What’s With This Whole RAEG HAET/FFFFFFFFFF Trend Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying About Things I Have No Control Over And To Laugh At Those Who Do

No this isn’t about Gundam if that’s what you are thinking even though I’m going to be using some examples from it, it’s actually just a general philosophical question complete with what is sure to be another unwanted lecturing about what is going on with the internets these days.  Gotta pass the time somehow right?  You’ve seen the topic, this is your chance to turn back now if you don’t want to hear what I have to say?

So yes, the RAEG HAET and whatnot.  Gundamn!@MAHQ had pointed this trend out to me a little while back in one of their podcasts (I think the topic was Hyper Critical Mass or something like that) and how they thought the whole idea that anime studios were trolling individual fans was retarded among other things that people like to RAEG over.  Back then I was all like, “Ohhhh…okay well gee whiz you know it is kind of getting silly but whatever”, sort of wishy-washy like that in my response to it, but now I think I understand better just what they were referring too and why they brought up the subject of the J.J Abrams Enterprise and Nerd-Rage.  Simply put people on the internet, now more than ever before like to bitch about everything under the sun.  Lol….and just when I thought I’d left the screamo (music that is) at work it’s essence follows me to my recreation activities. 

OLD! some people might be tempted to scream at me.  Why is that I’ve just taken notice now?  Okay, well it’s partially because I’ve  ended up reading more of these RAEG HAET type posts this past week, the kind that feature people going “FFFFFFF”  “FFFFFFFFFFFFF!!!!!” “FFFFFF!!!!11111”, then any other type of post combined.  Talk about your saturation.  Now sure it’s one thing to get upset with shows once in a while (hell I did it with Tytania just last week myself), but it’s another to join a trend towards RAEGING and HAETING about everything that one doesn’t like.  I mean I thought we all hated people like Jack Thompson and Jerry Fallwell after all.  So I’m wondering then…..when did people suddenly decide that the best way to manner in which to spend their time discussing  their day to day activities (be it watching anime, playing games or chatting with somebody on IRC or whatever) was to bitch about it all as much as humanly possible like a bunch of whiny 8 year olds?  And better yet when did it become cool to whine and throw ADD inspired temper tantrums, even if it’s just pretend for the most part as it obviously is? 

It’s kind of sad really as it is funny in the fact that it’s just such a dominant trend at the moment.  I mean as long as I can remember people who got worked up about things and who whined all the time were laughed at and ridiculed by the crowd who knew better.  The crowd who knew that not letting a little thing like some show or game failing to be exactly as one wanted it to be appear bother them was the proper way to show some maturity.  Manning up to life’s disappointments and carving out a slice of whatever you get for yourself, that’s what growing up has always been about as long as I could remember……until now that is. 

Now I admit flat out and right here that I’m not exactly the most mature person for my age of 24, but I know that I have enough sense not to freak out about something I have no control over anymore.  I know this because if I did then it would eventually consume me like it seems to have so many other people.  And when I look at some of these people…..these RAEGer’s ages (if they make them available, which they probably shouldn’t be since to be honest it is just really unfortunate when I see how far on in their lives some of these folks are supposed to be) I see a lot of people that are older then me.  26, 28, heaven forbid some are even in their mid to late 30’s and they’re acting like they are a quarter their actual age.  As I said it’s really just kind of sad to me at this point.

How sad is it?  How pitiful do I find the RAEGER’s?  Do you really want to know?  Well….okay then.  Let’s take for example then the raging about anime characters we don’t like, say ummmm…Saji Crossroad (see I told people Gundam examples were forthcoming), which seems to be a hella popular character to get worked up about.  You want to know what RAEGing and whining about Saji Crossroad whining (hmmmm…..) and brooding in early Gundam 00 Second Season episodes instead of being the character they wanted him to be (however unreasonable that was I won’t get into now) makes one come across like? 

vlcsnap-970373

Tough shit huh?  Maybe you should…..what’s the meme….qq and RAEG more about it?

If You Guessed Saji Crossroad You Are Correct! Give Yourself A Pat On The Back.  This Is Actually The Face I Now See Every Time I Come Across Some RAEG HAETER Doing There Thing On The Internets.

