I cautioned about the Conclave subs because I thought they were being translated by somebody who detested the series, something I had seen done by groups in the past (TV-Nihon comes to mind), with less than stellar sub results (like the ones I saw in episode 10, which later I realized weren’t Mendoi’s).

    As a result I was a bit suspicious and the blog article I wrote was there to raise the question and warn people that I as a Gundam fan was unsure of the Conclave-Mendoi subtitles at the current time with regard to DarkMirage’s translation and motivation given his mounting critique of the series I had noted. It also happened that his was just one of many blog articles I had read yesterday that took a critical stance of Gundam 00 in the face of overwhelming fan support. It all combined seemed to point to shortchanged subtitle scripts from time to time as a result of no longer enjoying, but rather disliking the series. That is until I talked a bit and realized his Gundam 00 coverage wasn’t the outright crusade that I thought it was that some of the bloggers out there who used similar language seem to have against the series. I talked with him a bit though and soon realized that I had misread his stance, and that he is a person that takes his job very seriously and wants to do the best job possible.

    We also talked a bit about his thoughts on the series and I realized that he wasn’t denouncing the series scripts as a whole as I initially thought, but rather discontent with what he thought was going to be a very different series. He also explained to me a bit about his choices regarding a couple of the dialogue choices I thought were wonky and awkardly translated in a sexual Yaioesque manner, and how they were metaphors that come across differently in Japanese, and not literal inferences.

    Thus, a lot of what I criticized was the result of a series of very unfortunate misunderstandings and I regret the error deeply. I very much appreciate you taking the time to come here and ask me what was wrong though, because now I can say that nothing is wrong, and that I don’t really have any suggestions for you right now. Perhaps if you ever need help with technical jargon if you are going through the series I could lend a voice if you want. Otherwise I’m good. Keep on enjoying Gundam 00 I hope and give the Conclave team my blessing and apologies for this unfortunate misunderstanding.

  3. 3 hypertoast January 22, 2008 at 1:03 am

    You don’t like mai-hime…sigh…that’s my second favorite sunrise series…

  4. 4 Epi January 22, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Aside from the fact that watching GSD was like watching a slow motion trainwreck and thus somewhat entertaining, I really don’t understand why ANYONE would watch Mai-Otome if they didn’t like Mai-Hime. What were you expecting? A sunrise sequel to actually be better? Just give up if you don’t like the original!
    (I for one like Mai-Hime and much like watching GSD was strangely enamored by the ensuing trainwreck).

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama January 22, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Sometimes I’m not smart that way and curiousity overcomes every warning my gut tries to give me. 😦

  6. 6 hypertoast January 22, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    @epi: i agree with the whole gsd thing and I can’t stand mai otome.

  7. 7 RmX January 23, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    At least when I referred to you as a fanboy, I specified it with the prefix Gundam, not Sunrise.

  8. 8 Hands Free Commissions Scam April 27, 2013 at 9:05 am

    I am not positive where you are getting your information,
    however great topic. I must spend some time learning much
    more or figuring out more. Thank you for magnificent info I used to be looking
    for this information for my mission.

  9. 9 Emperor Social Review April 29, 2013 at 6:31 am

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope
    you write again soon!

  10. 10 Nadia May 6, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    This design is wicked! You obviously know how to
    keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your
    videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more
    than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  11. 11 книга доходов и расходов 1С May 6, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    Спасибо за хорошую писанину. Это на самом
    деле было развлечение на счет этого.
    Посмотрите на далеко продвинутый
    соглашается с вами! Кстати, как
    можно мы общаться?

  12. 12 how To get rid from tinnitus May 30, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    I am really loving the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues?
    A couple of my blog readers have complained about my website
    not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

  13. 14 adsense themes July 24, 2013 at 12:30 am

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any
    problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being stolen? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  14. 15 magazine wordpress theme July 29, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  15. 16 # July 29, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    doors are significant in preventing the spread of fire and they also state that they use the” safety eyes” which
    are sensors which are designed to fit in two halves of the door.
    Or you may choose a wooden door acts as an effective barrier to noise.
    On hot days the door may stick and be difficult to open and close the doors which will keep
    the same finish.


Leave a Reply

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Present


