Autumn series 2008 ~ Where the orange leaves fall

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Uu! Uu! Cute girl!

And just as we are about to finish summer and bid goodbye to those lovely, sunny rays (for some parts of the world anyway), Autumn is here again to bring us a bucket load of 30-something new series. As usual, summaries can be read from THAT blog whilst I go and copy-pasta their images. A special guest this time round as Klash has also found time to add his opinions ^^

Battle Spirits Shounen Toppa Bashin

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Well it looks like the next Beyblade or something. It has that style. This is definitely aimed at the kids demographic judging by the Shounen like artstyle and themes and not to mention it’s done by Toei. It should last about a 1000 episodes and get up their in the ratings, but still I have no interest.

Deathie: Ah, a card gaming series…brings back memories to when I was wasting precious money on pieces of cardboard. Luckily, I’ve outgrown that by now.

Klashikari: Regardless how the gameplay of such cardgame will be (as people certainly underestimate a lot of such factors, cf. Yugioh which is far more complex than the dumped down anime series), the art style is screaming “commercial seasonal SHOUNEN SERIES” like hell. I will most likely not dare to step in such series, as game/sports anime series are rarely original and such (hidden moves, oddly unbalanced advantages, “save the world” (drily laughing…), etc).

_________________________________________________________

Hakushaku to Yousei

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Well I always love period settings, but then again this doesn’t immediately catch my eyes. It has Takehito Koyasu and Hikaru Midorikawa in it, but then again it also has Sugita Tomokazu in it. The plot also just doesn’t sound all that interesting. Maybe if I hear good things about it from the right people I will check it out. For now it’s a pass.

Deathie: Nana Mizuki? That perks my interest even if the premise doesn’t catch me as striking initally. I might put this on a trial period but that depends on whether I have enough free time this season (which is going to be one heck of a season, IRL that is).

Klashikari: The premises don’t seem to stand out, though I’m quite interested by the era and the art style. I will try the few first episodes with rather a pure neutral stance for this one I guess.

_________________________________________________________

Tytania

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Space Opera and Science Fiction are always immediate interests to me, but the fact that Tytania is supposed to be the spiritual successor to the epic (in the true sense of the word) Legend of The Galatic Heroes seals this deal. This is a must watch for me. Of course that also means it has the highest of expectations riding on it. I hope it does not disappoint. Also give me my classical BGM and English opening themes please….

Deathie: Space opera with an old-school background story? No wonder why Kaio is taking interest in this. I will be checking this in case I miss out on a gem.

Klashikari: I’m hardly old school, and honestly, space opera are hardly my thing, until it is kinda “special” (Vandread being hardly “great” is quite interesting and entertaining for example). I will pass on this one.

_________________________________________________________

Nodame Cantabile Paris-hen

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Slice of Life is the auto-win to a lot of people, but not to me. I never became interested in the first season so I have no reason to want to see the second. I’m sure you can find loads of people who will be willing to discuss it with you though.

Deathie: Watch the first season, got so bored towards the latter half of the series that I don’t care what second season may crop up. Some slice of life series just can’t keep me interested, maybe the taste comes with age but until then…

Klashikari: Since I didn’t watch the first season, I guess it will be a instant skip until I bother to check Nodame Cantabile. I heard many praises about it, but I’m basically not much appealed by the story on paper. I will probably catch the series “someday”…

_________________________________________________________

Jigoku Shoujo Mitsuganae

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Again, never saw the first half dozen or so Jigoku Shoujo’s so I can’t really say I’m interested in seeing this one. She looks less freaky in this screenshot though, I’ll say that much. On a side note, does anyone remember when Mamiko Noto used to be cool? I mean before she was overcast in lower calibre shows with the Moe Dream Team (Mamiko Noto, Yui Horie, Nana Mizuki and Sometimes Rie Kugimiya). Oh well, I guess I still like her.

