Debating Whether It’s Worth It Anymore

Over the past week I have become so utterly disillusioned with the state of anime blogging, the utter nonesense and drama that goes into many peoples writings and just the politics in general that I wonder if it’s worth it anymore.  It does not bring me any joy anymore like it used to, having to constantly fend off personal attacks from people who take issue with me telling them that I think they are on the wrong track and reading all the blogging to bitch rants that seem to dominate animeblogger as a whole.  I don’t really want any part of it anymore…..at least for the time being.  Like before I think I really just need a break from it all or it’s going to just turn me back into the angry anime fan I used to be.  Believe it or not I don’t like arguing with people all the time, but I like to debate topics of relevance.  Many facets of anime blogging have ceased being relevant for me and now look like the kind of partisan pissing contests you see when you turn on C-Span.  I don’t want to deal with people like DarkMirage, Ascaloth and dmrchrs0 anymore with their tendency to try and make me out to be some sort of spoil sport/monster.  You want your audience of people who like to see you bash something or someone for the sake of it, you can have it because I don’t want that audience.  That I hope settles that aspect of things.

I also don’t want to be a part of a community that encourages everyone to think about, write about and like the same things.  You read so many blogs and it’s all the same basic ideas, memes and arguments.  They make you feel like if you don’t like “x” then you are a moron and like wise if you happen to like “y”.  There’s also generally way to much ego stroking going on with people playing themselves up and the commenters responding in kind.  I didn’t sign up for this to achieve some sort of personal cult status, I signed up to talk about anime and to express my enjoyment of it, while also talking about ways in which I feel it can improve.  My intention is and always has been to generate meaningful discussion about anime and anime related material, and animeblogger I feel has long since ceased to be about such a creed.  The name animeblogger itself even feels like a misnomer now.

As it stands I’m probably going to finish my Gundam 00 posts and then I’m going to sit out the Spring 2008 season.  Yes that means no Code Geass or Macross Frontier blogging after all.  Considering it won’t really be popular on animeblogger to write anything but scathing rants about Code Geass I don’t see why I should bother.

Overall I am mostly jut thoroughly disappointed that the experience hasn’t been what I imagined it as Animehistory approaches it’s first year anniversary.  When it seems like the new ideal is to just ramble incoherently when blogging and to cram as many internet memes and one liners into your articles as humanely possible rather than to to put some actual thought into what one is talking about, I’d rather take my business to the Animesuki Forums which have always been good to me in regard to thoughtful discussion.  At least then I can see if things improve or if they continue to get worse from a safe distance and say I played no part in it.

And since I know that it isn’t entirely fair to condemn the entire animeblogging community, I will say that there are some reads I have enjoyed and will continue to.  http://animanachronism.wordpress.com/ has been an absolutely wonderful read to date with it’s intelligent and thoughtful discussion on anime and I actually consider the host IKnight a personal online friend at this point for always supporting Animehistory and adding some very excellent comments to this site.  http://randomc.animeblogger.net/ has been a hallmark of the community too with it’s almost up to the minute news and excellent to the point coverage of anime series.  I honestly don’t know where Omni finds all the time.  And there are others too. 

Still the negativety is rapidly starting to overpower the good parts of animeblogger and frankly it’s starting to make me a little negative too if this article is any indictation.  So it’s vacation time again folks and I apologize to the good people who do like reading my articles.  I thank you again for your support and kind words, for trying your best to help me in my desire to bring a little life back into the discussion of anime.  I will be back I promise.  I’m sure Omni will take care of blogging Code Geass and that DeathKillz might want to take up the mantle of blogging it as well. 

30 Responses to “Debating Whether It’s Worth It Anymore”


  1. 1 RmX March 27, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    It was sad for me to read this.

  2. 2 Caitlin March 27, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    I’m confused…you say you only want to talk about anime and share your love for it but you’re not going to do Spring 2008 series because it won’t be popular…yet you’re not out there for the popularity contest?

