Remember How I Warned That The Gundam 00 Stuff Could Stop Coming At Any Time?

Well unfortunately that time has come now.  Since I’ve already grown mildly weary of discussion forums on the series I don’t have any real plans to post a breakdown impression of any future episodes for the time being.  Thus there will be nothing to copy over to here and therefore that’s pretty much all she wrote as far as my experiment went.  In the meantime my plans for blogging Tytania continue since that actually was the series I ended up blogging in the first place as per my self-imposed one show a season limit that helps me keep my sanity….whatever is actually left of it that is.  Anyway, I’ll leave people with this one last poll and a heads up that I do indeed have plans for something else this week.  Hint:  It involves the topic of music.  See ya soon….

Addendum: Loli(er?) Soma with the full midriff bearing medical outfit….be honest, you people loved it. :p

17 Responses to “Remember How I Warned That The Gundam 00 Stuff Could Stop Coming At Any Time?”


  1. 1 sadakups October 27, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Fail. 😦

    I respect your decision though. If anything, I’ve stopped going to AS or any other forum out there to discuss Gundam 00. Although it’s just really nice to hear your thoughts.

  2. 2 Epi October 27, 2008 at 4:55 am

    Forum discussing of anime can be extremely hard to follow. I remember back in the day following GSD and getting to page 5 by the time the RAWS were downloadable, and then page 21 by the time the English subs arrived. At least then I had tons of free time, so I can understand why you’re fed up.

    BTW midriff baring Sumeragi beats all!

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama October 27, 2008 at 5:12 am

    @Sadakups: Well people seem more interested in Graham Acre’s apparent new nickname and I didn’t really find it relevant at all while watching episode 04. I was far more interested in the manner in which Allelujah got his codename and the fact that he considered it a Baptism. A little work and he ended up choosing Allelujah Haptism as his Celestial Being name. Also there was the fact that Celestial Being and Kataron have now officially joined forces with one another. Whether it’s a rocky relationship or not remains to be seen, but my gut says maybe.

    Aside from that the episode was kind of a getting attacked on the way to someplace episode that we used to see a lot in Gundam 00 or shows like Ideon. An ambush happens and the enemy commander has the utmost confidence in his ability to trap our heroes. However, because of his arrogance he fails to notice a flaw in his plan that Sumeragi in this case takes advantage of to use against him. In the end the cavalry arrives, the ambushing side is routed, the arrogant commanders pride hurt and our heroes continue on their merry way.

    It’s kind of your stock Gundam episode storyline in a way and as such I wasn’t really engrossed by the second half of the episode. The first half looked like it was going to being your standard “Why do we fight?” discussion but I ended up liking it a lot better then the second half because it was handled in such a non-cliche manner by not being angsty in the slighest. No whining about the way things are or dwelling on how hard life is, just a rededication to the task at hand and a minor lament and acceptance for the way things are. As such it ended up being less about finding a reason to fight, and more an exploration of some of the Celestial Being crews back stories that also catches the likes of Lyle and Saji up to date.

    Always interesting to learn more about the main characters and to see continuing development in them as well. Feldt’s become much stronger in the past four years (I used to hate her character), while Sumeragi now feels out of place and is trying to rediscover herself by building confidence again. Setsuna has the perspective he needs, Allelujah has stabilized a lot and also has a goal now, and Tieria has gone from trying to shun and condemn his other team mates to being pretty much the first person out of the hatch every time to defend his teamates. The first half of this episode took it’s time to show us that the Celestial Being characters really have made progress in terms of personality in the last four years and are trying to make amends for their past shortcomings and weaknesses.

    A weak second half (followed by a really awkward post credits sequence this time around) and a strong first half basically evened the episode out to around a seven out of ten for me.

    I’ll leave you with those thoughts as a lead-out.

    @Epi: Well back then people also seemed more interested in discussing the actual shows rather then trying to find ways to get lulz, create memes, and troll other people. Now it seems like every week your average forum that used to be pretty dedicated to special interests and intelligent/moderated discussion is becoming more and more like one of the chans where pretty much anything goes. Recently I’ve started visiting the general chat forum on animesuki more often then I do the anime forums because the discussion is usually much easy to follow and actually leads to a point where I might have something to add. Some good threads I’ve found are the US Elections 2008 and Economic Crisis 2008 ones. I also visit the Games subforum a lot because again usually the focus ends up being centred solely around the games themselves.

