Random Musing Of The Day (On “Plot Holes”)

plot_hole

If this or that anime is so full of huge glaring plot holes, how come nobody can ever manage to point a legitimate and undisputable one out to me? :/

Or is it just that the defintion of the term plot hole has seen some degradation over the years?  I’m not entirely certain yet, but I think plot hole has become one of those “I can’t define it, but I know it when I see it” affairs.

13 Responses to “Random Musing Of The Day (On “Plot Holes”)”


  1. 1 Ririko March 30, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    I completely agree, especially since it’s common for people to use ‘plot hole’ to describe story developments that fail to suspend one’s sense of disbelief, are “cheap shots,” or are just too convenient. Thus we get those idiots who wail on about Setsuna’s conflict resolving particles a ‘plot hole’ when it’s only remotely close to a deus ex machina (albeit one that fits the central theme of 00 very, very well.)

  2. 2 Myssa Rei March 31, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Well, I’d define a plot hole as an aspect of a series that doesn’t quite fit with how the show has presented itself so far, and is not covered in supplemental material. I think this is more prevalent with show that is anime-first, as there is little reference for the viewer to fall back to; something that MAY be actually well-thought of, explainable, and really enmeshed in the backstory of a show to the producers or writers might look like WTF material to watchers.

    It’s like having a character being pierced AND decapitated in one episode, then having the same character appear alive and unharmed the next. It would be a plot hole if there had been no information given beforehand that the said character was CAPABLE of surviving such injuries (like functional immortality); it would NOT be a plot hole if the character had immortality to begin with, BUT the director never had this implicitly stated beforehand, which makes it just a directing goof.

  3. 3 Epi March 31, 2009 at 1:56 am

    Sometimes it’s just too hard to distinguish between plot hole and crappy writing. To have a proper plot hole, you need an organized plot that takes itself seriously enough that you can say ‘wait second, why didn’t the guy just do that cause that would have been more logical?’. The problem with anime is that, there are so many situations like that, that instead of being actual holes in the plot, it’s just the writing seriously sucks, so you should just discount those plot holes and go on with the show.

    It’s like picking on why do sci-fi shows always have sound in space, when we know there’s no sound in space.

  4. 4 Sorrow-kun March 31, 2009 at 2:06 am

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plot_hole

    It’s basically an inconsistency in the plot. Pretty clear, I would have thought.

  5. 5 Unentschieden March 31, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Well anime “covers” Plotholes with suspension of disbelief. I still don´t know how the Gundamverse completely replaced all Military Vehicles with Humanoid contraptions ESPECIALLY in Space, well except carriers…
    And what about the childrens sond which somehow managed to be heard by everyone? That one doesn´t even get telephatyparticle handwawing.

    Basically you can´t have inconsistencys in the Plot if the Plot surreal in the first place – anything can make “sense” in that case.

  6. 6 Kaioshin Sama March 31, 2009 at 8:45 am

    @Ririko: I have yet to hear of Trans-Am Burst being described as a plot hole, but if you have seen it used in such a way somewhere then I would encourage you to share the link as I would like to read about this.

    @Myssa Rei: Sounds similiar to how I would definie a plot hole plus example. Very nice…..

    @Epi: If I recall, from what I heard sound in space started with Star Trek TOS. When put before test audiences TOS didn’t have any sound in space, but the test audiences felt it didn’t work so they added sound and thus future Sci-Fi series would follow it’s example and success. I might need confirmation on this though as it’s just something I recall being stated on a Sci-Fi Channel interview.

    @Sorrow-K: Lol…I know the wiki definition of course and agree that is pretty clear, I am just ponderingly lately whether all people actualy agree upon or follow said definition.

    @Unentschieden: I am not quite sure that I follow beyond your first couple sentences. Can you clarify your point?

  7. 7 Patz March 31, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I gotta say I am right with you. I always hear people saying shit about shows having plot holes but I never get examples. Just talking about the end of 00 with people they keep telling me that the end was so full of plot holes but nobody says what they are. It drives me nuts. It is like people just use the word as a way to put a show down. Plot Hole=Bad so if you want to say a show is bad just say it had a ton of plot holes never mind backing it up though.

  8. 8 Turambar March 31, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    The only “plot-hole” that I can think of was Patrick’s miraculous recovery. However given the comedic nature of his character and the fact that his “immortality” had become a running joke in the show, I’m surprised people didn’t expect him to live until the end.

  9. 9 Unentschieden March 31, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    What Turambar said basically. Patrick´s return would have been a Plot hole in any other show. Gundam00 doesn´t really have Plotholes since the Plot is build in a way that they seem natural.

  10. 10 Kaioshin Sama March 31, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    @Patz: Well I’ve been waiting on some examples for anime that finished a while ago that people will tell me are full of plot holes. I’m almost thinking they just expect me to take their word on it and go with it for the sake of their opinion (another minor problem I have with some anime bloggers style), but in my eyes that’s just not good enough.

    @Turambar/Unentschieden: Yeah Paddy’s survival is more an aspect of his character than anything else if we talk about Gundam 00. He can’t actually die.

  11. 11 omisyth March 31, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I thought a plot hole was something that takes place later in a series that contradicts previously established events/facts i nthe series.

  12. 12 Epi April 3, 2009 at 12:45 am

    Ranma 1/2 season 5, episode 18. Ranma is introduced as ‘Saotome Ranma’ when in episode 17 (this was a 2-parter) he was pretending to be Tendo Ranma, and no one seemed to notice. Since this was actually a pretty important plot element it was a plot hole. But considering it’s Ranma, it probably was just lax writing more than anything else.

    Anyway, pretty random example, but I am slowly watching Ranma 1/2 and I just saw this ep the other day.

  13. 13 Kaioshin Sama April 3, 2009 at 6:33 am

    @Epi: See that’s a pretty good example in my opinion.

    Anyway Ranma 1/2 is a classic. Man I miss Kappei Yamaguchi….. 😦


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Present