    I’m not a regular reader of your blog or one at all, I just found it through animeblogger. If the community is depressing you, find a new one. I wouldn’t stop blogging entirely – a link in your forum profile should help, right? I’d just hate to see someone get frustrated to this point based on uncontrollable drama. 😦

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama March 27, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Just another lamenting take on the whole decaying purpose of animeblogger. I really don’t care either way what the popular way to discuss Code Geass is. I didn’t intend for that to be taken literally, but thought it might be and am glad you brought it up so I could have a good reason to explain it. I hope that clears things up. It’s also still all up in the air whether I am taking the season off. I mostly want to get of my chest my honest to god disillusionment with the blogging community. It helps sometimes to talk about what’s bothers someone. We shall see.

    I’m sure though that somebody is going to take it all and say I’m whining or try and mock me in a blog article like they always do, but whatever, that type of person is a lost cause to me anyway. The good folk should hopefully see what I am getting at here.

  4. 4 kdp March 27, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Please enjoy the vacation! Blogging is tough, and sometimes you need a rest.

    I agree on the negativity out there, but there’s probably a lot of negativity bleed in from life right now as well. Election years always seem to bring out the worst in people, even if they aren’t political. It didn’t help that the winter shows didn’t seem to have any real “instant classics” that appealed to a wide range. I can’t say any of the winter shows are ones we’ll be referencing as a standard in a year from now. Perhaps that is adding to the fighting since there’s no real consensus.

    A couple of suggestions for the next go-round…

    You might think about following the policy followed by MarginalRevolution.com – comments are off unless it’s really something worthy of discussion. I’d also probably put in a cap on the number of comments, since for some reason after about 10 to 20 comments, people start replying to the comments instead of the article. Finally, you can tighten the standards for comments as well to keep the off-topic stuff away. Much as people (myself included) like to ramble on their pet topics, that’s usually not the thoughtful commentary everyone else is coming to read.

    Anyway, enjoy the time off, and lets hope for a brighter future!

  5. 5 The Animanachronism March 27, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    I for one will be sorry if you do take a vacation from blogging, though you shouldn’t feel pressured to do something you don’t want to just because your readers demand it!

    The otakusphere is certainly home to lots of interpersonal drama and a kind of adherence to received opinions, both of which can be tiring. I mostly try to stay out of it by writing carefully non-controversial things, although I’ve been guilty of sticking the knife in myself in the past, and probably will be again.

    It’s frustrating that certain writers write some entries which are amusing but could just as easily be produced with a table of jokes and a random number generator. Still . . . some readers evidently want that personal touch, or I’m failing to see something.

    In any case, thankyou very much for the link, and I’ll always be happy to support a blogger who recognises that ‘old’ does not always equal ‘bad’ and who’s willing to give Sunrise a sympathetic ear (I’m becoming increasingly convinced that people should pay more attention to the names of directors and writers, and less to the name of the studio).

  6. 6 Itadakimasu! March 27, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    It’s a pity you’re taking a break but I think I can understand why, and its not for me to judge you. I have to agree with you in that the zeitgeist seems to encourage people trying to be cynical and ‘hip’ about everything to the point it just becomes lame. Well at least you still have Animesuki!

    Enjoy your break! mata ne

  7. 7 deathkillz March 28, 2008 at 2:58 am

    Yea, have a relaxing holiday Kaio 😉 hopefully you will come back after easter all nice and refreshed. Meanwhile I will be doing the same due to some holiday business. The blog will be quiet for some while but dam, I need a holiday before those pesky exams ^^

  8. 8 Owaranai Destiny March 28, 2008 at 6:19 am

    Take as long as you need. Although it’s understandable that cynicism and pessimism seems to rule much of the blogosphere nowadays, it’s kinda hard not to let it get to you quick.

    I do think, though, that cynicism shown on the part of the other blogs are based mostly on pet interests of the world around them and in effect, most of the readers. I could never get why people laughed at tasteless jokes in one of the blogs you introduced me to for a marvellous example of senseless blogging. 😛

    Anyway, do hope to see you back soon. I find your thoughts pretty insightful and interesting.

  9. 9 mangaka-chan March 28, 2008 at 7:38 am

    I must say I feel saddened by your decision, yet I can understand your sense of frustration. While there are some bloggers who are warm towards 00, yours is the only blog I’ve found that provides both a comprehensive summary as well as a detailed, thoughtful discussion about the series that also fits my point of view. I hope you will return for the second season of 00 because I enjoy your analysis and insight into the series.