  4. 4 tigerlily October 27, 2008 at 9:15 am

    well to be honest that’s the main reazon i end up disliking uber popular animes aka: gundam seed and the dreedfull sequel, CG, and later macross frontier the sherytards were everywere and the disscusion were so dense, close minded and the bashing so out of proportions that they complely loss the focus of the anime as a entertament media.Of course there is allways a handfull of people, that wanted to disscus it in a civil way, but they too were drove away eventualy and unfortunely gundam 00 is walking the same road. I mean gundam 00 is good but from time to time it suffers from horrible scrip writing,so so direction,weak execusion, and sometimes poor predictable decissions, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad it’s the contrary gundam 00 is one of the most solid offerts in the past and this season, and hands down one of the best efforts out of the buch of super popular animes. the tragic think is that i am adicted to spoilers, that way i end up on the forums. Now i now best, if a series proves to be getting to popular i will live it alone, if i like it i will most likely see it till the end and from time to time search for a second opinion lol sorry long post(ranting)lol >:3.

  5. 5 Zetatrain October 27, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Oh well, I still throughly enjoyed reading your insights on past Gundam episodes, which were some of the very very few intellectual thoughts among all the senseless trolling, bashing, and wannabe Gundam critics out there. Looking forward to reading your futures posts on other anime shows and hopefully more Gundam epsiodes, if you ever fell like blogging about them again.

  6. 6 Catharsis October 27, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    While Graham’s new title is indeed irrelevant to the actual plot of the show, what it does for the episode’s entertainment value is very relevant, what with the Bushido Bob nickname 4chan came up with just a few weeks prior as well as the design of his new mobile suit.

  7. 7 sadakups October 27, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    @KS: Wow, you actually dished out an episode review. 😛

    Yeah, anime discussion in forums is now a bitch. People are becoming wannabe critics.

  8. 8 Kaioshin Sama October 28, 2008 at 4:22 am

    @Zetatrain: To be honest I doubt most of the bloggers that appear to be bashing shows actually stand by what they are saying and are mostly just trying to be clever and witty. Unfortunately not everybody is actually as witty and clever as they think they are (including my smart ass self, but I’m always trying to work on that) so it ends up just looking like pointless complaining in the end.

    When you couple this situation with the average commenters stunning ability to take everything they are presented with at face value (probably because they were attracted to the article believing it is a condemnation of a show they hate) and have them then try to be funny (and angry) in their feedback and fail because they missed the point to begin with, you have the current and unfortunate state of anime blogging as I see it. Loud, angry and in your face. Kind of like Lewis Black, only on topics that don’t really warrant such a reaction to begin with like his rants usually do.

    The way I see it, nobody really means any harm (at least I hope not) and I realize this, it’s just that I can’t get the sense that much is getting done anymore in terms of providing meaningful commentary on the way things are, be it through the use of a sardonic wit, a clever and unique presentation style for a topic, or just plain old brutal honesty. Not to mention that there is this belief system in place that you are not allowed to talk about anime blogging itself like I do that keeps anything from being improved upon and you have what I like to call stagnation.

    I think once I realized that people aren’t necessarily being honest about their impressions of whatever they are talking about is when I lost a little bit of that newschool enthusiasm for the potential of blogging that people such as IKnight say I am known for.

    @Catharsis: I’d be lying if I said that anything 4chan does affects how I watch anime. Since I don’t follow 4chan memes or any memes at all really (I truthfully find most if not all internet memes unamusing and lame with the possible exception of the levan polkka one), or even visit the site, I would have had no way of knowing that they called him that.

    @Sadakups: I actually did a brief writeup about the “wannabe critics” over on my little corner of the website if you want to check it out.

  9. 9 Catharsis October 28, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    I don’t think the humor in “Mr. Bushido” really require foreknowledge of the 4chan moniker (though it certainly add to it). The mere fact that Graham throws away his entire identity and transforms into a Japanophile weeaboo is enough to cause most viewers to lose their breath in laughter.

