Yozakura Quartet episode 1 ~ First Impressions

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

The new breed of sentai warriors

“Rental Magica”. Those are the first two words I have to say for this series for some odd reason. However, the odd reason does not include the fact that both this series and Rental Magica can’t even remotely relate to each other besides the use of supernatural powers. Still though, it is amazing how your gut feelings keep telling you that this series is going to be a step ahead of what Rental Magica was.

Thoughts: This is just a first impressions entry for the series so I haven’t completely made up my mind whether to continue blogging this or not, but out of the picks so far, this series holds the most promise (if only Shikabane will “wow” me enough with the second episode).

This episode was quite packed with information on what “youkais” are for this anime universe, especially the extensive explanation on the matter right at the very start. But bypassing that, I found that it was easily understood…maybe because of how much the stunning OP (Savage Genius FTW!) has already captured me into the zone.

The story in this introduction episode follows how a Youkai extermination group stops a supernatural maniac from causing unwanted chaos in the city. A somewhat cliched start, but that is only the surface impression as deeper down, the episode aims to introduce you to the varied case of characters you will be following for the rest of the series.

But that is also the strong point of the first episode for me, a it was rather unexpected. The main thing I really like about this episode has to be the introductions to the characters. They say it is the characters that makes a great big chunk of the series and I agree with that line of thinking. The wide, varied cast here reminds me of why I ultimately enjoyed Strike Witches so much (bar a few annoying character types). Instead of getting the usual, wimpy…weak…pathetic and emotionally challanged characters which you usually see in a series like this, it is just great to see a cast full of self confidence and charisma (from what I see from the first episode anyway).

The production values are rather solid and even with the seemingly weird designs (though I rather like them myself), I thought it adds character and individuality to everyone, especially Hime’s scarf (I wonder if she wears that even in summer) and Ao’s pointy hat to cover her ears (nyaaa~).

On the whole, it was a rather solid first episode for me. I didn’t know what to expect but this definitely turned out better than whatever expectations I had beforehand (probably some low bar being set). There seems to be a story around with a male Ao type person already standing on the high ground and smirking like what you would expect from a villain…I’m taking bets and saying that the guy is Ao’s brother.

Screen caps and “wise guy” comments.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

“Blah blah blah” stuff about Youkais

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Villain number 1

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Oooo, legs…

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I mean, nice catch! Kotoha

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

She reminds me of those traditional chinese ghosts; Jiang Shi

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

On thing about Japanese instant pot ramen is that they taste horrible when soaked too long (more than 3 minutes in this case). Oh and it is great to see that Hime has a funny side rather than a one dimensional kuudere

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Where is the guy grabbing O.o

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Blah blah

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Okay, this guy is just a pervert

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Take that! In the nuts!

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Hopefully, they will reveal that she is an elf

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

This is the part where he should be shatting bricks

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Like now

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Unlimited machinegun works + “ATATATATATATATATATATATATATAAAA!”

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

This guy is meant to be normal but…

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I don’t know what to think 😄

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Ao’s brother! I swear it!

3 Responses to “Yozakura Quartet episode 1 ~ First Impressions”


  1. 1 Avisch October 13, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    The OP is rather good. I rated it best on my blog because it was the only opening song to give me a feeling.

    You’re right this series definitely relies on it’s charactes, so it will be fun because of that.

    Finally got to read the first volume today. They really should have kept Akina as a normal guy. But otherwise I just hope they keep the comedic nature of the manga.

  2. 2 Peter S October 16, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Yeah, it’s the daily business these characters do that make me like this series, bad-guy fighting and office work, little asides that develop these characters.

    When that one girl stuck out her electric tongue she became my favorite character in the series.


  1. 1 Yozakura Quartet Volume 1 | Quite Useful to a Few Trackback on September 7, 2009 at 5:57 am

Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Present


