Random Musing Of The Day (Formula For Enjoyment Of Currently Running Anime On The Community Level)

Kaioshin’s Anime Enjoyment Index = (Ability to suspend disbelief  as a described by a number between 1 and 10 at the lowest and highest end of the scale respectively) + (Anime’s ability to entertain me as described by a number between 1 and 10 at the lowest and highest end of the scale respectively) + (Anime’s ability to tell a good story, have good music, good animation, good voice acting and intriguing well executed themes described as a number between 1 and 10 at the lowest and highest end of the scale respectively x 1.5) – (Time spent discussing said anime on forums in minutes per week where the discussion is informative and fun – when it is irritating) – (Time spent reading about said anime on blogs where the post is a purely bashing one with no room for meaningful commentary as expressed by a factor of time in minutes per week x 5) 

If the index number is at or higher then 10 I am generally enjoying said anime on some level.  If it’s higher then 25 I am really enjoying it on a multitude of levels.  If it’s lower then 10 but higher then five I am feeling wishy washy towards it, but if it’s lower then 0 then I’m not enjoying it at all.

Example 1 Sora Wo Kakeru Shoujo:

(5) + (10) + (6) – (-3) – (5) = 19

I am enjoying Sora Wo Kakeru Shoujo.

Example 2 Gundam 00 Second season:

(6) + (9) + (12) – (7) – (10) = 10

Just barely enjoying  Gundam 00 Second season at the moment.  Would be enjoying it immensely if the discussion were better.

Example 3 Munto TV:

(4) + (1.5) + (6) – (1) – (1) = 9.5

Not really enjoying Munto TV at all.  Considering not bothering with watching the last few episodes subbed.

Example 4 Rideback:

(7) + (4) + (10.5) – (-5) – (0) = 26.5

I am really enjoying Rideback.

Example 5 Tytania:

(9) + (7) + (9.75) – (-1) – (5) =

I am mostly still enjoying Tytania, but the experience could be even better.

Example 6 Clannad After Story:

(6.5)  + (5) +(11.5) – (3) – (10) = 10

Just barely enjoying Clannad Afterstory as it came to a close.

Conclusion:  As it was last year, by default the less time I spend reading about anime on blogs that are hyper critical and trolling of everything and the better the quality of discussion in the forums I frequent, the more enjoyable it is likely to be for me in the long run.  Generally unless I am enjoying an anime on some level I am not really watching it (though there is one scenario that provides an exception to this which I will mention in a moment) and to me good, reasonable and fair discussion is integral to the enjoyment of anime on the community level (as in with other people) and when quality discussion fails to arise my enjoyment of  anime I would otherwise be enjoying immensely falters to varying degrees.  However, on the rare occassion that an anime quickly falls out of favour with me, it can still be made enjoyable by having the chance to MST3K it with members of the community in a way that makes all laugh as opposed to RAEG and is pointed rather than purely mean spirited.  If it’s just mindless RAEG then it doesn’t work as part of the MST3K experience.  Some recent examples of the MST3K experience include Dragonaut, Kurogane No Linebarrels and Munto TV.

Last season a friend of mine suggested reading less blogs and visiting less forums as a way to get more enjoyment out of anime while still balancing having fun discussing it on a community level  (from time to time).  This is exactly what I have been doing this past season and I have to say it’s worked in making this anime season a lot more enjoyable.  That’s part of the reason why I haven’t been blogging as much by the way and why I chose not to blog Gundam 00 on an episodic basis. 

However I can’t help but wonder if there is still room for cutting my visits to the blogosphere and anime forums shorter if I want to avoid frustration when it comes to discussing certain anime.  God knows even now I still spend WAY to much of my spare time lurking in forums  arguing with people and reading troll heavy blogs that feature more complaining and belittlement then they do  any sort of appreciation of anime instead of enjoying myself checking out more anime I could be using that time to watch, so I’m almost certain the answer is a resounding yes.  Just in general that’s no way to have fun or feel anything but ambivelance towards some of the anime I am watching (Though I suppose for some of the embittered amongst the anime community it might be the only way for them to get enjoyment out of anime, and truthfully I like a good argument once in a while as long as it doesn’t get purely retarded and full of mindless bias and bashing) as I see it divide people worse then a bill before the U.S Senate rather then unite them in a common appreciation of it.  Especially the Sunrise and Kyoani series.  Oh the Sunrise and Kyoani series, if ever there was anything everybody could actually agree on when it comes to them it’s how they divide the community with a vengeance just by being behind a production.   

Well….needless to say what I have learned from my experiment this season will almost certainly be put to use next season.

3 Responses to “Random Musing Of The Day (Formula For Enjoyment Of Currently Running Anime On The Community Level)”


  1. 1 ghostlightning March 28, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I like how you distinguished enjoyment from ‘good,’ and how it’s clear that discussion of the subject anime on the community level is important to the enjoyment you have for it.

    It’s a matter of finding a community that suits your needs I suppose.

  2. 2 Q April 2, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    What would MS IGLOO 2 get for you?😮

  3. 3 Matt-Alfonso July 29, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Sometimes it’s really that simple, isn’t it? I feel a little stupid for not thinking of this myself/earlier, though.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Present


