FFXIII On The Xbox360 And Why I Think People Are Overreacting

This Picture Is As Manufactured As The “War” It Represents

By now many people have probably heard about Square Enix president Yoichi Wada’s E3 announcement concerning a similtaneous Xbox360 launch for Final Fantasy XII.  Previously, FF XIII had been announced as a PS3 exclusive and obviously by name alone it was a high profile one at that.  A lot of fans have expressed outrage, but I have not and cannot comprehend the reason for this fury.  This is why (parts of this article are compiled and fine tuned from arguments I’ve made elsewhere):

First of all, I don’t believe for one second in the console wars as I may have mentioned previously in one of my other talks on games, I believe in sitting down to have a good 3+ hours of gaming and letting Microsoft, Nintendo and Sony slug it out amongst themselves while I partake of their technologies.  That’s where the entertainment is for me.  Should one of the console companies do better than the other in sales and revenue, I won’t see a dollar of it as a consumer and end-user, so I don’t really care.  I do care however about what I am able to play on my console and partake of at the end of the day.

Second, Square shouldn’t and most likely doesn’t (I should hope at least) give two damns about Sony as that is not their business. Selling the greatest number of FFXIII copies is however their business and this decision has more than likely been calculated with an intent on maximizing that number.

Thirdly, as a consumer I cannot see why people are getting so damn upset over the fact that Xbox360 owners are going to get a chance to play the game. I say that’s good because then more people get a chance at the experience without possibly having to invest in a new system. The situation is not the that because it’s on the Xbox360 it’s not on the PS3 now, it’s both.

Ultimately, I can’t see any problem with this nor why people are whining about “betrayal” and getting all upset. Who the hell cares?! I mean, have people bought into this whole manufactured console war nonsense so much that they actually consider it a bad thing that more people might get to play a game and that it’s not exclusive anymore. People really need to start looking at the bigger picture and to just grow up in general. Leave the competition to the companies themselves and the gameplaying to the consumers, that’s what I say.  After all, as I said, I’m not seeing a single penny from any of this, I’m going to be spending money if I decide to buy the game.  In the long run this decision doesn’t effect me and if one was foolish enough to buy a PS3 just for FF XIII before the details on it were even hammered out (more on that at the end of this article fastly becoming a rebuke) then they should blame themselves and not Square, that being a concious decision they made as a consumer.
 
Finally, while I do agree that not all consoles are created equal as a result of differing technical specs, in this case apparently Square-Enix has decided that the 360 is worth their investment and you know what, that’s their choice.  If they lose money in the long run on the 360 prints then they obviously made the wrong one from a practical business standpoint.  Regardless though, and even if the Xbox360 version is watered down slightly or even significantly (which shouldn’t impact the PS3 version at all if they don’t decide to water it down in some sort of equalizing gambit), more people get to play it, and that’s a good situation to me.  The more the merrier is a philosophy I still subscribe to even when modern society seems to have abandoned it in favour of the individual or exclusive ego.

Finally finally, I would be personally more concerned with whether FFXIII is even going to be a solid RPG before worrying about what system it’s going to be on.  Priorities people.  It’s time to get them in order.

17 Responses to “FFXIII On The Xbox360 And Why I Think People Are Overreacting”


  1. 1 Haesslich July 16, 2008 at 4:04 am

    I think that it’s more people who pay $400 for their console feels that it’s less ‘just a game console’ and more a religion whose gods consist of exclusives like Metal Gear Solid, Final Fantasy, and the Tales series… which means that a Tales game being exclusive to Xbox360, Final Fantasy mainline series (the numbered games) moving onto the Xbox, and so forth means that the whole ‘I got a PS3, I’m a member of the Elite who will be the only ones to enjoy these great games I paid $450 for the privilege of playing’ mindset gets ground into the dirt where it belongs.

    PS: It’s ‘terrestrial’.

  2. 2 Camario July 16, 2008 at 4:31 am

    I don’t care either, but then again I’m sitting out the current console wars so it’s not like it’ll affect me or my immediate decisions, at least not for years to come.

  3. 3 Gabest July 16, 2008 at 8:01 am

    It just silly not to release on every possible platform, unless sony or microsoft can pay more than the increased user base and profit would bring.