Deathie: You are right Kaio…she used to be cool now it is just “meh” whenever her voice crops up which never changes! *Face palm*

Anyway, seen as I did watch the first two series and liked them, I am looking forward to this one and it will be interesting to see how the pick things up from what was left of the second season.

Klashikari: Exactly the same problem with Nodame Cantabile. Though I’m really not interested by the franchise, despite I’m an occult/mystic lover (oddly enough, I love XxXHOLIC but never bothered to check its anime adaptation)… ah well.

_________________________________________________________

Stitch!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: I find it highly amusing when an American property becomes so popular in Japan that they end up Nipponizing it to their market. I guess the world has come full circle then and now they are doing to our animation what we did to their’s in the 60’s-90’s. All is fair. Still I’ve seen this movie with my little cousin and I’d like to remember it that way.

Deathie: No…just no…

Klashikari: allow me to quote desy here : “No… just no…”. Not by laziness, but it is exactly what I felt even before I saw his line.

_________________________________________________________

Tales of the Abyss

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Love the game, plan to check out the anime too. I have higher hopes for this Tales adaptation then I had for Symphonia and Phantasia for the simple reason that they are actually giving it a decent episode count to tell the full story instead of just making it a 4 episode OVA that jumps all over the place in the story, starts midway through and doesn’t finish the story. Like what was the fucking point of those two. Anyway, will Abyss dethrone Eternia or at least join it on the stage of being the only good adaptations of Japanese RPG’s ever? We shall see. Also I should note that this series has a functioning budget and the all star cast from the game. I just hope if they make any changes it’s that a certain character get’s a happier story resolution.

Deathie: Symphonia failed so much it just FAILED.

I am really looking forward to this series for one reason; Tear (insert zomgwtfbbq spazm image here). Sad to say that I haven’t had a chance to play the game but even before the anime was announced I was just captivated by the sight of Tear, now she is my type of ideal girlfriend, and not just from the looks as what I’ve managed to found bits and pieces of a very loving character personality also. A definite must watch.

Klashikari: it was really a shame that Tales of Symphonia got quite shafted due to its short spanned adaptation (not as bad as Phantasia, mind you). I will probably hope for the best for ToA, though I’m really not expecting great moments with Luke (I hated him with passion at the start, such kind of protagonist gave me headache for their personality), though Jade and Guy will change that factor.
_________________________________________________________

Gundam 00 Second Season

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: I know it, you know it, everyone who has spent 5 minutes with me knows it….I AM THE GODDAMN GUNDAM! See you in October folks. I’ll be in before the bitching…..also I didn’t choose this picture, it was Deathasaurus. Doesn’t do the show justice IMO…..

Deathie: Well if you have a better picture, feel free to change it to suit your tastes ^^’

Will be carrying on from the previous season, it’s gundam afterall, can’t miss it even if I want to.

Klashikari: Gundam00 really irked me a lot with its random and fancy factors (GOLD alejandro, ORE WA GUNDAM DA, random fanservice etc) but it is still a good series that need its second season to see the whole picture (as the first season did pretty much the same thing than Code Geass). I impatiently await for Neena’s death *grins*.

_________________________________________________________

Vampire Knight Guilty

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Never saw the first one, won’t be watching the second one. Enough sequels this season?

Deathie: I never did get why the first season was popular with the fans at all. I was mosty bored throughout and it didn’t help with such bland storytelling. However, I might as well finish this series seen as there are still some loose ends to tie up.

Klashikari: I will agree that Vampire Knight abuses a lot of the usual shoujo cliché: exaggerately tortured bishi, stingy plot giving almost no hints whatsoever etc. The pace was indeed extremely slow and I can’t help but wonder if they will be able to tie all the plot issues and sub-plots with the second season (notably, kaname’s “agenda”). Ironically enough, this “weakness” of plot writing will be the main reason I will check the second season.

_________________________________________________________

Hyakko

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Maybe if you are a fan of slapstick school comedy and Aya Hirano then you will like this one. Me, I’ve had enough of both for a long time.

