Gundam 00: My 3 Humble Wishes For The Finale

It’s time for the final four Gundam 00 episodes as we make our way to the finale, and so far I like what I see as we make our way towards the finale which I’m assuming will take place around the location of Veda.  I really don’t have any strict expectations for what I like to see in the final four episodes other then it tie up as many loose ends as possible, but I do have three humble wishes for what I hope to see as well as what I hope not to see as far as a subplot and two classic Gundam finale cliches go.

Wish #1 Let The Louise Live:

snapshot20090302010642

This scene in the ending isn’t for nothing I should hope

Okay, so this subplot has been going for pretty much the entirety of the series if you want to count the early happy go lucky stuff with Saji x Louise, and right now Saji is potentially about to make his final attempt to bring back the girl she loves.  Except they’ve set things up for her in a manner quite similar to the classic female Gundam love interest who has happened to end up on the opposite side of things.  Mobile Armor? Check.  Going slightly batty?  Oh yes check.  A danger to herself and others?  Jury’s still out, but I’m tempted to say check.  Four Murasame, Rosamia Badam, Stellar Louiser, all have been love interests to Gundam leads (I’ll stop to note that Saji isn’t a lead, but bear with me hear) and all have died soon after getting a transformable mobile armor and going slightly batty.  However, few of them have ever had this level of intrigue centred around their pairing with another character, and that gives me slight hope.

Hope aside, I think it would also be far better for the overall story of Gundam 00 for Louise to survive and make it back to being with Saji then it would be for her to just tragically die for a number of reasons.  Those being:

a)  That it would buck the cliche of the female love interest dying on a main character after him already trying to get her to come over to him and then either accidentally killing or being forced to kill her to save himself and others.  I mean how many times has this been done already.  It goes back to the original Gundam of course, but it’s already been done even in this series with Anew Returner.  Here’s a chance for Gundam 00 to set itself apart from the trends of other Gundam series and I hope it takes it in this regard because….

b)  It would send a horrible message that all of Saji’s suffering, character growth and resolution with regard to trying to get Louise back would have been for nothing, and by extension that would be like sending the message that it wasn’t worth it for him to even decided to try with all of his will in the first place.  Finally

c)  There’s little to be gained by killing her off in front of Saji other then more angst, but there’s everything to be gained in the two being reunited, because face it, whether you like the two or not or think that Saji is a weiner and Louise is over domineering, they have chemistry and they are earning the right to be together.  Louise has had her justice in being able to avenge her parents, now it’s time for Saji to be able to have his justice in getting together with Louise again.  I can’t stress enough how firmly I believe that them reuniting will also provide exponentially better drama and a feeling of resolution to their story, whereas killing her would leave nothing but a hollow feeling and be like terminating their story in it’s tracks.  Also it will get the writers many a catcall of lazing out on finishing up their story in a full blown scene and instead coping out with a death to tie it up as quickly as  possible. 

Really though this shouldn’t be that hard to do so please make this happen Mizushima and Kuroda.

Wish #2  For The Love Of God Please Don’t Introduce A Pink Exia

exiatransam

This Is Exia Trans-Am.  It Is Simply A Power Up From The First Season And Now Exia Is Gone….Let’s Keep It That Way Please

Truthfully I don’t see much chance of this happening, but that’s mostly because there kind of already a pink Exia and it’s called Trans-Am Exia, but what I’m really getting at is that tendency of Sunrise as of late to bring back the previous incarnation of the major mecha in a pink form to give to a female pilot.  It happened in Seed, it happened in Code Geass R2 and I don’t want it to happen in any capacity here, because it lends validity to the idea that it’s all about model kits all the time to the staff involved in these series by showcasing a tendency to milk a popular old design by having it repackaged in a different colour.  Seriously, this doesn’t just go for Exia, I don’t want any previous incarnation of a Mobile Suit coming back in a pink colour just so say….Soma can have a Gundam to pilot in the final episode or something.  If this happens I will come to the mecha designers Ebikawa’s house and tear his wife in half…..or not, but I won’t be too impressed either.

Wish #3 Please Don’t Do The Whole Doom Fortress/Super Laser Cannon Thing Again For The Finale:

fod

I’ve taken down many a Fortress Of Doom in my time,  and seen many Fortress of Doom get taken down in my time, and I’m plum tired of it.  By the way if you know what game this picture is taken from then you need to get outside more

Again, I don’t see the Super Laser Cannon thing happening again in the finale as they’ve kind of already dealt with that in Memento Mori (and it was actually kind of a neat new take on the concept and I’d like to leave it that way), but the jury is still out on whether Ribbons has a doom fortress stashed somewhere.  Again, common cliche in high profile Sunrise series as it’s happened in Seed, Destiny and Code Geass R2 and I’d rather them buck this cliche with 00 and just have some battle over Veda’s location as opposed to Ribbons sitting pretty in some death fortress that has X superweapon to use against X target for X purpose and all of that jazz.  Ribbons, get the f*** out there and fight it out with some Mobile Suit in the finale please as I want to see what you’ve got.  Again I have some hopes for this in the fact that Ribbons was a Meister at one point……just please don’t do the death fortress thing.  Whatever your plan is I’m sure you can do it without having to resort to a cliche.

