There Are Always Other Options

Star Crossed Anime Blog covers quite nicely why I think people should be aware that Sunrise’s mecha series offerings still present alternatives to the likes of Gundam 00’s, Code Geass’ and iDOLM@STER Xenglossia’s more over the top duel-centric brand of mecha and simplified political intrigue.  Crazy that I should stumble across a fairly well written review article on the blogosphere in this age, especially when I wasn’t really looking in the first place.  Anyway, I think the deal here is that their TV series are aimed more towards the custom mecha/cool weapons/fancy action side of things (still fun stuff in my book) as a result of the need for ratings, whereas their OVA’s continue to be more about real robot army to army mecha action that just doesn’t work for today’s TV audience in Japan that want more Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann’s and less Patlabors.  Other recent examples besides Pailsen Files include MS Igloo, Wings of Rean and the upcoming MS Igloo 2.  Then of course there was the unpopular when it aired but now pretty much revered Zegapain, which was actually a full length TV series.

So like the title says, there are always other options to the more mega-popular offerings from the Hajime Yatate team.  You just kind of have to look a bit harder to find them since they usually get overshadowed.

8 Responses to “There Are Always Other Options”


  1. 1 Haesslich September 9, 2008 at 1:05 am

    This was mentioned on Animeanachronism way back – Paisen files that is, IIRC.

  2. 2 Myssa Rei September 9, 2008 at 1:21 am

    Ah, yes, Zegapain. Quite an enjoyable series that, once you got past the initial episodes and the ‘real world vs. virtual world’ revelations. I admit to being surprised with how hopeful the ending was, given the bleak episodes that preceded it. Of course, there is some question on WHO the father of Ryoko’s child really is…

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama September 9, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Well like Code Geass R2 and Gundam 00 before it and iDOLM@STER Xenoglossia before even it, Code Geass R1 before it still (geez) Zegapain was the devil while it was airing (If I recall people thought it was boring and cliche), but by the time it was finished people were like, “hey that was a pretty good show….and now I miss it”. I wonder if CG will continue the pattern or if it just got too popular with trolling crowds.

    Anyway folks…MS Igloo 2….hint hint if your not into Gundam 00’s take on the concept and want something more down to earth….er…literally judging by the PV. I’ll probably be blogging it too since it’s like 1 episode every three months or something like that.

  4. 4 Enact September 9, 2008 at 3:36 am

    Sunrise always makes great shows, it’s just people these days sadly don’t give much older anime a chance unless it’s Eva. Though, of all the ones you used as examples, I’m not sure if 00 qualifies as over the top or with simplified political ingriuge, cause like, isn’t the politics and down to earthness compared to most gundam, 00’s bread and butter? Just slightly confused.

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama September 9, 2008 at 4:54 am

    @Enact:

    If you want to ignore some shows like Giant Gorg, Daioja, Brain PowerD, Gundam Seed Destiny, SD Gundam Force, Mai Hime/Otome, Zambot 3, Metal Armor Dragonar, Ideon TV, Dinozaurs, Most of the Brave Saga, Cluster Edge, Witch Hunter Robin, anything they worked on with Toei and post episode 50 or so Inuyasha then yeah I’ll agree they always make great shows.

    I also didn’t mean that I thought that 00 was over the top with simplified political intrigue, but that a lot of people seem to find that the case. I’m writing this one to appeal to the average passer by reader as opposed to the regulars because I am trying to show as I said that there are always other options. The goal here is attempting to neutralize the dominant opinion that the company only offers shows that are over the top and “trainwrecks”.

    Why? I’ve never figured out myself why I like to try and argue about the quality of the productions of this company so much. I guess I just enjoy the overwhelming Level 99/Unknown/Dante Must Die/One Shot One Kill level of difficulty and challenge it provides since everyone’s seemingly always against me on it.

    Or maybe I just geniunely feel that there’s something worth defending and showcasing in what this studio has to offer that people aren’t seeing in this popular trend to bash them. I’ve always sensed a kindred spirit in you there. 🙂 I do after all write about what I like, and what I like are science fiction and mecha anime and it’s something semi-sacred to me I suppose. I also know who provides my favourites among the genre as well.