Deathie: I don’t think I have anything against this one *shrugs*

Into the trial bin it goes.

Klashikari: Usual “first 3-5 episodes” in order to see if the comedy style match my tastes… I guess it will be either hit or miss.

_________________________________________________________

Noramimi 2

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Never saw the first one….

Deathie: Did you just say something, Kaio?

Klashikari: …

_________________________________________________________

Rosario to Vampire CAPU2

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: See above….although this series at least has Rie Kugimiya. Most people probably assume it’s the questionably dressed loli witch in the middle, but those in the know know it’s the girl on the right who never ceases to have a lollipop in her mouth. We’ll just ignore the left side of this picture…..

Deathie: One of those rare exceptions, Kaio. Or rather, all other character by K Rie that isn’t loli goes unnoticed (which is a sad thing because I do like her “kuudere” voice as opposed to an ear splitting banshee screech). Not sure about this one, the first season was utter crap even with the words “guilty pleasure” attached to it. I will have to see.

Klashikari: I have not much fanservice tolerance, but Rosario really bored me to death with its first incarnation. Questionable timing and “density” of fanservice, very “miss” comedy for me etc. And as far as I could check the manga afterwards, it seems they won’t bother with the sole “good points of the manga” (Gar Tsukune anyone?). I will definitely won’t bother with that series.

_________________________________________________________

Kannagi

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: This looks more like a Deathasaurus type show to me. Anyway, I guess I should mention that this series is directed by Yutaka Yamamoto, the guy who designed those dance themes for Haruhi and Lucky Star that basically handed the series an interested audience. The one that was fired for no stated reason, something that if it happened in Canada would have the Ministry of Labour on your ass so fast that you’d be begging for a settlement from the civil court and then end up in criminal court anyway. Well here’s his new show…..Luckstarwasbetterwhenhewasincharge.

Deathie: OMG TREE!!!

And you know me all too well Kaio for being the type to watch all sorts of crap. This looks interesting though, in a generic way. Well something like that doesn’t hurt at all, I’m only scared of boredom (and that by no means is a summoning for a certain “god-like” individual).

Klashikari: Everything will depend on the male lead and its interactions with the rest of the cast. Pretty much a neutral approach for me here.

_________________________________________________________

Kemeko Deluxe

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: I hereby declare this All Purpose Loli Robo Xtreme! Somehow Rie Kugimiya is not the robot and ends up getting second billing to Chiwa Saito. Eh….Saito is cool so I’ll let this injustice pass. Loli/Robot hook may get me to watch AN episode or two.

Deathie: K Rie not the loli character I see here? YES! Make it all the more watchable because I do have another K Rie loli focuse series somewhere down the list.

Klashikari: Totally random start… not much to have a good starting idea… I guess I will wait for some review before trying this one.

_________________________________________________________

Michiko To Hatchin

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: A buddy anime with a girl resembling a prostitute and an……ummmm thing that follows her. Not really interested.

Deathie: Cheesy and weird is what came to mind. Pass.

Klashikari: No thanks.

_________________________________________________________

Yozakura Shijuusou ~Yozakura Quartet~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Plot sounds meh…..

Deathie: HAHA! This sounds awesome to me though. I am all up for another super heroes series and this looks interestingly fun.

Klashikari: I will see how deathkillz’s feedback will look like before spending (or wasting?) bandwith.

_________________________________________________________

Clannad ~After Story~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: OIiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Klashikari, get over here and finish this up aye! Yeah I’ll probably finish up the Clannad anime from where I left off after the first series, but you won’t be seeing me blogging it. You’ll have to count on Klash for that job.

Deathie: He is coming, he told me so and wouldn’t miss blogging this for the world. Meanwhile I will be watching this with minor interest (and swear to God, if Fuko comes back any time during this series, there will be rolling heads).

