Gundam 00 Second Season Episode 1 (My name is Saji Crossroad, You Killed My Sister, Now Prepare To Die!)

Exia: Making Freedom’s Dive In And Destroy Entrance Look Lamer One Day At A Time

So I wake up this morning to find this sitting in an MSN messenger window:

kaio..im surprised you still haven’t done the GD 00 entry yet”

Geez Louise (not Halevy) heaven almighty.  Heck there and Jesus by Deathasaurus,  you really are embracing this Anime History Whip thing there aren’t you. Scary stuff….. :/ Alright, tell you what, here’s the deal, I will post the little review/impressions bit I wrote up on animesuki last night here and that way I can say I never technically wrote a specific blog article on it, and you can say that I’m doing my part.  Deal?

People weren’t kidding when they said they get right back into things pretty quickly, then slow down a little for Sergei and Soma, and then take right off again.

I was kind of surprised to see Saji and Louise almost take centre stage for this episode. Saji’s life pretty much still sucks and he continues to have the worst of luck. The A-Law’s seem to enjoy their job and the power it grants them way to much and seem to be taking out their pent up hatred and aggression towards Celestial Being and the Gundam’s out on the general public. Setsuna was right when he said things haven’t changed and I’d argue they worse now. At least before the war was against 3 countries fighting for the sake of their unique interests. Now the war is against the people themselves with weapons like those automated robots that among other things (including the shot lancers) remind me of the type of tactic the Crossbone Vanguard would use. Definitely not a utopia if it’s preservation means constant paranoia on the part of the leaders. And now that Celestial Being and the real Gundams (Ones with GN drives) have actually shown up again along with Kataron to mount a formal rebellion it looks like it’s only going to get worse. As the one A-Laws captain sound, now their position is justified and they are probably going to be granted even more sweeping priviliges. It also gets Graham and Soma back in the job, the former all for the revenge and the latter really not seeming up to it at all.

Speaking of not up to it, what is Louise doing in the A-Laws. The one butch dude was right, she really doesn’t fit in at all. One kill and she’s already panicking? Louise while she’s pretending to have grown up and toughened up, really hasn’t and I think she’s still the same vulnerable and happy go lucky girl she used to be under the surface and is just being used by Ribbons. I find it kind of depressing also that she was almost responsible for the death of Saji back in the Proud Colony. Better get your priorities straight there Louise.

While the A-Laws seem worth putting a stop to, for whatever reason I just don’t trust Klaus’ face. He has that calm look about him that worries me. The kind of face that says I could easily be just as cold and callous as the A-Laws if I were in a position of power. Newly minted rebel Shirin should keep an eye on him.

As for Setsuna and Exia, the latter went down surprisingly quick, and I guess it just goes to show that with GN-Drive Tau now being common technology and the advances probably made on it over the past few years, the Earth Federation is probably now on par with 3rd generation and possibly even 4th generation Gundam’s. I’m hoping this means less one sided struggles for the early parts of the series, and come to think of it, it also lends reason for Kataron needing Celestial Beings help. Considering all they have are outdated Realdo’s to pilot they are going to need all of the Gundam’s power to keep from getting destroyed.

There was also some interesting tension there between Setsuna and Saji with Saji finally figuring out that his neighbour is a terrorist and Saji reacted as I would have expected. Nice touching using Setsuna’s theme for their reintroduction as well. Also gotta love how Setsuna continues to be so ice cold that all he can do is stare at Saji and practically dare him to shoot. What a badass. Speaking of badass, Tieria is manly as ever and the Seravee does seem quite more practical and updated then the Virtue. Four compact GN Launcher’s now instead of 1 and a more compact size. Though possibly no Trans-Am. A bit of a tradeoff there, but a neccessary one as Virtue was toast at the end of the first season.