    I’ve devoted a lot of the past 10 years to studying, discussing and analyzing the genre, especially with Gundam. I used to be able to discuss Gundam, Geass, what have you in a productive and satisfying manner, instead of a morale shattering and pit in the bottom of my stomach manner. I felt like a part of a majority who could appreciate the timeless mecha genre and it’s biggest supporter who wouldn’t give up on it even when it slid out of favour with the masses in the 90’s.

    Then to find one day that suddenly everyone is totally against Gundam and it’s creator’s because of some silly trend about a “Sunrise Trainwreck” that generalizes an entire companies history into one label that I know is a fallacy (I’m big on truth, straightforward communication and fact if people haven’t noticed), and to find that I can no longer have a reasonable and non-lolfesty discussion about these shows because somebody started a meme a few years back bothers me to no end on a bit of a personal level. I want those days back I suppose and that’s why I write on this topic so much….feeling I can make a bit of a difference in opinion (even if it’s just my own in the end) and carry the faith if nobody else will, yet knowing I probably can’t….at least I try though.

    Though in an age when even RGZ of Gunota Headlines, a blogger that loved what he did in delivering info on the Gundam franchise, has called it quits I don’t think I really have to guess much at the reason why. There’s hardly anyone to write for anymore because of all the negativity and his reactive stance isn’t getting him any interested viewers. I wonder how long it is before Chris of MAHQ quits as well. He already seems to be slowing down.

    Anyway, I guess I’ll never be rid of that fanboy label, but all I can say is that’s not the my raison d’etre. I’m just a guy who wants to have a reasonable discussion about a genre I love and will stop at nothing to get it, even if I have to start it myself.

  6. 6 Anonymous September 9, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    “Though in an age when even RGZ of Gunota Headlines, a blogger that loved what he did in delivering info on the Gundam franchise, has called it quits I don’t think I really have to guess much at the reason why. There’s hardly anyone to write for anymore because of all the negativity and his reactive stance isn’t getting him any interested viewers.”

    Wait? What the heck?

    I know for the fact his blog was a top tier source of information for many hardcore Gundam fans. Heck there was a time where most information posted on a certain imageboard had to be sourced from his website or else its eligibility would be contested.

    I must admit I am kind of annoyed you would think of using them to help your argument of why Sunrise negativity should stop. I’m not too sure how you got to that conclusion considering I found his farewell letter to be pretty open and to the point.

    Oh and I don’t mind people bashing Sunrise. I know they’re idiots and I know arguing with idiots is like arguing with a brick wall.

  7. 7 blake steel September 9, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    You know I think that there are not enough people who give sunrise shows like Xenoglossia, MS Igloo or other shows a chance. The only excuse for me bashing Sunrise was the idea of making Yukiho and Chihaya evil in Xenoglossia, especially since I love Yukiho in the game Idolm@ster. I actually missed Xenoglossia after one month. So I don’t know why people would bash sunrise for some of it’s shows. People for once should give sunrise shows a chance.

  8. 8 Kaioshin Sama September 9, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    @Blake steel: Giving them a chance would mean no lulz. That’s really all there is to that side of the equation. Rational people with any real intent to enjoy a show don’t just reject every single thing a story throws at them without considering if it might actually work within the shows own unique set of rules after all. Rational people also go watch something that is more to their liking, they don’t sit around and complain the rest of the way through. Too much trolling going on with this show….somebody said it elsewhere but it’s really just all to true in this case.

    I try to imagine people in the 20th century (pre-internet) sitting around going, “Well this television show people like is nothing special, perhaps instead of changing the channel and seeing what else is on I shall go to my local pub full of people who are watching and talking about the show and complain about it loudly enough that I drown out all other voices. I will also spreading rumours and lies about the shows production team to confuse and annoy them just for fun.” but I can’t…the internet is pretty much as Something Awful describes it.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Present


