Code Geass R2 OST 1 Is Awesome

Wow Even The Cover Is Awesome

Yeah so remember when I said that the music in R2 had been mediocore.  Well I take it back.  Perhaps it had something to do with me focusing to much on blogging the scenes and not paying enough attention to the music, or perhaps it was just that the show has never let me hear more then a few songs in their entirety before, but the music is actually damn good.  From whimsical to ominous to epic and grandiose, it’s one of those OST’s that has it all.  I’m going to go over each of the songs in brief like I usually do just to give a general idea of what we’re getting with this one.

Track 1 The Knight:  This is one your classic heroic ode type themes.  I think it’s supposed to be one of Zero’s songs, but again I unfortunately don’t remember a lot of where each particular piece of music appeared in show.  8/10

Track 2 Sensibility:  A nice and relaxing Hitomi song, not to mention catchy.  It kind of has that singing off the instrumental track thing that Canadian singer Amanda Marshall seems to love, only not annoying.  Actually this song is carried almost entirely by the one woman choir like vocals of Hitomi and she pulls it off well.  One of my favourite songs on the OST.  10/10

Track 3 Madder Sky: This ones alright if it sort of has a generic heroic/gotta save the day type feel to it compared to the much better “The Knight”.  Actually it kind of sounds like the kind of song you would hear in the old Batman The Animated Series.  Is Sunrise stealing ideas from when they worked on that again.  6/10

Track 4 Beautiful Emperor:  Another one of Lelouch’s songs that has an epic feel to it as well.  You can hear it in the most recent episode (20 as of my writing this) when Lelouch has the Sutherland’s line up and do a salute for him as he walks under them.  Showy scene, showy song, and it truly makes you think of someone larger then life when you hear it and Lelouch Vi Britannia is certainly that. 10/10

Track 5 Deeply Fast:  Well this song doesn’t really give me any sort of fast feeling but it’s certainly good.  It’s a piano/strings mixture with a haunting feel to it.  I believe it’s one of the pre-battle themes they use.  9/10

Track 6 Crooked Diaries: Another sort of haunting song.  This is one of those songs you tend to hear when a character is pondering over something deeply.  It’s alright.  6/10

Track 7 Memory of Zero: Kind of has a descent into madness type feel.  Seriously this song just kind of goes crazy about halfway through and doesn’t let up for one second. 8/10

Track 8 Across The Borderline: This is one of the ones I described as having an epic feel to it.  I think it’s one of the Black Knight themes.  It also sort of gives off a rallying call type feel as if an army is amassing and ready to march into battle.  Another great track. 9/10

Track 9 World Depression:  I think this might have been one of Rolo’s songs.  It has an eerie sort of feel to it, but also evokes the feel of someone sneaky going about their unsavory business.  7/10

Track 10 Super Natural: It sounds like a song from Metal Gear Solid.  What can I say.  Either that or boss battle music from a Kirby game or something.  I don’t really have any feelings for this one either way, but its not like it’s bad either.  6/10

Track 11 Love Is Justice: Man I sort of notice going through all of these songs that many of them have an urgent feel to them.  Anyway I swear there’s some Batman The Animated Series in part of this one as well.  7/10

Track 12 Death Work:  I’m pretty sure this is one of those Lelouch concocting a scheme songs.  I swear there’s a little bit of James Bond feel to this one as well.  8/10

Track 13 Lullaby Of M: Yeah!  First song that sounds like what the title should be describing.  This one definitely has a lullaby feel to it.  Then again it’s a Hitomi so that’s a given.  It’s not as good as Sensibility, but it’s certainly relaxing.  It’s also one of the lengthiest track on the entire OST at 5 minutes exactly.  9.5/10

Track 14 If I Were A Bird:  I think this is Rolo’s death song in music box format.  I love these kinds of tracks to be honest even though they are always short.  Many a good video game has ended with one of these as well.  9/10

Track 15 What Am I: I think this was a song that played during the episode long arc where Lelouch ran away from the Black Knights again after Nunally rejected him.  It’s also really depressing sounding. 8/10

