Summing Up An Entire Generation Of Fans Feelings In One Video (To Haruhi Or Not To Haruhi That Is The Question)

So by now people have probably heard about the potential second season of Suzumiya Haruhi only to apparently have their hopes dashed yet again by some unfortunate news.  Me?  I’ll live for sure, but I felt I could at least contribute to the discussion by offering up a video that I think perfectly describes what Haruhi fans are feeling right now with regard to the franchise and Kadokawa:

If Haruhi Had A Theme Song I’ve Always Felt This Would Be It.  Now It Seems All The More Appropriate

4 Responses to “Summing Up An Entire Generation Of Fans Feelings In One Video (To Haruhi Or Not To Haruhi That Is The Question)”


  1. 1 TheBigN February 4, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Kadokawa apparently loves trolling, I guess. I’m not sure whether I should applaud their efforts or not. lol Foreigner though.

    At the same time, I’d counter with Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing”.😛

  2. 2 Avisch February 5, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Yeah this is getting kind of crazy. I have mixed feelings on Kyoani (particularly from my dislike of people fawning over Lucky Star, and then me making fun of myself for having this growing dislike from infact reading YOUR articles Kaoshin).

    I agree with BigN. I feel they’ve even made a meme for themselves.

    Great choice on the song Kaioshin. Thinking about it now. I would just use one of Ali Projects songs considering 90% of them have to do with sadism and masochism.

  3. 3 EX-Keine February 5, 2009 at 5:52 am

    I’m a big Haruhi fan since I saw the whole thing eons ago, but I’m not one of those zombies who either stake their entire life on the existence of this series, OR be an even worse lower level zombie who trashes KyoAni/Kadokawa for no reason at all, you know, just like those zombies who try to start a cult on vilifying Mizushima or Taniguchi along with Sunrise. If anything, I smelled something rotten when the news of a broadcast in April came out, because as much as I love Haruhi, this was too good to be true. I’m not disappointed that this “unfortunate news” came out, and besides, I got other things to do and other shows to watch anyway, even a few on American TV.

    As for the former, instead of summing up how the fans are feeling right now, just describe those fans who make reasonable fans like me look bad as strange people, like The Doors’s “People Are Strange.”

    “No one remembers your name…”

  4. 4 Kaioshin Sama February 5, 2009 at 9:10 am

    @TheBigN: As I’ve said many times before, Kadokawa loves getting ahead of itself with it’s ad campaigns.

    @Avisch: Oh man…but seriously I felt evoking a feeling of a spiteful woman playing with the feelings of those that were once infatuated with her and the threat of karma making her “pay the price” fit how Haruhi fans are probably feeling now. There was really no reason to get peoples hopes up like this only to almost instantly dash them. You’d think Kadokawa realizes that they’ve done the same thing three times now. Well, for the third time in a row I think I’ll have to suggest that Kadokawa’s ad campaign manager has never read the boy who cried wolf. The fact that hardly anybody believed it was true this time means that they had already run out of chances. Even if the show eventually does air I bet there will be those that will worry that it’s going to get jerked from the air after 5 minutes or something.

    @EX-Keine: Considering it’s possibly the third time now I think it’s safe to bet that most people were prepared for it to be another false alarm. Still I think this is pretty much unprecedented as far as anime ad campaigns go.

    Let’s take a trip down memory lane shall we?

    https://animehistory.wordpress.com/2007/07/05/suzumiya-haruhi-second-season-to-be-announced/

    https://animehistory.wordpress.com/2008/06/06/suzumiya-haruhi-we-can-rebuild-her-faster-stronger-more-bossy-then-ever/

    Funny…that cover in the 2008 link looks so familiar doesn’t it? Where else have I seen a promotional picture of Haruhi with long hair and an ad for Gundam 00 to go along with it?

    Oh yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah…..so then…..it’s the same exact push from 8 month ago….


Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Archives

Present