  4. 4 Gaia July 16, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Can I just correct some facts. First it’s not coming out on the 360 in Japan. Second, the conversion to 360 doesn’t start until the game has come out in Japan and the PS3 localization to US and UK has started. Probably not until after all that is done.

    And if people relezased on all consoles possible then it’d be pointless having several consoles. The exclusive games are what cause people to buy certain consoles.

    Besides, what’s causing the biggest stink is the fact that SE lied for 2 years by constantly claiming FFXIII was a PS3 exclusive only to turn round and decide suddenly to port it to 360.

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama July 16, 2008 at 8:52 am

    It’s funny how I’ve noticed the Bonen No Xamdou scenario ties into this argument as well. That series was made exclusive to the PS3’s PSN network and a lot of people aren’t liking it. Will people complain if that series ends up on TV or some other form of distribution I wonder? I for one would love it as then I would actually get to see the damn show.

    The Xamdou situation makes me appreciate Wada’s decision all the more. Exclusivity in my opinion should remain in the hands of first party developers as they have a right to controlling their own product. As for third party console format media, I don’t think any one company should have the right to control the medium for it’s distribution and usage, but for the company that makes it.

  6. 6 C.I. July 16, 2008 at 10:06 am

    The “Betrayal” sentiment stems from basically the fact that Sony helped Square build itself up to what it is today. And the fact that FF, Square’s most easily recognized series, only comes out on Sony’s consoles.

    Personally, Square is a business, and they need to diversify. IMO this is a step in the right direction, business-wise at least.

  7. 7 Gaia July 16, 2008 at 10:07 am

    They’re making the game. They’re putting the time and effort in. Each console has a different format. It’s up to the company which they want to put the time and effort into formatting it to.

    This probably wouldn’t be causing such a big stink if it’d been announced this way from the start. It’s the 2 years of saying one thing, only to suddenly decide to change it that’s causing the biggest problems.

  8. 8 Gideon July 16, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I have always emjoyed the FF-series and I’m glad more people can experience it now too.

    If square-enix can sell more copies of the game this way and as a result earn more money which they can then invest in the franchise and make it even better and bigger; I’m all game!

  9. 9 Haesslich July 16, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    C.I.: Not strictly true – for the longest time, Final Fantasy was the exclusive domain of Nintendo, before Square broke away from Nintendo to join with the fledgeling Sony to release FF on their PSX. Enix titles were also for the most part Nintendo-exclusive, way back when… so the whole ‘Squenix was built by Sony’ argument doesn’t hold water. However, Sony HAS had a lock on FF games until the PS3 precisely because they had the console which was the most popular, and the one which could deliver what Square-Enix wanted to show the world.

    What I suspect is driving Squenix now is pragmatism – the PS3 isn’t the runaway hit that they were expecting, and the Wii (which is) isn’t the best console to showcase the series in the way they want to deliver it (interactive movie/RPG). Therefore, they’re trying to move onto another console so they don’t get tied to a possible dodo later on, and also to capitalize on the Xbox360’s penetration into the European and North American markets.

    Now, the anime-being-exclusive-to-PSN thing.. well, the fun thing is that they’re all DUBBED anime. Joy. 😛 You’d think, given that they’d have the ties to the original anime companies, they’d offer a choice between subbed and dubbed…

  10. 10 Kaioshin Sama July 16, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    @Haesslich: They could always drop the interactive movie bit that it’s become in recent years (More Kingdom Hearts II then any other game of there’s) and make it just an RPG.

    Actually I’m assuming that VS. (anyone care to tell me what’s up with that name?) being the Nomura game is going to be more the interactive movie, FF:XIII proper will be more the RPG and I guess that Agito (having the pretentious name and all) will fall somewhere inbetween art film and game, but we’ll see.

  11. 11 Gaia July 16, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    You do know that Agito is a mobile phone game? And as such hsd little chance of coming outside of Japan. Let alone be anything great.

  12. 13 Enact July 17, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Personally, Versus looks the most promising of the FFXIII games, but I do agree that with the same staff as KH II, and the fact that there was no major critisim agianst it by the press and how well it sold, I doubt they are gonna change much. Of course, I’m being optimistic, but hey, as they say, people only change when they need or want to change. Also, the title Versus has a double meaning. It’s the one we all know and it’s latin version. But even so, I hope to god this isn’t the trainwreck KH II was.