Actually to understand how sad RAEG HATING is to me I might have to ask one to consider that it makes one worse then a whiny Saji.  Why?  Well simple because unlike Saji, the average RAEG HAETER hasn’t suffered several major losses in their life, no, rather they’re just bitching about how some show didn’t go exactly the way the wanted it too, just like Saji is bitching because he “didn’t think this would happen”.  Tough break their guys, I really feel for you. :/ 

Anyway….you see that arm?  In a later scene that is quite similar to this one that arm will belong to manly man and new age gar icon Sergei Smirnov who will be giving Saji a cool swipe across the face for not manning up and learning to live with the life that fate dealt him, even if shit sucks.  In a way the purpose of this post is sort of like me trying to be Sergei.  Giving internet RAEG HATERS the equivalent of a cool slap across the face while attempting to get the point across that whining and raging  about the cards one has been dealt in our….god forbid this is so silly I’m laughing right now, Anime watching and game playing lives (very srss bssns I know) makes one look like an emo Saji.  Though unlike Saji who eventually learned to live and let live and do and take things as they come, I can’t really say I expect a turn around in RAEG HATERS attitudes any time within the next decade.  See…it’s sad isn’t it?

Anyway back to the point, we all hate emos right?  I know I do.  And we all idolize manly man Sergei don’t we?  The mature soldier type who kept his cool in the face of the very bad things that were going on around him, who stuck to his guns and chose to live with the fact that life isn’t always a bundle of joy and you’ve just got to do your best to make do with what you have and to do your job.  Sergei had to make a decision that got his own wife killed and he learned to live with it, but RAEGers seem to be telling me that if something insignificant….something like say Alto x Sheryl doesn’t come to pass then mass freakout burn down Satelight Studios time?  Well whatever, I’ll chose to take the Sergei approach any day of the week. 

Sure Sergei’s thanks for being a mans man was to  get cut down by his own emo son who had a lot of pent up rage over the bad stuff that happened to him in the past.  The death of his mother that he allowed to consume him and……wait a second, if I may ask that I’m be allowed a non sequitir.  We all hate Andrei for being an emo whiner who committed patricide right?  We balked at the idea that he would get rewarded for this as well didn’t we?  Almost everybody HATES Andrei Smirnov and what he stands for, I think it’s safe to say this, so when people allow RAEG about the past and how things couldn’t work out the way they wanted as a result of something somebody (a writer, director, designer whatever) did to take away something they enjoy (say a favourite character in an anime or a preferred coupling) to consume them…..making them fail to see the bigger picture….that makes them seem a lot like…

horribleraws_gundam_00_r2_-_1_640x360_107_0001

Wow, talk about people becoming what they despise in order to express their hatred out of it.  If I believed it was intentional I would say it was actually pretty deep, but rather I think the RAEGer’s have failed to realize something here.  And that is that what they are about is actually akin to the epitomy of emo and it’s principles.  Don’t believe me?  Take a look

Alright anyway, enough laughing at angry people for now, let’s get to the point.  Whining and RAEG HAETING and going “FFFFFFFFFFF!” at stuff doesn’t make you any cooler then an emo kids or loathed characters like Saji Crossroad, Shinji Ikari, Ranka Lee, Kazuki Tachibana and/or Andrei Smirnov from Gundam 00….in fact it makes you exactly like them.  Actually I’d almost say  it makes you doubly emo.  Consider this:

– If RAEGER’s let themselves get bothered by insignificant things then they are subscribing to the principles of emo culture

– If RAEGER’s appear to especially hate characters that they think are emo then really they hate themselves since they too act like emo’s in RAEGing about emo’s. (I just broke my own brain there)

–  Hating oneself is a principle of emo

–  Therefore RAEGER’s are actually twice as emo as an actual emo.  Or maybe they’re just trapped in the proverbial emo closet, who knows.

Man, I said I was going to stop making fun didn’t I?  That was like less than a paragraph…..  Look sorry but as long as this RAEG HAET keeps up I’m afraid that I’m not going to be able to do anything but sit back and laugh at all of these people getting (or pretending to get) so worked up over nothing.  Cause that’s how I prefer to deal with disappointment and uncomfortable developments in life.  To laugh it off and eventually move on as I will be doing right now….for real this time 

So I’ve said my peace and probably offended a lot of people in the process (it’s been a while since I’ve done a post like this hasn’t it?), but then that really changes little as RAEG HATERS will do there thing regardless of whether some smart ass blogger such as myself decides to open his mouth or not.  That is that I suppose.  I expect nothing to change, just for people to hopefully listen to what I have to say as always.  In the meantime unlike the RAEG HAETERS I’m going to go find something better to do with my time.  Daily Show here I come….

22 Responses to “What’s With This Whole RAEG HAET/FFFFFFFFFF Trend Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying About Things I Have No Control Over And To Laugh At Those Who Do”


  1. 1 ghostlightning February 11, 2009 at 6:54 am

    I won’t put myself above such behaviors. I can RAEGHAET with the worst of them, and with no apologies.

