Seiyuu Awards Update

I just found out from a post on Animesuki what performance each person supposedly won their respective awards for:

Lead Character Performance
Male – Kamiya Hiroshi (Natsume Yuujincho)
Female – Kugimiya Rie (Toradora, Nabari no Ou)

Supporting Character Performance
Male (1 of 2) – Inoue Kazuhiko (Natsume Yuujincho)
Male (2 of 2) – Sugita Tomokazu (Macross F, Hakushaku to Yousei)
Female (1 of 2) – Endo Aya (Macross F, Neo Angelique Abyss, Sekirei)
Female (2 of 2) – Sawashiro Miyuki (Library Wars, Kannagi, Persona Trinity Soul, Linebarrels of Iron)

Rookie Award
Male (1 of 2) – Okamoto Nobuhiko (Persona Trinity Soul, Kurenai, To Aru Majutsu no Index)
Male (2 of 2) – Kaji Yuuki (Yozakura Quartet, Kuroshitsuji)
Female (1 of 2) – Asumi Kana (Hidamari Sketch x365, Kyou no 5 no 2)
Female (2 of 2) – Tomatsu Haruka (Zettai Karen Children, Kannagi, To LOVEru)

Song/Vocalist Award
Unisex (1 of 1) – Nakajima Megumi (Macross F)

Web Radio Personality Award
Unisex (1 of 1) – Kamiya Hiroshi (Kamiya Hiroshi and Ono Daisuke’s DearGirl~Stories~, Macross F, Sayonara Zetsubou Broadcast)

Meritorious Service Award
Unisex (1 of 1) – Mutou Reiko (Sound of Music, Fushigi na Merumo, Mumin) passed away in 2006

Service Award
Unisex (1 of 3) – Utsumi Kenji (Hokuto no Ken, Dr. Slump Ararechan)
Unisex (2 of 3) – Nagai Ichiro (Sazae-san, Kidou Senshi Gundam, Uchuusenkan Yamato)
Unisex (3 of 3) – Tomita Kousei (Heisei Tensai Bakabon, Jungle Taitei)

Synergy Award (Tetsuwan Atom)
Unisex (group of 3) – Shimizu Mari, Katsuta Hisashi, Mizukaki Youko

Tomiyama Kei Award
Unisex (1 of 1) – Yamadera Kouichi (Ohasuta!, Soreike Anpanman)

Overseas Award
Unisex (1 of 1) – Fukuyama Jun (Code Geass)

Thanks to Mandarb916

Will comment later on tonight, but I have to say that a lot of them are of the “Say whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?” variety.  And yeah that’s right Kamiya Hiroshi was the actual winner for radio personality and Jun Fukuyama for overseas (thank christ it’s not Aya Hirano) so there’s that mystery solved.  Again more to come.

Update:  Okay all I really wanted to touch upon were the two wins for Macross F in the supporting cast categories.  First of all, no, Sheryl Nome was not a supporting cast member and by god with how rabid her fans are I wouldn’t be surprised if there was some serious griping going on at 2ch and various places around the western anime community that are aware of this.  It’s just as bad as Rie Kugimiya’s “supporting” win for Nagi last year.

And then there’s Sugita Tomokazu for Leon Mishima.  Leon as a character to me was just a guy that popped up every now and then to act sinister and to exude an aura of distrust and I’d honestly barely call him a supporting character.  He was more like a tertiary character until the final arc of the series.  Honestly if that’s all it took for Sugita Tomokazu to win the award then they might as well have given it to Norio Wakamoto for Charles Di Brittania or something.  Same deal, character pops up, exudes menace and acts sinster with his master plan eventually does something big, but ultimately is a surprisingly small player in the series final events.  To me Leon just wasn’t enough to put him ahead of other supporting male reasons this season.  Not even close.


1 Response to “Seiyuu Awards Update”

  1. 1 gerrymon March 10, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Personally I like Sugita Tomokazu Voice (esp Kyon) but in this case I have to agree with you~

    Hmm~ Yeah to bad for May’n ~ I like her version of Aimo too~ her voice is really Hot~

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

March 2009
« Feb   Apr »




%d bloggers like this: