I’m Debating Whether I Should Continue Blogging Code Geass

Not because I think it sucks or is a trainwreck like everyone else seems to think now, but because everyone else seems to think it sucks and it’s a trainwreck.  I mean what’s the point?  People have already made up their mind on this series and are just going to end up commenting that it sucks, is poorly written and this and that etc if I bother to take the time to give my thoughts on it anymore.  I don’t know about other people, but I’m just trying to get a little enjoyment out of this series while I still have the slim opportunity of a chance to.  That can only be done if I just watch it in private and don’t follow any of what anybody say about it on the internet anymore in my opinion.  It’s a shame really, but the negativity about the series has really killed it for me in the last few weeks.

I should also mention that on the other side are all the 10/10/epic/greatest show of the season/ever comments which just ring as hollow in terms of the way people claim to enjoy the series to me.  Claims of epic perfection without justification being thrown at me also serve to suck the life out watching a show and cheapen it, this has happened in the past.  I don’t think I need to mention any series names, because people will already know.  Anyway, in other words I feel like everytime I go to watch or talk about Code Geass that I can’t win, because I’m going to be speaking from a ground that only I see to occupy as I try to go over the show with a fine tooth comb mulling out all the good and not so good parts about it and trying to smooth the complicated plotline and character motivations over for myself and others.  In short it seems like people just aren’t interested in my POV at this stage and just want to watch for the “epic” feel or to see a “trainwreck”. 

As such this week I’m going to be mulling over whether I want to continue to blog any of it, or just to finish it up for myself.  Or even whether I want to continue blogging for that matter as like I said it’s just not fun anymore with all the negativity and insincerity in the blogosphere, and that doesn’t just go for Code Geass, that goes for in general.  It’s been 1 year and a couple months and maybe it’s time to say goodbye.  As I said I’ll be thinking this over throughout the week.

27 Responses to “I’m Debating Whether I Should Continue Blogging Code Geass”


  1. 1 ReaderOfBlogs August 31, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    It’s too bad you feel this way. I read your blog every week after I watch the episode and then I read miasmacloud’s/koda’s blog. I do not consider this series a train wreck, in fact I find it very enjoyable and watchable. I also gain insight and often a different perspective into each episode from what you write. And I’m sure there are many others who feel the same way. Therefore, with only four more episodes to go, I urge you to keep blogging and keep swimming in the ocean of piss and trolls for a little while longer :).

    I also believe I need to clarify my reference to koda’s blog. I derive much entertainment from her Schneizel-fangirling/meme-spewing/tl;dr blogging style. The polls are great and it’s always nice to read something that is light and doesn’t take itself too seriously.

    I just like walking the middle path.

    Cheers!

  2. 2 Unentschieden August 31, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Why does “everyone else” bother you so much? Generally speaking all your posts are enjoyable as long as far they don´t contain any mention about “everyone else”.

    It´s obvious that you are bothered way too much by some random comments that are all over the internet (“lol”, “epic”, WTF”, “OMG”…) and take them way to serious. You mention the “rapant” negativity about the series but actually it´s THE most popular series running.
    Most of the time “Trainwreck” isn´t even negative but simple memetics.

    Your aproach to blogging Code Geass (and in general) is unique and I´d really miss it. Your´s is one of the few blogs I visit every day even though I´m usually lurking.

  3. 3 Gideon August 31, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Don’t let the internetz get you down!

    Sure I don’t agree with you most of the time. And yes, I do think Code Geass’ overall storyline is a trainwreck. Additionaly, I only watch the anime for character’s crowning moments of awesome, delicious fanservice and to see if my favourite pairing (Anya x Suzaku) comes to fruitation (I am such a fanboy from time to time). But that is why I actually spend time reading your blog. You have a different view on the series. Which is refreshing.

    Plenty of other bloggers point out the negative aspect of Code Geass. Which makes them boring to read, save for the fact they can be funny bastards.

    I can honestly say yours is the only blog I read for the interesting Code Geass opinion.

  4. 4 Soldierofdarkness August 31, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Dude you started this.

    You should at least see it to the end

  5. 5 Etrangere August 31, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Hello from the silent M-rity (dunno if it’s a majority or a minority!) I love both code geass and your commentary on it. Please continue. Don’t forget that people are always very loud in complaining, and also that sometimes complaining about shows and mocking them is also a way to express their love (in the case of Code Geass which can be both wickedly clever and cheerfully self-parodying, it is doubly truthful). Code Geass is in many ways a dense show, in terms of different genres crammed together, in terms of the complexity of plotting, in terms of the large size of the character, in terms of the events happening in each episode where you’re never bored, and in terms of the thematics. Therefore it deserves a lot of commentaries to appreciate all its aspect (both negative and positive!)