And that is all I ask as far as plot requests with regard to the final four episodes.  May the mystical genie of the Gundam 00 staff please grant this.

11 Responses to “Gundam 00: My 3 Humble Wishes For The Finale”


  1. 1 ghostlightning March 2, 2009 at 6:46 am

    Agreed. All of it. Saji x Louise is already tragedy enough, happy ending would be just great. If it works out that way, I’d be tempted to call her Quess Paraya done right.

  2. 2 mangaka-chan March 2, 2009 at 7:30 am

    Despite the pit falls and pacing issues this series has I still love it. But. If they kill off Louise and leave Saji to emo for life, then I think I might use the “t” word on this series.

  3. 3 Loligoth Powered March 2, 2009 at 11:52 am

    I propose that Saji dies but somehow manages to help Setsuna saving Louise. Louse then moves on and finds a new happy life.

    How’s that for a deconstruction?

  4. 4 Duo Maxwell March 2, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    I don’t know, I just believe that Louise will be saved, by Saji, for some reasons. As you said, there is no point in killing her as of now. The only one that I’m worrying about is Setsuna, seeing how he’s changing and will be the one who helps Saji saving Louise. Furthermore, with how they portrait Marina, it’s like saying he will die in the end, saving both Saji and Louise, leaving Marina behind to build the world without war.

    I must admit, I don’t quite understand your no.2 wish.

    “By the way if you know what game this picture is taken from then you need to get outside more”

    I guess I should stay inside more. What is it from?

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama March 2, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    @ghostlightning: Oh that’s right, I had forgotten about Quess. Though if their pairing gets a bad end I wonder if we’ll be seeing a Saji’s Flash part way down the line.

    @mangaka-chan: I haven’t really noticed any pacing issues. In fact just this episode I was noting how the show has kept a pretty steady pace throughout it’s run. Mecha-wise pace that is.

    @Loligoth Powered: That could work. I’m sure it would make more then a number of people who are just out for the blood of certain characters happy in the process too.

    @Duo Maxwell: It’s more a pet peeve that arose from the sudden introduction of a pink Lancelot in late series Code Geass with no explanation as to where it came from (It finally got one in a tech specs book later on though)and for no other reason but for C.C having something recognizable to pilot during the last fight. For the first time I was forced to agree with other people that sometimes the staff at Bandai get far too carried away with repackaging older and popular mecha designs with new colours in order to maximize profit regardless of whether it makes much sense for these things to exist in the series or not. As others pointed out, pink was never even a colour that was associated with C.C prior to this, they clearly just chose it because of the trend started with Strike Rouge if nothing else. I’d rather see that trend halted.

    Basically though I’d rather just see Exia left to rest in peace without being relegated to a hand me down status like other first tier Gundam’s are in the AU series. Especially since it’s been so clearly destroyed. It’s never going to get cooler then Exia Repair was at the beginning of the season was anyway.

  6. 6 Turambar March 3, 2009 at 6:10 am

    I’ll agree to 1 and 3 a hundred percent. Though with the revelation that Ribbons can control other innovators (or perhaps pseudo innovators?), I’m not too optimistic for a happy Saji x Louis end. Well, perhaps Setsuna will have a duel of minds with Ribbons in the end, who knows.

    As for number two, with Graham’s Susan-o, I think that hope might be a bit futile😄.

  7. 7 sadakups March 3, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    If anything, I really do agree with the first one. The Saji X Louise pairing should get a good end. True that if one of them dies (although more of Louise), it kinda defeats the build-up the writers made. So much for Saji’s struggle to win his girl back if she dies, and all the scenes that featured them in Season 2 will be for naught.

    As for the third one, I’ll really expect Ribbons to come out with a MS, be it a Gundam or not (but I doubt it’s going to be a pink variation of the Exia… :P) and duke it out with Setsuna and the 00 Gundam.

    Now, it’s amazing that you never mentioned something about Marina. Haha.😛

  8. 8 Turambar March 4, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Oh, btw, is the the Fortress of Doom from Lufia: Fortress of Doom?

  9. 9 Turambar March 4, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Wait, scratch that. It’s the Fortress of Doom on the world map in Lufia 2.

  10. 10 gerrymon March 10, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Fortress of Doom Eh~ That would be Veda’s Role isn’t? The Digital (Information) Fortress of Doom or Virtual Fortress of Doom?
    😄 Pink Exia wkkakaka that would be a sight~ Thank God they dont paint Louise Mobile Armor Pink~ Lets kept it for the old Tieren Taozi~ and I really doubt they’ll have the chance to re-paint Gundam 0😄

    Letting Louise live~ considering the development, the chance really goes down but I’m hoping the same~

  11. 11 Kaioshin Sama March 16, 2009 at 1:29 am

    Alright so recoloured 0 Gundam and a Super Laser in episode 23. All that’s left for them is to kill off Louise and I’ll almost be certain that I have a reverse psychology like effect on the Gundam 00 staff.😦


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Present


