Spring 2008 series – wants and bins

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Whats with the random…ahhh it’s spring ^^

Or not so much “bin” seen for me as I am the type who is greedy and wants to watch as much as I can, sacrificing a lot of other things *rolleyes*
*cough* well, I have been wanting to write this for some time now and finally have some free time. But because my time is also rather limited *shakes angry fist at upcoming exams* I will just have to “borrow” some stuff from the friendly neighbours at THAT and special thanks to Impz for the nod 🙂

So! rather than just regurgitating the summaries of upcoming series, thus saving me lots of time, you could turn your attention to the summaries here while I go steal borrow their pictures ^^V.

_________________________________________________________________

Bus Gamer

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: The first thing I thought when reading the title for this series was, “huh? Bus?”, but it soon clicked that they actually means “business” *rolleyes* Anyway, this looks like a harmless short series. 3 episodes won’t do much harm even if it ends up as trash data. Might look into it when the time comes.

Kaioshin: Games for solving disputes have always kind of amused me on some level.  Perhaps all businesses should decide market shares by having a good game of Tennis between the President’s each day.  I may check this out just for the possibility of seeing people running around in Business suits shouting Shounenesque lines since Shinesman is obviously never getting a full series.

_________________________________________________________________

Golgo 13

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: “Golgo 13 has been called a Japanese counterpart to James Bond”
That line pretty much saids it all for how I feel about this series. Never liked James Bond, never will…moving on ^^

Kaioshin:  I’ve actually played the Golgo 13 game on the NES which was an interesting mix of gameplay elements.  It also featured one of if not the first depictions of sexual activity in a video game at the time.  In actuality Ryo Saeba is a better comparsion to James Bond then Duke Togo.  Both are gentleman with a strong dedication to their duties, albeit with a huge ego involved and a love for women on the side.  Duke Togo is just kind of a fat headed guy in a suit that will do any job you pay him for.

_________________________________________________________________

Ikuze Gen-san

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Too childish for my liking. I know not to judge things by it’s cover, but even that has a limit.

Kaioshin:  Heeheehee, look at his chibiness.  Actually all I know about this is that Kappei Yamaguchi is doing the voice of the main character.  Other than that there’s no interest.

_________________________________________________________________

Macross Frontier

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Definitely a watch for me. I really loved the first episode that Premiere and that immediately got me hooked. I must be the song, it is evil and it brainwashes! @_@ (and noticing that Rie Tanaka is also included in the case just made my mouth drop).
I might be smited for saying that I haven’t seen any past Macross works but I am working up to that ^^

Kaioshin:  Having seen every Macross to date other than Zero and having seen the amazing audio-visual presentation the series has to offer, this feast for the eyes is a definite blog for me.  Please don’t let Aya Hirano sing though and include some classic macross music in with the new stuff.  I want to hear some Fire Bomber, but done well.

_________________________________________________________________

Kyou Kara Maou! 3rd Season

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Haven’t seen any of the previous seasons so the chances of me watching this will be low. Maybe I can work my way backwards but past experiences tell me that, that is a really bad idea.

Kaioshin: Some things you wonder how they keep getting new series.  I believe the first episode of the first season was shown at my Universities anime club a while back and had something to do with a guy getting flushed down the toilet.  Two episodes were scheduled, one was shown.  I’ll leave people to guess why.

_________________________________________________________________

Allison to Lillia

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: The first real series in the list to catch my eye so far without knowing anything about it. Visually it looks “plain” but the summary makes it appealing. The setting seems to be in ye old fashion WW2 which has been a soft spot for me (too many shooting games heh). The seiyuu line up is also looking attractive. Nana Mizuki and Mamiko Noto are both in my list of top seiyuus.

Kaioshin:  First thing I think when I look at the logo of this series is that it looks like an eroge title card.  Other than that I like the character design.  I don’t know if this is a Grrl’s in Planes series or not, but perhaps I might check out an episode to see what the score is.  Not many anime I know of have been set in WW2 other than perhaps Grave of The Fireflies so this is definitely a novelty.  It’s period specific setting will likely draw me in if nothing else.
_________________________________________________________________

Kanokon

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: The Rosario of this season? Oh how I can’t get enough of these cheap, cheezy romance series. The plot should be predictable within the first episode. However, I have been surprised in the past by such series ~ a la Inukami for example ~ but the times that has happened is rare. I will give this series a trial however in case it turns out to be good :3 (Mamiko Noto again…she is rather hard working recently ^^).