    Having seen some of things on AnimeSuki, and what’s worse, some of the stuff on other blogger’s websites, I feel like some people have nothing but sarcasm and jeers for the show that I love. Thus I can understand why you’d want a break from it. In my opinion I think it might help if you simply ignore the bloggers who offends you. It doesn’t matter what they say, just concentrate on your own thoughts when blogging. With everyone minding their own business it might help to cut down on some of the drama that goes on.

  10. 10 Caitlin March 28, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I came back today to see if you had answered and thank you for doing so. ^_^

    I hope you don’t take the season off, particularly if there are shows you want to watch. (If not, then it makes sense!) I do understand the feeling though from another community…I had to take a break for similar reasons. But I think personal attacks really lower the other person’s credibility and overall community respect. It’s cheap and petty. I hope things improve for you. (^-^)\/

  11. 11 Shuilong March 28, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    I’ve been reading your weekly blogs on 00 for a while now, and I want to say thank you for presenting articulate, fair, and comprehensive analysis of the show. I find reading your articles greatly enhances my view of the show, such as being more aware of both its flaws and points of merit. I think it’s safe to say that those of us who can watch the show without publically frothing at the mouth in rage all appreciate your insights.
    It’s a shame that there are so many prominent bloggers out there who participate in a circlejerk bashfest, and adamantly refuse to give it its due for fear of compromising their own misbegotten prejudices. Sometimes, I think that in the same vein people want stories where everything is laid out on a silver platter, many readers of anime blogs prefer the same one-sided format instead of being asked to think beyond an initial kneejerk reaction.

  12. 12 npal March 29, 2008 at 1:05 am

    You should not mind morons like Ascaloth, justinstrife and the like. You can’t reason with someone who’s got no brain at all. Then again, you shouldn’t care about nazisuki either, but that’s your choice anyway.

    Personally, I don’t have the energy to write reviews on stuff anymore, been that way for almost a year, another forum and uni take most of my time, but as far as comments on blogs go, I really couldn’t care less. From what I’ve seen, there are always morons going around, and strangely enough, they’re always the same ones. HOWEVER, as you draw morons that don’t like you, you draw people that share your views and want to support them. When you publicly express an opinion, expect all three kinds, retards (like the ones mentioned, I have a bigger list if you want, and you can always check on the nazisuki admin/mod list, a number of them are there), people who just disagree, and people who agree with you.

    So, anyway, taking a break is a decent idea, but that won’t stop idiots from coming back the moment you write something they don’t approve. We’ve been disagreeing with their kind forever anyway.

    As always, you’re one of the few (maybe 2 or 3?) people left in that hell pit of a forum that I consider ok, so keep it up and don’t worry. Morons happen to everyone at some point, unless he’s already retarded, so none of us is safe, but that doesn’t mean we should give up.

  13. 13 Kaioshin Sama March 29, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Hehehe, well after this quote from Ascaloth it just may be easier to ignore the guy as he doesn’t seem to be altogether there:

    “The pro-Gundam 00 camp consisting of one individual going by the codename of The Meister, and who else?”

    Gee, I don’t know Ascaloth, maybe the thousands of fans that are currently choking Random Curiousity to find out what happened in episode 25. Man oh man does this guy have his own take on reality. I think he’s just sore that Clannad ended up being less well received than Gundam 00 and trying to pretend it isn’t the most popular anime of the season.

    Well that’s one down. Crusader also seems to have responded to my criticism and confirmed that he is mostly biased, although I did appreciate his rebuttal on a non memespeak level. DarkMirage still seems to me like a lost cause, although his own silence seems the best course of action at this point since nobody else has really come up with anything good on why 00 apparently sucks that can’t be dismissed as bias and the show not turning out exactly like they wanted it too.

    If I didn’t know any better I’d say it’s the kind of 2ch bitching you get when the writers don’t cater to Otaku’s desire and instead exercise their own creativity to do things their way (which given that this has always been something Sunrise does, shouldn’t come as a surprise). So really all this bitching about Sunrise trainwrecking their plots (Gundam Seed Destiny aside which actually was one) is just people bitching because they aren’t catering to them. That is the origin of the meme, sour grapes. The Sunrise Trainwreck phenomenon is nothing more than sour grapes.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sour_grapes

    I have finally at last come to this realization in my Gundam 00 episode 24 rant and had it confirmed in peoples responses.