And as always Allelujah gets the shaft yet again. About 3 seconds of screentime as Hannibal Lector and not even a speaking line. Poor guy. Lyle Dylandy gets to speak more after the credits and even the new girl (Milena Vashti) working with Celestial Being got some lines, and I have a feeling I’m not going to like her overly cheery personality.  At this point I’m just aching to give some cliched lolicon fan line to screw with the SA folk who are probably still descending on this blog (Love the faux outrage.  Everytime), but then that wouldn’t really be an honest impression now would it.  Truthfully though a part of me hopes she gets a shock fairly soon to give her some perspective.  Or maybe Feldt will be the one to straighten her up as now her role has essentially been reversed and she is the senior operator/mother figure to Milena as Christina was to her.  A part of me hopes they work that angle a little in the coming episodes.

So the music (especially the one choiresque theme which I think belongs to the A-Laws) and animation were also great and the battle quite exciting (more then most of the Code Geass ones were at the very least) and coupled with the smashing start, I think I’d give this episode a 9. Looks like things are going to start moving even faster next episode as the EF moves to respond to the resurgence of Celestial Being and Kataron’s next move. I expect to say some even more old faces returning to the battlefield before long.

Rating: Nine Out Of Ten

20 Responses to “Gundam 00 Second Season Episode 1 (My name is Saji Crossroad, You Killed My Sister, Now Prepare To Die!)”


  1. 1 jayers October 7, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I presume you read my post?

  2. 2 sadakups October 8, 2008 at 12:17 am

    It’s amazing when wannabe Gundam 00 critics can’t say crap about the first episode. So what do they nitpick at? The mobile suit colors.

    “Why are all the A-LAWS MS’s all red and the Kataron MS’s blue? Red vs Blue – very stereotypical and boring. This show sucks.”

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama October 8, 2008 at 12:37 am

    @jayers: I might have and I swear I’ve seen your name somewhere else, but I can’t place you. Are you a blogger?

    @sadakups: Seriously? Maybe it’s all the election stuff going on in the U.S or perhaps just to many TBS games. All I can say is the Red vs. Blue theme is only going to become more prevelant come November.

    The reason Kataron’s MS are blue should be obvious though. All they’ve got are Union Realdos and Tieren Space Types that we’ve seen. It just so happens that those mobile suits happen to be blue. As for the A-Laws…..well what is the most intimidating colour you can think of? I get Red and Black.

  4. 4 deathkillz October 8, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Wow Kaio…you make me sound like such a slave driver O.o
    *Coughs…* It’s been a long day ^^’

    Actually, having just watched this episode yesterday, I was pretty impressed with how they are continuing with the story. I just can’t wait to see how much of a Steller clone, Louise will turn out to be *rolleyes*

  5. 5 Epi October 8, 2008 at 1:05 am

    I wonder why Setsuna didn’t use his Trans-Am. The A-Laws might not be so great though, because keep in mind Setsuna was really out of practice and Exia was also critically damaged as well.

    The big thing though is, remember at the end of last season we saw a very brief shot of Tieria with Louise at his side? What ever happened to that?

  6. 6 Kaioshin Sama October 8, 2008 at 1:24 am

    @Deathkillz: Yeah, I should warn you that I’m kind of tweaked tonight and my filters are all turned off. Temporary insanity is all. In fact, I probably should be doing something else right now, which is what I am about to do.

    @Epi: I would assume after all he’s been through most likely that the Exia was way to low on reserve GN Particles. By the way that wasn’t Tieria, that was Ribbons apparent servant Regenne Regeta. You get to see her again in this episode. I’m going to have to safely assume that Tieria is also an innovator as is Neena Trinity. The glowing eyes seem to be their defining feature.

  7. 7 jayers October 8, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Sorta, if you consider my nonsense blogging. Does this look familiar?
    http://jayers.wordpress.com/2008/10/05/gundam-00-episode-1/

  8. 8 Kaioshin Sama October 8, 2008 at 3:17 am

    @Jayers: Hmm…no sorry.