Kaioshin:  Grrrrrrrmrmmmmmmm.  Kanon, no Kanokon, what?  Not very interested in this at all.

_________________________________________________________________

Zettai Karen Children

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Looks good to me. I’m not sure what to make out from different designs but it doesn’t look bad, more retro FTW ^^.It has been a while since the last “super hero” themed series so this will go down onto my list of trials.

Kaioshin:  Wow crazy character design that reminds me of the Pocket Monsters Manga.  If anything I would check out these series for the possibility of Crotch Stomping Lolis and not the fact that Hiranosauras Rex is doing the main character.

_________________________________________________________________

Code Geass Lelouch of the Rebellion R2

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Excuse me? Just who would miss the biggest thing this season? I must be mad to think so *rolleyes* Either me or kaio will be blogging this for sure. A lot of spoilers are floating around on the interweb, especially on Animesuki. Take a browse at the later pages if you want a head start at this. (Still can’t believe that emo/yuri girl isn’t dead…*walks away with a frown*).

Kaioshin:  Does this really need an introduction.  This is a default blog and hopefully I’ll be able to provide enough clear cut analysis to counter the usual mind numbing stuff that’s going to be oozing out of Derailed By Darry and other blogs that have declared Jihad on Sunrise for whatever reason (somebody’s gotta provide a balanced viewpoint).  Something seems different about the character design this time around, but maybe I’m just imagining things.

_________________________________________________________________

Nabari no Ou

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: K Rie voicing a boy? Now now, I thought it would be the loli in the middle ^^’. Either way the story looks interesting. I am getting some Rental magica vibes from this (maybe totally different series but that is how I feel this will do as a substitute). Hopefully lots of action and lots of RED blood (I have a thing for realism). p.s…K Rie sounds…ahhh nevermind ^^.

Kaioshin:  See that boy in the middle, Rie Kugimiya is doing his voice.  Deathy hopefully will realize this and stop saying she always plays Tsundere Loli and sound the same.  Under penalty of having to hear another one of my sermons.  (Insert Evil Laugh….Maybe)

_________________________________________________________________

Soul Eater

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Another shounen series. Same old generic scenario “People with super powers fighting to the top” bla bla ~ But heck most first impressions are like this. It’s not until you watch it that you know that it might turn out to be something special. Being a Shounen fan somewhat this looks promising. The comments for it aren’t bad either and the title resembles my name, which is a plus!

Kaioshin:  Wow, my foots asleep….Oh Hey!  Yeah so anyway, Soul Eater is the next in the long line of stylish series by Bones, following in the vein of Fullmetal Alchemist and Darker Than Black.  I’m probably going to watch this, but I doubt I’ll blog it. 

_________________________________________________________________

Vampire Knight

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: And here we have another one. The first thing to hit me is the character designs. The eyes look suspiciously like the designs from neuro (must be something to do with the thick outlines). But reading about the summary it seems to be similar to zombie loan. In that cast I guess there is no harm to put this on my trial list. The story itself is another big cliche…well like with a lot of other tweeked carbon copy series so I am used to it by now.

Kaioshin:  Enough with the vamps already Japan.  I’m playing enough Castlevania as it is that I don’t need anymore of them in my life.

_________________________________________________________________

Monochrome Factor

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Too much shounen zomg…I think I will pass this one for the fact that I want more variety *rolleyes*

Kaioshin:  I have no idea what this is and I’m not sure I’m curious enough to find out.

_________________________________________________________________

Uchino 3 Shimai

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: HAHA. As harsh as Kaio sounds I have to agree with him. Maybe when I was 10 years younger but not now ^^.

Kaioshin:  Looks like a kids show, which means I’m not in the target demographic.

