An Update On The Ol…..Er Michael Phelps Show?…..Wha?

Or

Which Am I Watching?  Seriously I Can’t Tell Anymore

This is probably going to make me even more enemies, but I’ve gotta say that I’m honestly sick to death of this Michael Phelps guy already after only having known who he is for like a week. It’s like the Olympics have basically become the Michael Phelps show and the media focuses so much on this guy it distracts (forcibly I should say) from just about everything else going on in Beijing (Thank god I have CBC and don’t have to watch NBC where I imagine it being like 50 times worse lol).  I have absolutely nothing against the guy so don’t get me wrong here.  It’s not his fault the media are desperate for his story and don’t give a damn about other athletes and he’s merely doing what he’s meant to do, swim fast.  Personally I too think he has been phenomenal in his sport, but I could honestly care less at this point now that it’s all said and done and don’t understand why his personal story is so much more important to people than anyone elses or why we need to still be talking about it as other people step up to make their personal bests and attempt to make their own footprint in Olympic history.

It’s so ridiculous that its even overshadowing other historical Olympic moments that in my opinion have been far more interesting then this guy in his custom swimsuit (another story in and of itself that has somewhat tainted the pool events this year for me) winning his bragging rights.  Usain Bolt’s run (I was just staring at the screen going “…..Whaaaaaaaaaat?” for like 5 minutes afterward) for example was as stunning as it was surreal and I was just thankful that something interesting happened other then Michael Phelps that people could talk about in the Olympics (and hopefully god forbid draw some media attention away from the pool) and then it just gets overshadowed by this overbearing (literally as in his shoulders are ridiculous and give him a looming posture) SWIMMER (thank you very much) who just won’t go away and I swear had the relay handed to him by a solid team that put him in the lead to simply take it home.  Speaking of which, boy it must suck to be a member of that USA team.  I mean they were just as good as Phelps throughout the race and did an amazing job in setting up his lead.  His eighth medal was impossible without their contribution, but nobody is ever going to remember their names now.  I’ll be surprised if they even appear on historic photos of the event in the future and it’s a terrible shame really.

So anyway…. now that we’re in the second week of the Olympics Michael Phelps show it seems Canada finally picked up some medals (Hooray, we are up to 7 with 2 Gold, 1 Silver and 4 Bronze 🙂 ) and Paula Radcliffe pulled in her marathon after a show of true grit while suffering leg cramps. To bad it doesn’t matter like everything else that happens because OMG MICHAEL PHELPS AND HIS EIGHT GOLD MEDALS!!! WEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!  I think people get my point now.

To finish though I have to ask one more question, what self respecting network covering this event cuts the camera away to show another athletes mother in the stands while the event announcer is doing the roll call for the other nations participants? Why don’t they then just show other athletes mothers coming to cheer on their sons and daughters at the relay as they do them proud? WHY THE F$%# IS MICHAEL PHELPS SO DAMN SPECIAL?!  WHY IS HIS MOTHER SO DAMN SPECIAL NOW?!  WTF DID SHE DO HERE?!

Sorry this just really annoys me. So much fuss over one person by the media when the whole idea of the event is that it’s supposed to be about the world coming together and celebrating the spirit and potential of mankind as one.  Not one man, not one country trying to show the world it’s ready to become a super power, not even one region, but the whole world.  That’s why I all but refuse to even call this an Olympics.

10 Responses to “An Update On The Ol…..Er Michael Phelps Show?…..Wha?”


  1. 1 blake steel August 17, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    I saw him win his eighth gold medal last night. I got to tell you he is something special. Michael Phelps is no doupt one of the best olympians ever if not the best olympian ever.

    I also thought why did they record Michael Phelps mom cheering him on?

    As far as I heard you are tired of them talking about Michael Phelps. Kaioshin I don’t hate you for saying you opinion. They just talk about him a lot because he was on a run for world history. It was the same thing with the Brett Favre crap except that he wasn’t chasing history. in the Nfl about coming out of retirement and not wanting to fight for a starting position. Yeah believe it or not I do watch football.

  2. 2 The Animanachronism August 17, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    I must say, the media in the UK haven’t been covering Phelps as much, but that could just be mindless anti-Americanism, of course.

    I wouldn’t say he’s clearly the greatest Olympian ever, though – he’s won a lot of medals, yes, but then there are a lot of medals in swimming because you have different styles as well as lengths. (I wonder what running would be like if there was, for example, a 800m Running In a Funny, Knees-Up Way race as well as your standard – freestyle, so to speak – 800m.)