  6. 6 Catharsis August 31, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    The question is why are you blogging the series? Are you doing it because you enjoy writing about it? Then why does it matter what others think of the series? Are you doing it to sway the opinions of others in regards to the series? Then should you not rivaling opinions to disagree? Are you doing so simply to tell everyone else that they’re wrong and you’re right? Then why blog at all?

  7. 7 Catharsis August 31, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Then should you not expect*

  8. 8 Arabesque August 31, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    I have been reading your views on the 10th episode of Gundam 00, and I have been enjoying reading your views on each episode you blogged ever since, and it is really sad to know that you would consider to take drastic measures such as stop blogging over silly things.
    If the issue here is the people that say the show is a train wreck because it has bad writing and it sucks, then these are the same people who said the Gundam 00 was a train wreck for having bad writing, and you can tell these people haven’t seen the horror that was Gundam SEED Destiny. You can simply ignore their comments because they hold no value what so ever other than to hate Code Geass for being Code Geass.
    If the issue is about the people who believe that Code Geass is a train wreck and watch it for the ‘’lulz’’ or for the ‘’epic’’ then they are clearly enjoying the show for that aspect. It is not like they hate the show, but rather not take it seriously, or at least not entirely. Even koda, from code train wreck, even though she thinks the show is a train wreck, doesn’t hate the show and is enjoying it. Why else did she sub 40+ episodes of the show if she hated? Just for the ‘’lulz’’? No, she must like the show, and she even writes some thought provoking things on her blog when she feels like it, but she would just rather write things that are funny or just trying to have a laugh (and honestly, any blog which bluntly states that code geass is a train wreck by having its name include train wreck clearly doesn’t think the show is that much of a train wreck. I have called many things in Code Geass ‘’epic’’ and even made fun of many thing in the show, yet I don’t think it is a train wreck or it sucks. Code Geass for me has been a show that I enjoyed for the story, characters, laughs, mech and most of all the fairy tale like setting that brings the medieval myth into the current world settings and mixing it with the clashes of different ideologies to make for an interesting and enjoyable entertainment for everyone to watch. At least, that is what I think.
    The point is, you can’t be discouraged to stop blogging just because some people think the show is a train wreck and then jump to the conclusion that no one is interested in the things you say or your POV. I agreed with many things you said in the past episodes and I am still interested in what you have to say about whatever you write in the future.
    Now, I don’t know if you consider this a waste of time or not, but I just felt that I had to write this because I don’t want you to make a decision based on the feeling that no one cares about your opinion.

  9. 9 Emmi August 31, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Yea, I know what you mean, people are getting annoying with all that “epic” and “trainwreck” stuff, it’s just an average enjoyable show.

    But I really like reading your blog and your thoughts on the CG, so I hope you continue. Your blog is really the only one I’m reading about CG that is actually thoughtful. But that’s your choice, obviously those comments aren’t going to stop anytime soon, because those same people will always see the show colored by their previous assumptions, and you can’t really argue with them or anything.

    Maybe you can watch the show and make your final thoughts after it ends? Haha.

  10. 10 AGear2Ax August 31, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Hey it’s only 4 episodes left, give it a try. Maybe Code Geass is poorly written maybe it isn’t poorly written, but you can still enjoy Code Geass, it still has “awesomeness”/”fabulousness”. Anyways, try to finish blogging this, even if the post if short I’m one of the interested in your posts and I think there are more people that want to see your post about Code Geass.

  11. 11 Peter Chimaera August 31, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    hurr

    Jesus christ, what part of trainwreck do you not understand? You’re an idiot.

  12. 12 Catharsis September 1, 2008 at 12:08 am

    @PeterChimaera
    Your comment is hardly an exemplar of intelligence either

    At any rate, since I have more time to kill than expected, I’ll give a more specific and personal response instead of just a few broad overreaching questions. Whether you continue to blog R2 is ultimately up to you but I don’t think simply blaming the rest of the blogging community, or perhaps I should say anime community at large given your tone much of the time, is justified. I personally believe you blog the show because you enjoy it. Not only the show itself, but you enjoy going through it with a fine toothed comb and analyzing every aspect of it. That is your reason you began to blog, and that is the reason you continue to. Feel free to correct me if I’m characterizing your motivations incorrectly.