    I don’t know somehow these people who bothered me before just don’t seem that threatening today. Maybe it’s because I’m well rested and at my sharpest. Done in by their own words one might say.

  14. 14 kokanaden March 30, 2008 at 9:08 am

    I think if you adopt the attitude that the Internet is basically an anarchy, you’ll find that it’s rather fun after all.

    The problem with you and people like Ascaloth is that you all tend to take whatever is being said on the blogs and comments too seriously. Take a step back, have a laugh or two over those shitty comments, and perhaps, just perhaps, you might gain a whole new perspective into things.

    That being said, good bye, I won’t exactly be missing you that much.

  15. 15 Owen S March 30, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    So… you’re mad at your poor sample size. Read more quality blogs. Stop reading posts off the aggregators, it’s like trying to take a drink from a fire hose.

    Are we talking about the same blogosphere, btw? The last time I checked my feedreader (I’m subscribed to a mere 70 anime blogs) I saw many a differing opinion. Also, try not to take insults on the internet so seriously.

  16. 16 Kaioshin Sama March 30, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    @Kokanden: I’m always looking for a new perspective on things. That’s been one of my main goals in my blogging. Unfortunately I am not the lulz type or the type that likes to use a bunch of overused memes, I will never change that so those that wish it are going to be disappointed. The way I see it, adopting the idea that the internet is an anarchy will forbid me from finding a new perspective and vice versa. I prefer to remain focused in my blogging and communication and I know that makes me “Srs Business” or whatever, but I don’t really care since that’s just memespeak.

    That doesn’t mean I don’t have a sense of humour though (does it not come across in my articles themselves that I try to add a little touch of humour?), just that I find a lot of what people pass off as humour to be in especially poor taste or just plain nasty a lot of the time. Uncreative even in that a lot of humour bloggers just draw in memes that are overused and thus I’ve ceased to find them funny. The type of joke I chuckle at most frequently and in turn try to make is one that is based off of a subtle truth in viewing and can be referenced in the brain to another concept.

    @Owen: I don’t know what to believe anymore at this point going by all the drama that seems to be popping up concerning you. I’m just staying silent and seeing where things go.

  17. 17 kokanaden March 30, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    @Kaioshin Sama

    I don’t know about memespeak and the like. I’m totally out of touch with whatever is happening in the anime blogging cesspool. The way you replied to my comment gave me the impression that you knew it was a cesspool, and you entered and tried to mingle in this cesspool knowingly. Which means you should have expected yourself to be sucked in.

    I wonder if you had actually entered with the grandoise notion of perhaps being a “beacon” of light in the cesspool and the like, but obviously, when I refer to the Internet generally as a anarchy, I refer to the fact that FFAs to convert people to a dominant view occur all the time, and the rather unsurprisingly fact that the masses lap up everything they THINK is established and sounds good, regardless of whether it actually is.

    By declaring your disillusionment, I guess I’ll take it to be a declaration of defeat, that you’ve thrown in the towel of turning your views into one of the dominant one in the internet. You could argue otherwise, who am I to dispute? But then, who are you to dispute my interpretation?

    On the other hand, does it really matter in the first place? The ability for people to accept your perceived level of “discussion”, or your perceived level of “humour”? Isn’t the most important critic yourself?

    I don’t know how much you’ve actually interacted with the animebloggers, and to what depth. However, perhaps a breather might be good for you; you’re currently too stuck in your paradigm atm to really appreciate and spot the gems of unique perspectives that come your way anyway.

  18. 18 LianYL March 30, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Okay, this was a funny post. The whole article was like self-ridicule.Good job on the self-sarcasm.

  19. 19 Kaioshin Sama March 30, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Yes well you are correct in most of your assumptions other than that I tried to mingle in a cesspool knowingly. Perhaps tested the waters would be a better way of putting it. I tended to read up on bloggers based on what I myself followed and frankly do not like a lot of what I see. I’m currently trying to reevaluate based on a number of other criteria to separate forever those bloggers which I would like to continue to follow and those who I well forever denounce and cease to associate with.

    Do you disagree Kokanaden that those who are the most cynical and unfair bloggers seem to capture the most ears? My concern in believing this to be true isn’t a matter of popularity, but that I don’t want to see people misled by falsehoods, distortions of fact and to become like I once was, a cynical, biased and rather jaded person.