Klashikari: I would hardly miss this occasion after what the first season was made of. Considering its first extremely faithful AND original adaptation, I would say that I’m really impatient for After Story, especially that portion of the game just tramples by a far margin the first “part” of it. School lives were basically the prologue, introduction and side dish. I will obviously prepare a specific attention (much like what Kaio will for G00) and some tissues box (Ushio !!!). Obviously, the anime series I expect the most for this season.

_________________________________________________________

Shikabane Hime: Aka

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Why is it always 108 bodies? Anyway, will Gainax be able to follow up on their success with Gurren Lagann. This will be the show to watch in order to find out.

Deathie: And just like how people watch Clannad for the label, I am watching this for Gainax. Count me in for being a fanboy as I think they ROCK! I expect a lot of female GARness ^^

Klashikari: 108 is a very special number in Japanese Culture, more accurately, from “Shoshu Buddhist”. It is the number of beads of the followers’ mala. The number stands for this formula: 6 (senses) x 3 (time) x 2 (heart: pure or impure) x 3 (feelings state: like, dislike or indifference) = 108.

Trivia aside, I will surely check this series, though the music on the flash part of the site doesn’t have much to be desired…

_________________________________________________________

Skip Beat

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Apparently this show isn’t as Yaoi as it looks, but it still doesn’t interest me much.

Deathie: I find it interesting. The story sounds romantic (or not in a normal sense) and I just love to see how she will be able to take revenge on that bastard of a yaro. Let the rage, begin.

Klashikari: The premises are very surprising, as one would expect a torn love because of business, but it looks like it is the other way around (well, no love either). My curiosity has been attracted, though it will depend if I can stand the design and especially the male character, as I don’t have much tolerance for a series if one or several protagonist deserve to be lynched at public place in my books.

_________________________________________________________

To Aru Majutsu no Index

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: The show has a science fiction/fantasy theme which might get me into trying a couple episodes. Still, doesn’t the character design look just a little….bland. Ol’ Scrappy and Bridget, ready to take on all comers! That’s the message it send me.

Deathie: Oh no J.C staff. Might give it a try if I don’t forget what it is called. “Something index”

Klashikari: Seems generic, but pretty much like deathkillz, “J.C. Staff” is really keeping me out of that. I rarely judge positively/negatively because of a studio, but for this one, it is an exception…

_________________________________________________________

Toradora!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Tora Tora Tora? No that can’t be what the title intends to call up. Then again maybe it does. You see, I like this girl in the picture because she looks a) very threatening, b)kind of cute c)DEATH KITTY! d)RIE KUGIMIYA! Yes apparently this girl is Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know. So she’s Lord Byron…..anyway, Rie Kugimiya in a J.C Staff anime? Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! Okay in all seriousness I will be checking this out to see Rie Kugimiya’s character raise a little hell while sounding dangerously cute in doing it.

Deathie: I was interested in this series to start off with, oh yes I was. The girl (Taiga) looks cute as heck and somewhat of a tsundere. But come to read the manga and you can’t help but feel that this is Louise reincarnate. Everything about this girl screams Louise and my worse fears were confirmed with knowing who was going to voice her. Just typical. But because I am maso, I will be watching this with ear plugs handy.

Klashikari: Pretty much like Impz of THAT.blog and Deathkillz, I was originally interested because of the “premises” and the character design, but as soon as I checked the manga, I got a burning and passionate HATE against Taiga. I honestly cannot see anything desirable or likable in her, and her tsun is outstandingly bitchy and violent (though not as silly and creepy looking as ZNT Louise’s). If you add some forced “too good MALE character” because the author seems to love his protagonist being beaten up, it isn’t anything I can take as “enjoyable”. Hence: despicable character, forced situation and not so original or surprising events. The manga don’t score highly in my books as you probably figured.

