Upon Further Review And With Much Request

It has been asked of me multiple times that I do a final analysis of Gundam 00 Second Season, and previously I have denied this request and said that there was not going to be a final review from me.  However, after reading some of the reviews out there (specifically this) and feeling myself that the current fair as far as final Gundam 00 impressions and reviews go is lacking and doesn’t really attempt to scratch the surface of the show, I have decided to bite the bullet and do a full write up and final analysis of Gundam 00 Second Season.  Please stay tuned as this is going to take some time.

8 Responses to “Upon Further Review And With Much Request”


  1. 1 sadakups April 6, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Glad to hear that you’re going to do a full review for Gundam 00, KS.

    Now, I won’t argue much with Nihon Review’s review of the second season as I agree with some of their points (specifically the characters), but I want to hear yours.

  2. 2 Rei April 6, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Gundam 00 is rated 5 out of ten at the Nihon Review, a rating shared by the likes of Gift ~Eternal Rainbow~, Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka, and Umisho. Incidentally, they gave Zero no Tsukaima a 7.

  3. 3 Kaioshin Sama April 6, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    @sadakups: Some of the characters are better than others, but some definitely didn’t work well at all. I’ll try to touch upon this.

    @Rei: Different reviewers, different preferences, different rating scales. I know from reading the forums there and at Mecha Talk that Kavik Ryx disagrees with Shadowmage’s (who clearly doesn’t like AU Gundam at all) views on the show. I’m kind of hoping to see a second opinion on his behalf, but somehow I doubt it’s going to happen.

  4. 4 sadakups April 7, 2009 at 4:01 am

    It’s obvious that Shadowmage is one of them UC people. I’m not saying that his bias was a factor in the score he gave, but as I said, I have to agree with most of his points made in that review. Either that or he was expecting much from the second season that he was disappointed as some parts.

    I mean, Chris of MAHQ is the same, and he has probably seen the same number of UC titles, and yet he gave Gundam 00’s final episode a 5/5, and his average for the whole series is around 4/5 (just an estimate).

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama April 7, 2009 at 5:06 am

    @sadakups: I’m not disputing the points he made in his review either, but I think that they all run much deeper than one is able to fully appreciate and evaluate in a 4 paragraph review format. The thing I’ve noticed from a lot of reviews and not just his though is that there isn’t enough in the actual writing to make me go “yes, I can totally understand how this person reached their final score”. They don’t really talk enough about what makes Gundam 00 Gundam 00 and what is good or bad about it in it’s essence, though I am pretty sure that is not their goal. That is however my goal and also why I want to try and do something a little more in depth to give a general idea of how I reached my final position on the show.

    As for Chris and Kavik, if their ratings are a little bit more around a 4/5 (8/10) then that’s pretty much where I sit too. It could take at least a week for me to finally get my analysis out, but I’ll just say that to give a general idea of what to expect.

  6. 6 CCCP April 11, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Yay! I look forward to reading your review!

  7. 7 00 Raiser April 22, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Go go Kaioshin-sama!! ^^

  8. 8 Kaioshin Sama April 22, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Just in case people are wondering this is still a work in progress. I’m just about done the character section and then I’ll be moving on to plot and very briefly animation and mecha. With any luck I’ll have this done before the month is over.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Present