    I thought I should leave a note here that Soma Peries is in fact 22. I’ve noticed a lot of people still seem unsure of her age, here and there so I just thought I’d confirm that is her official age for this season. She just looks younger and I’m assuming it has something to do with the genetic conditioning she underwent, being a test tube baby and all. *Insert random lolicon comment here as a bone throw to the poor suckers that are trying to Helldump me on SA*. Okay, now I’ve had my fun.

  9. 9 sadakups October 8, 2008 at 3:33 am

    You have a vague idea who I got that comment from. Apparently that guy has been banned in AS, but he’s doing crap in another forum that I belong to. I just had to share it because it’s so funny. 😄

    Speaking of Regene, I’m confused with that person. I say that person because in the episode, Regene doesn’t have boobs, and was presumed to be androgenous like Tieria and the rest of the Innovators.

    As for Louise, I only see her being used by Ribbons-tachi. Poor girl.

  10. 10 Kaioshin Sama October 8, 2008 at 3:46 am

    @Sadakups: I’m going to assume Ensign Wesley 84 Crusher or whatever he goes by. That guy amuses me somewhat as he actually “threatened” me that he was going to come back to the Gundam 00 forum and post a ton of hate on it while he was having a nervous breakdown on me for countering all of his silly negative comments about a Macross episode. You know, as if I moderate the forum and am supposed to feel threatened by this notion or something. Everyone has basically called him out as a troll at this point though, and frankly you don’t go around advertising that kind of stuff if you expect to succeed at it and/or not get in trouble with the admins. Whatever benefits are supposed to come from succesfully trolling a person I don’t know, but I have read up a little on the classic tactics and such and admitting to it is not the way to go.

    Anyway, the mystery thickens because Regene is voiced by Romi Paku, who has been known for doing both male and female roles, sometimes opting for portraying both with her character like in Turn A Gundam. Neena on the other hand who I am almost certain is an innovator is clearly a girl so I wouldn’t say all of the innovator’s are androgenous.

    By the way Jayers, I know what you are getting at now. No, I just came up with the title on the fly. I guess we both just think alike and have watched The Princess Bride a few to many times.

  11. 11 jayers October 8, 2008 at 4:05 am

    Darn, I was so sure…..oh well….I hope you keep blogging this. It seems like no one wants to blog another season of 00 except Random Curiosity.

  12. 12 sadakups October 8, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Yeah, same sentiments here. Other than RC, and Chris from MAHQ, I also go here to read reviews about new Gundam episodes. And besides, you are very vocal about stuff like this. I, for one, hope that you keep on blogging this. ^_^

    And yeah, it’s actually Wesley. It’s amazing how you can give him a taste of his own medicine. It’s just that I tend to ignore the guy since I find it a total waste of time to acknowledge his post. I’ve never seen a disturbed person who enjoys trolling this much.

  13. 13 Keiichi October 8, 2008 at 4:37 am

    I would still say the 4th generation gundams are way ahead of the Fed, and the Fed at this point is 3/4 of the way there to 3rd gen. They said in the first season the Gundams were roughly 10-20 years ahead of their time, and Exia was in a crap state fighting the A-laws. Also, I’m pretty sure the 4th generation models still have a lot of secrets, just like the 3rd gen models had secrets too. I’m also surprised to see Lasse alive, and I’m actually happy he is, unlike most other Sunrise revives. Why must there always be a masked man…and this time he lusts for a guy to boot. I hope Feldt doesn’t die, and Neena can’t be with Ribbons. She was seen at the end of the first season looking at 00 and working with Liu Mei. Neena remains my favorite female character.