I would need a lot of free time and “calm” to even try watching that “thing”, and since it is made again by J.C. Staff, with AGAIN Kugimiya Rie (will she EVER change her damn tsundere loli voice? It begins to be as rampant and unsubtle as Noto Mamiko’s creamy voice), I will really try to avoid that thing, until they do something special that will prevent me screaming RAGE.

_________________________________________________________

Kurogane no Linebarrel

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Many have called this Gonzo’s last stand. I can see the reasons for this. They seem to be pulling out all the stops in this one by getting a solid cast, DECENT looking CGI from what I can tell (though Sega’s games always LOOK decent in the trailers) and a popular creative producer in Goro Taniguchi. This series also ups the count of shows with Rie Kugimiya in them which I will be tallying at the end of this exposé. I’ll be watching it, but I kind of expect it to get owned in the face by Gundam’s popularity when push comes to shove. Gonzo picked one of the worst possible seasons to come out with this show if they indeed are trying to make a last stand.

Deathie: I watched blassreiter…watched then dropped then watched again before realising what a fool I was for dropping in the first place. Hopefully this series can be something like that. And for the record, Gonzo doesn’t suck ass like what you anti Gonzo fags think.

Klashikari: I guess this series will get the same fate as recent GONZO series as people seem to label the studio pretty badly despite lots of them are far worse (Did I already say J.C. staff? /sarcasm). Druaga and Blassreiter (and also Seto no Hanayome obviously) were quite enjoyable so I wouldn’t judge the series for mere duds or insane amount of “garbage” they have done (they did Last exile, Saikano, Vandread, etc after all! Nothing to compare with Dragonaut).

Though, like kaio said, GONZO really chosed the worst possible timing for such kind of show… except if the series is really distinctly different from your usual mecha series. I will probably check the first few episodes as usual.

_________________________________________________________

Ga-rei-zero

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: The whole Japanese Ghostbusters vibe the plot description gives off sounds intriguing, plus I like the character design style they’ve got going on here. I see no reason why I wouldn’t want to check this one out.

Deathie: Another “guy who can see spirits and girl who kicks ass” series? I don’t see why not *adds to trial bin*

Klashikari: I will follow Desy’s lead.

_________________________________________________________

Macademi Wasshoi!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Does this look like one of the Dept. Heaven games turned anime to anybody. Does anybody know what I mean? Yggdra Union? Riviera? Sounds every bit the cheesy school harem type show…..on the other hand it does apparently contain a magical girl with enough power to destroy an entire country AND it features Ami Koshimizu playing a dude. She’s already manly enough as it is with Karen Stadtfeld. Anyway they messed up by not making Rie Kugimiya the destroyer to be. I guess she can’t be in everything….or CAN SHE!

Deathie: Awwwww, this looks cute. I will have to check this out even if only for the green haired girl on the left.

Klashikari: Instantly passing. The design is pushing many wrong buttons on my side.

_________________________________________________________

Akane Iro ni Somaru Saka

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: An eroge adaptation with Aya Hirano and Rie Kugimiya getting top billing. That is until of course Kugimiya throttles Hirano and feasts on her bones……yes I have a vivid and twisted imagination of what these people are like in real life. Anyway, I really have no interest in this other then the bizzare mixture of talent they have going on.

Deathie: Kaio, you are scaring me now.

Looks like your normal romance series, we might get something more. Here is hoping for something crazy like NICE BOAT.

Klashikari: for crying out lourd, no silly “NICE BOAT” ending like School Days or Myself;yourself please…
Anyway… well, trying session I guess, though hardly anything original from its premises.

_________________________________________________________

Ef ~A tale of melodies~

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: This show might conceivably convince Skyfall to do some work. Or Klashikari might take it as well. Who knows. I for one hope we have all 4 of us doing something we love this season and make this the best damn blog it can be. That is the beauty of the fall season though, more often then not it has something for everyone.

Deathie: I will be trying to get Sky to blog this. Heck if words doesn’t work I always have my trident to poke him. Okay, I didn’t love this series as much as those fanboys out there but it was an enjoyable first season I guess. It seriously lacked yuuko, which sucked by the way.