  13. 14 Kaioshin Sama July 17, 2008 at 2:14 am

    @Gaia: Is it? Well then I guess that puts an end to any speculation about Agito for the time being.

    @Enact: The problem I have with KH II aside from the fact that the dialogue and character wardrobes make me feel like I should be cutting myself while playing it, and that it reads like a work of fanfiction on a number of levels is that the explanations behind some of the key concepts in the series like Nobodies, Heartless and Kingdom Hearts itself aren’t very well handled in my opinion. It’s like Nomura just said “I don’t care how it all plays out or even how it all comes together, just make it all sound cool in the dialogue. Use the word darkness a lot and play it by ear as you go. MAKE MY GAME!”

    In fact “darkness” seemed to be used as a placeholder for whenever somebody couldn’t think of what exactly they were trying to convey. It apparently worked too and if there’s any meaningful symbolism in any of what happens in the game then I have yet to see it and I am the guy that insists I have managed to find symbolism and hidden meaning in Code Geass scenes where people say there isn’t any. If there was any deep or hidden meaning in KH II I would find it. I am very confident of this.

  14. 15 izumo July 19, 2008 at 4:17 am

    I agree with what Kaoishin-san is saying but still it is a little disapointing for a Sony fanboy like myself.

    I believe Squenix has succumb to the all mighty dollar (or is it yen) since the US dollar is in the crap hole. Figures that was the only way Microsoft was able to obtain what was supposed to be a Sony exclusive.

    Dissapointed in the news but not that suprised. Lately there is less & less exclusive titles for consoles cause having it on multiple will make more money. Squenix noticed that the 360 is in more homes at present than the PS3 so put it in another console for increased revenue.However i’m one of those people who think eventually the PS3 will dominate the market in the end of it’s 10 year lifespan. It’s all about making money nowadays…yes i know it’s a billion dollar industry but i remember not too long ago it was all about the games not the money.

    I watched the Sony press confrence at E3 ’08 on gamespot & Mr.Trenton (i think that’s his name) kept talking about exclusives, Sony has the most exlusive titles of any console. That may be so but they lost probably one of their biggest. However judging the reaction to games like ‘Little Big Planet’ (every time i see this game i have to smile), ‘Killzone 2’, ‘Resistance 2′ i think Sony will be fine if they lose a premier title or two.

    If it is to my understanding the other versions of FF13 are still Sony property like FF versus 13. Also Squenix is using the PS3’s specs & Bluray to make FF13 if i’m not mistaken. So if they are porting it to the 360 don’t you think they will need like multiple HD DVDs cause of the limited storage space. So that joke pic of MGS4 for 360 may be a reality. I can see it now…’play 10 mins…insert next disc.’

    I’ve lost almost all respect for Squenix nowadys cause it is all about the money & not the games like the old times. Lately for me Squenix seems to milking money out of people by appealing to nostalgics. I would like to see Squenix stop rehashing things and start putting the same amount of effort into all of their games instead of throwing around the name of one of their biggest franchises.

    PS 1. If they ever decide to remake FF7 it BETTER be SONY exclusive….seeing that game on another system will be BLASPHEMY!!!!!!

    PS 2. Thumbs up for Hideo Kojima-san for not succumbing to money & making MGS4 a PS3 exclusice, cause i bet he was offered a vast amount to make it for other systems.

  15. 16 Setsu July 19, 2008 at 7:25 am

    One thing I also hate that came out of this is the whole “Final Fantasy is no longer a PS3 exclusive, therefore there will be no more exclusives” mentality. I’ve heard a lot of questions regarding whether the same thing will happen to Disgaea 3 now that Final Fantasy will also be on the 360, but it’s ridiculous to think that just because a long awaited game (From an overrated series no less) will be on more than one system means that the same thing will happen to every game.

  16. 17 C.I. July 19, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    @Haesslich: Oops, my bad on the “Only comes out on Sony consoles” part.

    But one has to admit, Sony did play a pivotal role in building Sqeenix into what is is today, and since the most easily recognizable FF games come out as Playstation exclusives, save 11, I think. And that was my point, that Squeenix’s FF exclusives have become so iconically associated with the Playstation that this is seen as “betrayal”

    And this is coming from me who actually agrees with your point on pragmatism and Squeenix’s top priority now. heh.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Present