    At the same time however, you seem blind to the motivations of many other bloggers out there that you consider an organized CG bash machine. Many (no, I’m not foolish enough to think it is all) of them enjoy the show as well despite what you may believe. They would not continue to watch and blog it if it did not offer them some sort of enjoyment. But they simply don’t share your views on the show itself, nor your blogging style. They are in no way trying to bring you down with negativity and enjoy challenging your opinions as much as you enjoy challenging theirs. In this respect, the ultimate fault falls on you who seem unable to accept their views and their styles.

    Of course, you’re welcome to bring up the many cases where you feel you’re being trolled (the above comment being an example), but you cannot say you are not partially responsible to for bringing this upon yourself. You may deny it, but along side your in depth analysis is a pretentious attitude and as of late a strong disrespect for the views of other bloggers. When you display that so blatantly, do you expect yourself to be free from any flak?

    For the record, I believe that CG suffers from poor writing and poor pacing. But I continue to watch because it brings me genuine enjoyment. The grandiose nature of some of the plot points along side fan service brings me back. However, I also enjoy a more thought-provoking analysis and respect the content of your writing as well as your intellect. Take my above wall of text how you will.

  13. 13 EvilDevil September 1, 2008 at 12:58 am

    while i gave up on making any sense on this series, doesnt mean i will stop watching for the entertaining value. you decide if you want to write about it, and i will keep watching this…

  14. 14 Kaioshin Sama September 1, 2008 at 1:27 am

    @Emmi:

    “Maybe you can watch the show and make your final thoughts after it ends? Haha.”

    Yes, that is what I’ve decided to do. Once the noise has died down it will be so much easier just to sit down and finish my writeups. Plus because of the twisty nature of the show and it’s by the minute plot developments I will be able to provide a much more coherent breakdown of each episode, knowing a bit about how it will factor in later on instead of just guessing.

    For the time being there’s just too much trolling and too much of a rancor. Maybe in a few months people will be willing to listen again and be less caught up in the moment.

    P.S to Everyone: The series makes sense in it’s own manner of logic and reasoning (that of science fiction and fantasy) if you pay attention to the clues that are dropped and stop waiting for it to hand you the answers. It wants us to go find them instead of spending all our time complaining about it not making sense and just dismissing every single new development as bad writing. The shows never going to go anywhere as far as online discussion of it unless we just accept it for what it is and work from there. I’ll tell people what I think it isn’t. A highly realistic anime series with characters that behave like everyday human beings. The series was never built on this foundation so I don’t know why people try to treat it as such.

    Also I’ve long since noticed that the series isn’t going to force feed us all the answers by the end and am geniunely surprised others haven’t too. Though perhaps they don’t want to. Have people not considered that some matters of the story that aren’t force fed to us aren’t because the writers don’t think they need to waste the time explaining absolutely everything? That we can figure it out for ourselves if we just stop loling for one second in order to try.

    It’s one of those shows that leaves things up to interpretation, probably to foster discussion and keep it in the limelight. Sneaky, but it’s also a timeless tactic and by god it’s working, if not in the way they probably intended it too. It’s written in the vein of Big O before it, like Evangelion before that, and like so many other shows with an element of mystery and intrigue. I’ll cite the X-Files as a series that never gave us all the answers by the end, had lots of loose ends, a couple contradictions and yet still managed to remain a fun science fiction series by the end. And you know why, because people were inspired by it’s message to go out and seek the truth for ourselves and still analyze it’s storylines and characters to this day, trying to come up with theories as to how it all played out, what was real and what was a lie, and who the good guys even were in the end. Code Geass reminds me of the X-Files in this regard a little with it’s style of keeping us guessing as to the true nature of it’s characters (though I think Charles was right when he said everyone’s a bloody liar and they deserve to be erased as mistakes of nature), it’s just that the fans are too busy talking about how much they laughed at each episode to care instead of trying for one second to make sense of it all.

    tl;dr: The show will never makes sense unless people start trying to make sense of it for themselves. I don’t think this is happening. Like I said though it’s not going to be my problem anymore. At least not for the next little while.

  15. 15 Etrangere September 1, 2008 at 1:38 am

    (though I think Charles was right when he said everyone’s a bloody liar and they deserve to be erased as mistakes of nature)
    Oh, the irony!

  16. 16 Catharsis September 1, 2008 at 1:41 am

    “The show will never makes sense unless people start trying to make sense of it for themselves. I don’t think this is happening. Like I said though it’s not going to be my problem anymore. At least not for the next little while.”

    Can you explain why this was ever your problem to begin with?

  17. 17 Camario September 1, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I’ve probably explained what I think of the show a lot lately, here and in plenty of other blogs, so there’s no use in repeating it once more.

    Still, Kaioshin, taking a break isn’t a bad thing, for reasons I’ve also mentioned before.

