Early Aprehensions About The New Star Trek Movie

I keep telling myself “it’s a reboot”.  Then I look at the screen and the setting looks unfamiliar to me as an 15 year Star Trek fan.  I keep telling myself “it’s a reboot”.  I look at the apparent villain and wonder what race he’s supposed to be.  I tell myself “it’s a reboot, it can be whatever race they want it to be”.  I look at all the fancy action and look back on DS9 which had it’s action sequences, but always put the emphasis on character dialogue, race to race diplomacy, and solid morality lessons that not only developed character, but built it in the process and I wonder, “What does this have to do with the Star Trek I know and love and how could there possibly be room for character development and intrigue in this Summer Blockbuster looking thing”.  It’s a reboot…..but does that necessarily mean it will earn the right to call itself “Star Trek”?  I guess I’ll have to wait and see.  For now I’ll say that while I am excited as hell at the first piece of Star Trek media in over four years (longer then it took between Gundam Seed Destiny and Gundam 00), I can’t help but also feel worried as hell should it prove a success but not carry with it the legacy of my favourite Western Sci-Fi Metaseries or even worse should it bomb and kill the whole damn franchise forever.  Nothing’s changed in 4 years…..the future of the franchise is still as uncertain to me now as it was when Enterprise got cancelled.  Oh well…at least I can say I have my faith in the Gundam franchise back now should Star Trek blow it on me.

5 Responses to “Early Aprehensions About The New Star Trek Movie”


  1. 1 justin43 May 2, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    I have my worries by this movie. Just as you say, if this movie succeeds, there will be new interest in the Star trek genre. If it fails, it could kill this genre.

  2. 2 CCCP May 9, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    I’m seeing it today. I’ll let you know how it turns out when I get back. (I’m in America. I dunno if that has any impact on release dates for this move or not.)

  3. 3 CCCP May 10, 2009 at 6:26 am

    Well, I saw it, and thought it was awesome. The special effects were good, but they didn’t ruin the rest of the movie; the plot definitely felt like theStar Trek we all know, and so did the well-acted characters. WEird thing is, wihout giving spoilers, lets just say there’s some stuff that happens in this prequel movie that we know doesn’t happen in the canon Star Trek universe we know; I suspect temporal/alternate reality stuff in the sequel will address these probably-temporary inconsistancies. Overall, great movie, totally worth the cost of tickets and popcorn, IMO.

  4. 4 Kurotsuki May 12, 2009 at 7:00 am

    So , have you seen it yet ?
    Did it meet up your expectations ?

  5. 5 CCCP May 13, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Kurotsuki: Yeah, I saw it. (assuming you’re talking to me and not Kaioshin Sama) It did indeed live up to my expectations for it. Kirk and Spock were both well-casted, IMO.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Present


