My Prediction For The Gundam 30th Anniversary Mystery Series

It feels like it was just yesterday that everyone was talking about how Gundam had turned silver and there was much celebration and rejoicing for this monumentous occasion. Hard to believe that was 4 years ago in 2004 and that now we are dawning on Gundam’s 30th Anniversary. As some might or might not already know, like in 1999 Sunrise has another Big Bang style celebration planned which likely means lots of events, lots of partying, lots of merchandise and probably more than a handful of new entries into the saga. One of these they seem to be very coy about and keep referencing as a “surprise project” to be announced at the end of Gundam 00’s run. Which of course probably means a commercial that is supposed to knock people out of their chairs. Well I’d like to just hazard a quick guess at what it might be.

If we think back to the Big Bang Project in 1999 where we had Turn A Gundam and Yoshiyuki Tomino’s attempt to use it to tie all of the previous Gundam Series together and the fact that like that celebration this 30th anniversary is likely to be a celebration of all things Gundam I think we might be looking at two things.  One is a TV series or OVA that will try and tie together or pay tribute in some way to all of the Gundam series that have aired since Turn A Gundam, which of course includes Gundam Seed, Gundam Seed Destiny, Gundam Seed Stargazer, MS Igloo 1 and 2, Gundam 00 and handful of Manga series such as Ecole Du Ciel and Gundam Unicorn that have been allowed into the proper Gundam cannon.  The second is that Tomino himself will be likely returning to direct this surprise project as the co-creator of the Gundam franchise.

Whether this will be a full TV series or an OVA I do not know and I don’t know whether said project will include references to all of the series preceding Turn A Gundam, but I am fairly certain that it will follow the precedent set by it’s predecessor celebrations dating back to 1989 where Char’s Counterattack attempted to summarize and bring to a close all of the still running storylines of the 1st Universal Century.  I will also say right now that I am highly doubtful that the project will be anything like an adaptation of a single work such as Crossbone Gundam, Gundam Unicorn or Ecole Du Ciel like so many others are expecting because of this precedent set by previous decennial celebrations.  This needs to be a neutral celebration of Gundam for it to really go over as a proper 30th anniversary and that can’t be done by paying tribute to a specific era with a specific theme and a specific cast of characters.

And I’ll leave people with the fact that I am currently throwing my guess in the above direction and should I be proven right I will of course be forced to make note of it and brag about the fact that I was right.  Should I be proven wrong……..well we’ll figure out my Game Penalty when the time comes. :p

12 Responses to “My Prediction For The Gundam 30th Anniversary Mystery Series”


  1. 1 mechafetish November 13, 2008 at 9:06 am

    “I am highly doubtful that the project will be anything like an adaptation of a single work such as Crossbone Gundam, Gundam Unicorn or Ecole Du Ciel”

    Its too bad, but your probably correct. I do hope you are wrong about them focusing on only post Turn-A series thought. Let the wild mass guessing begin!

  2. 2 The Animanachronism November 13, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Like you, I really can’t imagine them adapting a specific existing manga or novel project. I suspect those predictions are more about fanboy hope than realistic appraisal of the chances.

  3. 3 ghostlightning November 13, 2008 at 10:56 am

    I wouldn’t mind it at all if it were just about everything post-Turn A. It would be very interesting how Tomino will make it all about him and crank out something…special.

    I’m not knocking Tomino, despite how much I disagree with his choices in his past works I fully appreciate his contributions. Bad habit or not, I make idols out of these maverick creators.

  4. 4 Solly Rushadale November 13, 2008 at 11:21 am

    This is going to be so cool! I didn’t know there was a suprise project! I mean, I knew it was the anniversary, but still! I hope this will be great!

  5. 5 ideon November 13, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Puuriiis let it be a successor to 8th ms team >_>

  6. 6 sadakups November 14, 2008 at 4:04 am

    As long as it’s not a Cosmic Era Gundam or a sequel of a previous Gundam series (maybe expect Gundam X), I’m game.

  7. 7 Kaioshin Sama November 14, 2008 at 5:24 am

    @sadakups: Gundam X has a sequel manga called under the Moonlight. If you’re interested I think Zeonic-Corps has done a couple volumes.

  8. 8 Myssa Rei November 14, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Well, Turn-A was the culmination of all Gundam series and AU works up to that point, so I don’t see a repeat of THAT anytime soon… Maybe another reimaging of a previous classic series? Like how SEED initially did for MSG. It would be wierd seeing something like Stardust Memory redone and reimagined though, or War in the Pocket given the expanded treatment (though more female Gundam leads are always welcome)…

  9. 9 schneider November 14, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    I think Tomino shouldn’t be bothered to come back with another Gundam series. Turn-A is already a perfect swan song for him. He’s also done too much trolling on Bandai for them to let him touch their beloved moneymaking franchise with a ten-foot pole.

    Part of me wants something entirely new, while another part of me wants more UC stuff (Gaia Gear plz). But my secret fanboy wish is to see Lost War Chronicles animated, oh my.

  10. 10 Kaioshin Sama November 15, 2008 at 7:56 am

    @Myssa Rei: Do you mean female leads as in pilots or female leads as in characters?

    @Scheider: Well Tomino is an original creator which means he more than likely still has some sway with Bandai. Plus a lot of fans would probably love to see him come back. Remember, popular names mean a lot to Japanese fans, especially when they are as legendary as Tomino’s is.

    As for Gaia Gear, I’m not sure how non-canon stuff will go over animated. Victory Gundam pretty much already got rid of the need for Gaia Gear. As for Lost War Chronicles, doubtful, but sure why not.

  11. 11 Allelujah December 12, 2008 at 2:28 am

    I hope it turns out good! i am a huge gundam fan and it would royally suck to have a repeat of the G-Saviour incident…

  12. 12 Redddun February 8, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    redtube shemale [url=http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/member.php?u=193298]redtube shemale[/url] redtube shemale [url= http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/member.php?u=193298 ] redtube shemale [/url]


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Present