    Nonetheless, I sympathize with your consternation if you end up reading nothing but such in a comments section.

    In any case, I don’t think bloggers or commenters ever need to prove anything to me. They write for their own arbitrary reasons of motivations. I only share this so as to show how I can just be with these kinds of ‘discussions,’ and not to tell you how to manage your own behavior.

    I honestly think that at the root of all this rage and hate is a devotion to Gundam, at least that’s what’s there for me. It’s not pretty, but I don’t think it’s trying to be.

    But as you said, you don’t get worked up about it anymore; and I guess this is the most important part.

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama February 11, 2009 at 7:15 am

    @ghostlightning: As I said though, this isn’t about Gundam it’s about a variety of topics on the internet and the saturation of the RAEGHAET. I joke about it lasting a decade though, like any trend I’m sure people will eventually get bored of it and latch onto whatever trend is just over the horizon. Doesn’t stop it from being funny else hell though. At no point in time has the sweatdrop emoticon ever seemed so necessary as it does now to express my opinion of the internet.

  3. 3 Sorrow-kun February 11, 2009 at 7:16 am

    @ghostlightning: Would he really write a +1800 word article if he wasn’t worked up about it anymore?

    @Kaioshin Sama: I hope the irony of writing a rant article seething with so called “RAEGHATE” about people who RAEGHATE on the internet isn’t lost on you. Protip: Haters and fanboys are two sides of the same coin. You can’t have one without the other.

  4. 4 Kaioshin Sama February 11, 2009 at 7:53 am

    @Sorrow-Kun:

    I knew you’d probably stop by to say something. I know you have something against me specifically writing these types of articles, but I figure I’m allowed one every once in a while. I don’t know why it upsets you so much when I write these types of articles. I mean I put that warning at the top for a reason after all.

    Do I honestly seem worked up anything specific though? Well I’m not actually (lol) I just felt like writing something editorial and since I’ve noticed an upswing in general RAEGHAET posts I figured I’d talk about how silly I find it. There is a difference between pointing out silliness and getting worked up about it.

    And no I’m well aware of the irony of poking fun at those who nitpick and RAEG at things and tried to find ways around it wherever I could, but the thing is while tonight I am poking fun, tomorrow I will be back to my usual live and let live self while the RAEGHATER’s will still be doing there thing. Such is the power of choice and choosing to go my own way. If you think I am going back to my pre-2009 self though then that’s simply not the case. You have no idea how much I’ve allowed myself to mellow out since then, but I still have a tendency to want to poke fun every now and then.

    Anyway, yes indeed, Fanboys and Haters both do the RAEG thing, albeit for different reasons.

  5. 5 Sorrow-kun February 11, 2009 at 9:32 am

    “poking fun”

    Here’s the problem. This still comes off as a rant because it’s not fun to read. Maybe I’m misreading your intention, but I thought this was an attempt to show how stupid these types of haters are by ridiculing them, which is basically satire. Satire is generally more effective when it’s actually funny. Lighten up. That’s not just a throwaway line, that’s a serious piece of advice. It’d make the point you’re trying to make in these articles much more effective. If you make your readers laugh (which, admittedly, isn’t an easy thing to do), you’ve got a better chance of getting them on your side. Certainly better than throwing out lines like “we all hate emos right?”. I’m no emo, but c’mon. That’s like shooting at a sitting duck. It’s not gonna win you any votes of support.

    I’ve no problem with what you’ve said. You’ve made the haters look exactly like the thing they hate. That’s clever. My problem is with the way you’ve said it. You’ve failed to separate yourself from your target, so it comes off as a case of the pot calling the kettle some sort of racist insult.

  6. 6 Kaioshin Sama February 11, 2009 at 9:47 am

    @Sorrow-Kun: The line “We all hate emo’s” was meant to be tongue in cheek and sarcastic. It’s my way of starting along the goal of pointing out that the RAEGER’s behave a lot like that which they protest to HAET. Like you I don’t care for the emo style but I don’t actually hate it.

  7. 7 TheBigN February 11, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    While I don’t agree with everything you’ve said (like the being double emo part), I do agree with the sentiment. It’s alright to RAEG if you think that things aren’t going the way you would want them to, but do so is unnecessary and misses a lot of points. This is also why I chuckle or get annoyed by people when they RAEG because the a show hasn’t fulfilled their arbitrary expectations created before they even start the show. Among other things. 😛

  8. 8 Zack February 11, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    I agree with you on a lot of things and disagree with you on a few. I see people making unreasonably high demands of characters and then going balls to the wall ballistic when the character didn’t act how they wanted which I think is kind of … stupid. No reason to RAEG just because the character hasn’t turned out exactly as you like as soon as you hope. It’s almost to the point I’m expecting to see “GRAB THE PITCHFORKS AND TORCHES!” in half of the stuff I read now.

