Random Musing Of The Day (Some Light Philosophy On Anime Forums)

To me mass complaining and rabid worship are two sides of the same anime fandom coin, and both show a discussional value of zero on their face. It’s all about balance and the rare chance that you can get that coin to lend end up. That is forum discussion nirvana in my opinion.

8 Responses to “Random Musing Of The Day (Some Light Philosophy On Anime Forums)”


  1. 1 The Animanachronism April 3, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Mass complaining and rabid worship tend to reinforce each other, too.

  2. 2 T_I April 4, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Hmm.. To be frank, I think there is a problem

    I think you take forums discussions too personally. So much that it considerably influences your enjoyment over a show.

    Forums discussion really shouldn’t be a significant part of your enjoyment formula. I think you should like be able to like a show even if you were the only person on the planet watching it.

    It’s also impossible to expect constant serious intellectual thesis type discussions because well, it’s an anime forum for crying out loud! Sometimes we want to make crude jokes

    And remember, if you take things so personally, sometimes you might overreact to a post that had no trolling intentions to begin with.

    I’ve seen people destroy themselves this way

    chill, man.

  3. 3 sadakups April 4, 2009 at 3:56 am

    Seconded. I used to think that discussing shows on forums was fun until I realized that not all people agree with what I think.

    And then I recall my anime viewing years ago where it was just me and the anime, no influence from other people whatsoever, and even the supposed crappiest of titles turned out to be my favorites in the end.

  4. 4 Anonymous April 4, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Complex ideas on an anime forum; a square peg in a round hole.

  5. 5 Darklord April 4, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    “I am right, you are wrong! You don’t agree? F*CK OFF!”

    This basically sums up the attitude you need to have on anime forums nowadays. If you are looking for an intellectual discussion, go to your friends. You need to have a certain “I don’t care what other people think” disposition in order to fully enjoy forum discussions. It’s a character trait that not everyone has. If you get too emotionally involved, you better stay away from forum discussions – it’s for your own good.

  6. 6 animekritik April 7, 2009 at 4:00 am

    I like to go to forums for 1) fact/news checking; 2) image acquisition. I don’t tend to have much in the way of actual discussions because most forumgoers seem to be 10 + years younger than me..

  7. 7 CCCP April 15, 2009 at 3:49 am

    Maybe this was because it was a chat box, but I was on a forum (don’t remember which), where everyone was pretty civil, and they all gave reasons why they did or didn’t like a show.

  8. 8 Vilmimmigma April 24, 2009 at 8:16 am

    I’m the only one in this world. Can please someone join me in this life? Or maybe death…


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Present