_________________________________________________________________

Kamen no Maid Guy

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Oh wow. Now this is different. Forget about your trap maids, here comes the new breed of awsome GARness. Yep, looking at this makes me think of Seto no Hanayome. This can either be a perfect recepie for lawlz or ugly face plam. I wish it is the former seen as I will be watching this ~ or at least until I can’t stand it anymore.

Kaioshin:  The title sounds like an engrish mistanslation, but other than that I have no idea what this is about.  No real interest.

_________________________________________________________________

Kaiba

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Simply not interested.

Kaioshin:  This reminds me of Tezuka somehow, but I don’t think it’s one of his works.  Looks targetted at kids.

_________________________________________________________________

Crystal Blaze

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: What is this? So they are aiming for curiosity to hit seen as I can’t seem to find any images at all. Great, now they have gone and peeked my curiosity ~ thankfully I’m no cat so I won’t die even if it doesn’t turn out to be as epix as it “looks”. Using real objects is win (and darn sneaky if you ask me ^^).

Kaioshin:  Okay, we’ve got what looks like a pint, some shell casings and a revolver sitting on a hardwood table.  Suitably badass, but where are the characters?  Perhaps once I have more info I’ll be able to make a decision.

_________________________________________________________________

D.C. II S.S.~Da Capo II Second Season~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Well, I actually enjoyed the first installment of this so I see no reason to stop at the final hurdle. Whilst Da Capo has never been one of my top enjoyment romance series I would say that the first half of this did a pretty good job at entertaining me. Anyone complaining about sis-con? I have nothing against it especially with Otome 😀

Kaioshin:  The first time I heard this title I thought it was a mafia story or something.  Hasn’t this been going on for like EVER now?  Never saw any of the early parts and don’t really intend to see them or this series.
_________________________________________________________________
RD Sennou Chousashitsu

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Oh a futuristic series. Another genre which I haven’t seen in a long time. As far as first impressions go this could be watchable, even if I have to squint because of the highly unappealing character desgins.

Kaioshin:  The second I found out this was by Production I.G I immediately lost any interest.  As a general fact of life I can’t stand anything Production I.G has ever done.  Their character designs irk me, there’s to much still imagery and everything is just bland bland bland.  I for the life of me cannot figure out why some people think they’re works are masterpieces with the sole exception of Serei No Moribito.

_________________________________________________________________

Himitsu Top Secret

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Generally no interest generated for me. I really don’t like the art and I am usually pretty accepting of most things.

Kaioshin:  This sort of sounds a bit like Minority Report, but then again not really.  It sounds like it has an interesting moral dillema aspect to it that might make it interesting to check out.

_________________________________________________________________

Toshokan Sensou

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: I don’t quite know what to expect from this series. The premise is different from the “usual” so I am mildly interested but that is about it. Will put this on trial to see if it is worth sticking to.

Kaioshin:  I can smell Production I.G on this one about a mile away.  The character looks about as excited as me when I’m watched an episode of Ghost Hound at a friends house.

_________________________________________________________________

Wagaya no Oinari-sama

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Genderbending love! I love all things weird and wonderful so this will be on my list to watch. I am also excited to see that Yukana will be playing the main girl’s voice and Shizuka Itou getting a part too. Pro seiyuus is pro :3

Kaioshin:  But we already have a series with a Fox Girl in it…apparently there’s also some weird sex change plotline going on with this ala Ranma 1/2.  I don’t know, I’d have to play it by ear, but doubtful that I’ll watch this.

_________________________________________________________________

Nijuu Menzou Musume

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Another Bones series and it looks promising. I’m all up for another mystery series (need a replacement for Neuro and Shion no ou anyway) so this will most likely land on my to watch list. Not too much a fan of Aya like kaio but I’m not that much bothered by it, as long as she does a good job.

Kaioshin:  This sounds like it has the potential to be interesting as with most Bones shows.  Really I don’t give a damn that Hiranosaurus Rex is voicing the lead character.  It doesn’t affect me either way.  I’ll probably follow this in some regard.
_________________________________________________________________
To Love-Ru

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Comedy romance here we come. *Adds to too watch bin*
Another potential replacement for Rosario I guess, but unlike that series, I am reading the manga for this and it is pretty good so far ^^. (note: Huge Eve clone fan so it would be harthen to miss this in the first place).

Kaioshin:  I’m actually following the manga at the moment.  It’s basically a sheer random WTF fanservice series that is every bit a weekly Shonen Jump Manga.  The artwork doesn’t look nearly as good as the Manga’s and I don’t know how long it’s going to air.  I’ll watch the first episode and then see if I’m going to watch it or just stick with the manga.

_________________________________________________________________

xxxHOLic Kei

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Time to get started on the first season then…

Kaioshin:  AHHHHHHHHH ZOMBIES HAVE RISEN FROM THE DEAD….oh it’s just Production I.G’s weirdass character designs mixed with Clamp.  Truly terrifying.

_________________________________________________________________

Kure-nai

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Not too sure. Mostly likely a no seen as I have already picked up quite a few.

Kaioshin:  Some loli asks a guy to be her bodyguard or something.  The promo picture doesn’t particularly entice me.

_________________________________________________________________

S-A ~Special-A~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: This looks fun fun FUN. I don’t know why, but there is something about this that makes me hyped up. Ahh yes, it’s the rivalry scene again ^^

Kaioshin:  Hahahaha NO!

_________________________________________________________________

Junjou Romantica

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Now this is an example of potential “crossing the line” for me. I am fine with yaoi if it is a none contact sport but when it comes to this, my mind kind of melts down. Funny, I’ve never had this type of trouble with yuri *rolleyes* But! being a brave soldier I will be trying this, at least until the point when my mind implodes.

Kaioshin:  No

_________________________________________________________________

The Tower of Druaga ~the Aegis of URUK~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: I haven’t played the game so can’t comment on how brutal it is. But with Gonzo doing this err, it may get messy. Still though it’s better to try and then regret than to miss out on something that may be good.

Kaioshin:  I’ve played Tower of Druaga and it’s an absolutely brutal experience.  I don’t intend on watching an animated version of it by a studio who’s current fantasy series is also a brutal experience.  Just looking at the main female there with the upskirt doesn’t give me much hope. Of all the games to turn into an anime it had to be bloody Tower of Unplayable.

_________________________________________________________________

Itazura na Kiss

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Ahh Kaio never had much of a soft spot for romances like these :3
The summary is interesting to say the least. Cliche concept but with so many possibilities. I also read “Nana Mizuki” so that is double win. I wonder what kind of voice she will project this time.

Kaioshin:  Next……

_________________________________________________________________

Neo Angelique Abyss

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Trap bait is bait. Actually I love bishie characters and borderline Yaoi isn’t too off putting for me (unless you cross the line into the no go zone O.o). Into the trial bin it goes.

Kaioshin:  Is that a Playstation 2 Logo I see?  Anyway ANN describes this as a “Male Harem” so I’m obviously not the target audience here.

_________________________________________________________________

Kyouran Kazoku Nikki

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Cute, cute and CUTE. The craziness of it reminds me of sumomomomomomo (6xmo right…) so it can either be a win or fail. Still I will be watching it because it is CUTE! Or at least try for the sake of my soul ^^

Kaioshin:  Isn’t that Wiki-Tan?  Anyway the lead for this series is some lolitastic bioweapon if I’m to understand, which means an all but certain watch if that indeed checks out and there are subs.

_________________________________________________________________

Amatsuki

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: Sucked-into-computer-game type story I hear? I have a soft spot for fantasy/adventure so this will also be on my list. I will imagine it to be a tale of travel and companionship with the great evil at the end of their journey that they need to defeat kind of story. With Jun Fukuyama voicing the male lead perhaps also some moments of GAR.

Kaioshin:  The plot sounds like .hack, only possibly with something actually happening in the anime.  Still I’ll pass.

_________________________________________________________________

Blassreiter

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Deathkillz: I’ve lived through dragonaut and I will live through this ~ *rawrrrr*
No really, as cheesy as it sounds I actually got used to the uber CG used in Dragonaut. *Adds to trial bin*

Kaioshin:  As unbelievable as it may seem, after checking the website I’ve determined that the CG artwork and even general artwork actually makes Dragonaut’s look good by comparsion.  For the love of god Gonzo, just put this CG stuff to rest.  It looks terrible and borderline late 80’s in quality and nobody wants to see it.

