The Truth Is Out There, The Bones Will Tell All

What You Will See On The Back Of The 20th Volume Of The Fullmetal Alchemist Manga

What it means:  BONES is not very good at keeping a secret as we’ve come to learn recently, but apparently they aren’t very good at keeping a white lie up for long either.  Remember that leaked document about a Fullmetal Alchemist sequel that BONES went on record to vehemently deny having any truth.  Well apparent BONES were actually the ones keeping the truth and there is a sequel on the way.  That bit of text on the back of volume #20 is the announcement for a new animated TV series, date, plot and cast unknown. 

What I think about it:  Oh Bones, why did you have to play out the Anasazi episode of the X-Files, why couldn’t you just admit it straight up.  Whatever though, I forgive because I am excited.  I can’t wait to see what I hope is the inevitable reunion of Romi Paku and Rie Kugimiya as the Elric brothers and more thinly veiled lesbian tension between them in DVD exclusive interviews.  Now all that’s left to speculate is the plot.  I can’t wait to go back to that early 20th century based alternate universe Germany setting though.  That was one of the most interesting parts about the original series for me.  Seeing the differences and similarities between our universe and the Elric brothers universe all because of the absence of advanced technology in favour of alchemy.

Whatever the case BONES is continuing it’s roll of interesting series to look forward to and even to watch as Xam’d proves interesting as any of their shows are.  They don’t maintain the tie for my favourite anime studio by sitting around twiddling their thumbs, that’s for damn sure. 🙂

10 Responses to “The Truth Is Out There, The Bones Will Tell All”


  1. 1 Zack August 21, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    When I saw this my jaw dropped. I so can’t wait to see this.

    What I want to know, is what is it about? Is it continuing off where the anime ended, or is going to make an alternate, so to speak, retelling that follows the manga the whole way through? Either way, I’m really excited about this one.

  2. 2 Kurogane August 22, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Great! So does that mean Darker than Black will get a second season too?

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama August 22, 2008 at 1:13 am

    There’s still no info on anything like a Darker Than Black 2. That reminds me I need to finish that show some day. I recall hearing that a C.C ripoff with Dio Brando’s “The World” power shows up later on to play the final boss or something like that which is just crazy.

  4. 4 No Sushi August 22, 2008 at 5:25 am

    I’d love to see it follow the manga storyline more closely though. There’s a lot to do in alternate Germany, but would BONES really do it (it’s gonna take a lot of effort, and plenty’s being poured into Soul Eater as we speak).

  5. 5 Fluorite August 22, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    There was lesbian tension between Romi Paku and Rie Kugimiya? During DVD interviews? You sure?

    What I hope they do is to continue the real world theme as I found it an intresting aspect of the show. I do fear that things might end up horribly wrong.

  6. 6 Myssa Rei August 23, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Look at the anime announcement booklet. Is it just me, or doesn’t that look like that ‘Chinese’ princess that was in the manga version? It kind of looks like to me that they’re going back to the ‘fork’ in the adaptation, and introduce ‘Father’.

    And are you talking about Amber from DtB? She’s a Contractor with the ability to turn back time, with each instance de-aging her, for Haruhi’s sake! She’s as far from C.C. as C.C. is from Shirley. Misinformation much? 😛

    I agree with Bounen no Xam’d, but I can’t help but SEETHE at the fact that it’s a PS3-only release. Boo.

  7. 7 Kaioshin Sama August 23, 2008 at 6:08 am

    @Fluorite: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BgH_QNvYghU See for yourself. :p

    @Myssa Rei: I meant in terms of appearance.

  8. 8 atlantiza August 24, 2008 at 1:13 am

    I’m pretty sure the new series is based off of the manga, so I wouldn’t look forward to any more Germany if I were you. Heh.

  9. 9 Kaioshin Sama August 24, 2008 at 6:18 am

    Believe me, I’m looking forward more to another pair up between Romi Paku and Rie Kugimiya then anything else. That and finding out what happens to the brothers. I hope the storyline is better then the Conqueror of Shambala because I just wasn’t feeling that movie at all. The villainess just sort of came out of nowhere for that particular story and wasn’t very interesting in such a way that I couldn’t believe it when she actually turned out to be the primary antagonist.

    By the way, I know Romi Paku and Rie Kugimiya are supposed to be in Gundam 00 Season 2, but I’m not entirely sure I’m even going to get a chance to enjoy that show for it the way I would FMA. Not because I don’t have great expectations for it, but for other reasons beyond my control of which there are three:

    1. I know that internet communities and the blogosphere are going to end up doing everything in their power deliberately or otherwise to suck almost every ounce of fun out of watching and discussing the series like they do with everything tied to Sunrise.

    2. There’s just a general inverse relation between blogging and simple enjoyment of a series because it’s a lot of hard work. You can’t just sit back and watch, you have to consider every little scene in it’s smallest most exact detail because you might be called upon to discuss and/or present an in-depth theory on it.

    3. They probably won’t be able to play off of each other like they will get to in FMA because I see know reason why Nena Trinity and this Regenna Regetta are going to have any sort of character relationship with each other. That is unless they both turn out to be innovators, but even then Gundam 00 is such a large scale story that there won’t be much time for the focus that the Elric Brothers are going to have.

  10. 10 Myssa Rei August 24, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Kaio: Heh? You’re saying that FATHER, of all people, isn’t interesting?


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present


