So You Think You Are Clever Oh Internet Meme Spammers

If you are of the type that gets an infinite amount of laughs out of spreading the same one liner that everyone has probably heard a dozen times before you got around to it, do yourself a favour and read what BobServo has to say over on Something Awful about why I now believe the internet meme has replaced the witless pun as the lowest form of humour.  After doing so perhaps you might come to appreciate why I often try hard to come up with jokes and self-coined definitions of my own and am so “uptight” as to not lace my blog articles with overused jokes that were probably never funny (and never will be).  Here’s to good humour and a memeless Animehistory.  Cheers!

8 Responses to “So You Think You Are Clever Oh Internet Meme Spammers”


  1. 1 Pexx May 22, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Oh let them have their fun. Yeah they’ve been posted so often the meaning for half of them have warped to something completely unrecognizable (and frankly ugly), but some people still find them funny.

    Of course I get a feeling this is an attempt to show your superiority over the typical Anime fan…which is hardly an achievement might I add.

  2. 2 Anonymous May 22, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    And so we finally understand that the majority of Anime watchers are immature underaged brats.

    Oh the case has been solved!

  3. 3 Myssa Rei May 22, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I don’t understand most memes anyway, given that, in my ‘old age’ I’m no longer as immersed into anime as when I was in my teens, but really… There’s a clear difference between ‘amusing the first time around’ and ‘repeated ad nauseum’.

  4. 4 Milkshake May 22, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    And this is new how? Nerds have been saying the same, possibly once funny, quote over and over since the dawn of time.

    This is nothing new.

  5. 5 Anonymous May 22, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Every time I hear the name Chuck Norris yelled out in my Game Design class I die a little inside

  6. 6 Anonymous May 22, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    BobServo is absolutely correct.

    Anyone with half a brain would have known that already. Everyone else probably wouldn’t give a shit about that article.

  7. 7 Denizen May 22, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Some memes are funny, it’s silly when people find a few overdone jokes and blanket every single meme as the same thing.

    A meme is like anything in this universe – good and bad.

  8. 8 Kaioshin Sama May 22, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    The answer to all of your questions (the ones that were relevant) about why I posted this is that this is my counterpoint to everyone who has ever accused me of lacking a sense of humour, or rather lacking the internets. People want to use memes it’s honestly fine by me (though I have obviously admitted I find them nauseating since I hate repetition with a passion), but I don’t, and if people have a problem recognizing my own style of humour or why I don’t follow their’s then they can gladly read this article or failing that, any one of the many other blogs out there that are “funny”.

    Also any further low content comments on this article will be removed at my discretion. I welcome expression and commentary, but do not spam my comment queue with inanity or insults please.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Present


