The Top 5 Zany RAEGING Internet Reactions To Endless Eight Iteration #3 And My Thoughts About Them (Now With More Novel Spoilers)

sigh

The Sighs of Kaioshin Sama

This past week has been quiet interesting when it comes to Haruhi and some of the raging, defensive and just plain bizarre reactions to Haruhi Second Season’s fourth episode (the one that many feel is one repeat too long) that I’ve seen, and I’ve found that a lot of them keep repeating and getting recycled as well, as if to try and match the nature of the arc itself.  Obviously being the fandom watcher that I am I’ve come to feel that there’s enough material here to warrant an article.  And so here we begin with:

#5  Kyoani is trying to make the viewer feel like the characters (Yuki) feel

How can one be so sure I wonder?  People interpret things in different ways, but I’m pretty sure Kyon feels desperate as opposed to outraged (fan reaction) at the idea of an endless summer and I’m not entirely sure if Yuki feels much of anything at all other than perhaps pity if she’s capable of it.  Outrage doesn’t come to mind as something that I would imagine the author intended to make readers feel in relation to these events or when reading the original novels, and I doubt it’s what Kyoani intended either.

#4  If this keeps repeating I’m going to consider dropping the show

Haha, strikes me as an empty threat.  So many people have waited to long on a new season to give up less than halfway through because of a stubborn drawn out arc.  Then again stranger things have happened and I’ve seen people drop a show after less, but still……

#3 Higurashi and Star Trek had repeating arcs/episode segments and weren’t this criticized for it

I don’t think the issue is that of repeat so much as what many consider a rehash.  Essentially it’s that little progress made tends to make people think of an episode as wasted.  Higurashi accomplished something new in the narrative with each iteration, and so did the Star Trek episode Cause and Effect.  Haruhi on the other hand…..I’ll just say it’s debatable.

#2  The DVD sales are the only true measure of whether this episode was a success/good or not

Really….people have gone down this road now.  I don’t know but this REALLY seems like it’s reaching for a justification when the best option I can think of lies in examining ones own personal values.  DVD sales do not necessarily equate with critical acclaim and overall quality (Some shows no matter how critically acclaimed they are will never sell more DVDs then an Isshoni Training), they primarily equate more with popularity and desirability of the product, just like any other consumer item.  This statement also shirks the issue and puts the show on a level of materialistic value rather then personal value and what an episode or show means to one as a viewer.  It’s like disavowing any real appreciation one has for the show and looking for the nearest exit.  Very silly.

And…….

#1  Only Kyoani could get away with this

*Looks up and around the internet*  Ummmmm……it doesn’t look like they are getting away with much of anything from what I can see.  People are RAEGING left and right, showing their distaste for this episode and generally making a big stink about it.  By far this popular comment has given me the most consistent WTF reaction to discussion about this episode.  It just borders on flat out denial as to how controversial this episode has been for the Haruhi fandom.

21 Responses to “The Top 5 Zany RAEGING Internet Reactions To Endless Eight Iteration #3 And My Thoughts About Them (Now With More Novel Spoilers)”


  1. 1 sadakups July 7, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    I’ve been saying this, but this new season of Haruhi is one huge cocktease. If anything, this repeating gimmick is the best example. Heck, it will be the most hilarious thing ever if this repeat goes on until the end of summer, if there’s an end to it.😛

    Eat that, Harutards!

  2. 2 Kaioshin Sama July 8, 2009 at 1:17 am

    @sadakups: It’s been a huge cocktease since the very inception of the marketing campaign, which I’m sure hasn’t helped the situation a lot. The shows been massively hyped, expectations are probably a lot higher then they should be, and people expect new content after waiting for 3 years. I’m sure the die hards have spent enough time rewatching new episodes. It’s not a good situation.

    I suppose some people are probably wondering what I have to say about all of this as opposed to just my reaction. Well, I’ve always found Haruhi to be quite gimmicky and if there’s anything Kyoani seems to know about lately it’s gimmicky and repetitive content. The fact that people are surprised at all is amusing in and of it’s self and while some call it trolling, I call it Kyoani once again showcasing how horrendously uncreative they are when it comes to ideas for straying from source material.

    Filling the gaps with moe antics or wasting time in an obvious fashion, that’s generally their solution to everything and I still can’t believe it hasn’t been controversial up until recently. Even Lucky Star poked fun at it with Konata’s commentary about the “Some Day In The Rain Episode” where there was a still image of Yuki sitting and reading a book for at least a minute and 30 seconds, so I have little doubt that Kyoani is aware of it’s own shortcoming in this regard and just decided to roll with it since it won’t impact their profits anyway. Maybe it’s because this time it happened to Haruhi that other fans are noticing too and pressing the issue.

