Debunking Yet Another Gundam Myth

Okay, apparently some people who have only seen Gundam Seed and Gundam 00 have taken it upon themselves to suggest that characters never die in ANY Gundam series in relation to the events of Gundam 00 Episode 17.  Now, this is just pure and utter bull and I can’t even begin to comprehend why people open their mouths sometimes and continue to generalize single ill-conceived character events across the enter spectrum of the Gundam universe.  This is just incredibly easy to debunk.  So all I’ll do is post a  few videos inside of some character deaths in Victory Gundam, Zeta and the Original, quite possible the bloodiest series in the franchises history.

Victory Gundam: Shrike Team Character Deaths

But why stop here?  How about some Zeta Gundam?

Events Leading To And Including Paptimus Scirocco’s Death

And how about the original

Ryu Jose’s Death

Ramba Ral’s Death (Dub)

Seriously, Gundam is a series that has become famous in how it depicts the deaths of it’s characters.  To say that Gundam characters don’t die immediately shows a lack of any knowledge about the series or it’s history.  If people are going to say this and don’t want to be considered trolls then be specific about a characters “undeath”, such as Mwu La Fraga’s, which actually was one, rather than generalizing across the franchise. 

Smarten up out there people and either criticize the franchise for real faults or stop trolling, which is what most criticisms are amounting to.  Better yet, watch something else other than Gundam Seed and Gundam 00 before acting like Gundam experts.  I’m not saying to watch every single series like me, but get some experience and then talk about the franchise as a whole.

11 Responses to “Debunking Yet Another Gundam Myth”


  1. 1 shiro February 5, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Yeah if people want to believe that a character is dead, please watch Zeta Gundam.

    Actually just watch Zeta Gundam anyway. It’ll turn everyone into a man.

  2. 2 LP February 5, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Gundam was one of the best things I’ve ever seen in anime.

  3. 3 Jakinbandw February 6, 2008 at 3:26 am

    And really who can see the original seed and say that no one dies? I can start a big list of main characters that die in it, even if I am forced to exclude Mu because the idiotic destiny.

    lets see:

    Flay
    Raw
    Nichol
    Assrun’s Father
    Calgali’s Father

    Others that I can’t be bothered to list….

  4. 4 The Sojourner February 10, 2008 at 8:04 am

    I am honoured. Yet I feel undeserving of the laurel that has been bequeathed upon me, sir. =)

    Shying away, I am not, from this matter just because I am ‘one of the many who have only viewed Gundam SEED and Gundam 00’, unlike a person who has a deep relationship with the Gundam franchise like you. It is simply a matter of fact that…. it was just a brainless comment that was not supposed to be taken seriously.

    Let us not have the assumption that my alleged observation is derived from the holy resurrection of Mr. Mwu La Flaga. The itch to blurt out another brainless comment (regarding the above sub-topic) it there but I better not do so since it will defeat the purpose of my post here.

    Here I am, sending sincere apologises to Kaioshin Sama for causing him to think I am bashing Sunrise or the Gundam franchise. If I am really bashing Gundam, neither would I be following the current season nor would I be viewing the older works of Gundam as a whole.

    Yeah. I am not interested in the issue of pride since I was not picking a fight.

    Have a nice day, sir. Hugs and kisses.

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama February 10, 2008 at 8:17 am

    That’s good to hear. At least you had the courage to come and admit you were mistaken. Few people would do so and would continue down the same path and set of beliefs in order to save face. In fact some bloggers out their wilfully deny the truth in order to keep writing as they see fit, which I think is definite pitfall. I was the same for a while and had to discover this for myself. I’m just glad that I’ve made a difference and changed somebodies mind so your apology isn’t necessary.

  6. 6 Seedguy February 11, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Some people are just so stupid.
    Even Seed, unlike Dumb-Shit Destiny, was perfectly happy to let characters die:

    -George Allster
    -Flay Allster
    -Natarle Badgiruel
    -Julie, Mayura & Asagi
    -Lord Uzumi Nara Athha
    -That kid Ahmed
    -TOLLE KOENIG
    -Nicol Amalfi
    -Marco Morassim
    -Aisha
    -Rau LeCreuset
    -Patrick Zala
    -Miguel Ayman
    -Mwu LaFlaga (still counts – no way Mwu could possibly have survived that – the Strike was entirely vaped, fershitssake!!!)