    Most of all I don’t want to see people repeat the mistakes I made because of preconceived notions of what must be good and what must be bad based on the most narrow field of criteria such as who did it, what genre is it and did it cater directly to my tastes. I used to be biased as all get out against Moe, Kyoto Animation and anything post 90’s. It took a lot of work and a lot of advice from people to work myself out of that narrow-minded viewpoint and looking back I am kind of ashamed with myself. If I can keep other people from falling into that pitfall in their thinking I do hope to provide a path to whatever personal enlightment they might attain.

    That isn’t a glorification of some noble purpose or an attempt to convert people to a way of thinking that I prescribe, but just a side goal to help people little by little to make up their own minds about things rather than to follow mine or anyone elses specifically.

    @LianYL: Once again somebody completely misses the point. I like how when I’m trying to be serious and straightforward people find humour and when I’m trying to be funny people get serious. This is just another example of why I think this community is screwy.

  20. 20 kokanaden March 31, 2008 at 2:22 am

    Well I applaud your noble ideas, but unfortunately I think its rather flawed.

    You’re now stuck on the POV that the best way to approach issues is to adopt as unbiased, and as open an attitude as possible. Which is nice to have, but is not subscribed to by everyone.

    Which goes back to my string of questions: does it matter? To me, there’s no such thing as an ideal way to deal with issues. What makes you think that your path will lead them to enlightenment? Just because this path led you to enlightenment? Rather flawed argument isn’t it?

    My point is: Many roads lead to Rome. The path you chose might have led you to enlightenment, but it might lead others to misery. Given the diversity of views on enlightenment, and the diversity of approaches towards enlightenment; it’s stuff like this that make the Internet such an interesting place and such a cesspool at the same time.

    Take off those tinted lenses of yours, perhaps, and try to put on LianYL’s lenses instead, and maybe, just maybe, you’ll start to see the kaleidoscope through which we view the world, fascinating yet misleading all the time

  21. 21 LianYL March 31, 2008 at 4:30 am

    You know, that reply from you just validates that you are not suitable for the internet. Go play with tops.

  22. 22 Kaioshin Sama March 31, 2008 at 6:25 am

    @LianYL: I don’t know what you mean by “suitable for the internet” nor do I think I care to know. I already told people I don’t give half a damn about the way the internet is apparently supposed to work, that should be immediately obvious by now.

    Bear in mind my stance that comments from anybody are welcome as long as they have good intentions and bring their manners. That you have clearly come to insult me and are being rather rude runs contrary to that. Consider yourself warned LianYL.

  23. 23 LianYL March 31, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Just a simple question. Are you able to do as you preach?

  24. 24 Kaioshin Sama March 31, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I just want to see I saw what DmrChrs0 wrote and I don’t need that crap. Wouldn’t be the first time, probably won’t be the last. People can make up their own mind on who is the one sowing hate and being a troll and even who started this all. I ask that people ignore this person as he accomplishes nothing. I love what I do, just not people like DrmChrs0 that I have to do it with. That is all I have to say on this matter.

  25. 25 Ascaloth March 31, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    You didn’t answer LianYL’s question. Dodge, much?

  26. 26 LianYL March 31, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I see.

    Therefore I see no wrong in perceiving a blatant, almost intended, display of hypocrisy as a good piece of self-ridiculing satire in the first place.

    Have a nice day, bigot.

  27. 27 kokanaden March 31, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Happy April Fool’s.

    Riding on another’s coattails again Ascaloth?

  28. 28 Kaioshin Sama March 31, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    @Ascaloth, LianYL: Are you two quite done or do you have anything to add that isn’t an insult?

    I already answered your question in my reply LianYL whether I can practice what I preach by saying it’s up to people to judge based on my actions. Actions speak louder than words afterall.

    @Kokanaden: You I like, but it isn’t April Fools Day in Canada for another 12 hours. Please don’t do anything to encourage Ascaloth. I’m am already running low on patience with him and LianYL.

  29. 29 Ascaloth March 31, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Stating the damned obvious again, kokanaden? :p

    Although I did wonder what part of my last comment was an insult. It was just a simple observation.

  30. 30 unico June 4, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    why do these people pick fights with you Kaioshin ?

    good grief. they need to crawl back under the rocks they came from.


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Present