    That said, if one wants to analyze this in a more serious manner, remember, this is the same Graham that held pride in both his position in the Union military as well as his machine, the flag, to the extent that he would refuse to pilot any other mecha at the end of S1. It’s a bit hard for me to rationalize the transformation of his character from then to now.

  10. 10 Kaioshin Sama October 30, 2008 at 9:21 am

    @Catharsis: Yes, I’m well aware of the trend where people will come online and claim that they laughed for 10 minutes straight at something that’s not actually funny (Such as a quirky character codename) and all I can say is that if such a thing is true then they should probably see a psychiatrist or something. That’s not good mental health there.

    As for Graham, in the past I’d have said something like wait and see where his character goes from here or try and reflect back on what he’s done, but I doubt that would make any difference at this point, nor would anyone be willing to listen because they’re likely too busy having their lulz over their latest Gundam 00 meme. They missed the chance to spoonfeed every aspect of Graham’s character development to the audience anyway, so that’s probably it for Graham Acre as far as the average fan goes and probably Gundam 00 Second Season for that matter.

    Yep, the shows pretty much over at this point, or it might as well be in the case of internet discussion that’s bound to go anywhere, and that is why there are going to be no more long winded summaries and thoughts from me on animesuki. Once the usual trend that will ultimately lead to pointless bashing and ridicule got set in motion I was prepared to drop any analysis of the show like a sack of potatos and just leave it to the feeding frenzy that is eventually going to tear it to shreds while missing every key event along the way.

    It seems we’ve arrived at that inevitable destination with all the “I can’t take this show seriously” I’ve seen over this .5 second long utterance and that will probably lead to “bad writing” and then “trainwreck”. I accept the inevitable now and that the discussion will soon decay to the Code Geass R2 standard so the shows all the 4chan’s as far as I’m concerned. I’ve got Tytania to blog and discuss anyway, which was how it was supposed to go anyway excepting Deathkillz interference there.

    As a general message, I know more then a few people that are probably disappointed and wanted me to do an in-depth look at Gundam 00 Second Season, but after what happened with my go at Code Geass R2 I just can’t be that guy anymore. That was supposed to be a fun summer passtime for me and ended up being one of the most stressful and irritating experiences I’ve had in the past 4 years and I’m just not willing to go through that sort of…for a lack of better word, bullshit discussion again two seasons in a row. I’d really rather just stick to Tytania, which has low blogging coverage, but intelligent enough debate to be an enjoyable blogging discussion. And that’s probably going to be my formula from now on when it comes to making episode blogging picks.

  11. 11 Enact October 30, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I personally don’t understand why the whole Mr.Bushido thing is a big deal in the first place. I mean, yeah I know Graham is a really popular character but I think that’s the thing…this is Graham Aker, the most eccentric character in all of Gundam 00 (and 00 has more then a few eccentric characters, which adds to it’s fun factor), so something like this I don’t think should *really* be a surprise to anyone. That being said, I think this fits his image, believe it or not, considering despite the fact that Graham is highly egocentric, he has always been one for a fair fight and the way he conducts himself is vaugely samurai like. Besides, we are on ep 4 of the show, so there is more then enough time to see exactly what’s with him from the point it looked like his Flag exploded at the end of ep 25 to now (which, to answer Catharsis, he did technically beat the Gundam in a flag, so I guess that was more then enough for him to move on).

    Then agian, ever since Code Geass aired, I think the landscape in which to talk about certain shows has changed from one of actual discussion to one of trying to find as many memes and things to mock as possible to earn internet cool people points. It’s no longer about the show, it’s about the things the community can find in a show to circlejerk, and you know, that’s just sad.

  12. 12 Kaioshin Sama October 31, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Oh I think that was the case quite a while before Code Geass my friend.

  13. 13 CCCP November 4, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Which episode is that more loli Soma in? I haven’t seen that one.

  14. 15 Club Penguin Membership Codes July 31, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such great information being shared freely out there…

  15. 16 https://project.sparcs.org August 13, 2014 at 11:06 am

    Aw, this was a very nice post. Finding the time and actual
    effort to produce a superb article… but what can I say… I put things
    off a lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

  16. 17 www.wer-baut-was.ch August 18, 2014 at 9:30 am

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog web
    site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I
    had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Present


