Detroit Metal City Episode 01

This Is One Of The Most Family Friendly Lines In The Entire Show.  No I’m Not Motherfucking Kidding!

So I decided to give this show a chance (read: was inundated with people yelling at me to watch it which usually ends in misery for all involved parties) after being told it was one of the funniest comedies to come out this year and I thought,  why not since it didn’t look like it was based entirely around slapstick comedy crap like all of the other so called “comedy” animes lately.  I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised and found this show to be genuinely amusing.  It’s signature style is in it’s very essence, an over the top parody of those death metal bands you see trying to be as hardcore as humanly possible and the contrast between the main characters meek civilian J-Pop loving persona and his secret identity as the hardcore, take no prisoners, scum of the earth, Krauser of the popular death metal band Detroit Metal City. 

The characters are all over the top as well.  You’ve got a female president/manager with a distinctive American accent working colourful language and sexual innuendo into her dialogue at every possible opportunity, an angry band with typical lyrics like “Kill Everything! KILL EVERYONE!” and “RAPE ALL THE FUCKING WOMEN!” and then you’ve got the one guy who doesn’t belong and clearly prefers the sugary idol-pop style of the Japanese Music Industry, yet he’s the most popular member of the band despite that with his Krauser persona.  Throw them all in to the same group, have things move at a breakneck pace with lots of visual comedy, zany parodic dialogue and contrasting personalities on display that you have to keep your eyes and ears focused on lest you miss something crazy and amusing, and add the timeless character in an awkward situation plotline to seal the deal.  Did I mention there’s the girl he likes but she prefers his cheezy J-POP style of music and hates the angry Death Metal/Screamo bands music that he is now actually a part of, especially Krauser?  Even more awkward and stretchable material to boot…..for a while that is.

It kind of reminds me of the classic Ping Pong Club (in fact the main characters look very similar in their simplistic everyday Japanese guy design) in it’s sheer brazeness and unabashed sex, drugs and rock and roll style of presentation (and when I say that I’m not exagerrating, I’m actually understating just how over the top this show is with the vice), but like Ping Pong Club I can see it’s premise eventually wearing thin about half way through and the shock value of it’s comedy wearing off.  I mean Howard Stern eventually became passe as well.  So anyway, I don’t regret listening to a recommendation for a change and there you have it.  I give Detroit Metal City my seal of approval for the time being.

Rating: 7.5/10

3 Responses to “Detroit Metal City Episode 01”


  1. 1 Aciel August 31, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Heh, a friend of mine recommended that I watch this too. She found it to be hilarious and so did I. I found it particularly amusing how the manager just talks and then throws in random English words like “Fuck”, “Motherfucker”. I can’t wait till more episodes get subbed =P

  2. 2 deathkillz September 2, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    I am surprised by this series. It was “gut busting” hilarious if not a serious crime to be laughing at the “disgusting and foul image” presented.
    But who cares about that anyway? “FUCK!”

    Definitely a series I would recommend to my friends 😉


  1. 1 anirocks.com Trackback on September 30, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present