    And let’s not forget that death is at the absolute beginning of the story: Remember, the war depicted in SEED got started with the murder of 243,721 innocent civilians.

    Even Stargazer had its share of deaths, and it only had like, six characters.
    -Edmond Ducroz (sp?)
    -Mudie Holcroft
    -Shams Couza
    (Manga tells us that Selene & Sven make it, so they don’t count)

    It’s just GSD that’s moronically stupid about killing any character that has a name and appears in more than three scenes.

  7. 7 Seedguy February 11, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Well, perhaps I should say PROTAGONIST that has a name and appears in more than three scenes.
    Because let’s face it, even GSD had its share of death:

    -Stella Loussier
    -Sting Oakley
    -Ian Lee & Lord Jibril
    -Auel Neider
    -Heine Westenfluss
    -Meer Campbell
    -Capt. Todaka
    -Yuna Roma Seiran

    Oh, and there’s a bunch more I forgot to mention for SEED:
    -William Sutherland
    -Orga Sabnak
    -Clotho Buer
    -Shani Andras
    -Muruta Azrael
    But they’re scum, so it’s okay. But there were also a few I forgot that weren’t scum-sucking bottom-dwellers:

    -Lewis Halberton plus his whole fleet
    -Fredrick Addes
    -Ray Yuki

    And here’s a few other examples:
    -Kycilia Zabi blowing a hole in Gihren’s head
    -Char Aznable taking off Kycilia’s head with a bazooka
    -Norris Packard’s suicide
    -And my favorite, Colonel Une shooting General Septem in between the eyes…AFTER dropping him from an airplane. MOST. AWESOME. DEATH. EVER.

  8. 8 Jakinbandw February 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Yes! I am not alone!

    Out there is another person that likes seed and hated Destiny! People say that seed was a rip off. I talk to them and they are always talking about destiny. In my eyes the only saving grace of destiny was that even the characters in it new that the show was stupid. I mean, how many times did the main characters from seed stop and go:

    “Hey, didn’t this happen before?”

    Each time I died laughing. So destiny can rot in hell, but I stand by seed.

  9. 9 Kaioshin Sama February 11, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I thought the traditional Japanese Onsen in the Battleship was the part where I noticed it had stop trying to take itself seriously. I mean before that everything was overwrought and melodramatic as humanly possibly, without the subtle scenes of comedy in Gundam 00 (Christina trying to eat in the mess hall with Setsuna and Tieria, any Saji x Louise scene) that balanced the series from time to time. Then WHAM! Blindsided with one of the most ridiculous things in the series possible as a Warship hiding underwater houses a giant hot tub within it and then proceeds to fly off into space and into combat later on in the series. I mean it’s not like an open conflict was going on at the time of Lacus’ beauty break and they might have been summoned to the bridge without much time to get dressed and ready (thankfully that didn’t happen for a number of reasons). And then there was Meer Campbell.

    By that point the series was basically Martian Successor Nadesico to me in reverse (A series famous for being all comedy and then suddenly a soap opera near the end). Seed-Proper kept an overall better balance as well, as is Gundam 00. I mean going to a covert ops likely completely legit resort on Earth for some R&R makes sense.

    Though I believe Jason Miao mistook a pool for a hot tub in his latest “Episode Review”. Yes I can still view his site while being IP blocked (Not going to say how though) and it’s still more of the same.

    ” Hot tub scene and hot tub scene after hot tub scene. Instead of going the serious route, go the Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun route. I have no doubt that Sumeragi’s flotation devices can stop the ship from sinking (or jumping any sharks).” – Jason

    You see, I actually have a hot tub and pool. Hot Tub/=Pool. Trust me on this one. 😉

  10. 10 Reliant Chrossheaven June 4, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Actually, people from Gundam 00 are confirmed dead as well. Like Lockon Stratos and the two Trinity sibs… etc.


  1. 1 A Tale Of Duality « The Blue Fox Alley Trackback on April 22, 2008 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Archives

Present