    I do look forward to reading your blog posts when the end eventually comes, since reading and sometimes commenting them does provide some variety and interesting ideas, one way or another, that are much harder to find elsewhere amidst all the LOL.

  18. 18 ghostlightning September 1, 2008 at 1:59 am

    the more extreme views out there – on both sides of appreciation, the more sensible people will be.

    it’s quite impossible to enjoy a show like this in a vacuum since it’s so popular. most likely a viewer will be influenced some way or another due to all that’s being written.

    i too, hate trolls and trollish writing.

    i also find myself disagreeing with BOTH derailed by darry and animehistory a lot. i read both because i am entertained by these blogs in different ways. it’s just entertainment does not necessarily mean agreement.

    i watched gurren lagann, and suzumiya haruhi before i read anything about them – i only started reading anime blogs a few months ago. this has made me feel so good about myself that i actually found these series (especially gurren lagann) to be awesome prior to me discovering the blogs and 4chan.

    write for yourself, and for the people who enjoy your work. it’s about the writing, not how right you are about something.

  19. 19 ghostlightning September 1, 2008 at 2:08 am

    it’s going to be difficult to watch such a popular show in a vacuum. i’m lucky to have watched all of gurren lagann before i discovered anime blogs and /m/. i feel particularly good that i made up my own mind regarding how awesome it is before anyone on the web could tell me what to think.

    this is also true with cgr1. i only started reading anime blogs a few months ago, and it wasn’t up until maybe 2 months ago that i discovered the massive hate going on for r2.

    i do think that the more extreme views there are out there, the more sensible the “silent” viewers will be regarding their enjoyment of a series. i disagree with a lot of what you write as much as i disagree with derailed by darry. but i read both your blogs because both entertain me in different ways.

    as for continuing to write, write for yourself and the people who you like writing for. it’s not like anyone’s forcing anyone to do anything. it’s the writing that’s important, not how right you are.

    if you are dropping this, go blog about the giant robo ova. i’d be very interested what you have to say about this series.

  20. 20 Camario September 1, 2008 at 3:58 am

    “if you are dropping this, go blog about the giant robo ova. i’d be very interested what you have to say about this series.”

    I’d support that…or anything remotely interesting, along those or other lines.

  21. 21 Kaioshin Sama September 1, 2008 at 4:20 am

    You want me to blog about Giant Robo? I have the OVA’s on my shelf. Would it really interest people? I’ll give it some consideration.

  22. 22 RmX September 1, 2008 at 5:21 am

    If there’s anything I’ve learned from waiting two weeks to watch these episodes, it’s this:

    Screw the internet, I will enjoy this series my own way.

  23. 23 Kaioshin Sama September 1, 2008 at 5:51 am

    @RmX:

    Fuckin’ Eh! 😀

  24. 24 ghostlightning September 1, 2008 at 5:52 am

    yes, i vouch for myself and another friend. we’re otaku from the philippines, though a bit older i suppose than most in the web. i’m 31 and grew up on mecha anime (super robots and macross), my friend is 26 who is a marketing researcher for a casino and a gundam uc retard who’s just discovered the awesomeness of super robots.

    he’s the one who got me into contemporary anime, including code geass and giant robo. we’d be all over this blog.

  25. 25 FantomFang September 1, 2008 at 6:49 am

    Just thought I’d pop in to say that I started watching Code Geass when it came out in America, and then switched to the Japanese ongoing, catching up to ep 8, and even though I had already been through the episodes in previous days I still went back and read through all of your episode commentaries. I’ve been reading them since, its always nice to have someone help you pick up on things you missed, and really get you thinking past the kneejerk reaction.

    Simply put, thanks for such a mindprovoking blogging of the show, and as said above more than me wants to see it continue.

  26. 26 Anonymous September 1, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Wait, you’re quiting to blog a show just because people are idiotic?

    Recently you’ve been merging good materials along with absolute rubbish, by choosing to bash other blogs and lament about feelings of alienation.

    Anyhow, while I may think Geass is a quality show, I agree with just about all of Catharsis’ points.

    Strange you can’t just emulate Iknight’s method of putting himself into a fish bowl considering his blog is linked on you side menu…

  27. 27 Kaioshin Sama September 1, 2008 at 7:55 am

    @Fantomfang: Your welcome.

    @Anon: I don’t want to be IKnight even if I like his style. I don’t want to emulate anyone. That’s half the problem I see is that everyone wants to be like everyone else when it comes to blogging, or at least it seems that way. I want to forge my own style. That’s the meaning of blogging to me, giving your own unique thoughts on whatever.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present


