More Gundam 0081 News At Last

Guess what, Gundam 0081 is apparently a PS3 game.  Yep, it looks like those scans showing a post OYW scenario that most people assumed were for a new TV series to celebrate the franchise’s 30th anniversary were actually promotional art for a game called Mobile Suit Gundam Battlefield Record U.C 0081.  In a way this kind of makes sense to me since usually the RX-78 variants feature most prominetly in games such as with the RX-78-4 and RX-78-5 in the Thoroughbred scenario for Mobile Suit Gundam: Encounters in Space and the RX-78-6 Mudrock Gundam in Lost War Chronicles, both for the PS2.  Seeing as how this game appears to be the successor to Lost War Chronicles it only makes sense that the RX-78-7 would be the next suit in line to feature in a Gundam action game.  Well anyway here are the relevant Famitsu Scans:

fam1

Some info on the plot as well as what appears to be a mention of backwards compatability with Lost War Chronicles

vl2_110963

Character bios and some spoilers on the first few missions in the game

vl2_110964

Some specs for the Gundam Unit 07 as well as mention of an online mode.

And so the wait for any official news on a new Gundam TV Series or OVA continues, (though with Bandai President Kazunori Ueno stating that “there are no plans to broadcast another Gundam television series in 2009.” it seems like the latter is the only remaining bet and a slim one at that) and all I can say for this game is that I damn well hope for the sake of Gundam fans everywhere that it’s better than Crossfire because wow did that game suck……

16 Responses to “More Gundam 0081 News At Last”


  1. 1 ghostlightning March 17, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    ARRRRGGGGGGHHHHHHH!!!

    The pain! Oh well, I’m only complaining because I’m not a gamer anymore and this isn’t meant for me.

    ;_;

  2. 2 Duo Maxwell March 17, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    I’m hoping for it’s on Lost War Chronicle level. God, I love that game.

  3. 3 Zack March 17, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Well… that’s an interesting turn of events! I’ll be looking forward to this.

    You didn’t enjoy Crossfire? I enjoyed it solely because of the fact at the start of one of my missions my arm was blown off and I managed to beat the mission just by kicking enemies. It was so amusing I completely forgot about everything else. Otherwise it was a less than… well it was pretty bad.

  4. 4 Kurotsuki March 17, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    you betrayed me bandai , you betrayed me when I place my trust in you.
    Oh well , here’s to hoping to get a localized release like the Musou series ~

  5. 5 LBrevis March 18, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    OH HELL NO. Argh, I was really looking forward to this.

  6. 6 Random Otaku March 18, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Did Bandai just troll us? ;.;

    I was planning on getting a PS3 anyways in a month or two… now I just have to learn moonspeak!

  7. 7 Kaioshin Sama March 18, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Bandai never really said anything either way about what the promo art was for so I wouldn’t call it a troll.

  8. 8 sadakups March 18, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    It’s still a disappointment no matter how I look at it.

  9. 9 czlapaj March 20, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Looks good. I loved LWC too.it was a great game..nice stages, really felt like piloting a big MS. The snow stage and the city stage were my favourites 🙂

  10. 10 Random Otaku March 21, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Say, do you mind if I use the scans for a post in my blog? I’ll move it to my host and everything of course.

  11. 11 Kaioshin Sama March 21, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    No that’s fine. They aren’t the property of anyone other than Famitsu anyway and judging by how frequently their magazines end up getting scanned and put on the internet they don’t seem to care either.

  12. 12 Angered Giren March 26, 2009 at 6:05 am

    Wow, this is just wow.

    Good job Bandai, make another AWFUL Gundam game. Don’t create a of series of a timeline many love, that would be too much work. And you already know that everyone will buy your games (in Japan that is) no matter how bad they are. Go ahead and rely on quanity, and never think about something like “quality”.

  13. 13 czlapaj March 28, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Well.. a new series would be great, but if this game is like LWC (plus a lot of animated cutscenes) then im going to get it 🙂

  14. 14 gribb85 April 14, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    I’m more looking forward to playing Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2 than this. to be perfectly honest.

  15. 15 sigh September 25, 2009 at 1:28 am

    I have this game and it sucks. Too much emphasis on farming and upgrades. You don’t feel the MS anymore. Just farm all the way. Piloting skills got thrown out of the windows.

  16. 16 xtreme1020 June 28, 2011 at 3:24 am

    It’s still a disappointment!


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Present


