Well I Must Say Toei, You’ve Been Getting My Attention Again Recently

Not just in the fact that I’ve been been killing time watching old Hokuto No Ken and One Piece episodes while off sick from work, but also because of this:

Loli And Super Robots In One?!!!  That’s Just Fucking Cheating

Yeah it seems like Nanoha is going to have to move over (sorry Deathie) because this looks to be the one true genuine realization of a mecha show masquerading as a magical girl series.  I’m in before it’s even out.

One thing that amuses me nonetheless is how it seems like Toei deliberately chose the poster boys for my World’s Ugliest Super Robots Album to use as the poster girls for this concept.  Seriously has anyone ever actually seen the original Gackeen (Middle), Baratack (Top) and Gaiking (Bottom)?  Keep in mind that once you’ve clicked you can’t unsee them.

Well anyway, I guess Toei really wanted to reintroduce their old robot shows to a new generation but couldn’t find a way to make them marketable (read: appealing) without some beautification in the form of lolification.  Wonder how they’re going to do face open though.  Also holding out for news on a Mazinger Z and Getter girl.

6 Responses to “Well I Must Say Toei, You’ve Been Getting My Attention Again Recently”


  1. 1 black87 March 19, 2009 at 8:34 am

    *nosebleed*

    On my watchlist now.

  2. 2 Owen S March 19, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Amazing. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, it definitely looks like my kind of thing.

  3. 3 TheBigN March 19, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Definitely will be trying to check this thing out as well. More mecha musume than most stuff of that ‘genre’.😛

  4. 4 Myssa Rei March 19, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Hey, the original Gaiking wasn’t THAT goofy for a 70’s SR show, and its remake was pretty cool. Wished they had done more to tie the two together though.

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama March 19, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Wow that’s a surprisingly large number of interested parties right off the bat. You’re all welcome. Apparently there’s more Strike Witches pending too so 2009 is looking to be a big year for Mecha Musume.

    And yeah Gaiking has slowly made it’s way down my list of ugly super robots over time, but man that Face Open attack still gets me. Sometimes I find myself wondering how it’s the hero mecha because it looks like a more detailed machine beast.

  6. 6 Myssa Rei March 20, 2009 at 3:59 am

    Well, I think Gaiking’s far from the worse offender in terms of aesthetics with the faceplate still on…


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Present


