Code Geass R2 As It Heads Into The Final Arc (An Argument With Monica On Who The Key Characters Are)

I Monica Krushefski In my 3 minutes of screentime am clearly not just here to represent the last of Charles Di Britannia’s Knight of Rounds and therefore because of my cute character design I command that people dwell on my quick demise instead of focusing on who the important characters are in this final arc.

Ahem, well the way I see it Monica is that everyone has gotten their due in their own arc:

1-3 (Spying On Lelouch Arc): Rolo/Viletta
4-8 (Black Knights Rebellion and Exile Arc): Todou, Karen, Black Knights etc
9-11 (China Arc): Xingke, Tianzi, Kaguya
12-14 (Geass Cult Arc): V.V, Jeremiah, Shirley
15 (World of C Arc): C.C
16-19 (Second Battle of Tokyo Arc): Knight of Rounds Characters
20-21 (Ragnarok Junction Arc): Charles and Marianne, Bismarck
22-? (Finale Arc): Lelouch, Suzaku, Schneizel, Nunally, Everybody (?)

Basically Lelouch, Suzaku, Nunally and Schneizel have been fairly prevelant throughout most of the arcs as key characters so this last one belongs to finishing them up as the main characters. Other characters slip in and out of the story through various arcs, but each secondary one has been given their moment in the sun. Many of the other characters already sort of have closure in their character development (Xing-Ke, Jeremiah, Kaguya, Charles, Marianne, V.V, Tianzi, Todou, Rolo, Viletta, C.C, Anya, Bismarck, Shirley etc.) in their respective arcs and I think that’s about as far as they are going to take them in the TV Series barring what happens to them in this last arc.  The ones still alive will probably continue to fight, but they will have to give the stage up to the key characters for this arc in the long run.

Personally I’d rather focus on Lelouch, Suzaku and Nunally who have always been the key characters since the moment they started to bond with each other as children and get the chance to see if they can salvage something of their relationship through all that’s happened to them and is about to happen them.  Right now characters like the Knight of Rounds are sort of tertiary and I’m kind of glad they are all but out of the way as the relics they are.  I seriously still don’t get the “butthurt” over what happened with Dorothea nor do I understand the fanboying over you Monica, a person who has had maybe a few lines and was given Anya’s VA to show just how important a character you must be in this story.  It’s like some people are setting themselves up for excuses to balk when their favourite third tier character get’s killed off by a main.  I mean really folks…..

Anyway, this finale is Lelouch, Suzaku, Nunally and Schneizel’s arc before anyone elses clearly so I say let them have it.  So sorry, Monica and Dorothea, but I think you have to let it go.

9 Responses to “Code Geass R2 As It Heads Into The Final Arc (An Argument With Monica On Who The Key Characters Are)”


  1. 1 deathkillz September 10, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Monicaaaaaaaa ;______;

    Comeon Kaio, weeping fanboys will continue to weep when a good looking girl like Monica is killed off without warning. I mean, for a Rounds…at least show their custom knightmares before bumping them off, right?

    In fact, being shrouded in mystery, it is a shame we have only caught sight of 7 or 8 Rounds (with Dorothea getting like…1 second?).

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama September 10, 2008 at 1:06 am

    She had no character though. Give me the death of Shirley, that meant something.

    As for Monica and Dorothea’s KF’s, they might have left them in Pendragon or they were destroyed during the 2nd Battle of Tokyo. Hopefully if this is the case then they come out with a model kit for them or a concept sketch despite there absence in the TV series as I’d kind of like to see them.

  3. 3 Myssa Rei September 10, 2008 at 4:49 am

    I expect… DVD extra picture dramas! Most of which people like me won’t be able to purchase, much less WATCH. I’m all for filling in plot holes and expanding characterization, but their distribution method needs work…

  4. 4 Kaioshin Sama September 10, 2008 at 5:57 am

    @Myssa Rei: I know. It worries me that we might not get to see this batch until it comes stateside.

  5. 5 EvilDevil September 10, 2008 at 6:17 am

    whyyyyyyyy???????
    monica!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. 6 Gideon September 10, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Ah Monica, I would weep for you if I cared.

    As for every second charachter getting his/her time in the sun. True, but it still bothers me since Code Geass finds it necessary to show them all the time even though they are currently in the so-called shadows of the main. Which leads me to question….stuff. What have they been doing? Are they suprised all the time? What is Viletta position in OotBK, apart from being Ougie’s bedtoy.

    Kill them, I say and be done with it! Kill them all! Or just don’t show them on screen anymore. I would be perfectly content with not seeing that indian woman lounging for a time. Then in the final episode they show a new KMF for Todou. There! We know what she did the during the last ep’s.

  7. 7 Kaioshin Sama September 10, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    @Gideon: Hahahaha…makes me think we’ll see Nunally walking again before Laksharta.

  8. 8 Yuki no Kurogane September 11, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Mooonicaaaaa!!!!

    Pity she had to die. I had high hopes for her! Well, this post shows that Code Geass hasn’t been traversing the jungles of writer’s block or whatever some people are coming up with this week….actually, being a bit inquisitive lately, I dared checking out some anti-CG (or anti-Sunrise rather) blogs and found some back-lashing, not against the show, but the haters. Ha, seems like you-most-probably-know-who’s brainwash is wearing off. Seriously, I still can’t believe why bashing an anime for rather erroneous reasons is being this glamorised….where is the love people? Lol.

    Ah, and feeling rather spiteful today, I shall bequeath unto you my favourite anti-CG quotes of the week:

    “If a show is crappy then of course, it’s going to get trash ranting about it.”

    Just omit “crappy” and insert “from Sunrise”.

    “LOLOLOL. I just saw the extended preview and it shows Nunnally holding FLEIA detonator. Oh dear lord, I can’t wait for the awesome trainwreck the next episode is going to be. Nunnanator FTW!”

    Though shan’t use the Lord’s name in vain. And wow, your geass must be the ability to predict the outturn of an episode simply by watching a thirty second’s trailer. Whether Nunnally holds a detonator or not has nothing to do with trains. Come up with better metaphors next time around; makes you sound less like a troll.

  9. 9 Kaioshin Sama September 12, 2008 at 2:36 am

    @Yuki no Kurogane:

    And people keep wondering why I still don’t understand the term “trainwreck”. Everytime it get’s used it means something different so I just treat it as the catch all negative term that it is.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Present