Track 16 Concealment: This is one of the most overplayed songs in the series and is used for all kinds of situations.  Can’t say I care for it too much as it’s kind of generic. 4/10

Track 17 Area 11:  It sounds like a variation on the Britannian national anthem only used to represent Area 11. Not all that memorable.  5/10

Track 18 World Depression:  Yeah for some reason there seem to be two tracks labelled World Depression.  Don’t ask me….either way I think this is one of the Emperor’s themes after he abandoned the throne but I could be wrong.  It’s certainly ominous sounding enough.  6/10

Track 19 All Out Attack: This is definitely one of the battle themes and is as blood pumping as you would imagine any good battle theme to be.  8/10

Track 20 Prodigy: I would assume this is Li Xingke’s theme but could be wrong.  It’s fast paced like a lot of the songs on this OST that aren’t Hitomi and is pretty good, though not a stand out.  6.5/10

Track 21 The Master: People seem to be raving about this one from what I can tell.  This is Lelouch as the Demon King theme that plays at the end of episode 19.  It’s definitely got an epic and grandiose feel to it that’s for sure and it’s one of those songs that just keeps building.  It’s a damn good song but not one of my favourites.  9.5/10

Track 22 Siegfried: I guess this could be V.V’s theme.  To me this one has a more epic feel to it then The Master, but a lot of people will probably disagree with that assessment.  This song actually seems to get slower and less intense as it nears and if it is indeed V.V’s theme then I guess it makes sense since the Siegfried battle was his last hurrah.  10/10

Track 23 Grand Fleet: This could be the Britannian side battle theme as it has both an overly pompous feel to it, but also one of impending doom.  They are a super power after all and you probably want to fear there power as much as you would admire it.  10/10

Track 24 Waga Routashi Aku No Hana:  Bleh!  Well I guess not every OST can be without it’s one song that nobody in their right nind is going to listen to.  This song can also be found on the Rozen Maiden and Code Geass Season 1 OST’s as well so I don’t see what makes it so special.  Not only that but it’s the TV size version as well.  Oh well….. 2/10

Code Geass R2 OST 1 Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Yeah I scored it higher on my list than Macross Frontier OST 1 and if you have a problem with that you can take it up with my superior…..er….me?  Well whatever, this is one of my 3 favourite OST’s to come out all year along with Gundam 00 OST 2 and Macross Frontier OST 1 and you would probably get it if you were me.  I think…..

36 Responses to “Code Geass R2 OST 1 Is Awesome”


  1. 1 Haesslich August 28, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Shouldn’t you say “fabulous” instead of “awesome”? 😉

  2. 2 Var August 28, 2008 at 5:00 am

    The Master is 10/10 material. :p By far my favorite piece as it certainly embodies the power of Charles.

    Amazing OST.

  3. 3 BeInvoked August 28, 2008 at 7:17 am

    And yet you still haven’t reviewed Gundam 00 OST II.

  4. 4 Kaioshin Sama August 28, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    @Haesslich: No meme policy here remember. Any joke/phrase coinage I come up with will always be mine and mine alone, even if it happens to suck. 😉

    @Var: I don’t feel “The Master” like some others do. Beautiful Emperor is my preference when it comes to royal anthem sounding songs.

    @BeInvoked: Well I wasn’t sure how interested people were in my Gundam 00 OST I review (wordy as it was) so I chose to forgo it. I guess I can crank one out tonight for OST II.

  5. 5 Any August 28, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Yes, do G00 OST2 please 😀 I personally think it’s better than OST1 (which is very awesome already)

  6. 6 Yuki no Kurogane August 28, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    I agree with Haesslich though! I am falling in love with this one. I guess we are too busy nit-picking CG’s plot to notice the music…..lol. And Macross Frontier has a pretty good OST too, though for some reason, I can’t help but feel a little disappointed with Yoko Kanno. I am remembering some of her other orchestrated works (Vision of Escaflowne namely) and this one just isn’t having that effect those did. Maybe she’s just having an inspirational dry-spell (like with Darker than Black).