11 Responses to “Spring 2008 series – wants and bins”


  1. 1 WanderingKnight March 16, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    What’s with the Real Drive (RD Sennou Chousashitsu) reaction?! YOU WILL SUFFER ETERNAL DEATH IF YOU DON’T WATCH MASAMUNE SHIROW ANIMU!!!!!ONE!!!ELEVEN!!!1112!

    Well, seriously speaking, I think nothing’s generating as much expectation as Real Drive for me this season. I can’t prevent my Shirow-fanboyism from surfacing. And it’s Production I.G. Love
    ’em or hate ’em, they sure do have a lot of cash.

  2. 2 Owaranai Destiny March 16, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Wow. You’re actually considering watching To-Love-Ru? XD

    Seriously though, trying out a few episodes won’t hurt, especially if it caters to the “general interests of the male audience”.

    Nothing else aside from that and Code Geass R2 interests me, and more so even with both of your comments on the various anime. I might give Vampire Knight a try (although I stopped on the manga)and maybe Da Capo, but that would mean picking up the first series again.

    Anyway, thanks for the little insight on the stuff that’s going to come out soon.

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama March 16, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    @WK: Please don’t hate me now, but alas it’s true. My last experience with Production I.G and Ghost Hound episode 1 at a friends house left me a little dead inside. I could see what they were trying to do by building atmosphere, but it was just so unmitigatedly boring in how it was carried out that it seemed just a touch overly pretentious….even for me. The fact that there was so much dead silence and still imagery gave me all the feelings of watching a college art film rather than a televised anime. Maybe they ought to do a Visual Novel or something.

    Seriously though, I dare anybody to go get an NES Emulator and try Tower of Druaga out. If you do though try not to hate me for it. Or if you are wary you can see the gameplay a bit at http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=6FNy4ylcmbw

    Namco seems to like having their games turned into anime a lot lately. Perhaps it’s the merger with Bandai. Speaking of which why didn’t they get their own in house Sunrise to do it, who managed to make the excellent iDOLM@STER Xenoglossia out of a music game with about as much to go on as Tower of Druaga has. It would be cheaper and probably work out a lot better than with Gonzo who is in the gutter lately, while Sunrise is on fire.

    Also note that the characters are all facing away from our point of view in the promotional poster towards the tower. Why would they do that I wonder. Can they keep a stable character design again, just this once. All will be revealed shortly, and that goes for everything on here.

  4. 4 Ojamajo_LimePie March 16, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Spring Series I’m Trying:
    -Kyou Kara Maou! 3rd Season (once I finish season 2 and the OAV)
    -Allison to Lillia (by the same author as Kino no Tabi!)
    -Toshokan Sensou (the idea is interesting)
    -xxxHOLic Kei (love the manga)
    -Kure-nai (looked interesting)
    -Junjou Romantica (love the manga)
    -Itazura na Kiss (I’ve been dying for an old-school shoujo romance)

  5. 5 deathkillz March 16, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Wow, WK went killerz mode XD

    I think this is a bad time to say that I haven’t seen GitS yet?

    Well, unlike Kaio I have nothing against Production I.G so my impressions on this is that it is still worth a try. But I have to say that the designs don’t appeal to me much >_<

  6. 6 RmX March 17, 2008 at 7:17 am

    “Jihad on Sunrise”

    -I can imagine their battle screech before detonating their bodies in an attempt to destroy a Gundam.

    “Under penalty of having to hear another one of my sermons. (Insert Evil Laugh…Maybe)”

    -I’ll listen to the sermon anyway.

    Anyway, I’m only committed to Geass R2 at the moment, although plenty of things look interesting enough to warrant an episode or two.

  7. 7 Sister Princess March 17, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    >>>Uchino 3 Shimai

    3rd installment of Minami-Ke?

  8. 9 Rianara B Chiu May 30, 2010 at 1:58 am

    I like all the anime is special a bec it gave us a opportunity to teenager to be sweet,lovable,caring,etc


  1. 1 curso brigadeiro gourmet Trackback on September 5, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Present