  14. 14 mangaka-chan October 8, 2008 at 4:37 am

    God, six months of waiting and finally it’s here. And it’s rather funny (IMO) that you are the only 00 fan I’ve seen who says Tieria is manly. ^^; Everyone else seem to think otherwise but I agree that he has changed since 4 years ago. Physically no but his personality has improved. As for Mileina, what is she? Like 14? I assume she grew up in CB since Ian, her father, is a part of the organization. She probably understands how serious their mission is, and quite frankly I can’t see CB bring someone in on the mothership who is completely naive about the nature of war and conflict. She might be naive about their goal, but I don’t think she’s an air head. :p

    P.S. glad to see you blogging Gundam 00 again. This is the only other blog beside RC that has anything detailed, thoughtful, and positive to say about the series rather than make fun of it at every turn.

  15. 15 ZeusIrae October 8, 2008 at 9:19 am

    “One kill and she’s already panicking?”

    mmmh, I didn’t interpret it that way.The trigger seems to be Exia’s appearence.They actually congratulated her for her kill, it’s only after the Gundam appear that she breaks down completely.

  16. 16 Solly Rushadale October 9, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Ian’s gonna die. In front of Milena. Just so you know. After all, her sole purpose in the show is so we can watch her break. I saw all this the moment I looked at her character profile and name…

    … Sunrise is made up of some pretty sick people.

    Why is Louise taking medicine for panic attacks WHEN they happen? It doesn’t work like that. Which makes me think, that perhaps those are not normal panic attacks, and that is not normal medicine…

  17. 17 Kaioshin Sama October 10, 2008 at 6:20 am

    @Sadakups: Vocal? Hehehehe, well I’ll probably continue to be pretty vocal in my blogging style. I am a firm believer in open discussion as long as it’s kept relatively civil.

    @Keiichi: Oh I have no doubt that that the new Gundams will hold plenty of secret abilities to give them the edge in battle. For example Seravee…..well you’ll just have to watch and find out. 😉

    @Mangaka-Chan: I’m not really blogging it per se. People probably shouldn’t get their hopes up that I’ll be covering anything actively or in depth this season. Just a heads up….

    Tieria is manly though. He’s got that deep throaty sort of voice, takes control of the situation when it’s required and isn’t afraid to show his emotions later on. I say that the measure of a characters manliness or garness is something more than just their physical appearance.

    @ZeusIrae: I personally think the Gundam was just what put her over the edge. The battle experience seemed like it was already getting to her, but seeing the same type of machine that killed her parents is probably put her into the state of shock.

    @Solly Rushdale: Yes they are, and I’m glad people are starting to take notice of that now. Let the banality and cop-out of Mai-Hime finally wash away to reveal that not all of their stories and everyone of their characters has a happy ending.

  18. 18 Solly Rushadale October 10, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Also, may I add that I found the music for this episode excellent!

    Also… I feel so bad for Allelelujah. The torture he must have endured…………………

    Kaoishinn, what do feel when you are wrong?

  19. 19 mangaka-chan October 12, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Darn, I was hoping you’d blog the series. I really enjoyed reading your analysis of S1. But it’s your call so I respect that. 🙂

    Heh, I’ve been fandoming 00 for so long and more often than not “trap” and “moe” come up when talking about his character. ^^; While I can see why people might think that, personally I like it when Tieria is portrayed as a strong-willed character. It’s the combination of the intrigue of his background and his steadfast personality that made him my favorite character.

  20. 20 CCCP October 12, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I really love the new story they’re going with. Feels a bit like Zeta Gundam with a newer, more “V for Vendetta” feel. My only problem with the story is that I don’t find Louise’s enlistment in A-LAWS very believable.
    However, I absolutely HATE the mech designs in this one. The GN-XIII is a GN-X with smaller fins and red paint. The Aheads seem pretty nondescript as well. But it’s the new Gundams that really piss me off. Why would they put a friggin’ head on Seravee’s back. A small light-looking camera on the back of the head would have sufficed for a rear camera. And 00 Gundam looks like it’s going for “twin-drills” on its shoulders. Really, they coulda had two GN-Drives on its back\, not sticking out on the shoulders, where I may add that they are much more likely to get damaged.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Present