  7. 7 blake steel August 29, 2008 at 3:43 am

    The code geass soundtrack looks cool. But I think the Idolm@ster (game) soundtrack is cooler though I have never really heard the soundtrack from code geass.

    I also dare anyone to try to prove me wrong on the Idolm@ster music being cool.

  8. 8 Camario August 30, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Pretty good OST overall, gets the thumbs up from me too, but I hope its follow-up is just as good and hopefully more comprehensive.

  9. 9 Ricardo Tuason September 2, 2008 at 8:04 am

    LOVE IT!!!! ^_^

  10. 10 Ivan Reader September 13, 2008 at 11:27 am

    The theme during Nanaly’s death and betrayal of zero is not included in this OST!!! It’s a good evocative piece…R2 OST2??

  11. 11 anonymous September 17, 2008 at 12:15 am

    whats the song called that starts up about halfway through episode one where you see the locket on rolos phone?

  12. 12 Bulletcatcher September 28, 2008 at 3:24 am

    About Waga Routashi Aku No Hana… I wouldn’t really say that nobody in their right mind would listen to it, since a few of my friends and I don’t mind it at all… or are you telling us we’re crazy? ):

  13. 13 Baddy November 21, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Really great OST. Maybe, one of the best in this year (for me ofcourse). Love every insturmental in this album, but specially 2 themes by Hitomi, really relaxive and beautifull songs.

    Agree about last “Waga Routashi Aku no Hana”, it’s really horrible.

    ps.: Can I copy your revies, in to my blog. With copyright, and backlink ofcourse.

    pps.: Sorry, for my horrible english 🙂

  14. 14 Kaioshin Sama November 22, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Glad to see that a lot of people liked this OST. 😀

  15. 15 Baddy November 22, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Hm, so what about copy-paste of your reviews? 🙂

  16. 16 Choko November 24, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    I can’t believe that you scored Madder Sky so low, it was awesome, although I think they didn’t play it until the very end of the show (after this ost was released). Anyway I disagree with your judgement on that song, but I respect you decision.

  17. 17 lady October 24, 2010 at 12:03 am

    which is the song when suzaku and lelouch takes down FLEIJA?

  18. 18 Gotank December 19, 2010 at 8:00 am

    I agree with Choko 2 posts up. Madder Sky was certainly one of the highlights of the Code Geass OST. The melody/chord progression is simplistic yet beautiful. The crescendo at 1:06 with strings is great. But I think the best part of the piece is the scene it was associated with.

  19. 19 Kothra January 26, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    I agree with the others on Madder Sky.

    After hearing it in the last scene (which almost made me cry, it was so beautiful), there’s no way I can look at it as less than perfect.

  20. 20 www.mequoda.com December 21, 2013 at 10:04 am

    This post will help the internet people for building up new website or even a blog from
    start to end.


  1. 1 Anonymous Trackback on March 20, 2011 at 4:36 pm
  2. 2 fifa 15 amazon us Trackback on May 20, 2015 at 5:34 am
  3. 3 fifa 15 android not connecting to server Trackback on May 21, 2015 at 3:07 am
  4. 4 nhl 15 coins cheap mmoga Trackback on May 21, 2015 at 8:16 am
  5. 5 better golf Trackback on August 29, 2015 at 9:31 am
  6. 6 game beta Trackback on August 31, 2015 at 6:40 am
  7. 7 game method Trackback on September 1, 2015 at 2:49 am
  8. 8 code online Trackback on September 2, 2015 at 2:41 pm
  9. 9 powerball figures Trackback on September 3, 2015 at 11:25 am
  10. 10 computer game Trackback on September 3, 2015 at 3:17 pm
  11. 11 played swtor Trackback on September 4, 2015 at 4:52 am
  12. 12 players experiencing problems Trackback on September 4, 2015 at 5:40 am
  13. 13 natural resources Trackback on September 4, 2015 at 6:52 am
  14. 14 people play games Trackback on September 5, 2015 at 12:24 am
  15. 15 compressed pc games Trackback on September 5, 2015 at 3:47 am
  16. 16 word games Trackback on September 6, 2015 at 12:06 am

Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present