    Still, at least with the internet you can take the initiative and hunt down the stuff that interests you (and doesn’t feature Michael Phelps). This weekend I’ve already watched some split-second action in the Women’s Team Sabre final and some utterly bizarre Greco-Roman Wrestling.

  3. 3 blake steel August 17, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    No offense Kaioshin but Michael Phelps has more medals than the entire canadian team combined.

  4. 4 . August 17, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    I think of it as hype because of the result of him winning almost half of the US’s total gold medal count. Why cover some other sport/other nations when you can instill some national pride in the Olympics?

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama August 17, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    @Blake Steel: Let’s turn your comment on it’s head for a second here. Consider this. Every person from Team Canada has more medals than most of the participant countries in the Olympics. Does that make a difference to the people watching from their respective countries who haven’t taken home a single medal? Probably not…

    For example some of the folks from Singapore on animesuki were talking about how their country hasn’t won a medal in 48 years and despite this the people still showed up to cheer on their athletes and were very proud. Now finally they are ready to take home a medal in table tennis and these folks couldn’t be happier nor more proud for their representative athletes, and neither could I for them. It never mattered to them that they were shut out for that long and likewise it doesn’t matter to me that Canada has less medals then Michael Phelps for the time being, because the team does us proud anyway. I may have been disappointed earlier by the lack of medals, but I have never for one second not been proud of my country and the athletes that represent it in Beijing, least of all because of one overbearing swimmer whose had so much invested in him that it damn well better have payed off like it did.

  6. 6 FantomFang August 18, 2008 at 3:57 am

    I can understand your frustration there, but as you mentioned earlier, its all on the network, and not Michael Phelps. Everything I’ve heard about him makes him seem like a pretty cool guy (although they definitely do overfocus on him), and I’ve still seen plenty of interesting things and plenty of not-so interesting things (the middle 20 miles of the marathon, for example). I guess what I’m trying to say is, don’t bash Phelps, bash MSNBC/NBC =P.

    Honestly though, Phelps did some cool things and all, but I was more interested in seeing Dara Torres (sp?) from here in the states. Not many 41(again, ?) year old athletes in physically demanding sports in the olympics.

    Also, gotta agree on the Usain Bolt. Its unbelievable how fast those guys are, especially when you see the competition giving it all in the heats while the favorites are looking left and right, looking like they’re starting their morning jog.

    Sorry for going on so long, but I’ll leave by saying again, don’t bash Phelps. Just blame the crazy networks =P.

    PS. If I didn’t make it clear, I do agree with you btw. I could’ve done with less of Phelps, and more of the Track and Field. Have they started any of the Field events of Track and Field yet?

  7. 7 Epi August 19, 2008 at 4:03 am

    Never realized you were Canadian… gooo Canada!

  8. 8 Anonymous August 20, 2008 at 7:01 am

    “if not the best olympian ever.”

    Phelps the greatest Olympian? Greatest swimmer yes, but greatest Olympian is going a bit far. There are a few out there who compete in rather unpopular sports or come from rather unpopular countries that could give him a run for his money.

    For instance, take Steve Redgraves. Winning rowing 5 times in a row in 5 consecutive Olympics (winning the last one at an age of 38) with whole list of illnesses including diabetes is truly something special. He may be retired, but he’s still doing wonderful things for charity, if I’m not mistaken.

    Anyhow, I’ll be watching Phelps if he can continue his onslaught for another few Olympics. He’s definitely the man to watch in the pool.

    Off topic, but I’m always impressed by the 10,000m race. Those African runners must have be running on air to run 1 minute laps then blitz the last 400m in around 53 seconds.

  9. 9 Kaioshin Sama August 23, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Well apparently Speedo and Nike are already fighting over him and I heard something about Frosted Flakes. No you aren’t hearing that wrong, he went with Kellog’s Frosted Flakes instead of Wheaties. Apparently he’s not a champion after all.

  10. 10 blake steel August 23, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    I see that there are some people who questioned me saying that Phelps was the greatest olympian ever like anonymous there. Well in my opinion he was. He did have more medals than any other olympian. But I do at times tend to say certain things without thinking. Kaioshin im pretty sure you already know this but the Canadians now have 18 medals and are tied for 13th in the standings. You have every right to be proud of the Canadians because they have more medals than most of the other countries in the world this year. When I look at it most countries have no medals at all so far this year.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present