Klashikari: I honestly don’t know if I would touch this series or not, let alone blogging it. I don’t have much problem with the characters (except maybe Renji in some extent), but SHAFT disgusted me because of their abuse of “art” which slaughtered a lot the pace, using “gimmick” symbols and dubious color choices. While I can praise their stunts for some visuals, they don’t have reasonable sense in balance and the budget suffered from such reckless stunts that animation suffered a LOT from doll like walking motion and very off synch lips movement.

The other factor is the fact it seems that, pretty much like “KyoAni label” for Clannad, the series has been overhyped/overrated by bunch of fanboys praising shaft for such feats, despite the obvious flaws or the fact the art is taking a dominating portion compared to the plot, which is a VERY VERY bad point I believe, but well…


Plot wise, I’m interested by Yuuko’s backstory along with Yuu, though it doesn’t seem to be a good flag for her considering her apparitions in the first season. I will check the second season though I’m not as enthusiast as the majority is so…

_________________________________________________________

Casshern SINS

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Wait…..isn’t this guy in Tatsunoko vs. Capcom. Yeah this is a remake of one of the classic Tatsunoko “Every show looks exactly the same and I can’t tell the difference between them” series from early the 70’s. If anything it will make it so that I can tell the difference. For the record I have a pretty low opinion of Tatsunoko and would rather a different company had been the one to go against Capcom. It’s up to you to guess who I had in mind.

Deathie: Now this sounds RETRO! And I am liking the plot summary. Freedom fighters a gogo~

Klashikari: I will pass.

_________________________________________________________

Kuroshitsuji

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Yaooooooooooooooi!

Deathie: I think the person in the background is a girl though ^^

Will watch this for rebel ass kicking butler action (which will live up to what Hayate failed at).

Klashikari: urgh… first episodes session I guess…

_________________________________________________________

Kyou no Go no Ni

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Washed out colours….anyway slice of life comedy doesn’t really appeal to me.

Deathie: I’m not sure. Maybe, maybe not.

Klashikari: No.

_________________________________________________________

Bihada Ichizoku

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: From ANN: There is a World Beautiful-Skin Competition (WBC) to which the 3 billion woman of the world aspire to win. Carrying on the 300-year legacy of the competition are twin Bihada sisters, Sara ans Saki.

……………….What?

Deathie: “Let them eat cake” HAHAHA!

Klashikari: HELL NO

_________________________________________________________

CHAOS;HEAD

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: The premise sound pretty interesting. I hope this show and the like of the No Naku Koro Ni series means that visual novels are branching away from strictly romance dominated themes and into the realm of genres I have more of an interest in.

Deathie: Oh I am looking forward to this one. Nitroplus is fricking win for giving us batshit stories and gore, I can still remember how much I enjoyed demonbane! I can’t wait to watch this.

Klashikari: Never had the chance to play it despite It is sleeping in my HD. Though with what I know already and could read, this adaptation, if faithful, will be very very interesting. Finally a very different genre series for this season. I will certainly look forward to it.

_________________________________________________________

Hokuto no Ken Raoh Gaiden: Ten no Haoh

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Welcome To This Crazy Time! This would appear to be a spin off of Hokuto No Ken/side story with Raoh as the main character. It’s really only for people who are interested in ultra-violence and martial arts, but I must say that in that regard no story does it better then Hokuto No Ken. I’m assuming that knowledge of the original Hokuto No Ken storyline is a pre-requisite for viewing this series. I might catch a few episode myself….

Deathie: Sorry, not interested at the moment.

Klashikari: Never felt anything interesting from the original series, so I won’t bother with this one.

_________________________________________________________

Tentai Senshi Sunred

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: ???? Ultimate Fighting Championship?

Deathie: -_________________-

Klashikari: no comment.