    On the other hand there are sometimes when I think people RAEGING aren’t that far off with being terribly upset. Take for instance the changes to the NA version of Star Ocean The Last Hope. Whenever I see it brought up now all I see is plenty of RAEG and FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF because of the removal of a lot of things that were a part of the Star Ocean series. When there’s not a real reason to remove them and it just takes away from what could be a very good game it seems the logical thing to get angry. Certainly some people go overboard though. I myself am guilty of stating I am incredibly annoyed by their actions, but I don’t think I’ve sunk to the FFFFFFFFFFFFF level yet. Hoping I don’t, but I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

    That’s just how I see it though. Some things people RAEG over seem incredibly silly, but others I can actually see clear reason behind the RAEG. I still laugh at the rage, but I’m almost inclined to agree with the people who have reason on what they’re saying (RAEGING about?) without sinking to the FFFFFF level myself.

  9. 9 Loligoth Powered February 12, 2009 at 2:25 am

    Stop RAEGHAETING over RAEG HAET

  10. 10 Kitsune February 12, 2009 at 3:42 am

    “For every minute you remain angry, you give up sixty seconds of peace of mind.”

  11. 11 Kaioshin Sama February 12, 2009 at 4:44 am

    @TheBigN & Kitsune: I think that the point when the RAEGHAET is allowed to consume one’s entire ability to reflect on something is the point where one might want to consider taking a step back and looking at whether whatever it is they are getting so upset about is worth it. Another one of my points is that there are other options to having a meltdown. I prefer to use humour, but I’m sure there are many other methods. It’s pretty basic stuff, I don’t know about most, but I think they give crash courses on anger management in your average school don’t they? To prepare people for the challenges of life that are going to be upsetting. What’s the first thing they say? I’m pretty sure it’s that if you can, get away from whatever it is that is bothering you.

    I like your quote by the way Kitsune. Perhaps we could do with a litany against RAEG as well. Hmmmm…..:

    I must not RAEG.
    RAEG is the mind-killer.
    RAEG is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
    I will face my disappointment.
    I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
    And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
    Where the disappointent has gone there will be nothing.
    Only I will remain.

    @Zack: Funny you should mention Star Ocean 3 as I can recall exactly what I did when I realized that I didn’t want to play it anymore because it was for all intents and purposes broken on a number of levels. I stopped playing it. Imagine those that played the none directors cut version where apparently there was a bug that made the game unbeatable. I would be legitimately outraged at that point since I would have actually paid money for a defunct product.

    Though for things like anime which are the source of a lot RAEG HAET these days I think it’s safe to say that a lot of us pay nothing. Temporary HD space at best. That’s why I find it all the more silly when some people start a RAEG HAET series on a particular show because we give nothing to receive these series the majority of the time and we have the power to stop at any point. When one subjects themselves willingly to something and gives nothing for it but their spare time then whose to blame if they get upset and they just keep watching and getting more and more upset?

    Generally when I see somebody mention that they are going to RAEG about something before doing it is when I get turned off, because it’s almost like it’s been turned into a practice or a writing style instead of the state of mind that it actually is and should be recognized as. That’s not to say that it can’t be a style, but few people can really turn a forced rant into a genuine form of humour and communication that transcends it’s base emotional beginnings to become a true art form. Off the top of my head are Lewis Black and the late George Carlin and they succeed primarily out of talent, practice, the fact that they usually pick good topics that will click with their audience, and arguably most importantly because their medium of communication (theatre) isn’t exactly saturated with ranting and raving on that level on a regular basis. The internet however is slowly becoming saturated with RAEG HAET (at least where I normally frequent) and that’s what prompted me to write this article.

    Anyway, hopefully this clarifies why I too have no issue with expressions of disappointment, just that I think there’s a limit to how much one should let it control their interactions and the impression it leaves with others. There’s is after all a point for every form of expression where the line is crossed between informative and silly.

  12. 12 Arios February 12, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Kaioshin you’re a complete idiot, when people go “FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF” it’s often a good thing.

    It can quite easily mean “HOLY SHIT I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING, THIS IS AWESOME”

    I put it to you that you judge other blogs when YOU DON’T EVEN UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY’RE SAYING. Reading all your comments about people saying trainwreck it’s obvious that you don’t know what they mean by it.

  13. 13 Kaioshin Sama February 12, 2009 at 9:23 am

    @Arios: Lol….here we go again. Actually, no, I am more than happy to address this even though you called me an idiot.