    Anyway, despite all that I’ve always at least found that Haruhi can be fun when it’s merely flirting with it’s gimmicks and when it’s not being pretentious or purely gimmicky like ummmmm practically every non-Key show Kyoani has done since Haruhi.

    I guess you could say I’ve never taken Haruhi as seriously as others have. I just see it as a fun little show and not a top tier franchise so when events like this happen it’s a lot easier for me to laugh it off. Does it make the episode any more enjoyable or high quality in my eyes though? Not by a long shot.

  3. 3 Anise Punter July 8, 2009 at 3:30 am

    Remember when this had a light novel series? What was that, 2003? 2005? I found it to be more interesting than the anime regardless. After being thoroughly disappointed with season 1, I didn’t bother to come back for season 2 and judging by the internet reaction, it seems like the right decision.

    But seriously, what happened to the books?

  4. 4 sadakups July 8, 2009 at 3:54 am

    Truth be told, it’s been a long frickin’ time waiting for Volume 10.

  5. 5 Kaioshin Sama July 8, 2009 at 5:01 am

    @Anise Punter: The release of the 10th novel keeps getting delayed. It’s a shame because I actually quite like the novels and reading them is what really got me into the story. The first season of the anime is pretty much a tease for what is to come and I know a lot of people are hoping to see popular stories likes Disappearance and Snow Mountain Syndrome animated.

  6. 6 Zack July 8, 2009 at 5:49 am

    I’m beginning to think the 10th novel is a myth.

    On the subject of sales being a measurement of whether an episode/series/game/whatever is good or not, that seems to be coming up a lot more often. People seem to be judging them lately by the number sold and not the item itself. I’m not quite sure how that started to be honest. It feels like we’ve gone from “Enjoying the [Item] for what it is” to “I liked it, but it hasn’t sold many copies so it sucks and I don’t like it anymore.” Just seems like an odd and bad way to go in my opinion. It seems that with low sales people are more determined to point out what they dislike rather than what they enjoyed, whereas with high sales people will ignore flaws and point out perfection.

    I feel like I went off on some half crazy… thing there and I have no idea why. Anyways, I’m enjoying the new Haruhi episodes. There’s ups and downs, but they’re still fun to watch.

  7. 7 Myssa Rei July 8, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Kaiohshin: The problem with the 10th novel is the premise of the book that preceded it. For those who no longer remember, book 9 had TWO WILDLY DIVERGING TIMELINES — one where the SOS-dan had successfully recruited freshmen (I still chuckle at the memory) into its ranks, the other with Kyon, Yuki, and Koizumi heading into a heated confrontation with Fujiwara and his cronies. Which is the ‘canon timeline’? Well, that there is the problem.

    Frankly, I think Nagaru Tanigawa dug himself a hole he’s hard-pressed to get out of as a result.

  8. 8 Myssa Rei July 8, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Blast the lack of an edit function…

    sadakups: I find your lack of faith unsurprising.

    *coughs* Anyway, before the system here at work hiccupped, I mentioned that “Someday in the Rain” can’t be considered filler, as Nagaru Tanigawa was the one who actually wrote the script for the episode, which people seem to selectively forget.

    And moi? I found the episode okay (but people who’ve known me long enough will expect that), though the lack of bloom and flash was noticeable. Though, that may be because they had a different Art and Episode Director this time.

    Those in the know joke that we’ll cycle through all 7 of KyoAni’s full-time Directors, but rumblings in 2ch suggest that the next episode should be the last, lest Kadokawa really wants to tempt fate.

  9. 9 Kaioshin Sama July 8, 2009 at 7:59 am

    @Zack: I don’t think I’ve seen anybody turn on a show for not selling well, but I’ve definitely seen it get used as an illogical attempt to vindicate a show that has come under intense scrutiny.

    @Myssa Rei: I’m also tempted to think that the next episode will be the last of Endless Eight. The average arc of an anime seems to be about 4 episodes (unless it’s a Toei Shonen series in which case it’s about 30-50) and 5 or 6 doesn’t sound right either. If it’s any more than this then it’s liable to be the entire seasons worth.

    As for the novels, Haruhi painting itself into a corner? Nooooooo waaaaaaaaay! But Seriously though, for a while it’s been feeling like it’s gone almost nowhere at all or at least nowhere in particular. I’m thinking Tanigawa ran out of fresh ideas and narratives a good while ago and has just been going with whatever he thinks will sell without regard as to how well it will fit into the narrative. Kind of like the company that does the anime version. When a company or persons work seems to become more like fanfiction then their own particluar style it’s rarely a good sign. Then again the anime/manga scene has felt like that for a while, BUT I DIGRESS! I’ll just say I’ve come to live with it all in my own way and be done with this train of thought.

