So About Those Seiyuu Awards (Year 3 Is Upon Us)

As some of you may already be aware it’s time again for the annual Seiyuu awards in Japan.  You might remember how I went on at length a long while back about how last years awards were more or less rigged by special interests and this year I can’t see it being much different with a “special committee” being in charge of vetting the nominees who are being picked by the public again.  Nonetheless I am a dreamer and so I’d like to share my own picks versus my expectations of what is going to go down in these 3rd annual seiyuu awards.

Realistically Speaking:

Best Male: Jun Fukuyama (Lelouch Lamperouge) or Mamoru Miyano (Setsuna F. Seiei)

Best Female: Aya Hirano (Konata Izumi)

Best Supporting Male: Hiroshi Kamiya (Tieria Erde or Michel Blanc)

Best supporting Female: Emiri Katou (Kagami Hiiragi)

Best New Male: Couldn’t tell you to save my life

Best New Female: Haruka Tomatsu (Nagi)

Best Singer: Somehow, some way, Maaya Sakamoto (Triangler)

Best Personality: Aya Hirano

Overseas Choice Award: Aya Hirano (For Something) or Aya Endo (Sheryl Nome)

My Picks:

Best Male: Jun Fukuyama (Lelouch Lamperouge)

Best Female: Rie Kugimiya (Take your pick honestly)

Best Supporting Male: Ken Narita (Jerimiah Gottwald) or Hiroshi Kamiya (Michel Blanc)

Best Supporting Female: Kaori Nazuka (Nunally Vi Britannia)

Best New Male: ?????

Best New Female: Megumi Nakajima (Ranka Lee)

Best Singer: Megumi Nakajima

Best Personality: Mamoru Miyano

Overseas Choice Award: Not mine to make

Well, all that’s left to do is sit back and see what happens.  More than likely though I am way off on both of these lists and the “special committee” is going to go way out in left field with their final picks, but then again who ever said that I recognized these awards as a legitimate affair.  Therefore in the end while I do not care when the times comes I shall be there, just to stay aware.  Yawn…….

4 Responses to “So About Those Seiyuu Awards (Year 3 Is Upon Us)”


  1. 1 ghostlightning December 1, 2008 at 5:40 am

    FukuJun should win. That guy can entertain.

    Nakajima Megumi should win best new female and best singer. I don’t dislike Triangler as much as you do (my opinion here shouldn’t count because my fanboying is obvious), but Sakamoto may have other songs that are being considered.

    Hiroshi Kamiya 4tw! Tieria being the better character and the more demanding role.

    I don’t know enough candidates to weigh in, but I like your picks anyway.

  2. 2 Sorrow-kun December 1, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Kugumiya Rie? Nazaka Kaori? Are you kidding me? Are you sure you haven’t confused “Best” for “Favourite”?

    I’ve only thought about this in passing, so I don’t have all the names at my fingertips, but I’d be seriously looking at Sawashiru Miyuki for her performance in Kure-nai or Nabatame Hitomi for Yakushiji Ryoko or even Koshimizu Ami for Spice & Wolf for best female lead. I thought Kawasumi Ayako was best female seiyuu by a long way last year for her performance in Nodame Cantabile, and I’d rank her in the top echelons again this year for her role in the sequel. I’ve probably forgotten someone.

    Fukuyama probably deserves a look at for best male, but I’d say more for his work in Spice & Wolf rather than Code Geass R2. But again, I’d look long and hard at the likes of Tomokazu Seki (Nodame Cantabile Pari-hen) and Kamiya Hiroshi (Zoku Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei). Whatever the case, I think Fukuyama deserves a nomination for whatever the equivalent of a Golden Raspberry is for his work in Rental Magica.

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama December 1, 2008 at 7:53 am

    @Ghostlightning: Nakajima Megumi seemed like the obvious choice to me until Hashihime pointed out Haruka Tomatsu who I will admit seems to be pretty up and coming and talented to boot. Plus she is Nagi in Kannagi which is insanely popular with otaku (or rather was until the “incident”) so that could theoretically give her the edge.

    @Sorrow-Kun: The “my picks” part didn’t tip you off as to the favourite status of….my picks??? There was never any confusion to begin with and I will explain why in a moment. For now though I will say that I don’t really watch those slice of life type series you are so fond of so I wouldn’t know about any of the roles in them. I only go by what I know. Though with Rental Magica being a Kadokawa Shoten licensed manga Jun Fukuyama could very well win an award for it. And not of the Golden Raspberry variety. Were you not around for the controversy the past 2 years? Series they had investments in tended to get favoured along those of Shogakukan.

    Now, just running through a couple of your picks here, Seki Tomokazu is pretty much as versatile and prolific as they come so if he was as good as you say he was (again I’ve never watched Nodame Cantabile and have no interest in it period) then perhaps he should be nominated….maybe? Kamiya Hiroshi might win, but if he does I still bet any money it’s for Tieria Erde.

    Now am I saying that out of favouritism? In this case no actually because that’s just the most popular role he’s done all year. The seiyuu awards aren’t exactly about the best roles per se, but moreso about the ones that were popular. As such I approach them in that manner when making my lists. Best was never really a consideration to begin with. In any case there is your explaination.

    I will mention one more thing though. All of the names you’ve brought up are indeed being tossed around as potential nominees/winners on the blogosphere, but I wouldn’t go getting your hopes up or vouching any sort of support for anyone or your likely to end up just getting annoyed at the results. This is likely to be a crapshoot.

  4. 4 Sorrow-kun December 1, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Oh yeah, I’m not going to say that the Seiyuu Awards aren’t a farce. I just wouldn’t say your list is all that much more credible.


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Present