    Okay fine, you win, I really don’t know what they are on about half the time when they say these things because the definitions keep shifting with these “terms”. When “FFFFFFFFFFF” and “trainwreck” appear to be entirely context sensitive (no matter how much people try to tell me they aren’t….well they are) then it’s kind of hard to pin down what people mean unless you ask them and rarely do I get an answer when I do have the will to ask.

    I see “FFFFFFFFF” used in general RAEG posts more often now then I see it used as a reaction of surprise (Deathie actually uses it this way on occasion), just like I see trainwreck used far more as way to describe a series whose plot apparently went off track and ended up failing to resolve anything as I’ve seen it used to describe what it’s actually supposed to mean in, “Something so horrible or morbidly fascinating that is about to happen that you can’t help but look on in horror and amusement”. Yes I understand that is what it’s supposed to mean as metaphor, I’m not exactly an idiot like you seem to think I am, but it’s not exactly used that way anymore. Hell it’s not even spelled the way it’s supposed to be anymore, it’s supposed to be train wreck, not trainwreck as in all one word. Trainwreck and train wreck for all intents and purposes seem to be entirely seperate and distinct terms with their own revolving door definitions.

    So I really don’t understand why you are blaming me here. If you must play the blame game then why not blame the people that are sending mixed messages and using the terms wrong or in an ambiguous manner. I can’t exactly understand what some people are saying when they don’t appear to understand how they want to articulate their thoughts or even worse, don’t seem to understand what they are trying to say at all.

  14. 14 Kitsune February 12, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    haha Yes, substituting fear with rage works well 🙂

  15. 15 No Sushi February 13, 2009 at 2:29 am

    Might I respectfully suggest the RAEG HAET people to consult a guide to English usage before coming up with new norms that hurt others’ eyes?

    I’m sure we all want change, even in language, but the jump from “Holy shit, this is awesome!” to “FF…F!” is quite drastic. The process is just making English more ambiguous with every iterative use. I thought language was supposed to be a means to express oneself clearly and coherently? If certain people do not conform to this idea and decide to make ambiguous claims like “FF…F!” then they should not expect others to fully understand them. Extrapolating this to blogs, it is clear that bloggers who express themselves in such a manner is expecting too much from their readers. Even readers who conform to the same norms as the blogger (by which I mean they claim to understand and follow the RAEG HAET/FF…F rend) could only hope to guess at the blogger’s true intentions.

    What is the point, then, of making changes in the norms of English usage that would make it harder to understand?

    I’ve been reading Kaioshin’s past posts about other ‘evolutions’ of Internet terminology, and though I sometimes (very rarely) find that he had crossed the line with regards to having a civilized discussion, I still find his articles to be clear and coherent. I could follow his train of thoughts and understand his motivations on a level that I could never have achieved if he had employed RAEG HAET terminology to express his major ideas.

    In conclusion, I find Arios’ arguments lacking in conviction, true though they may be. I honestly do not expect Kaioshin to be able to understand what those bloggers really meant, since they seem to want to conceal their own sentiments behind walls of obstructive text with highly ambiguous meanings. If they really want to make themselves understood, they should try to express their arguments in more coherent form. Communication is a two-way process, and I believe RAEG HAETERS are failing to do their part in it.

  16. 16 ghostlightning February 13, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    LOL Bene Gesserit Litany!

  17. 17 Kaioshin Sama February 17, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Oh my god I can’t believe that little trick of mine with the bait and switch comment actually worked. You have been counter-trolled Good Haro! :p

    I love it when people are that bloody predictable…and not to mention that desperate as well to fall for almost anything just based off of somebody’s “reputation”. Good try though and wow if that wasn’t actually some decent trolling for a change even if it was just a hodgepodge of collected rantings and ravings. Lol…Saji XRoad as the main character. 😀 The Hilling obsession is creepy as hell, but that was too much.

  18. 18 FFUUUUUUUUUUU!!!! June 11, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    RAAAAEGGGG!!!!!!!!!

  19. 20 Online Casinos August 6, 2013 at 12:42 am

    I think that is among the such a lot vital
    info for me. And i’m happy reading your article. But wanna observation on some basic things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Excellent process, cheers


  1. 1 We Enjoy Our Perfect Service! How We Like Our Fanservice (Studios Take Note!) « We Remember Love Trackback on February 18, 2009 at 12:05 am
  2. 2 The Party of Awkward Hats is Diminished: I was drunk, but many interesting guests are leaving and it’s a sobering thought. « We Remember Love Trackback on February 24, 2009 at 12:06 am

Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Archives

Present