_________________________________________________________

Junjou Romantica 2

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Whoaaaa….what? Saying no to the Boy’s Love anime. It doesn’t even have any of the members of Weiss. I mean come on!

Deathie: Didn’t watch the first series not going to do so for the second.

Klashikari: Ditto + the fact it is either yaoi or yuri repell me even more.

_________________________________________________________

Kurozuka

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: This storyline sounds like it could either be really interesting or really awful depending on execution. Apparently the main character meets a woman with a Code in 12th century Japan who cannot die. I don’t know, if done right it could give an interesting look at the history of Japan up to modern times I guess if an episode is like a century viewed through her eyes. If done wrong it could just end up another generic samurai story/fleeting romance.

Deathie: I’ll let Kaio try this one out first. Come back to me if it is decent.

Klashikari: I agree with Kaio: depending of the plot, it can be very promising or a big failure. I would prefer to wait a bit before trying this one.

_________________________________________________________

One Outs

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Kaio: Baseball!

Deathie: Also not interested in sports themed series either.

Klashikari: sport genre is a turn off for me.

_________________________________________________________

Looks like we have an intriguing season on our hands where most shows have at least some potential. Of course everybody has their must watch series as well. I’ll leave things on that positive note and up to the crowd to comment on my insanity.

And as promised:

Total Series Count: 36

Total Rie Kugimiya Appearances: 7 (19.4% of total series count)

Total Rie Kugimiya Series With Regular Casting: 6 (16.6% of total series count)

Total Rie Kugimiya Series With Top Billing: 3 (8.3%)

So almost 1 in 5 shows has her, 1 in 6 shows has her a regular character and almost 1 in 10 shows stars her. Theory: Rie Kugimiya can fly and that’s how she get’s to all of these recording sessions.

And I am willing to bet that her appearances are more watchable than top billings.

Kaio you are such a K Rie fan “yare yare” *rolleyes*

This is very scary indeed, and it seems Noto Mamiko is following the same pattern… Good lord… what about Nakahara Mai, Tamura Yukari and Yukino Satsuki? Or even Tanaka Rie… no, we got bunch of generic “uni voice” seiyuu, gah…

17 Responses to “Autumn series 2008 ~ Where the orange leaves fall”


  1. 1 RmX September 5, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    I love running commentary.

  2. 2 Arabesque September 5, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    I am not sure that about Shikabane Hime: Aka, mainly because I don’t remember Gainax ever making a successful adaptation. But I’ll defiantly try and watch Kannagi along with Gundam 00.

  3. 3 Haesslich September 5, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    ToraDora the manga and light novels DO have Taiga mellowing out a bit – more so than Louise, who seems to positively enjoy pushing Saito almost up to the point of death. Taiga at least knows when to back off, unless she’s terminally embarrassed in front of Kitamura. Just look at the blush and quiet giggle she gives Ryuuji’s back at the end of Chapter 11 of the manga, or look at the light novels. My main concern is that J.C. Staff will butcher the show the way they did ZnT, and the character designs… suck, to put it mildly. Ami looks like Ryoko from Haruhi, Taiga looks like Chiaki of Minami-ke, and the supposedly cute Minorin got turned into an uglier Uchida clone.

    Certainly it can’t get much worse than Rosario + Vampire did…

  4. 4 Avisch September 6, 2008 at 12:12 am

    The only shows I am watching for certain are “ef – tale of melodies”, “Gundam 00”, “Shikabane Hime”, and “Chaos;head”.

    I might check out the others. Casshern SiNs looks intriguing but I know nothing about the series before it other than “there are robots and a guy with a mask”.

    Also Kannagi. Because I’ve read the manga which is OK, and the trailer intrigued me cause it didn’t show comedy as a focus (which it is in the manga).

  5. 5 ZeusIrae September 6, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Kurozuka is an intresting manga, if you’re into violence and gore spanning centuries, it’s for you.It’s non-stop action.

