Macross Frontier Experiments In Better Opening Themes

Seikan Hikou By Megumi Nakajima

You know, why am I not surprised that I like this song way better then Triangular which I of course loathe and won’t even listen to anymore.  I mean I’ve liked every Megumi Nakajima song so far and this one is no exception.  On top of being extremely relaxing and catchy as opposed to screechy and stress inducing as I groove instead of scramble for the time bar on my Media Play Classic GUI, it features some very funny visuals of a chibi Ranka just dancing along with NyanNyan imagery.  Can the Macross Frontier Staff in charge of openings please just scrub Triangler forever and use Megumi Nakajima songs now…..pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaase?  That way I’m not leaping across the room for my keyboard every time the teasers finish abruptly and the opening comes on as a shrill “KIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIMIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII” comes into play……sigh…..

8 Responses to “Macross Frontier Experiments In Better Opening Themes”


  1. 1 deathkillz August 1, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Strangely enough, I HATE and love this song at the same time, just like how I HATE and love her “kyaaaa” *hand signal* motion. I can’t help but roll eyes but at the same time I find it…erm…funny?

  2. 2 EvilDevil August 2, 2008 at 7:33 am

    please dont tell me that was a pineapple pancake…

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama August 2, 2008 at 9:59 am

    They’re steamed buns. They were featured in episode 3.

  4. 4 Gsus August 2, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    That “hip thrust” by the phone is disturbing on so many levels…

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama August 2, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Well either way, disturbing and bizzare or not, this song actually brings the idol-pop music from Macross Frontier at least temporarily onto the level of the original Macross, complete even with the classic hand gestures that helped to sell the Minmay character to Japan back in the 80’s. It’s no Tenshi No Enogu, but it’s close enough. Although I frequently rip on idol-pop music there are indeed instances where I like these types of songs. They are very special cases though……

    I think I’m like Deathasaurus where every part of my would normally want to hate this song, but it’s just to uplifting and listenable to not love it on some level. Kind of like Red Moon Silver Moon.

  6. 6 EvilDevil August 3, 2008 at 12:27 am

    @Kaioshin Sama
    i am talking about the episode, not the opening

  7. 7 Gsus August 3, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I might be thinking too literally but the original Macross didn’t put such an emphasis on their J-Pop qualities, at least not in the OP.

    And as for the reasons why Minmay became so popular in Japan: That would require digging into the psyche of the average otaku, and I’d rather not do that. God knows what that would dreg up.

  8. 8 Kurogane August 27, 2008 at 2:48 am

    I loved this one and what I loved even more was the whole red herring thing! They have us thinking that Ozma is gonna die for the entire episode just to disappoint us at the end….lol, no, I like Ozma, and I liked his speech (but I think Kamina-sama is waaaaay cooler). It’s funny how each episodes seems to almost stand alone even though the plot is carried along, bit by bit. It’s a bit refreshing, if also exhausting, particularly when you have those awesome battle episodes followed by slice-of-life episodes and it almost feels like you are watching two different animes. It’s a great mix nonetheless. Mixing has become some kind of trend in anime nowadays. We have emo lolis lugging around hatchets, political dramas with slice-of-life, and super-powered spies meets filme noir.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present