    Anyway, who exactly is the guy at Kyoani that goes all J.J Abrams on the lens flare and impossibly bright skies. Have we narrowed him or her down yet, because I’m really curious to know?

  10. 10 Myssa Rei July 8, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Kaiohshin: Wow, way to miss the point chief. Almost devolved into a rant against KyoAni again.

    The fact is the two diverging timelines make it hard to come up with a continuation, as it invalidates the other timeline. This is doubly hard, as BOTH timelines have interesting issues that can be tackled — in one timeline, Haruhi as club overlord and newly-minted sempai to the new SOS-dan members (freshmen, easily molded, easily influenced), the other Kyon going into a confrontation not FULLY UNDERSTANDING what might happen if he screws up.

    Mmm. Tanigawa needs to read more Heinlen and Turtledove.

  11. 11 Kaioshin Sama July 8, 2009 at 9:03 am

    @Myssa Rei: Nah nah, I didn’t miss the point at all, I just mused aloud. You already made the point.

  12. 12 sadakups July 8, 2009 at 9:15 am

    @Myssa Rei: True. Tanigawa’s gimmick of doing timelines in Volume 9 was rather interesting. I mean, the whole Volume 9 brought my interest back ever since Volume 4 (kinda lost it in between) – introducing another goddess as well as her own group. I was so curious on where this is going.

    I’m really hoping that he hasn’t forgotten what he is planning to do. Or yes, it seems that it’s something hard to do for him. Still hoping for something good.

  13. 13 Myssa Rei July 8, 2009 at 9:43 am

    sadakups: Actually, I was one of the few folks pulling for the ‘mundane’ timeline where Haruhi somehow manages to convince freshmen to join the SOS-dan, I mean, the Literature Club. The combination of impressionable freshmen + Haruhi is too good to pass up.

  14. 14 Myssa Rei July 8, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Grr… Edit function… where…

    While I have nothing against the ‘fantastic’ timeline, the ‘mundane’ timeline can serve a very important purpose — that is placing the focus of the story back on Haruhi.

  15. 15 Kaioshin Sama July 8, 2009 at 10:20 am

    @Myssa Rei: I can’t do editing, sorry, not good enough with wordpress and widgets. Plus I think it costs money. Anyway the bizarro Haruhi troop was probably the most interesting thing to happen in the novels in a long time. I wonder what some people are going to think when they find out about it, because there are those who are absolutely convinced that Haruhi got identified as the bonafide undeniable goddess of the universe instead of just some sort of Scarlet Witch type mutant.

    Luckily at no point did the novels ever state that Haruhi was the only possible one of her kind. That was admittedly pretty clever.

    Anyway now I have to go and add spoiler tags to the article title…..

  16. 16 Myssa Rei July 8, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Kaiohshin: Haha, well for all my joking around and use of the God Empress moniker (I play Warhammer 40k, it was *inevitable*) I tend to think of Haruhi as a Post-Human or Evolutionary Singularity myself, possibly the first of her kind in the universe of the novels. Without delving into The Theory of Everything though, Haruhi’s unconscious scope of influence is still MASSIVE.

  17. 17 Anise Punter July 8, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Re: The Mundane / Fantastical timeline

    That _really_ bothered me, but I had always assumed that in one of those two timelines, Nagato would play the role of Deus Ex again and make sure that Kyon got on the correct timeline, whichever one that was. I wouldn’t feel safe placing a bet on which one though, that’s for sure.

  18. 18 Kaioshin Sama July 10, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Good times with episode 05…….yep….don’t know what I’m going to do with this show now.

  19. 19 Rick July 21, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Wait a minute. Timelines? No! They’re PARALLEL UNIVERSES! That’s the point, the new member is a slider, and she travels from alpha universe to beta to join Haruhi’s team.

  20. 20 Bystander July 27, 2009 at 8:04 am

    So what do you folks think about this “season” now that we’ve rolled over too 6 episodes of endless eight?

  21. 21 Owen November 19, 2016 at 3:10 pm

    El sargento denunció a sus superiores la actitud de su subordinado, al que se le abrió
    un expediente disciplinario por una falta grave de
    desobediencia y también indisciplina. http://all4webs.com/lester3flynn7/centrodecapacitacinavefor.htm?27101=51442


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Present