    Skip Beat is a must-see, evil overlord Kyoko demands your respect.If you don’t, her evil floating spirits will kill you.

  6. 6 Duo Maxwell September 6, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Never got bored of the way you guys do your comments ^_^.

  7. 7 mangaka-chan September 9, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Grad school’s starting for me, but hell, I am still going to make time for Gundam 00.

  8. 8 Seria1337 September 13, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    YEAH
    i’m srry but there is a sweet romance story in Junjou Romantica and that will be my reason to watch second season.
    Also i totally agree with the comment’s on vampire knight.
    It’s so predicteble…

  9. 9 Shinji103 September 20, 2008 at 6:25 am

    “Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka

    Deathie: Looks like your normal romance series, we might get something more. Here is hoping for something crazy like NICE BOAT.

    Klashikari: for crying out lourd, no silly “NICE BOAT” ending like School Days or Myself;yourself please…”

    Um, yeah. Akane-Iro is nothing at all like “Nice Boat”. I would know because I’ve played the PS2 game. The only way this becomes anything even /close/ to “Nice Boat” is if the people behind this show are idiots and psychopaths.

    Also, I don’t see how Myself; Yourself had anything close to a “Nice Boat” ending either. Since, you know, nobody died in that series. At all. Let alone in a bloody and gory fashion.

  10. 10 Solly Rushadale September 21, 2008 at 12:43 am

    “I impatiently await for Neena’s death *grins*.”

    *Screams* NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m serious. I actually screamed at this point. Do I over-obsess when it comes to the almighty Neena? Ummm… maybe just a little…

    But of course, I’m no where near “Table-Kun” level (thank god).

    Still, come on Neena, pull a Karma Houndini for us!!! Either that or repent, so mainstream fans will start to like you again. But if you do that, chances are you’ll die in some sort of Heroic Sacrifice. Or become Saji’s girlfriend. Hmm. Gonna have to flip a coin on this one.

  11. 11 Solly Rushadale September 21, 2008 at 12:57 am

    Yay, Skip Beat! I love the manga (Ohmygosh, so has you squealing “kawaii” every five seconds in the romantic parts)

    I know how serious you are KaioShinnSama, so please don’t be deterred by my fangirlish description of the series. I just happen to have a… “unique” perception of things and people.

  12. 12 murmaider October 12, 2008 at 3:52 am

    Are all these for October or all starting in autumn?

    good job btw

  13. 13 sandy December 1, 2010 at 9:37 am

    You guys are actually idiots. You should at least watch the anime series before making some assumptions about them. Some of the animes you declared as being CHEESY and WEIRD are actually quite great compared to other anime you have commented as being cool or I don’t know..worth to watch…anyway…you are 3 pieces of shit who want..to be called critics and hot damn.. you are experts in anime..NOT! so ..A total fail for this site…;)

  14. 14 kat valentine October 8, 2012 at 8:36 am

    WTF U TALKING BOUT WIT Junjou Romantica 2 AND 1 THEY WERE ACTUALLY VERY GOOD IT WAS ENTERTAINING ND IF U DIDNT LIKE IT OR DONT LIKE IT WHY IS IT ON UR PAGE Y U HATTING ON GAY ROMANCE U GOT A PROBLEM IM NOT GAY BUT I HAVE A BUNCH OF GAY FRIENDS THAT ARE PPL 2 SO DONT BE HATTING

  15. 15 kat valentine October 8, 2012 at 8:43 am

    nvm bout the comment above^^^^^ srry wasnt reading the comments till i sent mine in but sandy has a point i aggre wit her or him :/ who ever

  16. 16 finance July 4, 2015 at 8:43 pm

    Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity to your post is just cool and that
    i can suppose you are knowledgeable in this subject.
    Fine along with your permission allow me to seize your feed to keep updated with impending post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.


  1. 1 Fall 2008 Season. « Great Hesitations Trackback on September 17, 2008 at 9:30 pm

Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Present


